You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 Here’s all the news you need to know as you start your day.

LAST UPDATE | 23 Dec 2019

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you all the news you need to know as you start the day.

1. #PERSONAL INJURIES: The State Claims Agency has paid out over €2 billion as a result of personal injury claims since the start of this decade, with over €1.9 billion of this coming from payouts related to healthcare.

2. #AUSTRALIA: Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison has rejected calls for “reckless” and “job-destroying” cuts to the country’s vast coal industry amid criticism of his response to a deadly climate-fuelled bushfire crisis.

3. #EXPENSES: Former TD Dara Murphy is refusing to put himself up for investigation in relation to his attendance and expenses, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said.

4. #MENTAL HEALTH: The practice of physically restraining and secluding patients in Ireland’s in-patient mental health facilities increased by 57% over the past 10 years, according to a new report by the Mental Health Commission.

5. #SHOPPING: Irish households are estimated to have spent an average of €2,800 in shops this month after an “erratic and unpredictable” year in shopping, Retail Ireland has said.

6. #NEW ZEALAND: The death toll from the eruption on New Zealand’s White Island has risen to 19, with police confirming another death in hospital.

7. #KILDARE: Cannabis herb with an estimated street value of €70,000 was seized by gardaí and two men were arrested in Kilmeague in Co Kildare yesterday.

8. #RACISM: Gary Neville has called on the Premier League to do more to stop racism, and encouraged players to walk off the field when they experience racist abuse during matches.

9. #CHRISTMAS MESSAGE: President Michael D Higgins has said that we must “all act as a global community” to help combat climate change in his annual Christmas message.

On the go? You can now listen to the 9 at 9 as an audio bulletin from TheJournal.ie, supported by Volkswagen. Get started by hitting the button below.