You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Simon Harris at the Fine Gael party think-in in Mullingar yesterday. Alamy Stock Photo

Harris says family facing 'very difficult period' after 'vile' threats

The Tánaiste said that such political threats need to be ‘called out’.

TÁNAISTE SIMON HARRIS said that the last week has been a “very difficult period” for himself and his family following multiple threats to them and their home.

On Sunday, multiple bomb threats against the Co Wicklow home of the Tánaiste were phoned in to garda stations.

The threats made against Harris and his family follow two other reported threats, both made against members of the Tánaiste’s family online.

Over the weekend, Harris condemned the “vile and horrific threats” made against his “close family member” on Friday night.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Harris said that it has been “a pretty rotten time” for his family.

He said that the decision to publish a statement on the threats over the weekend was a difficult one, saying: “Generally in politics, you’re kind of meant to nearly shrug it off, shut up. Move on. Get on with it.”

“I just felt, after consultation with my family, that we couldn’t do this because of the level of viciousness and the vile nature of the threats targeting my children, very close family, relatives, and the sustained, relentless nature of it,” Harris said.

“I think that needs to be called out. This is not who we are. These are criminal acts, whatever people think of anybody’s politics. I’m a democratically elected member of Dáil Éireann, and I’m the leader of a political party.”

Harris, who is also Minister for Defence, Foreign Affairs and Trade, has previously been at the centre of significant security concerns.

Protests have been held at his home in Co Wicklow, and there has been several online threats published on various social media platforms.

His home has a permanent armed post, with security at a level similar to that of a sitting Taoiseach.

Harris seemed to shut down suggestions that the threats might mean the end of his political career, stating: “I love politics”.

“If there was a threat to kidnap your child, if there was a threat of sexual violence against a very close relative of yours, and if there were threats to bomb your house, I’m not sure you’d be in work today,” Harris said.

“I’m here. I’ve turned up. I’m doing my very best to get up on my job, and that’s what I’m trying to do.”

He told the Fine Gael think-in in Mullingar yesterday that he had to “dig pretty deep” but was determined to continue his work.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.