You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
ALTHOUGH TAOISEACH SIMON Harris is still keeping us in the dark on a polling date, this hasn’t deterred the main political parties from gearing up their election machines.
The Journal caught up with each of the main parties to see how they are set.
Some, especially Fine Gael, are more prepared than others, but all of them have said they are in good shape and pretty much ready to go as soon as the starting gun is fired.
Fianna Fáil
Fianna Fáil parliamentary party members RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
Fianna Fáil had 37 TDs elected during the last general election in 2020, joint highest with Sinn Féin.
The party ran 84 candidates, meaning they had a success rate of 44%.
This time around, the party currently has 66 candidates selected, but with the selection conventions of a couple of constituencies outstanding, they expect their total number of candidates to rise to above 70.
In terms of strategy, the party is running at least one candidate in each of the country’s 43 constituencies.
In most, it is a two candidate strategy. In a few, it is a single person running (Carlow, parts of Dublin, Sligo-Leitrim, Laois, Tipperary South, Waterford, Wexford, Wicklow).
In two constituencies, they have gone all out with three candidates. Norma Foley will have two running mates in Kerry, while Cathal Crowe will be joined by the senator Timmy Dooley and county councillor Rita McInerney in Clare.
This election will be the first where women must make up 40% of all a party’s candidates (parties will be hit with a financial penalty if not).
Fianna Fáil is currently just below this at 39%, but a spokesperson for the party said they expect to be comfortably above this once all candidates are selected, making the point that a significant number of their first-time candidates are women.
At 25 years of age, Fianna Fáil’s youngest candidate is Albert Dolan. Dolan is currently the youngest Cathaoirleach in the history of Galway County Council.
Dolan and TD James O’Connor are Fianna Fáil’s only candidates under 30.
Fine Gael
Alamy
Alamy
Last time around Fine Gael had 35 of its 82 candidates elected – a success rate of 43%.
The party has a few selection conventions outstanding, but a spokesperson said they will “come close” to the 82 they ran in 2020.
Currently, 68 candidates are confirmed – 11 are not currently elected representatives, while 27 of the 68 are women.
In terms of the gender quota, this places Fine Gael just at 40%, but, like Fianna Fáil, a spokesperson said they are confident that they will be above this once all candidates are confirmed.
In most constituencies, Fine Gael is contesting just one or two candidates. They are going all in in Mayo however with four – the only party to take this approach in any constituency.
Fine Gael’s youngest candidate is county councillor Evie Sammon, aged 31. She will be contesting in the same Kildare North as the party’s oldest candidate, Bernard Durkan.
No candidates running for Fine Gael (yet?) are under the age of 30.
Sinn Féin
RollingNews.ie
Last time around Sinn Féin had a success rate of 88% – with 37 of its 42 candidates winning Dáil seats.
Much has been said about the party’s electoral strategy and seeming inability to get the numbers right (after June’s local elections Mary Lou McDonald admitted that they ran too many candidates in some places), but this time around McDonald said it’s “third time lucky”.
The party will be fielding a candidate in every constituency, but no more than two in each. It’s understood that the only exception to this is Donegal, where the party might add a third candidate.
At the moment, over 50 candidates have been selected and once all are chosen the party expects to have approximately 65.
Like most others, a spokesperson for the party refused to put a figure on what a good day would be, instead they said they are hoping to build on their current number of TDs.
The spokesperson said they are currently just above the 40% gender quota and expect to have no problem building on that.
Sinn Féin’s youngest candidate, 26 year old Louis O’Hara is contesting a seat in Galway East. As of now, he is the party’s only candidate under the age of 30.
The Green Party
Roderic O'Gorman and Catherine Martin RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
The mood appears to be mixed in the Green Party when it comes to how they may fare in the election.
Last time around the party had 12 of its 39 candidates elected, a success rate of 30% but a huge gain of 10 in the Dáil.
One party source said recently that they would be happy to hold on to six seats, but a party spokesperson said they are hopeful that the party might yet out do current polling.
“We’re not worried about opinion polls. Last time we were about the same percentage before the election but then once people started to become engaged in the weeks before things changed – that gives us a lot of confidence and hope,” the spokesperson said.
The Green Party do things a bit differently and instead of traditional selection conventions, each constituency’s grassroots members decide who they want to run. It’s the party’s longstanding policy to only one run candidate per constituency but to run someone in every constituency in the country.
At the moment, 35 candidates are confirmed leaving eight to go. 15 of the candidates are women (43%).
Two of the party’s candidates are in their 20s – Rob O’Donnell and Ruadháin Bonham.
At 22 years of age, Bonham is one of the youngest candidates set to contest the next election.
