You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 Here are the nine stories you need to know as you kick off your day.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories you need to know as you kick off your day.

1. #CANADA: At least 80 people are missing after a driverless oil tanker train derailed and exploded in the small Canadian town of Lac-Megantic, destroying dozens of buildings. The accident, located around 250 kilometers east of Montreal, created a fireball and forced 2,000 people from their homes. At least one person is reported to be dead but the death toll is expected to rise.

2. #SAN FRANCISCO: Two people were killed when an Asiana Airlines Boeing 777 passenger jet crashed and burst into flames at San Francisco International Airport. A further 182 others were injured in the incident, five are believed to be critical.

3. #ANGLO TAPES: In the latest round of Anglo tapes published by The Sunday Independent, the former CEO David Drumm can be heard calling the the Central Bank and the Financial Regulator a “f*cking shower of clowns”. The tapes also link the former Taoiseach Brian Cowen and Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan to the bailed-out bank.

4. #DAVID DRUMM: Following the latest revelations in the Anglo tapes this morning, David Drumm issued a statement to RTÉ News, saying he would no longer allow himself to be a scapegoat for the banking crisis. He also attacked the “drip, drip, drip” release of phone recordings.

5. #GREEN CARD: An Irish nurse has become the first immigrant to receive a green card by virtue of same-sex marriage. Dubliners Cathy Davis, and Catriona Dowling, who is a naturalized US citizen, were married last year, according to The Sunday Times.

6. #CRECHE: Two creche workers who were suspended following the RTÉ Prime Time exposé on the pre-school system have filed High Court defamation cases. According to The Sunday Times this morning, Lisa Craddock and Sandra Kavanagh filed the action against their former employer Links Creche in Malahide.

7. #AIB ATM: The bank recently announced that they will be increasing their banking charges from the end of August.  However, an AIB spokesperson has confirmed to TheJournal.ie that the even with the increase from 20c to 35c, the bank loses money on the transactions.

8. #DEPORTED: Radical Islamist cleric Abu Qatada has arrived in Jordan after Britain deported him to face terror charges ending a decade-long legal battle. The Palestinian-born preacher, 53, was condemned to death in absentia by a Jordanian court in 1999 and 2000 for conspiracy to carry out terror attacks but the sentence was reduced to life imprisonment.

9. #ADS IN YOUR BRAIN: The German unit of Sky TV, and an advertising company have invented an insane new technology that broadcast ads directly into people’s brains. It uses something called “bone conduction technology” which transmits sound to the inner ear by passing vibrations through the skull.