TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Quinn support group calls for public inquiry into Anglo

Concerned Irish Citizens has reacted to the news that six executives at the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation earn over €500,000 annually.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

A GROUP SET up in support of the jailed former billionaire Seán Quinn and his family has called for an independent public inquiry into the former Anglo Irish Bank.

Concerned Irish Citizens said it was calling on all “political parties and individual public representatives” to demand an independent public inquiry into the bank – now known as Irish Bank Resolution Corporation – which is pursuing the Quinn family through the courts.

CIC said that any inquiry should include an examination of the “exorbitant and unjustifiable salaries, pensions etc” being paid to officials at the bank, an issue in the news this week after it was revealed six executives at the State-owned bank earn over €500,000 annually.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has described these remuneration packages as “not acceptable”.

The support group claims that the same IBRC officials “turned down an offer of 2.8 billion from the Quinn family to the Irish state”.

The group’s secretary Patricia Gilheany said in a statement:

IBRC/Anglo has always insisted that they are acting in the best interest of the taxpayers for the maximum return of monies. Concerned Irish Citizens now seek clarification in line with constitutional rights on how much money has been recouped and is expected to be recouped in the Anglo strategy on Quinn, how much public money has been spent by Anglo on legal, PR and other associated costs and how much is expected to be recouped. Crucially, how does all of this compare with the 2.8 billion that was on offer from Quinn.

Quinn, once the richest man in Ireland, was jailed for nine weeks last Friday after he was found in contempt of court for failing to comply with court orders to put a halt to an asset stripping process involving the Quinn family’s property portfolio in eastern Europe.

IBRC has been pursuing the Quinn family through the courts both here in Ireland and in Russia in an attempt to recover assets that it says are owed to them because of the millions of euro in debt the Quinn family owe the bank.

Quinn has accused the IBRC of wrecking his company and pursuing a “vendetta” against him and his family.

CIC has organised rallies and protests in support of Quinn in his Cavan stronghold of Ballyconnell as well as Derrylin in Fermanagh earlier this week.

Read: Gilmore says €500,000 salaries for bank executives is “not acceptable”

Read: Motorists report being verbally abused at Seán Quinn protest in Derrylin

Read: Seán Quinn goes to jail for nine weeks

Read next:

Comments (79 Comments)

• We all know that there’s been appalling bad bank behaviour but we dont need a self appointed bunch of self rightous fools trying to piggyback to try pro Quinn the issue- the quinns themselves know all about paying excessive salaries ?????

“Peter Quinn paid himself €474,974 between April and February. Sean Jnr’s new bride, Karen Woods, a sales executive with a car dealership who married into the family in a lavish ceremony at the Ritz Carlton in May, was paid €320,000 after tax. Ciara, Aoife, and Colette each received more than €300,000.Sean Quinn Jnr received €399,921, while Ciara’s husband, Niall McPartland, received €281,048 and Stephen Kelly received €260,536″ ……..

• Well my group the “Irish concerned citizens” is marching against the “concerned Irish citizens” and don’t get me started on the “concerned citizens of Ireland” that lot are a bunch of splitters! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gb_qHP7VaZE&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• These are one dumb group of mofos. Go get a job and stop hero worshipping some guy who got greedy.

• I dont support quinn, but i do think there should be an inquiry.

• this group should be talking to the butler brothers in clonmel they have plenty of dirt on anglo .

• mattoid 09/11/12 #

Never thought I’d find myself agreeing with Quinn supporters, albeit only partially…

• I agree totally, it confuses me how they could advocate support for this sort of individual, but here comes the good thing: it might just be that an inquiry would be music to our ears and they might turn out to be useful for something after all…let’s see

• An enquiry into both groups is what’s needed. Quinn group can give statements for the Anglo enquiry and Anglo can give statements for the Quinn group enquiry. Open enquiry so the public can watch the circus from their laptops.

• Y.F. 09/11/12 #

Simon,
      To stand up for injustices that you believe are been perpetrated on one individual is not the same as ‘worshipping’ him. Two of the Quinn family members have asked publicly that there be an inquiry into the 1.6bn hole in Quinn insurance, on television. They are pleading that this would be done. Three of the family members also asked that an inquiry would be done on same, during radio interviews. I don’t believe that the Quinn family would be asking for inquiries if they thought there had not been a huge cover-up and hiding of facts since the group and companies take-over. We want an inquiry, they want an inquiry and you want an inquiry…..so let there be one. I wonder who will decide that this is not going to happen…..watch this space..