Labour
Labour leader Ivana Bacik Alamy
Alamy
The Labour Party is hoping to build on its current six Dáil seats and is planning to run over 30 candidates, a similar number to 2020.
As it stands, 26 have been selected.
Last time around, it wasn’t the best year for Labour, with the party losing one of its Dáil seats. The party had a success rate of 19%, with 6 of its 31 candidates winning seats.
It is however optimistic that things will be better this time around. A spokesperson said they were “written off” in the recent locals and Europeans but in the end were happy with their lot.
The party is confident it will reach the 40% gender quota.
Its youngest candidate is county councillor Eoghan Kenny at 24 years of age. He is the party’s only candidate under the age of 30.
Social Democrats
Social Democrats leader Holly Cairns RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
The Social Democrats will run 24 candidates, with most already selected.
Like others, a party spokesperson wouldn’t put a number on it but said they are hoping to build on its current six TDs.
Last time around, the Social Democrats ran 20 candidates with a success rate of 30%, going from three TDs to six.
In terms of the gender quota, 11 of the party’s 24 candidates are women (45%).
None of the Social Democrat candidates are aged under 30. The party’s youngest candidate is Ellen Murphy in Dublin West, aged 31.
People Before Profit
RollingNews.ie
A spokesperson for People Before Profit told The Journal they are “almost there” with their election preparations, with just one or two selection conventions outstanding.
The party is aiming to run one candidate in each of the 43 constituencies. It’s understood there are two constituencies where they may field two candidates.
The spokesperson said they have had “no difficulty” recruiting women and will be comfortable hitting the 40% quota.
When asked how many seats would make a good election day, the spokesperson responded: “We’ll be focusing on bringing an end to Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael in power. Eight seats would be a good day.”
People Before Profit are currently running five candidates under the age of 30. Zoe Laplaud is the yongest at 24.
Independent Ireland
Richard O'Donoghue TD, broadcaster Niall Boylan, and Independent Ireland party leader Michael Collins RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
Formed last year, this election will be the first for Independent Ireland.
With three TDs currently in the Dáil, party leader Michael Collins is hoping to build on that.
Ten candidates have been selected to date, four of whom are women. A spokesperon for the party told The Journal that they are still in active discussions with potential candidates and that they expect the final number to be in excess of 20.
Will this include Niall Boylan? It’s understood that this is unlikely.
“We’re in good shape. We know our candidates. Our strategy is to announce a candidate every couple of days in the work up [to the election being called],” the party spokesperson said, adding that they are working to a date in mid-November.
Of the candidates announced so far, none are under the age of 30. The spokesperson said however that there are some in the pipeline.
Peadar Tóibín is currently the sole Aontú TD in the Dáil.
The party has 34 candidates confirmed so far, with nine selection conventions outstanding – aiming to run someone in each constituency.
Tóibín is contemplating bringing in a running mate in his home turf of Meath West, but no one has yet been confirmed.
In his view, the party is in strong contention for seven or eight seats.
Aontú’s youngest candidate is Melissa Byrne at 25 years of age. Byrne cut her teeth in June’s local elections, just losing out on a seat in Newbridge.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
54 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Frank Mc Carthy: yep, definitely next month……. Possibly FFG with a dose of SD’s……… Don’t think greens will get totally eradicated but it’ll be a bad day ‘ in the office ‘ for sure, a good election for independents & maybe a few seats going the way of the nationist crowd. SF will be the biggest losers this time round….. Showed such promise tail end 2023/ start of 24′… but their self inflicted implosions will come home to roost
@Frank Mc Carthy: After the defeat in SF, it will be time for Mary Lou to go away and the senior management that go with her. They really messed it up.
there is no alternative to the woke parties (inclusions, pro migrants, pro everything) now. SD is a party for the labour nostalgic and exists only in big cities. not powerful and woke anyway. What we need is a new party with dedicated honest people that are not corrupted and get the job done. the only country I know having that is called Utopia…. unless …
@Dominic Leleu: it seems the electorate disagree with you. A large portion support FF/FG. Despite them supporting immigration and woke human rights that you’re against.
@9QRixo8H: The electorate have a limited choice, all the parties in the article are either supporting the current influx or want Ireland to take in even more IPA’s.
@James Daly: 45% are supporting FG/FF in the recent polls. In the local election, both FF and FG got 23% each, so 46% for both. A large portion support them, despite the housing issue and young people having to emigrate abroad (as long as borders don’t get closed).
