TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Kenny says AIB mortgage hike necessary to avoid further taxpayer bailout

Enda Kenny says AIB needs to return to profitability if it is to avoid needing further State support.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said AIB must take whatever steps it needs to return to profitability – including increasing its variable mortgage interest rates – if it is to avoid needing further support and recapitalisation from the taxpayer.

Kenny acknowledged that though the 0.5 per cent increase – announced last week – would be “difficult and challenging for people”, the return of the bank to a sound independent footing was of greater need.

Speaking in the Dáil, Kenny said though the increase would be difficult for the 70,000 affected mortgage holders to deal with, any decision of the bank not to move back to profitability would ultimately result in 2.1 million taxpayers having to give it further support.

“This is a commercial decision by a bank that the government considers to be a pillar bank,” Kenny said, adding that the forthcoming personal insolvency legislation would mean people in mortgage difficulty could approach the bank and make arrangements to deal with any financial problems.

Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin said the government appeared to be doing nothing to avoid such difficulties.

“Last November, when banks were not passing on the ECB rate reduction, you hauled in the banks – in a great show that you were going to rap their knuckles and get something from them,” he said.

“Even now you’re not talking tough any more, and people very alienated and very let down,” he added, saying the new insolvency laws – which may not be enacted until 2013 – could come too late for many.

Primary care, disability and a bank deal

Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams once again raised the issue of primary care centres, accusing the Taoiseach and the health minister James Reilly of failing to publish the exact criteria used for ranking them.

Speaking entirely in Irish, Kenny listed the criteria involved in ranking the centres – including the potential involvement of doctors, urban disadvantage, the presence of hospitals and other health centres, financial pressures on those services, and barriers to implementing public-private partnerships.

He sidestepped demands from Adams, however, to publish the exact logarithm used by the Department of Health in ranking the towns involved.

The Taoiseach did assert, however, that a report which reportedly could see cuts to disability payments for under-18s had not even been completed yet and would not be considered by the cabinet until it had been finished and submitted to the Minister for Social Protection.

Kenny also told the technical group’s Shane Ross that there had been no hold-up or U-turn on the prospect of a deal splitting Ireland’s banking debt from its sovereign debt, saying no such deal would be implemented until a European banking supervision system was in place.

“I can’t put an exact timeline on this – the important thing is to get the best deal for the taxpayer and the people,” he said.

Read: AIB to increase mortgage interest rates by 0.5pc

More: Burton ‘playing politics with people’s fears’ over proposed disability cut

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• Difficult and challenge??? Wtf does he know. His big expense account, and salary. Enda your removed from reality!!!!

• from school to college to the dail, Kenny hasn’t a clue about life in the real world.

he’s a pathetic fool.

• “Difficult and challenging ” – on top if everything else – F off Enda Kenny with that crap !

• Enda kenny will fight for your rights..He will ..He will..he will ..seriously .Ok there’s not a snowballs.

• Barry O 09/10/12 #

Enda no different then Biffo

• Spin and yet more spin.

• Who is paying the increases only taxpayers . Kenny you are something else , and not in a good way !

• It is not just AIB. The Bank of Ireland/ICS recent hike of interest rates has meant my mortgage has gone up €56 per month/ €672 pa since July, and it is a relatively small mortgage. It just means I will not be spending any money in the economy other that the bare essentials ie food. So no coffee or lunch in cafes, clothes etc So the Government doesn’t factor in the negative effect mortgage interest rate rises has on the local economy. And the banks don’t care. Seemingly “It was a management decision”. But one that can push people over the edge financially and in other ways!

I had already restructured my mortgage and got it to a manageable level. But my fixed term ended and I ended up exposed to exploitation by the bank. I have managed to fix half of the mortgage again but at a cost.

• Doesn’t anyone get it? They HAVE to raise the rates that people pay to get more money from the taxpayer so that later on they don’t have to get more money from the taxpayer! It’s common sense like.

• Who’s paying the massive pensions to AIb staff? Lol

• Please correct me if I am wrong…sooner they get back to a profitable bank,they go back on bonus?? I am pretty sure I read something like that..Okay….I am swearing big time now…………does my fkn head in…….etc….etc….

• he doesn’t give a shit about us. As fas as he’s concerned we are ripe pickings for the banks. Out Kenny. Bye Bye good luck you useless B*****d

• “difficult and challenging for people”

Why? Isn’t eating optional? You’d think so with this ape in charge…

• Call me pedantic, but isn’t a mortgage rate hike by a bank owned by the taxpayers in itself recapitalisation from the taxpayers?

