TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Leo Varadkar says €135k salary request didn’t break the rules

The Minister for Transport said that exceptions can be made to the €92,000 pay cap on ministerial advisers.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR TRANSPORT Leo Varadkar has said no rules were broken over his request for his ministerial adviser to be paid a salary of €135,000.

Speaking this morning, Varadkar said exceptions could be made to the  pay cap of €92,000 when the employee had been earning more than that in the private sector

“The situation with my adviser is that he took a €30,000 pay cut to come and work for me and I’m very glad he did that,” said Leo Varadkar.

He said that his ministerial adviser, Brian Murphy,  had been earning €135,000 in the private sector, leading to Varadkar to request the same annual salary when Murphy was due to begin working for the government . The request was rejected by Minister for Public Expenditure Brendan Howlin.

The adviser now earns €105,000.

Under rules agreed by the current government, salaries for ministerial advisers are capped at €92,672.

Speaking on the Marian Finucane Show on Radio Radio One this morning, the Minister explained how the exception to the pay cap has occurred:

The rules essentially that we brought in were that we were going to reduce the number of advisers and reduce their pay, which we did. So we decided on a new pay scale which was between €80 and €92,ooo  but exceptions were to be made where someone was coming in from a job in the private sector where they were paid a lot more.

Varadkar said it was “not true” that rules had been broken, adding that the rulebook allows for exceptions in some cases.

Sinn Féin said Varadkar’s request was “an absolute disgrace” when many organisations and individuals are facing cuts or salary reductions.

Varadkar under fire after requesting €135k salary for adviser

Read next:

Comments (163 Comments)

• This man becomes more idiotic and hypocritical every single day.

• Cpm 29/01/12 #

If we ever need a Minister for Clowns, he’ll be our man

• ^^ Thats Enda Kennys job. They are sheep. He the shepard.

• Yeh but if you pay peanuts only monkeys will work for u. If he’s on €135k in the private sector then he must know his stuff.

Is it not better to pay a little extra for proven quality? It’ll probably save the country money in the long run…

Yes it’s hard to hear about people getting these salaries, but if you don’t pay em then you lose them, eg: we shoulda paid up to keep Willie Walsh at Aer Lingus.

• Well if that sort of money is required for the people needed to do the job, why the hell did they cap it at 93,000-ish?.
      Either that was a fair amount and this is another typical “jobs for the boy” endeavour, or they were unrealistic and don’t know what they’re doing.
      Either way it’s a farce.

• Cpm 29/01/12 #

@drrobot – €92,672 is peanuts? There is zero correlation between competence and wage – look at our domestic banking sector. Monkeys probably would have done a better job.

• Chopper 29/01/12 #

@drRobotnik87 What proven quality? What experience of Transport and Tourism does this man have to be an adviser? Did he go on a bus once to Portsalon (absolutely lovely btw) for a holiday? It’s only “jobs for the boys” from the backroom of FG (he as on their nat exec) and everyone knows that!

• Sorry but is it just me who wonders why a minister would need an adviser in the first place…surly if you where a minister of a particular department you would have to be qualified to run that department! Oh wait no.. Im trying to logically discuss Irish politics…..how silly of me!

• Glenn Carroll
      there is NO logic to Irish politiccs . They keep changing the rules and the goal posts to suit their personal agenda and that of their cronies….

BTW …. Nice Profile pic :)

• Varadker is a disgrace and is facilitating the extinction of hauliers by exorbitant and excessive taxes on fuel etc and he has the nerve to look for a salary such as this for an adviser. Get rid of Varadker and support decent workers like hauliers who are forced to travel across the water where they are treated with more respect.

• Please advise us on a particular issue this “adviser” advised you on and we can see if its value for money. I can advise you Leo, you are a tit …. and that’s for free.

• Why don’t we just elect the advisors and be done with it? Our politicians are obviously morons.

• So he didn’t break the rules-his case was an “exception” to them.

Varadkar, you’re a flippin’ disgrace.

