You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

New Garda recruitment campaign to begin tomorrow

Around 20,000 people are expected to apply for the new roles. Minister Alan Shatter is set to give more details on numbers tomorrow.

Updated at 11.09pm

IT’S BEEN CONFIRMED that a new Garda recruitment campaign will begin tomorrow. The news was announced via a message on the website of the Public Appointments Service earlier today:

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter is expected to give more details when he attends the Garda Reserve Graduation at Templemore tomorrow. The exact number of jobs that will be up for grabs initially has not yet been confirmed.

Shatter announced earlier this year that he would be lifting the recruitment ban for the force, which was introduced as part of a wider public service hiring freeze in the wake of the downturn.

The Public Appointments Service has said it is preparing to receive around 20,000 applications, once the process opens.

Candidates will be asked to complete an online aptitude test, overseen by the PAC, before eventually being sent forward for interview and other assessments.

Hopefuls must be aged between 18 and 35. The height requirement to become a garda has been removed, but candidates must instead complete a physical competency test.

Originally posted at 7.53pm

Read: Commissioner welcomes garda recruitment “as soon as possible” >

Elsewhere: Investigation after Mountjoy prisoner dies in cell >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

132 Comments
    Mute Simon Lynch
    Favourite Simon Lynch
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:28 PM

I can’t wait to apply, this has been my dream job since I left school, wishing everybody luck whomever is applying :)

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:40 PM

Good luck kid. Just remember keep trying. Piss them off till your accepted :)

Mute Rich
    Favourite Rich
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:36 AM

God bless your innocence! Just remember it’s nothing like what you see on television. The reality is: 49% Abuse from the general public; 49% Paperwork and 2% “Action”. Be prepared to either: become an alcoholic, a nervous wreck, disillusioned after two years service and eventually pissed off at hating the job (or a combination of all of the above). But the best of luck anyhow!

Mute Layla Moroney
    Favourite Layla Moroney
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:39 AM

Lots of luck Simon follow your dreams!

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:56 AM

Sean there is a reason some candidates don’t pass and rightly so. Good luck Simon

Mute Griffosaurus
    Favourite Griffosaurus
    Dec 12th 2013, 1:03 AM

Evil prevails when gud men sit around and do nothing. There are many tough jobs out there and this is one of them. Be honest in your responsibility and each day when you come home you will come home knowing you did a gud job and you served your community well. You can make a difference and I wish you well in your application.

Mute Stephen Barry
    Favourite Stephen Barry
    Dec 12th 2013, 2:04 AM

If you can say, “step out of the vehicle in a culchie accent your half way there.

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 12th 2013, 3:43 AM

Rich you have a point lots of paper and not all action. But when it comes it comes.

People in policing not all but some have been known to drink. reasons are Lads culture and a coping mechanism. Every guard will see some horrific things. From shot gun suicides to fatal crashes to murders to family abuse and also take abuse and deal with grieving families. Have deadlines to meet with complicated investigations, reports and prosecute cases. Manages cases and witnesses and be a jack of all trades as well as be a social worker in mwny respects. It sure as hell ain’t an easy job. But still anyone inside of it will tell you its worth it I would too.

Thankfully the culture now is you don’t have to be hard ass if you experience something traumatic there is great support from everyone.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 12th 2013, 4:02 AM

Best of luck, Simon!

Mute Moccy Fondoo
    Favourite Moccy Fondoo
    Dec 12th 2013, 5:49 AM

- & practice ;- ” hov you dthroink thoackhen “

Mute PaulMcNallyArchitect
    Favourite PaulMcNallyArchitect
    Dec 12th 2013, 8:37 AM

Those statistics sound about right for every worthwhile profession. It’s the two percent action that makes the s?&€@ worth it in any decent job

Mute David McHale
    Favourite David McHale
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:22 PM

Had a great laugh at a few of the comments here.

How people can moan about an unarmed police force is something I will never understand.

They put their lives on the line everyday against an increasingly violent society. Before you so wantonly judge members of a generally accountable police force think of the conditions they work in and the challenges they face.

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:54 AM

And the early retirement with very nice pension!

Mute David McHale
    Favourite David McHale
    Dec 12th 2013, 7:21 AM

Yes, Niall. It’s a cause for concern that we look after and reward those who protect us. Such a terrible concept!

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 12th 2013, 10:21 AM

Niall its not early retirement, its after a minimum of 30 years service. The vast majority of police do the full 30 years on a 3 relief shift which is seriously bad for their health. If the journal allowed bad language id call you a wank€r

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:02 PM

Best of luck to all applicants. Looks like competition will be tight

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:55 PM

Jobs bridge

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:56 PM

;)

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:03 PM

“Ladies: Do you have at least 2 all-Ireland camogie medals & dream of wearing an unflattering uniform?