• Sure, hey how about you tell that to the families who now have to adjust their (already reduced) food budget by an average €60 per month? The same ones who will be more likely to default and be evicted, I might add…

• You definitely took that up wrong John. This is Enda’s way of making people think that this won’t affect the taxpayer when in actual fact it is the taxpayer who’s going to pay for it and as you pointed out, it’s those who really find themselves in trouble who’ll be forced to pay up. :(

• These measures won’t be forgotten by AIB mortgage holders like me at the election Enda. But perhaps he knows that the comfortable middle classes will vote him in. Divide and conquer.

• Have to ask what is Labour saying about all of this?
    Also Mr. Kenny is wrong AIB was bailed out by the tax payer before went private and needed rescuing again. What’s to stop them from repeating the cycle?
    This along with water charges, property tax, fuel cost and transport cost increases will mean people will be left with nothing! According to Mr. Kenny that’s okay, the banks are saved and he still has his pension but workers will be lucky to get 4% of theirs.
    I have to ask where is the Irish people’s representation? Mr. Kenny has put the final nail in the financial coffins of about 96% of the population.

• ::: cse u will b left with notting but u will watch it go by. . because not wer our representives wer are the irish ppl the ones that fought out the blakantans and boomed with the tiger no 1 speeks up but give out about the goverment if a rally was organised in town maybe 5000 ppl mite show

but hit the dole payments 150000 ppl will show ppl must get together and be heard its one more tug on the pin of the grenade it will explode when tho? ???

• Not one more penny , not one penny that’s what FG told the people when we voted , the banks have killed the ppl of this country

• Should have let it go to the wall and set up a new bank. Fecking gangsters the lot of them, they made the bad investments they paid out 100% loans to 1000’s of people they didn’t check credit history of. So they make customers paid for the problems they created what a load of horse shite. Corrupt ruling over corruption.

• enda kenny is a absolute clown and a utter disgrace

• So, those stuck with AIB mortgages need to pay up as the bank is failing which is by no means their fault? Surely their must be a legal arguement somewhere there.

• I doubt it Barry, they have you by the short and curlies.
      A union of mortgage holders and a one month refusal of payment might bring them down a peg or two…. but how to organise it, because lets face it us Irish don’t do solidarity.

• Kenny said “Kenny acknowledged that though the 0.5 per cent increase – announced last week – would be “difficult and challenging for people”, the return of the bank to a sound independent footing was of greater need.”

Is he not basically saying that the banks in his view are more important than Irish citizens he has been elected to serve? Surely that must be a reason for him to be removed from office?

• Spot on Kerry. That is the Governments mission statement in a nutshell!

• Is’nt raising the interest rate a tax payer bail out too. Just not as broad based, and attacking those who cannot afford to pay. The rich will still get richer

• Exactly Kerry. The man is despicable,

• Kerry Blake, you say 0.5%. I disagree. The rise is higher. 0.5% is half a percentage point of 100. If you start however , say, from a figure of 5 then 0.5 on top of that equals an effective rise , I think, of10% if my figures are right) over what you are paying. If you pay 1000k a month at 5% then if the rate goes to 5.5% you pay an extra 100 euro which is 5% more.

• Barry
      We all want to see Allied Irish Bank return to profitability as soon as possible and we all want that for the same reasons. We want the Bank to behave like one as far as productive lending is concerned and we want , as taxpayers, to be repaid for the monies we were compelled to invest in them.
      If you have different views to the above I suggest you seek urgent treatment for your illness.
      As difficult as it may be for mortgage holders to cope with an increase I understand the AIB variable rate was lower than the market average and way below European average.
      Somehow we believe that they shouldn’t behave commercially because we own them. We need to grow up and quickly!

• @ Paddy Rogers AIB is a basket case we will never get more then 20% of what we bailed them out for. They are going to drive more people into arrears on their mortgages meaning that more tax payers money will be required to keep them above water. AIB is not a pillar bank it should be wound down with any performing loans being moved to a new bank a bank for the Irish people and not for anything else. AIB then can work on managing to the best degree what bad loans remain on it books for the good of the people who are in difficulty.

• Boycott AIB if u can. If everyone withdrew their deposits from AIB and switched their current accounts we’d soon see what a pillar bank it is. People power.

• Already moved banks. My entire family moved with me, including aunts/uncles/etc, when they decided to spring huge transaction fees on us. Oh and get this – if we had just €2500 to leave in our account, then we wouldn’t have had those changes. F-k you AIB.