• I am unemployed and know nothing about running a country. Can I have an advisors job too? I’ll do it for just the 92k

• What exactly is this guy advising him on? He was a corporate/public affairs director for a pharmaceutical lobby group and now he’s advising the Minister of Transport & Tourism. I would like to know why he is worth the extra 13k that he is getting. Also considering the communications fuck up in Davos this week whoever is advising Enda Kenny has some serious questions to answer.

• hypocrite

• What’s the point of a pay cap if it’s so easy to ignore it?
    Doesn’t the government realise that the country is broke?

Oops, sorry.. Again I seem to have been asleep in dreamy land where things actually run the way they are supposed to and politicians don’t lie..

• He must have very tiny feet to be able to get both of them into his mouth so easily…

• mart_n 29/01/12 #

I don’t get it.. What does their previous salaries have to do with anything? If I quit my job tomorrow I wouldn’t expect to walk into a new job and be paid the same amount just because that’s what I was earning before.

Rules may not have been broken but the hypocritical nature of and cronyism within the government is becoming more than apparent.

• And you wouldn’t quit that job to take less money either. This Varadkar thing is infuriating me but private corporations don’t expect people to leave highly paid jobs elsewhere to take less money in jobs they need to fill. I know the country is in dire straits and cannot be regarded in the same terms as a company. But I know that I wouldn’t leave my job now to work with a minister for less money AND know that I’d most likely be unemployed at the next election. What would YOU do?

• That depends, are advisers likely to get the same sort of job security, pensions and other perks that senior civil servants are getting?

I mean, my experience of those on public sector contracts (in later privatised companies) is that they cannot be sacked.. Regardless of incompetence, laziness, not showing up (even being drunk on the job).. They get paid one way or the other and their pension is safe.. By contrast all the other workers may be sacked at any time, must take wage cuts whenever necessary etc, and have private pensions subject to the whims of government or the holy markets..

Maybe it’s different for advisors, but if I was taking a wage cut in the knowledge my job would be safe as houses til I retired and there may be a hefty pension involved I think I’d take it..

• I agree. If he wants the job because it will benefit his career or for whatever other reason and if they have pay scales then he should go for what is on offer. Or else give it a miss and let Mr. Varadkar find an advisor within the budget. I took pay cut twice in my career for strategic reasons and it paid off on the long run. Also, his previous salary is by no means an indication of what he’s worth in the role of an ministerial advisor unless we’re talking about the same job descriptions, which I doubt. The public sector want to have it both ways, they have pay scales and increments to protect useless pencil pushers and then want market rates to attract talent (most likely a mate of Varadkar). Let the market rates rule throughout or stick with the pay scales.

• OK, checked with a civil servant. An advisor role is political and when the government goes, so do they. They are paid from the public purse but they are not permanent civil servants and they are not on an incremental pay scale. So who ever jumps the private sector ship to take one of these posts, would have to have their fingers crossed that it would look sexy enough on the CV for future career directions. I suppose the party might employ them afterwards?

• Thanks for finding that out Cecily :)
      I suppose as Dom pointed out there are strategic advantages. Ad that to the question Eugene O Niell raised below about whether Brian Murphy did indeed come from a “private” background, or was he already involved in the party..
      I still reckon if there’s a pay cap there’s a pay cap. Anyone applying for the job would have to be mindful of the current economic climate and to be willing to take a hefty paycut would hopefully imply more determination to help get us back on our feet.

• Just more crap, excuses and lies from out traitorous Government!
    The only difference being, its Leo’s time right now.
    Who’s next up from them with the double-standards?

Liars and Traitors!

• I see he’s still digging this particular hole, embarrassing stuff

• pagan 29/01/12 #

Never seen Labour so quite in all my life since they came into power.
    It’s as if there just happy enough to be in power and don’t want to rock the boat by saying or doing anything against FG.Let me tell the boys in labour something that won’t cost 100,000euro.You will never ever get into power again.You promised to look after the normal working classes and you have failed.Shame on you and FG.Same crap and bull shit different name.

