TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 6 February, 2016

#Work

# work - Today’s News

This post contains a poll
SPONSORED

# work - Saturday 23 January, 2016

Here’s how working in an office can be bad for you

It can be a jungle in there.

# work - Wednesday 13 January, 2016

Bringing mindfulness into the workforce makes good business sense

Overwhelmed employees are the most significant challenge to business success in Ireland, writes Joanne O’Malley.

# work - Monday 4 January, 2016

Kickstart January with these great tips to get organised

Back to work today and have great intentions for 2016? Here’s what you need to do to get what you want.

# work - Tuesday 29 December, 2015

Open thread: How are you coping with being back to work?

It’s back to reality for many today. You doing okay?

# work - Monday 7 December, 2015

This chart shows how hard Irish people work for their pensions

Full benefit comes after 43 years of contributions.

# work - Wednesday 25 November, 2015

From The Daily Edge This little Cavan legend applied for a job on the Toy Show, and landed it

This little Cavan legend applied for a job on the Toy Show, and landed it

Charlie might just be the Toy Show’s biggest fan.

# work - Monday 2 November, 2015

Man sacked after giving away a box of Pringles loses unfair dismissal case

Hakan Oney was sacked for not following cash handling policy.

# work - Sunday 1 November, 2015

‘I remember feeling washed up and fearing I would never work again’

It’s time to change our attitude toward unemployed people, writes Donal O’Keeffe.

# work - Wednesday 28 October, 2015

Poll: Would a bad employer review put you off a job? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Would a bad employer review put you off a job?

A new website allows workers to rate their employers.

# work - Friday 9 October, 2015

# work - Monday 5 October, 2015

From The Daily Edge 7 things that should just be allowed to happen on Mondays

# work - Saturday 3 October, 2015

Video: Car drives wrong way up motorway before collision

The incident happened in Kilkenny yesterday morning.

Food growing isn’t just for those with ten acres, you can even grow stuff at your desk

We know that many people who are interested in growing their own are a little daunted by the whole thing – but it’s no big deal, trust me, writes Michael Kelly.

# work - Monday 28 September, 2015

18 things successful people do in the first 10 minutes of the workday

It’s Monday, it’s a new day. Let’s get productive.

# work - Wednesday 19 August, 2015

Sitting down for too long is as bad as smoking

Many people spend up to 80% of their waking day sitting down.

# work - Monday 10 August, 2015

Poll: Do you have your childhood dream job? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Do you have your childhood dream job?

The majority of Irish adults never got the job they wanted as children, a new survey says.

# work - Sunday 9 August, 2015

Irish men are being asked to say what they think about sex work

It’s for a play by TheatreClub.

# work - Monday 3 August, 2015

This man avoids work to allow him to travel the world on a bicycle

Ultra Romance has become an Instagram sensation by documenting his travels.

# work - Friday 31 July, 2015

This is how to get to know your neighbours

This is how to get to know your neighbours

A new app that has been introduced in Austria could hold all of the answers.

# work - Sunday 26 July, 2015

Here’s what it’s really like to work in an Irish factory

We sit in rows of five assembling, labelling and scanning. Most of us were not here a year ago and most of us will not be here a year from now.

# work - Sunday 19 July, 2015

Homeless man receives job offers after photo of his handwritten CV goes viral

The tweet has been shared over 3,000 times.

# work - Thursday 2 July, 2015

Lone parent with a child over 7? The government wants you to get working

Tánaiste Joan Burton said if parents can’t get extra hours, the department will be able to help.

# work - Tuesday 30 June, 2015

Poll: Should long-term asylum seekers be allowed to work? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Should long-term asylum seekers be allowed to work?

A report recommends new asylum seekers should be able to work if they have been waiting more than nine months for a decision.

# work - Friday 26 June, 2015

Are you heading for burnout in work?

Life is not and should not be an endurance test; nor should your job.

# work - Sunday 21 June, 2015

14 things successful people do in the last 10 minutes of the workday

Top tips from those in the know.

# work - Friday 19 June, 2015

Woman overlooked for promotion due to maternity leave awarded €70k

The employee says the insurance company said ‘bring it on’ when she said she would go to the Equality Tribunal.

# work - Tuesday 9 June, 2015

Eating lunch at your desk won’t earn you brownie points with your boss…

… and it might even make you less healthy.

# work - Thursday 14 May, 2015

From The Daily Edge Are You Procrastinating Right Now? Quiz

Are You Procrastinating Right Now?

Come on, it’ll only take a minute.

# work - Friday 8 May, 2015

25 daily habits that will make you smarter

It’s easy, swear.

# work - Sunday 3 May, 2015

The Fear: The weekly battle against yourself

There is no escape.

# work - Sunday 26 April, 2015

Office space and the open-plan era: what really works?

But in a world made up of introverts, extroverts and, indeed, ambiverts how are companies accommodating for all?

# work - Monday 20 April, 2015

We need to stop the glorification of busy

Nowadays it’s almost as if it has become a competition as to who can be the busiest – but being overworked is not a virtue.

# work - Thursday 16 April, 2015

Open Thread: Is the cost of childcare preventing you from working?

More than 3,000 mothers are leaving the workforce annually due to the excessive costs of childcare.

# work - Tuesday 7 April, 2015

From Business ETC The majority of Irish workers lack motivation – but why? Opinion

The majority of Irish workers lack motivation – but why?

Just 16% of employees in Ireland are actively engaged in their work, which is alarming for a country still recovering from a catastrophic economic downturn.

# work - Thursday 5 March, 2015

From The Daily Edge Which Office Colleague Are You? Quiz

Which Office Colleague Are You?

You work with these people every day, but who ARE you?

# work - Wednesday 4 March, 2015

Irish unemployment is THIS CLOSE to dropping below 10%

The live register hasn’t seen figures this low since February 2009

# work - Saturday 28 February, 2015

From The Daily Edge 10 trials and tribulations of being an intern Interns

10 trials and tribulations of being an intern

It’s nothing like The Devil Wears Prada.

# work - Saturday 21 February, 2015

Bullying in workplaces needs to be addressed, especially in small organisations

How should you react if you’re belittled or bullied in the workplace?

# work - Friday 6 February, 2015

From Business ETC Cash boost for businesses who help young people get back to work Kerry

Cash boost for businesses who help young people get back to work

Joan Burton said businesses and jobseekers can avail of financial supports under two new initiatives.

# work - Tuesday 3 February, 2015

1 2 3 4 5