• That will never happen. I really wish it would, but it won’t.
      Just look at the ulster bank fiasco. They lost hardly any customers.

• Kenny is some pr!ck allowing the banks to sock it on to the indebted (enslaved) negative equity homeowners. Instead of representing and standing up for us in Europe – he s implementing the agenda of the united states of Europe power hungry elite. A gombeen who is completely out of his depth.

• Emmet 09/10/12 #

Interesting address from Enda, sure look lads do what ye have to do screw the people even more and I’ll add a property tax next July…. Seriously the electorate are not happy and that’s something I’d be concerned about . Fair play to the framers today

• They’re not happy but they won’t even protest. Heck, getting anyone to even stand up and complain for something that affects them directly is a challenge in itself. They’ll bend over, hold out the Vaseline, and let Enda get on with what he does best.

What’s worse, the majority of people do not want to accept that FG are the ones setting policy, writing the budget, and holding the reins right now. The majority of people blame FF – which is fine – but then go on to praise FG for their stellar job. Wake up people. The FF might have caused the problem, they may have signed agreements that we are now shouldering; but FG decide just how much damage those agreements make.

For example? Ok, the IMF got a supposed agreement that we’ll get a property tax and a water tax. No, I don’t agree with it, but here’s an idea. Why don’t they make that tax directly deductible from your income tax, or at the very least a credit like the rubbish charges?
      Or if that’s too “smart”, why not bring down income tax to compensate.
      There’s probably a dozen ways an accountant could dance around that without costing the country anything; but no Enda and co want to stick it to the working man while making life easier for their wealthy backers, who have not only experienced tax REDUCTIONS, but have the option of hiring the best tax advisers and tax shelters that he adamantly refuses to close.

• Hang on a second.

So the taxpayer is footing the bill for the €64 Billion Bailout , suffering wage cuts, extra taxes, charges for anything possible for billions and billions to be poured in to banks????

So the banks hike up their prices to keep their profits up.

Either way the taxpayer is being forced to pay more and more into the banks this is ridiculous, immoral and unfair.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• That’s what Enda said about the Property tax, yet we have it coming! I signed the petition, But should have joined the farmers instead!

• Catherine..

So what are you saying? Are you suggesting that because the State owns AIB that they shouldn’t be allowed to charge interest on loans or mortgages and Banking should be free.
      To a large extent that is what a majority of contributors are suggesting or inferring on this particular story.
      More Magic Economics from som of our brightest thinkers!

• So Paddy Rogers you reckon it’s clever economics to pile additional pressure on people already struggling with their mortgages? Is that good business for the bank or the state if more people start defaulting on their mortgage’s? Magic economics indeed from those geniuses working for the banks. They have already ruined a number of people do you want to see them ruining more?

• AIB hike is necessary to keep Enda as one of the highest paid leaders in the world. Definitely the highest paid teacher!

• It’s time to take to the streets, anarchy on the streets to counteract the anarchy in the dail, fat cats feeding fat cats while the working man/woman foots the bill for the likes of you kenny, your a dirty despicable crook like the rest of FG/FGlite

• Ticktock. Be careful. Some of them secret service blokes are watching sites like this. Inciting the kind of behaviour you’re talking about carries serious jail time or worse! Hey you might even be charged with treason, but considering this crowd of gangsters have committed that very crime since the day they were elected, you’ll be in great company!

• With the way kenny and crew are running the country, we’d all probably be better off in jail anyways….it has gone beyond a joke at this stage!!

• More spin , the problem is you can’t move mortgages as no one is lending , so they have you by the short and curlies , I know the spiel of by heart , having to shore up the balance sheet blah blah , but you can still hold them up for more accountability , some of the bailout billions was suppose to be to help the distressed mortgages , they haven’t used it for that , they are using it to …..shore up the balance sheet ……despite what they spin they are NOT lending enough to small business ….. to help shore up the balance sheet…. So we basically spent billions to not let it fail but it won’t function to address the areas it was specifically saved to do…..then maybe we should have jut let it fail and not pay those bond holders if the only thing it can do is ” shore up the balance sheet” ….what exactly is the point of saving it as a pillar bank with billions if you wont get it to function in a way that actually addresses the problems.

• Darren 09/10/12 #

Please people. Do not vote for this fool again no matter what he may tell you!