Look no further!

Applications welcome!

#join-de-guards”

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:08 PM

The very people who knock d Gardai are d very people who are ringing them while under d bed at 3am while hearing a knock on their door. Hope all those people who talk about what an easy job it is apply. Hope all those who knock d Gardai when they find cannabis plants apply. Wait lads ye mite not get it as ye have to get up before 1 pm

Mute Eoin Mackey
    Favourite Eoin Mackey
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:19 PM

To those who highlight only the faults of the Gardai and give them no credit whatsoever, the next time you’re in trouble, don’t bother to ring them.

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:15 PM

The Gardai will recruit their own members kids first…..
    Wait and see .It isn’t what you know, its who you know when applying for the Gardai…..

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:31 PM

Of course. It will be interesting to see how many of the succesful applicants will have family already in the guards…

Mute Des McNally
    Favourite Des McNally
    Dec 12th 2013, 3:28 AM

That’s bullshit the voice. I got in during the last intake when 20k applied and it went down to 100. I have no family whatsoever in the Gards and never had. I have no connections or family friends that could give me a push in.. I got in on my own merits. If u don’t know what ur talking about don’t post rubbish!!’

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Dec 12th 2013, 7:48 AM

Well he wasn’t your ability to write that got you the job….Its GARDAI not GARDA…..

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Dec 12th 2013, 7:51 AM

Or even Gards….

Mute Kate Dunphy
    Favourite Kate Dunphy
    Dec 12th 2013, 8:30 AM

The voice… Maybe have a look at your own English grammar before correcting others * he..

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:05 PM

We have the best police force in the world, I do judo with a few members and I am very impressed with their fitness.

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:15 PM

Is that enough to declare them the best in the world?

Mute Jimmy Dunlop
    Favourite Jimmy Dunlop
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:26 PM

The Garda are well trained and they are the best un armed police in the world, as Denise says a lot of them are trained in judo and karate plus a lot of them are good boxers as well.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute DurkaDurkaDurka
    Favourite DurkaDurkaDurka
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:28 PM

And a lot of them are heavy-handed, confrontational w*nkers with all the social skills of an ape.

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:58 PM

Durka, some may be, but not most in fairness.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:00 PM

They get in total 6 hours of hand to hand combat training

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:02 PM

That’s bit of a sweeping generalisation Durka, could you say the same about all Barmen, Bouncers, Electricians, PE Instructors etc etc….

Mute DurkaDurkaDurka
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:11 PM

1st of all, I said “a lot” not all of them. 2nd, in my experience they speak down to people, get smart with people, get confrontational with people, have little or no clue or interest in how to diffuse a situation, just rush in with all guns blazing and exacerbate things. And no, I’m not a teenage drug taking knacker drinker. I’m a respectable, full time working, tax paying citizen.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:18 PM

Maybe you should apply Durka…you could be the one to make a real difference!

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:18 PM

Well then realise that garda are just normal people like every other joe soap and like all others have faults, traits and bad characteristics. Just because a person is a police officer doesn’t make them lose those elements of their personality. It’s a job, just like any other.

Mute DurkaDurkaDurka
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:20 PM

I’d say a lot of them were idealistic at the start, but it was knocked out of them not long after…

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:30 PM

You sound perfect Durka…honest, hardworking citizen, angry, confrontational, chip on your shoulder, possibly had someone sh#t in your lunchbox in school…Get online first thing!

Mute DurkaDurkaDurka
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:36 PM

That’s sergeant Durka to you boyo.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:51 PM

You need to walk before you can run son….apply first and who knows someday…just someday I’ll address you as Sergeant…

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:37 PM

Alot do judo and Marshall arts but boxing most popular in guards after gaa of course.

6 hours training? More then that and refreshers every so often. But you learn as you go. After a few years you become a expert in locks. Thankfully hand to hand combat is not as prevalent now with pepper spray and the steel battens

Mute Ciarán Ó Duifinn
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Duifinn
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:17 AM

So because their fit their best in the world ? What an idiotic comment !!!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 12th 2013, 4:07 AM

I have never had a guard get “confrontational” with me, Durka. But then, I’ve never been confrontational with a guard, so I suppose it cuts both ways!

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Favourite O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 12th 2013, 8:28 AM

@denise, well where I come from, there as fat as fcuk! Garda van→deli→breakfast roll, a few laps of the town, repeat the process

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 12th 2013, 10:28 AM

If thats your experience then it probably says more about you than the many Guards you claim to have interacted with. Im 40 years old and interacted with gardai 3 times and have no complaints at all.