@9QRixo8H: if their combined vote share is 45%, then assuming they transfer well to each other they will be very close to an overall majority. Given that there will be so many opposition parties, as well as a good few independents, they could probably survive as a minority government if they had a mind to
@Frank Mc Carthy: It would be really great if the government stays full term. All good people of Ireland support this government despite several mistakes like delays in opening asylum centre in Coolock.
@Lily Martin: that’s it in a nutshell Lily, look at the ‘ opposition’ benches….. Definitely nothing to inspire any confidence there. To quote shakespeare { Hamlet}…: therein lies the rub’
@Lily Martin: the opposition is definitely lacking, but FFG voters will be out in force and this mentality is exactly what’ll win them the election.
Vote tactically, reduce their majority.
@Lily Martin: there is nothing depressing about this government. Really competent professionals. There is not much alternative so all good people of Ireland will be happy for FFG to rule the country.
@Lily Martin: there’s actually no sensible option to vote for. And that’s by design. Money stays in power. If you like an options economic policies but their societal policies are nuts (if you know what I mean)and visa versa. Can we not just get a normal left wing option without the childhood castration and value based education in schools. Is that too much to ask?
answer is none of them….not one party has the irish interests at heart…number one on the list for any gov should be health and for the way our country should be our health system is shockling poor…crime min sentences should he increased too many getting away with suspended sentences….houses….the gov should he flat out building public houses to flatten the price of a private house way too much money to be paying….my fullest answer is that no matter who gets in they are all bluffers….just all talk and no answers
@Frank Mc Carthy: if there was a referendum on the wages of tds to bring it down to 50 grand a year then maybe they would start showing some concern about the people who they r ment to represent
@kaidon sharkey: That’s probably the stup idest comment I’ve seen in the Journal. Who in their right minds would take the job of a TD for 50k only an id ot?
@Sean Hayes: well maybe they should be put down to 50,000 and prove what they can actually do before they get any sort of bonus it’s our money at the end of the day why should we pay them a substantial amount of money to do whatever they choose to do so I don’t think it’s a stupid comment Make them work for the money that we pay them they work for us they shouldn’t dictate to us what they think is right when the country is falling apart so maybe you should understand that man’s point of view instead of begrudging him with stupid remarks
@kaidon sharkey: how come that no party has the Irish interest at heart but all good people of Ireland will vote FF/FG?! Our family will vote for FG because they have the job to finish – open asylum centre in Coolock despite opposition from drug gangs.
Something really broken in this so called “democratic” system.
Really do not think it can be fixed considering the machinery in place and the vested interests supporting. Apologies for the depressing outlook
@sakk sa:
I am 60+y on this godforsaken planet. Nothing much has changed really. What do you expect ? Apparently all this bs started with Adam and Eve. It was paradise and they fecked it up.
There’s only so much of mr smugness failure donnelly i can take anymore. Along with mr smugness failure Darragh houses for all O’Brien. But but at least them parasites greens should be put to grass..
Nepotism and corruption is rife.
They all sing,from the same hymn sheet is this regard.
Why are no ordinary people going forward for elections.mostly they all hail from wealthy stock.
They all look very well fed. And quite determined to keep feeding as we balefully listen to their pithy platitudes about ‘the most vulnerable’, ‘mental health’ and ‘international obligations’.
I love my country, I really do. But is this what represents us; this yawning self-serving gallery of muppets?
The Rod board for me. I love what they’ve done to the country. Not to mention the two c u n t parties that took them on in the first place to.stay in power. I use that word with a lot of pre thought and consideration.
Hopefully it’s a one party government, thats the only slight positive I can see, we need infrastructure desperately, if the greens get anywhere near government we’re goosed.
No party in Dail Eirinn representing the Irish people anymore, people have lost faith in mainstream politics & major institutions in Ireland, having been failed with scandal after scandal, by all for decades. When you leave a populace without hope or alternative or change, they will eventually turn. We need something more radical now in Ireland to reclaim our country, Dail Eirinn has failed abysmally. Voting in any party either from Cabinet or Opposition won’t see any change, people are frustrated on the ground but fear is making it, not come to the fore, however another RTE, NCH, SIPO, Irish Rail, Irish Water expose or increase in cost of living is not far away & if you vote in any of the parties in Dail Eirinn, you are accepting that it’s ok for them to impose more pain on you.
Why are journalists this excited about the date of the GE. I’m genuinely perplexed as to why it matters this much as it’s due in the next few months regardless.
China announces countermeasures against US by raising tariffs from 84% to 125%
Updated
30 mins ago
Bob Charles
Fair City star Bryan Murray announces retirement amid health struggles
13 mins ago
citizenship
Law allowing naturalised Irish citizenship to be revoked in serious cases recommenced
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say