• Absolute muppets.

Quinns are peeing themselves at this crowd of gombeens, all while planning how to mislead and lie to the courts, and while still collecting millions in dodgy payments from their Russian companies that “they no longer own”.

Allegedly of course.

• I despise the Concerned Quinn Citizens and wish they would see the error of their support for their false God. But I do agree the situation at IBRC regarding these crazy salaries needs urgent investigation. I seems to me that these jobs could be done by any reasonably paid financial professional. Stinks again of jobs for the boys .

• Sean Quinn took a massive gamble. Had he won he and his family would have reaped the rewards. Now that he has lost the taxpayer has to pick up the tab.. He should be pursued through the courts to the very end to recover every single cent that its possible to get…. Or he could do the decent thing and repay his debts!!!

• You and I are paying for Quinn and Anglo. I never had anything to do with either organisation but I’m paying. Everyday there are stories like this, everyday people complain, everyday people do nothing so say you will march on the 24th November and enjoy feeling justified in your complaints because you’ve done something. If you say it is pointless I say it’s only as pointless as every vote given to every government who cheated and lied their way into power http://www.facebook.com/events/122229381266866 thanks :)

• @Andy Had Quinn won as you say I’m sure he would have been re-investing and creating even more jobs as he had done all his life. Unfortunately the bank he was buying into was not what it said on the tin and things didn’t go as planned, but at no stage should the taxpayer have ever been involved.Its hard to believe that a goverment could nationalise a bank who’s debts exceeded 30billion. Thanks guys

• That’s just what a campaign against fat cats needs, the support of these torch waving yokels. That’ll undermine it nicely.

• Quinn offered 2.8 billion,, how was he going to get that,, by offering cheap car insurance that he couldn’t under write. Buy more stocks in a defunct bank and hope for another property bubble.. don’t make me laugh

• Should be a useful enquiry if it goes ahead. According to spokesperson Patricia we can enquire as to how much will be recovered. Hello Patricia,you can ask Sean and the sleeven clan that seeing as they’re the ones who have stashed the loot.

• Ah yes, these idiots. Can we stop giving them the time of day.

• Joe, who are you to call anyone an idiot with a definition of your surname, “a dull person” have you ever been to Ballyconnell in Cavan. Did you see everything Mr Quinn did there. All the jobs he created. How many jobs have you created you or any of the people on this site condemning the Quinn family.Sometimes you have to take risks to make things happen. There are many great people among the Quinn family supporters. Walk in a mans shoes before you judge.

• Does “taking a risk” include operating a business without the legal requirements being in place?

• Paddy Power is there for taking risks, but you need your own money.

• Hbenroe

Pls tell me your on a windup and don’t actually believe that ?

• hbenroe, the Quinns did take a risk, a big one. One that was secured by their assets and when it din’t work out they didn’t want to hand over said assets that used to secured the risk. How do you defend that, honestly how.

• Y.F. 09/11/12 #

Jason,
      Quinn might have done a lot of things, but securing the loans with any of the foreign assets was not one of them. The foreign assets were used for no guarantees at any time. Anglo have no hold on them. Noonan has no right to approve Anglo giving a Russian company 155 million in the hope that they can get them.
      This is exactly the reason why a public inquiry is essential.

• @jason The Quinns have handed over all assets in relation to their loans; the bank never had a hold on any of their foreign assets thats why they are bringing a case against anglo in the high court. IBRC(ANGLO) seem to want people to believe that they have taken nothing of Quinn as they have never put a figure on the assets they have retrieved which are well in excess of the 455million undisputed debt. They have taken his lifes work and are unable to put a figure on it ,maybe their high salaries are affecting their basic arithmetic.

• Concerned Irish Citizens do not represent me . This group are ridiculous . They should support people who need it .Due to the hardship inflicted on us all, that Mr Quinn and his family company’s decisions made, which caused the fiscal melt down in this country.

• Agree, I don’t feel comfortable with their use of “Irish” in their groups name/title. The should maybe replace it with something simple like “Gombeen delusional cult worshiping cousin marrying tripe eaters”. Their empty vessel excuse is similar to a suicide bomber complaining about a serial killer.

• appart from the greedy Quinns, I would now like to know how greedy the IBRC employees are. It seems the taxpayer is being fleeced by these turkeys: gold plated salaries and pensions etc. To me it looks like kettle calling black arse to the pot!