Mute McHorrible
    Favourite McHorrible
    Dec 11th 2013, 7:58 PM

Don’t do it…… Trust me!!

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:23 PM

Why?

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:27 PM

Cos then you have to deal with him!!!!!!

He shot J.R just think what he would do to you……

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:00 PM

Bullied in school love the gaa … Get your own back and join the garda

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:04 PM

To play gaa you would definitely be able to handle yourself so getting bullied aswell makes absolutely no sense. Sounds like you were turned down once or twice and your too old to apply now

Mute sydney shaw
    Favourite sydney shaw
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:08 PM

Was a joke on republic of telly Tother nite

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:10 PM

Oh right… Don’t watch it anymore since it turned shite

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:41 PM

It was

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:58 PM

So you’ve never watched

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    Dec 12th 2013, 1:00 AM

@Jason Bourne
    (Flashback) “No, Billy! Not the flusher! Anything but that!” “Ha ha, seems the fatty wants a wedgie instead! Come here, Lardo!!!” “AAAAARRRRGGGHH!”……(Shudders) And that kids was my first day as an on duty garda.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 12th 2013, 8:14 AM

@jason, know of a few lads that got bullied and slap around the place in school, and they played gaa, so thats not entirely true..

Mute Gareth Dooley
    Favourite Gareth Dooley
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:01 PM

I wonder how many will come out of the reserves?they deserve the best chance as they know the job and have some knowledge of what goes on

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Dec 12th 2013, 1:06 AM

They’re a waste of time. It’s like Job Bridge for policing. No disrespect to those who give of their time etc. but it’s an entirely useless exercise. Spend the money used to fund the reserves by putting more permanent Gardaí on streets. The reserves are all well and good to pad out numbers for big events but nothing else.

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 12th 2013, 3:31 AM

The 13k numbers includes reserves. In some stations the reserves almost equal the full time guards but they cant be left out alone. Mostly used at events to stand at barriers or walk a street with full timevto give the illusion of more guards. They also cant investigate a crime. Take out the reserves and numbers really hit the floor. They are well meaning people but the role is pointless and just adds to the work of full time guards

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:37 PM

I think I’m going to apply

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:20 PM

Nepotism look it up. Unless your dad, your granddad and you great grandad, were members and heavily involved in the GAA don’t bother applying. Names are already in the back pockets of the members and public servants doing the interviews.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:33 PM

Whoops forgot to say, a few token new Irish apply, you have got the job. The Independent need you for the photos on passing out to show how diverse Ireland is.

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:05 AM

A GAA background helps. But anything community orientated or civil defence can help a lot.

Mute Sammy Sausages
    Favourite Sammy Sausages
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:15 AM

You’ve obviously never had to go through the public appointments service. It’s all anonymous, factual and results-oriented. Not that your bias should get in the way of a good old comment.

Mute Rich
    Favourite Rich
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:29 AM

Well said! The authorities in this country bend over backwards to show we’re definitely not racists!

Mute Bo Darville
    Favourite Bo Darville
    Dec 12th 2013, 1:52 AM

You’re taking a risk even thinking the ‘r’ word let alone writing it!

Mute Mark Kilduff
    Favourite Mark Kilduff
    Dec 11th 2013, 7:59 PM

Was in the Garda Station reporting my bike stolen and the Guard told me the new recruits would be on 5 year rolling contracts and that they were going to recruit 100 a month next year

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:04 PM

5 x 1year contracts or a 5 year contract?

The latter isn’t so bad.

Mute Mark Kilduff
    Favourite Mark Kilduff
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:17 PM

He said 1 x 5 year contract and that they would prob get rid of you after that which I highly doubt would happen

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:32 PM

Harry should be along shortly to tell us all about the gang cartel. This article is right up his crazy old street.

Mute thomas the tank
    Favourite thomas the tank
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:37 PM

That’s illegal

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:29 PM

Nah that 5 year contract rumour has been around 10 yrs. Wont happen. Your hired and you keep your job as long as you don’t act the tit and keep on top of things

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:30 PM

But in boom times 30k went for 1k places. With the way things are now I see way more going for even less places. So odds are 40/1 of being accepted

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:43 PM

More like 300/1 if there’s 30k going for a hundred jobs!

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:00 AM

It takes what two years to train a standard garda? I’d hardly see any point hiring loads of guys, paying for train only to get rid of them 3 years later.

Mute Mad Hatter
    Favourite Mad Hatter
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:07 AM

5 year contracts have been rumoured for years. The Stuff of urban legend at this stage. Not true.

