Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Wednesday 29 November 2023 Dublin: 4°C
Dean of UCD Michael Smurfit Business School, Prof Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh; chair of judging panel, Margaret Downes; Aisling Dodgson of platinum awards sponsor Investec Bank.

Business journalist awards call for entries

UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School awards have €1,000 prize for each winner in six categories.

THE ANNUAL UCD Smurfit Business Journalist Awards is to give out honours in six different categories.

Journalists across Ireland are currently being invited to enter – or be nominated by editors or colleagues – in the following categories:

  • Breaking business news
  • Economic/business comment
  • Business feature
  • Specialist business reporting
  • Business interview
  • Breakthrough journalist of the year

The deadline for applications is Friday, 28 September 2012.

There is also a new award this year, the UCD Smurfit School Alumni Choice Award, sponsored by business law firm Mason Hayes & Curran. This award is voted for by 20,000 UCD School of Business alumni.

The awards, which are run in conjunction with the Business Journalist Association of Ireland (BJAI), are in their sixth year. The winners of each category will receive €1,000 prize money and be honoured at an awards ceremony in November.

To enter, applicants or those wishing to nominate a journalist should go to the Smurfit school website here and submit their entry.

The Dean of the UCD Michael Smurfit School of Business, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, said at the launch of the awards this morning:

Business journalists educate and inform their readers on a regular basis by delivering content and context that brings to light the business issues that matter to us all.

Prof hÓgartaigh is a member of the independent judging panel which also includes‘s Editor Susan Daly; judging panel chair Margaret Downes; Mason Hayes & Curran MD Emer Gilvarry; former political editor at the Irish Independent, Chris Glennon; journalist Sam Smyth; Academic Director at UCD’s Centre for Corporate Governance, Prof Niamh Brennan; John Travers, economic advisor and member of UCD Smurfit School advisory board; and Cyril McGuire, CEO at Infinity Capital Ltd.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.