You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kenny canvassing in Mullingar yesterday. Julien Behal/PA Wire
Enda

Video: angry man confronts Enda Kenny at Leitrim meeting

Fine Gael leader outlined his party’s five point policy plan and taking questions from the crowd when man became agitated about politicans’ pay and credibility.

AN ANGRY MAN DISRUPTED Enda Kenny’s public meeting in Carrick on Shannon, Co Leitrim, last night, as the Fine Gael leader was taking questions from the crowd about his party’s policies.

Kenny received a warm welcome from the hundreds-strong crowd gathered at the Bush Hotel when he arrived yesterday evening.

As Eamon Gilmore and Micheál Martin began their televised debate on TV3, Kenny said he believed politics was always about “interaction with people”.

Kenny outlined Fine Gael’s five point plan to “get Ireland working” and struck out at critics of FG’s plan to introduce the Dutch health system in Ireland. Kenny said that the system of universal health insurance had nothing to do with privatisation.

During the Q&A session, a man identified in the video as Bobby confronted the Fine Gael leader over politicians’ pay, shouting:

There’s hundreds of me, and there’s thousands of me, and there’s a lot of people who feel the exact same way I do, and I don’t believe any of you lads. Ye lads make money, you guys line your own pockets. Youse are the rich men and I’m the poor man. Well, we’ve all had it. We’ve been listening to you guys for decades.

People attending the event reacted angrily to the man’s comments by saying he was not being reasonable and calling him a “muppet”. One person says, “Bobby, aren’t you glad you came to a real debate?”

Video posted by rte

Read: Kenny promises to ‘lead from the front’ during Leitrim speech >