• AIB should be left go to the wall, like they let struggling companies and a new bank – a whole new banking system – needs to be set up in this country. The whole thing is flawed and the government are too stupid to see that.

• Jay 09/10/12 #

I’d say AIB just want to update there little purple uniforms. The bank are a joke.

• Can you believe that comment from Enda?

• Every time Enda opens his mouth he shows that he does not have a clue what life is like for a huge number of the citizens. This man is so far removed from the people that it is frightening.

• Try again…What we need is radical action. As others have said, close your accounts, go back to a cash based society. But how about we got further. Stop paying back loans and mortgages. Even for a few months, just hold back a few payments. Several thousands of missed payments wont go unnoticed, and if enough held back on a short period even the bankers and government would sit up and start to consider whats happening. What exactly could they do to us? Its not as if theyre lending to anyone. Business or persoanl credit has all but dried up, but still they expect us to pay back 64billion of their creditors debts. They raise mortgage rates, bank charges, the government raise taxes and cut essential services. Just what else would our failure to hand over scheduled repayments do to us. They cant take our homes within a 3 year period without going through hoops, credit resolution proceedures, court applications. Yes its stupid idea, yes its probably something that wont happen, but arent we the gombeens that have allowed this situation to continue by our complicit attitude by NOT doing something. If playing by the rules has got us to this point, what in reality have we got to lose by being totally stupid in our responses.

• That sounds like bullshit or horse crap.

• Tommy 09/10/12 #

Maybe he shouldn’t have given that 1,000,000,000 euros to bondholders last week… that would’ve limited the taxpayers exposure… Oh yeah, that 120,000,000,000 we owe as well…

Since we own these banks why not make sure they look after the needs of the people? At least then, we’d get something out of owning them, apart from eternal debt of course…

• State capitalism at its worst.The middle income earners to be fleeced again …To the life boats

• I can’t wait to see the back of enda kenny

• Kenny says we need to jab you more in the left eye so as to jab you less in the right…..

• bringback d punt hyper inflation 18months clear the mortages simple europe fuks it alll up every1s in debt this isnt normal

• Jason with Enda and his party it will always be the banks and the bondholders before the people. exactly like their predessors.

• You all know what to do, don’t pay any increases, but have you got the stomach for that yet???

• Bloody variable rates should be capped bloody disgraceful!!!!

• They didn’t want to be any more unpopular than they already are, imagine this headline. Government to bail out Banks, with more Taxpayers money. But what it really is, the PPI scandal you are all paying for. So now it’s official, the Tail wags the Dog and we clean up its mess!

• I’m voting sínn feín next time round, I voted labour last time. Sure the sínners couldn’t shag it up anymore than it all ready is, may as well give them a shot.

• Sandra he does have a clue…He just doesn’t care.

• Are mortgage payers not tax payers? It is a targeting of the worker! The few workers carrying the lazy on their backs ! I’m all for social democracy but this is a joke. The notion that indirectly taxing working families by propping up another failed backs profit margin is sick. Boycott and burn.ie

• Thank you Niall keady for putting up that link..shows them for what they truly are..two faced pr##ks..really sickening.. Have they no morales..

• Fair play to Michael mcGrath, he really understands how normal people like me and you are feeling after every hike.. PTSB customers have been feeling the way AIB customers are feeling now for over 2 years, He has been fighting these hikes for a long time now but to be honest it’s going to get worse for all SVR customers next year….

• Michael McGrath ? Fair play to him? He’s a FFer, one of the cretins who got us into this mess! He really understands how normal people feel after every hike? HTF does he understand that, please tell me? FF are toadying their way back and you are falling for it. How short a memory we have in this country?

Why are we not sitting down in Kildare street, peacefully, in our thousands? Have we forgotten how to protest? Are we that scared to complain?

• johnny 09/10/12 #

mortgage rate hike is a tax payer bailout you dumb son of a…….

• stop playing their game, I hope EVERYONE KNOWS THAT A 3 BED SEMI IS ONLY WORTH 5 TIMES YOUR SALARY. THEN DIVIDE THE NUMBER IN HALF AND REMOVE 20 PERCENT TO REVEAL TRUE VALUE. DONT EVER FALL FOR THESE PROPERTY TRICKS AGAIN FOLKS.

• eoghan 09/10/12 #

Bank of Ireland all the way anything owned by the government will end up been a disaster boi atleast will be ran properly since government didnt nationalize it

• Makes sense.

• Michael 10/10/12 #

Interest rates were too low to start with and is what caused this malfeasance

Add New Comment