• Cara 10/11/12 #

I don’t think whether Concerned Irish Citizens represent you or not Eileen is important, but they are making a few valid points in their statement above. How are 6 executives in any bank, let alone IBRC, worth over €500,000? How much have they spent on legal fees fighting Quinns? How much have they spent on PR fees fighting Quinns? How much money have they recouped so far for us? How much money do they expect to recoup? Anglo have a lot of questions to answer, and they should be made answer them as they are now owned by the Irish people.

• # Cara. There you are. I posted yesterday on the CIC page asking them and the Quinn Family to intervene on behalf of the workers that were refused entry into their employment by “quinn supporters” NOT employees as was stated in the media. These people were harrased and spat on by members of their own community and i requsted that CIC and Quinns pubically distance themselves from these activities and the burning of an electrical station which i have no doubt is quickly decending into something more sinister. GUESS WHAT. they deleted my post and barred me from posting on the site and before you start spouting about others being responsible for the blockade and ARSON take a look at the pictures of the blockade recognise anyone???? if your from the area i’m sure you will. CIC have a brass neck complaining about what these “bankers” are earning while failing to condem those that prevent people getting to work to earn anything 7 weeks before christmas. “quinn supporters and CIC are fast loosing support and there is a saying in law “clean hands” how clean are the hands of “CIC”and “Free Sean Quinn” in regards to these protests. I hope that the authorities come down hard on these people asap. http://www.thejournal.ie/sean-quinn-protest-derrylin-661807-Nov2012/

• Y.F. 11/11/12 #

Kathy,
      All that hate and anger will eat you up in the end. I realise that here was a small protest at Quinn’s offices on Monday, however the second ‘protest’ (as you described it on Tuesday), was conducted by the Quinn group security….You seem to be chasing your tail!

• Kathy,

If you are going to comment, please try to write the truth. I don’t know if you are just that knowledgeable on the subject or you knowingly comment incorrectly. But you have commented on two articles and in both instances you are incorrect or lied.

• LMFAO You people are unreal #tom #y.f What i hate is the fact that people were denied access to their work on monday not as you state a SMALL protest , when these “supporters” tried to block the road on tuesday they were told that they would be arrested if they proceeded, then on thurday/friday they burned a substation. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU that you seem to think this is an accepable way to protest. March through BallyC by all means, take your protest to dublin see what kind of reception you get down there. Do you think that by minimising what happened will curry favour among non Qunnities. GET REAL. Keep telling your self that its all a storm in a teacup when something serious happens we”ll see how much support the Quinns and their “supporter”s have then. http://m.u.tv/news/Arson-attack-at-Quinn-Group/7cb7ee7b-2b60-4c34-90b6-dac78300e5d6
      http://www.thejournal.ie/sean-quinn-protest-derrylin-661807-Nov2012/

• Kathy,

You ask what my problem is. Well, in a previous article you stated that a woman was taken out of her car by the protesters. That was a lie. She came to the blockade and she got out of her car and walked. You state there was a protest on Tuesday. There was none. That was a lie. So my problem is that you state lies time and again. If you tried keeping to the truth instead of fiction I would not have a problem.

• Kathy,

Are you serious? The lies are the problem. I stated yesterday what the issue is. You choose to ignore it and just restate your lies.

• Y.F. 12/11/12 #

Kathy, Calm down. I don’t think that the protest on Monday did any harm. People wanted to show their support for Quinn. There was no protest on Tuesday . (apart from the one in you head) As for the arson attack…who was behind that is anyone’s guess. So Yes, a peaceful protest on a Monday morn, for 5 hours is acceptable to me. I’m sorry that you feel so angry and hurt by all that is going on, but it isn’t good for you, that’s all I was saying..an angry mother isn’t good for children 7 weeks before christmas either.

• Just because you continue to deny these “protests” doesn’t make them go away. If it makes you, and all the friends that you could gather up, feel better to call ME a liar go ahead pot, kettle, black. I asked that CIC and the Quinns distance themselves from these acts but they HAVENT bad PR advice. I have every right to be angry, is it not me and millions like me that are paying for Quinns gamble, those who can least afford to loose any more money. If your so worried about my children get the quinns to pay their own bills then i’ll not have to worry about paying my mortgage next month.

