TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

MCD ‘should face ban on similar music events until it answers SHM Garda report’

Dublin councillor Mary Fitzpatrick, head of a joint policing committee, calls on OPW junior minister to force response from concert promoter on Swedish House Mafia debacle.

The site in Phoenix Park where Swedish House Mafia performed in July.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THE CHAIRPERSON OF the Dublin Central joint policing committee has called for a ban on MCD holding “any similar events” until they provide a full response to the Garda Commissioner’s report on the Swedish House Mafia gig.

Cllr Mary Fitzpatrick (FF) has today been calling for MCD concert promoters to attend the next meeting of her policing committee. MCD is yet to provide a full response to Garda Martin Callinan’s report on the Phoenix Park gig last month, at which nine people were stabbed.

The report yesterday highlighted the event control centre provided by MCD as one of several issues which led to public order problems at the gig. The centre, it said, was “not fit for purpose”. MCD managing director Denis Desmond said last evening that the report was “unbalanced” and that it had not received notice that the cover letter and a summary of the report would be published.

Apart from a call for the full report to be published, MCD has otherwise not commented on the issue.

Cllr Fitzpatrick wrote a strong message to junior minister Brian Hayes – who has responsiblity for the Office of Public Works (OPW) – on her blog yesterday:

I am calling on Minister Brian Hayes to ensure that MCD is not permitted to hold any similar events until they respond in detail to the points raised in this report.

She goes on to confirm that MCD was issued with an open invitation two weeks ago to the next Dublin Central joint committee meeting. Speaking on Newstalk’s Breakfast show this morning, she said that the OPW has promised to attend but as of last night, she was still waiting on a response from MCD.

Fitzpatrick is also critical of the fact that hoarding erected to seal off the concert area for the Swedish House Mafia gig is still in place almost a month later, limiting public access to the area in the Phoenix Park.

However, she also said gardai have questions to answer too as “they were part of the pre-planning process”, and on her blog calls on Brian Hayes to also reveal how much the OPW was paid for the use of the park, how much the clean-up cost and when the hoarding will be removed.

Read: Swedish House Mafia fallout – MCD control centre ‘not fit for purpose’>
In full: The summary of the Garda Commissioner’s report on the SHM gig>
Read: Nine stabbed at Phoenix Park concert>

Read next:

Comments (33 Comments)

• I’ve a bit of an issue with the state the park is in now the big ugly green metal fence is left up no doubt so the public cant see the actual state of the ground it’s completely destroyed and won’t recover this year

• Derek 03/08/12 #

Well its a big green field that is not used for anything else during the year, you need a permit to play ball games. Its owned by the people of Ireland but yet we are not aloud to use it. Its only grass !

• I’ve had several bad experiences with MCD organised events. Obviously it doesn’t compare to 9 stabbings but missing both support acts despite being on the 2nd event bus to leave is unacceptable. They have a poor reputation for large outdoor events perhaps this will serve as a wake up call

• Shame to see such a hugely profitable monopoly as MCD being tarnished for running a shambles of a gig. I hope they still creamed a huge margin.

I always feel a sense of patriotism when I pay EUR100 for a ‘Big Name’ concert ticket and I know most of it isn’t going to the artist but is going to MCD. The money is staying in Ireland thank god.

Same warm feeling I get being systematically overcharged for nearly everything compared to European and UK prices as we stuff the pockets of our local business intermediaries.

• Blatant showboating by a councillor trying to make a name for herself. The report is a farce and is only making MCD a scapegoat, instead of a addressing the underlying larger social problem. These exact same events are held in other countries with little or no incidents and the Gardai saying they had inadequate info and access is quite frankly laughable.
    I’m no fan of MCD for various reasons but they are not solely to blame here.

• Never liked MCD so kinda glad they’re in trouble!

• That’s a joke…. Gardai should be held accountable as well. They are the main authority that has adequate power to deal with people in a public event. Private security has got no power at all, except to allow/prevent access, perform body and bag search with permission. Private security’s power of arrest is the same as an arrest by private individual, unlike the powers of arrest and search of gardai.

• Where were the Gardai for the signing off of the licence? Surely they get a part of the call for the licence (which was only signed off on 4 days prior to to the day of the gig). I’m not standing up for MCD here either. Without a shadow of a doubt, they are the biggest player in this (excluding the pie balls that caused the issues!).

• An I not correct in thinking that all the people who stabbed anyone have been arrested. In today’s paper there’s an article about on of these people been in court and despite Garda objections given bail.

• Dance music isn’t the problem, the fact that it was held in Dublin is the problem. I have been a festival/ gig goer for many years but have always done my best to avoid ANY gig in Dublin. 90% of the trouble caused in Witness/Oxygen was caused by Dubs.
    It was a weekend away in “da bleedin’ sticks” for them where they could rob, burn and fight.
    Hosting this event in Phoenix Park was only inviting trouble.

• Em, since when was a Dance music event ? ? it was Pop and Rap.

• Maybe if the Gardai had less men in Mayo protecting Shell and more at the phoenix park that weekend there wouldn’t have been as much trouble..but no.. as I overheard a member of the Gardai telling someone recently..’he had a cushy number in up in Mayo for afew weeks’.. Guards
    are as much to blame and should be held accountable too..

• I was at FloPatrol….. The venue had little/ no Garda presence. Those they were there, stood well back and let the anti-social behaviour happen in front of them. Fact.

• They claim to have invented their own genre called “Brave”. Personally I would class them as electro or house ,or both.
    Definitely closer to dance than pop.

• Believe it or not I think successive Irish governments are to blame. There are few jobs out there for young people, it costs an arm and leg to play football due to poor planning during building boom and a lack of understanding of social disenchantment by politicians who ate lining their own pockets at expense of social welfare and minimum wage. They attack young people who have been left without hope after they greedy actions led to neglect of society and they victimized them and have left them angry and then wonder why some of them lash out? I’m surprised we as a nation haven’t suffered riots like London yet. This is about the social fabric of our nation and politicians should not be allowed to duck the issue by blaming one company. The actions were a cry for help and the Dáil should be recalled and all politicians should be question about what they can do to help the disenfranchised youth of today. If they continue to play the blame game this country will suffer. Time for our so call leaders and elders to step up, take responsibility and lead.

• Thank you for changing the article title.

• Sorry, forgot to say that was for you Gearoid

• The journal won’t allow me to post a description of the gigs Gearoid so sorry about that.

Add New Comment