Mute Ted Crilly
    Favourite Ted Crilly
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:19 AM

Was it wan of them stole your bike?

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 12th 2013, 3:22 AM

Exactly. The cost of training up police is huge. No idea what it is but the state in making big investment in you to carry out your duty. Other wise the politics of the job inself some ginnet of a officer takes a dislike they can unfairly hold it over you for their own jump up. So no will not happen

Mute ivan vanrental
    Favourite ivan vanrental
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:02 PM

New madness as check points on motorways now, Prepare for pile up.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 12th 2013, 7:47 AM

@ivan, and they say there doing these check points to save lives? What a load of utter bollix! They dont give a fcuk about saving lives, all the government care about is the revenue that can be generated during the Christmas period.. this is quite apparent, as having checkpoints on the motorway is unbelievably dangerous, “checkpoints DONT save lives they increase revenue”… doctors save lives, airbags save lives, seat belts save lives, an inflatable life jacket saves lives, not a pig handing out fines to some poor punter, for out of date tax…so enough of the sh*te talk.

Mute Aaron Mulvaney
    Favourite Aaron Mulvaney
    Dec 12th 2013, 9:15 AM

So you wouldn’t care if some “punter” comes along and makes bits of your car in a collision that’s his fault and….uh oh he doesn’t have insurance, looks like you’ll be paying from your own pocket. Wonder how fast you’ll be reporting it to the “pigs”

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 12th 2013, 10:30 AM

Where was that?

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 12th 2013, 10:32 AM

@aaron, im talking about tax, and easy revenue pickings, checking for speed in ridiculous places where its not needed, ie.. bottom of a steep hill in a 60 kph area.., pulling for speed in long wide stretches of the motorwayn where there is little to no danger, easy money, all designed to rake in revenue, and as for uninsured drivers if there driving on a motorway with no insurance they deserve to get caught, anyways stopping traffic on a motorway IS illegal, and dangerous, so where is the safety in mind there? The reason why they are breaking their “laws” is because the motorways will be very busy from now till the new year so what better place to stop traffic, to rake in the revenue…

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:33 PM

The ageism is deplorable. This almost 41 year old is physically fitter than many a lad in his mid twenties.

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:50 PM

Relax gramps!

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:55 PM

It’s nothing to do with fitness Keith, it’s about you having your own mind at this stage. You can’t be moulded. I am a real supporter of guards and the great job they mostly do but I know independent thinking is not encouraged and such people in the guards would rarely get promoted etc .

Mute Mad Hatter
    Favourite Mad Hatter
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:14 AM

It’s a 30 year contract I believe. Fancy walking the beat in temple bar @ 71? Didn’t think so.

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Dec 12th 2013, 3:26 AM

Its also down to your pension. Guards generally pay automatically from day one for 30 yrs. Plus fit as you are at 50 try wrestling with a mid 20s lad coked of his tree. You would lose. Plus your more prone to illness and injury.

Cold but them the breaks

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Dec 12th 2013, 4:25 AM

I only look about 29 :(

Mute Paul Glennon
    Favourite Paul Glennon
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:10 PM

Lovely…..more revenue collectors!

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:11 PM

Exacty there is no point in taking the Garda oath

Mute DurkaDurkaDurka
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:16 PM

What oath do the Gardaí take?

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:34 PM

“We solemnly swear to keep our mouths shut & our heads down”

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:03 PM

They are shutting down stations were they planing on putting them

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:21 PM

On the road checking tax discs

Mute Barry O'Shea
    Favourite Barry O'Shea
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:11 PM

Grammar and spelling garda station,so people don’t use were when they mean where

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:22 PM

Barry
    Get a life

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:27 PM

In addition Barry- they may enforce that you should use a space after a comma. I’d say you’re great crack though.

Mute kopper96
    Favourite kopper96
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:02 PM

God be good to the old days. A letter from the local cumann to CJH and you were in. Interviews my arse they were only for the non party members. The shout would go out from Kinseally ” Mara check this lad out” the rest is history.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:52 PM

Rumour John Gillian wants to apply as he’s out of work..

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:55 PM

Gillian . John
    Who dafuq is that

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:02 PM

Mrs gillians son

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:16 PM

Ahh she was such a good mother too done everything for him

Mute John Dunne
    Favourite John Dunne
    Dec 11th 2013, 8:48 PM

Great. More complete wasters getting my taxes

Mute Paul Staunton
    Favourite Paul Staunton
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:07 PM

Day 1… Making tea
    Day 2… Buttering scones
    Training complete. ALL gardai are lazy under qualified idiots who can’t get a real job. I’ve said my piece.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:12 PM

A real job? Tell us what “real” job you do kid?