• Y.F. 13/11/12 #

Kathy,
      I’m not arguing with you any more. I don’t argue with people who don’t seem to be able to reason. I’m sure not being able to get to work on Monday last was traumatic, anger-envoking, incensing….but you’ll get over it. ( I hope). I can’t understand why you would think that either Quinn supporters or CIC would be answerable to you, but maybe they are in your own mind. Good day to you

• AWWWWWW NOOOOOO!!!!!!! Y(wt)F. Please don’t go i was just begining to enjoy your Sarcastic and Patronising commets and those of your pals. Facebook is a public forum and if you decide to create a page to represent a particular group of people or individuals then you leave yourself open to criticism and comment its what we in this country call free speech. Just because you dont like what people post or dont agree with it, thats your right as well as mine but agian free speech. The internet is a powerful tool that can be used for good (supporting the workers) and bad (not) that decision is also open to criticisim which again is a right we all have. I dont agree with what these protesters have done and will continue to say so. You have a different opinion, ehich is your right. I always stood up for what i belived in i’m not hiding behind LETTERS, FALSE NAMES OR OTHER DISGUISES (trolls thats facebook speak). I hope you never find your self in need of a days wages to feed your kids. I hate to see leave go but as the saying goes if you cant stand the heat stay away for the burning electrical substation. :) See what i did there, sometimes i even amuse myself LOL

• Cara 13/11/12 #

Ha ha, Good one Katy. I suppose the reason people don’t use their full names on this is because you never know what type of crazy you could be in contact with…..lol. Also I think the phrase you were quoting there is “if you can’t take the heat get out of the “KITCHEN”. lol lol.

• LOL #cara you’ve hit the nail on the head there. No i did mean electricial susatation its call sarcasim. And i have to agree SHOCK HORROR about the crazies but unfortunately their not all confined to FB some are hiding in plain sight. But thanks for the giggle.

• Y.F. 14/11/12 #

Cara,
      . Sometimes a play on words can go right over someones head! (Smiley face)

• Cara 14/11/12 #

:-) :-)

• LOL!!!!! No folks your comment about my work didn’t “go over my head”. As i’ve said already i will NOT hide behind False Names or disguises. But i think you should both take time to down load on your fb pages the APP that allows you to see who “visits” your page. Its a bit tedious but it notifies me when someone has view my page so although you sit there and think your in cognito, THINK AGAIN. Any one with even a small level of intelligence can do this, that probably rules you both out. But while i have taken time out of my busy schedule feeding the kids have you both taken a look at todays FERMANAGH HEARLD. OOOHHH DEAR not good reading for you Quinn supporters. Fair play to the people that have risked ridicule, abuse and possible retaliation as a result of standing up for their community if what I have had to put up with over the last week is any indication god help them for daring to write to the local paper. Can you hear me singgering from there.SO I’M A LIAR emmm!! seems theres plenty like me.I think i’ve made my point. ;-)

• Cara 14/11/12 #

:-)

• Kathy,

Can I just confirm that no app allows you to see who visits your profile on facebook. That is a fact. For that to happen facebook would have to want that to happen. They do not. So no app is allowed on facebook servers to track the activity. And no one is able to get behind the firewall and if they were would not have admin privileges. But I am glad to see that you put your time to good use. In fact every app that says that is a virus. So you have actually spent time loading your computer with viruses. Congratulations!

• LOL More lies tom i thought you would of learned your lesson after reading the Fermanagh Hearld. Unfortunately you dont seem to be up with technology these days but i’m pleased your concerned for my computer but i can assure you tom that the only virus on my computer is you.

• These same muk savages would probably be calling for John Gilligans release and inquiries into his arrest and confiscation of his assets if he had have ran his drug empire from Cavan and provided employment to Cavan and its surrounding areas. Retards.

• These people have to stop calling themselves ‘Concerned Irish Citizens’. A more accurate title would be ‘A Few Delusional Folk’

• Reg 09/11/12 #

This is a smoke screen from the Quinn supporters. They’re can’t be an inquiry any time soon as three former senior executives of the bank will be before the courts in the next year.

• You’re wrong with this one Reg. No smokescreen. They’ve been pushing for an inquiry long before any of the executives were arrested. The fact that they, and Quinn’s family are pushing for an inquiry would leave you thinking there’s a lot more to this story than meets the eye.

• I feel this group should be granted a Tribunal,on the condition they meet the entire cost.Quinn has hit the taxpayer/insurance buying public for enough already.

• Could you please stop putting up stories about these poor misguided fools. Who besides about 5000 Neanderthals in Cavan cares what they have to say about anything.

• ‘All make wood from a fallen tree…..’ He was shafted and now the real crooks get a pay rise !! What a country.

• If only Sean Quinn had illegally taken a gamble on AAPL stock using Quinn Insurance’s funds, rather than Anglo. Things would be so different.