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:32 PM

With respect John Dunne, guards pay taxes too. The force may well be self sufficient as they pay quiet a lot of tax, and also collect revenue such as speeding tickets etc. Let’s not start this sh1te about your taxes paying public servants. They contribute too, don’t get bonuses or even paid half enough for what they have to deal with. Where is your disrespect and attitude coming from ?

Mute Paul Staunton
    Favourite Paul Staunton
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:38 PM

Industrial pipe fitter Mr Moonshine. What’s your job?? A guard? Waster.

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:45 PM

Under qualified for what? Where does your expertise in Garda qualifications come from? Said your piece eh? Well I would like to see you question a murder suspect for a week under huge legal regulations and get a result or take any case to any court and come out on top despite being up against barristers. I’d like to see you talking suicidal persons off bridges before your tea and comforting rape victim after it, then get assaulted later during a search of drug dealers house. How, I ask you can any person be qualified for that? Grow up and do something instead of putting down 12000 people, the majority of whom are dedicated to a job you can’t even comprehend so you won’t ever have to cope with what becomes normal for them. And no I am not a Guard. Now don’t be such an ar5eh0le

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:55 PM

So you fit pipes Paul?? I bet that’s tough going. I guess you get weekends off. You probably don’t work nights, Sundays, bank holidays? You prob will get to have Christmas dinner with your family, socialise on New Year’s Eve with your friends when “waster” guards are all working. No, I’m not a guard, but I’m also not a naive keyboard warrior looking for attention

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:47 PM

When you are finished your days work as a pipe fitter Paul, I guess you don’t go home traumatized having seen somebody bleed to death or hear details of child abuse or have a mental case attack you with an axe or have to tell a mother and father that their son died in a tragic accident or cut a suicide hanging down. Do you get verbally abused at work Paul? Do you have to listen to people unloading problems on you all day? Paul, if you don’t have a clue what you are commenting on, then just don’t comment. Keep fitting pipes, thats a real job!

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:49 PM

I think Paul is gone away tom. Pipes to be fitted somewhere.

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:56 PM

Monty, I reckon his ma caught him with her tablet .

Mute April Walsh
    Favourite April Walsh
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:07 AM

X

Mute Bo Darville
    Favourite Bo Darville
    Dec 12th 2013, 1:57 AM

His idea of a ‘real job’ is probably holding up the counter all day in the bookies spending his hard earned scratcher that he’s been claiming for the last 15yrs. Parasite.

Mute Dee O'Connor
    Favourite Dee O'Connor
    Dec 12th 2013, 5:49 AM

They have to do a degree in legal and policing studies. Many are already seriously qualified in other areas before they join the guards. I do wish people knew what they were talking about before they opened their ill-informed mouths.

Mute Ben Leonard
    Favourite Ben Leonard
    Dec 12th 2013, 7:27 AM

Who’d want to be a guard? no body respects them anymore, the hours are bad as is the pay.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 12th 2013, 10:19 AM

Decent people respect them and that’s why most Gardai join, to help them

Mute John Dunne
    Favourite John Dunne
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:46 PM

Im up at 5am actually, doing real work. All you have to do is walk down O, Connel st, to see the garda not doing there JOB!

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:09 PM

If you see them john then they are doing their job.

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    Dec 11th 2013, 10:36 PM

“Their job” John Dunne, not “there”. You are probably aged 12 so I won’t disgrace you further.

Mute Rain-Shower
    Favourite Rain-Shower
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:04 PM

Their*

Mute John Dunne
    Favourite John Dunne
    Dec 11th 2013, 9:01 PM

Whos john gillian?. If you mean John champion Gilligan, he is over qualified for this rubbish work.

Mute Julie Byrne
    Favourite Julie Byrne
    Dec 12th 2013, 12:31 AM

Fed up doing a desk job think il apply

Mute Brian Mc Elwaine
    Favourite Brian Mc Elwaine
    Dec 11th 2013, 11:49 PM

Make qualifying a degree course, they’d all fit in one paddy wagon

Mute Dee O'Connor
    Favourite Dee O'Connor
    Dec 12th 2013, 5:54 AM

It is a degree.

Mute mcjustice
    Favourite mcjustice
    Dec 12th 2013, 1:34 AM

Enda for jobs :)

Mute Damien Hanniffy
    Favourite Damien Hanniffy
    Dec 12th 2013, 7:58 PM

Love the way they Promote 100 Jobs saying this counrty is going back on its feet when there is so many jobs at treat for example today 160 Jobs at risk in Cork and some plant place there were over 600, Msd job losses, Jobs in Mayo at Pharmaceutical Plant thats only a few in the last few days.