The equivalent stake he had in Anglo in late 2008 would be worth in excess of 4 billion today, a tidy 3.25billion profit.

Who’s fault is it that Sean Quinn chose to take the gamble on Anglo?

Not Sean Quinn’s according to CIC.

• Y.F. 09/11/12 #

The reason that the investment was made into Anglo was because the books had been cooked so well that the fictitious accounts showed that the bank was so safe, that any man with money in his back pocket would have been attracted to invest. That matter is for the court case in April. The latter…ie the matters that the CIC are talking about is what happened next. Who, what, where and when. I think it’s the only way to go.

• There should be an inquiry and plenty of white collars should end up in jail where they belong with pensions, and profits accrued, abolished.

• Open your eyes! these concerned citizens are educated, cultured and just as equal as the rest of us – their concern is that they want to understand the mass of money and the strategy in taking a series of profitable companies out of the control of Sean Quinn by unconstitutional means (this government has fallen foul of the supreme court two days before a referendum) The executives getting paid 500k and retaining Sean Gallagher SC at 80k per day! to compile a case against the Quinn – are not making any money for the Irish tax payer (European tax payer)

• mattoid 09/11/12 #

80k per day?

• mattoid 09/11/12 #

Do you have a source for that figure?

• billy is this not a conflict of interest and unethical by mr gallagher to work for both sides .

• ‘Educated and cultured’? Pictures of the crowds shown in various newspapers do not support that observation. Quinn, out of his depth, gambled, lost and then committed a criminal offence to try to dig himself out of the mess of his own making. On top of that he lied to the courts. Bang him away. End of story.

• Gagsy 99 09/11/12 #

80K a day – I love that!

• this Quinn support group have to be the greatest group of trolls ever! I bet there all at home laughing their arses off… what’s next lads? a campaign to rename that metal yoke on o Connel street to The Charles Haughey Shaft?? quite a ring to that!

• mattoid 09/11/12 #

I’m suspecting the 80k per day figure is just more Quinnspin….

• Y.F. 09/11/12 #

Well said Billie,
      It’s time we all found out what Anglo have ‘retreived’ for us so far, that could justify the outrageous salaries we are paying them. What did they get for Quinn health etc. Why have they not taken the companies, the factories, the hotels, the pubs etc off the entire debt they say Quinn owes? Are they not able to subtract? And if not what are we doing allowing them to pay themselves extortionate amounts of money from the public purse? Who gave them permission to take over all of Quinn’s assets in one clean swoop? Why is Noonan allowing them to pay a Russian company 155million in the hope that they might be able to help retreive assets that they don’t know the ownership of? Who are the puppeteers?

• Y.F. 09/11/12 #

I think the 80 grand referred to what Anglo have spent to date on legal fees in pursuit of Quinn.

• Cara 10/11/12 #

Y.F. I think the reported figure paid by IBRC to take these cases against Quinn has been 80 MILLION euro so far…..money WE, as taxpayers have to pay.
      Also how can 6 executives from a failed bank be earning more than €500,000 per annum? Colm Tobin has the following joke on twitter today which I think is quite apt….”Imagine getting 500k a year to be caretakers of a graveyard# IBRC”
      There should be a public inquiry into this whole debacle as I think this bank is taking us all for a ride, while at the same time saying it is “working on behalf of the taxpayer”.

• Oops, 80 Million is right! It sounds so crazy and unbelievable.
      What will the final legal fee be when this is all over? Crazy

• mattoid 10/11/12 #

Not saying you’re wrong, but for the sake of openness and transparency can you say where the figures for either the 80k per day or the 80 million total legal bill to date come from?

• Y.F. 10/11/12 #

Mattoid,
      The figure 80 million euro, which Anglo have spent to date in legal fees in their pursuit of Quinn was ‘revealed’ by the Irish Times about a week ago. Not sure about the date, but it was the same day they ‘revealed’ that Anglo/Noonan were giving 155million to the Russian company in the hope that they would help them.
      I don’t know where the other figure (80 k) came from.

• mattoid 10/11/12 #

Thanks. Looks like 3rd November then, but can’t get it online without a subscription :-(

• Y.F. 10/11/12 #

Mattoid,
      The figure was in the Irish independent on Saturday 3rd November. It’s in an article entitled ‘From richest man to common prisoner’. It’s still there

• It has yet to come out. The laundry is just at the washing stage!! I wonder just how much involvement both the banks and government of this country had in making the Quinn family take the fall, for what seems to be a very corrupt state of affairs! And of course it’s always us that eventually takes the hit .

Add New Comment