• Agreed They are very quiet and just have gilmore shouting at the top of his voice about green jerseys blah blah blah labours way blah blah blah.Howlin gets up on his biscuit tin now and again and preaches like Fr Matthew.
      Ms Bruton gagged day 1 Quinn shot himself in foot over 3rd level fees Joe Costello concerned wife has to emigrate to take terrible M E P job (unelected).
      Apartt from that they are a no show party and have become the new green party{push the green button party for voting with contunity FF}.
      They must be very concerned Sinn Fein will attack 15 to 20 of their seats.

• If ministers feel that particular advisors are necessary to help the minister carry out his portfolio, and the advisor would need to be offered more money to leave the private sector, the difference in pay should be deducted from the ministers pay. Easy simple equitable solution, whilst also providing a disincentive for ministers to hire cronies at over the odds prices.

• Clown, take a bow Enda, another gobshite you gave some peer too!

• Take take take, nom nom nom, money money money. Stinks of it.

• He is once again totally out of step with the mood of the nation.
    I once had high hopes that he would be an able and effective representative.
    He meddles, fudges and fidgets..
    Lost the plot long ago..
    Long holiday for Leo..

• dave 29/01/12 #

I see in yesterday’s Irish Times that Govt Chief Whip Paul Kehoe also has an advisor. Can anybody tell me why a Chief Whip needs to waste over €80k per annum on an Advisor? Scandalous!

• To think I actually thought this guy would be competent and good as a minister. He’s just another egomaniac waffling and bluffing whilst talking to us all like we’re idiots.

• It’s getting to the point now, where I’d rather see a rubbish headline about some Z-List celebrity, than Varadkar.

I don’t believe a word out of that man’s mouth.

• If your advisor is that brilliant, pay him the extra out of your own pocket Varadkar. There’s plenty of people out there who could and would do that job for less than the salary cap, why should the tax payer have to fork out just so you can look after your own?

• I really don’t get this ”oh but he could have earned so much more if he worked in the private sector” argument.

If the advisor in question wants to earn that much then he should remain in the private sector.

The advisor can’t have his cake and eat it, I don’t see why the taxpayer should have to fund this ridiculous wage.

• On top of that, the person also clearly has all the right connections and then with a job like that for a couple of years – he could walk into any multinational and sit on the board. They think we are stupid.

• These guys are usually on their last legs in the private sector or else just failures and are taken on by politicians as payment for favours or because they may still have influence in certain areas. In short they should be sacked without any golden pensions or hand shandys from politians and replaced by people off the dole!

• They just don’t get it, we are getting sick shit of their arrogance and patronising manner, they treat us like stupid sheep and we keep taking it. Bring on an Irish Spring and let’s clean out this rubbish.

• Aydo 29/01/12 #

To the Journal, you choice of pictures is always comical. The lad is a plank.

• Excuse my ignorance but why was he given the job in the first place if he needs an advisor, surely we are paying enough for one man to do the job he should be qualified to do without having to pay a second man to sit on his shoulder…

• This salary level is insane. In this economy he could get three very well paid advisers for that amount of money. I dont care how good you are, you are not worth that when there are so many highly educated and more than able people ready to do the job for a lot less. Market economy 101. This is a clear case of jobs for the boys, nothing else. He should resign.

• AlMar 29/01/12 #

You think 35,000 is very well paid?!

It’s around the average industrial wage, which by definition is average and thus not well paid.

I know it seems a lot compared to social welfare etc. But the mentality that says 35k is very well paid is the same mentality that our European overlords have.

• Ok fair enough, you wont be buying many bonds with this wage but its a lot more than many people have. I’m pretty sure if an advisor position (whatever that means) was advertised at that wage you would get a lot of applications from more than qualified people. Anyway the point is that 135k is a ridiculous amount of money to pay an advisor. Nobody needs that amount of money. Sure it would be nice, but you could get by pretty well on a lot less. Varadkar and his buddies are nothing more than a thieves.

• AlMar 29/01/12 #

Paul:
      I agree with much of what you say in your second comment.
      35K is a lot more than many have. You would also probably get a lot of very tale talented individuals at that salary in the current climate. One can certainly survive on 35K, but how feasible is it to provide housing, food, education, healthcare etc for a family on that amount of money? I’m sure it’s possible but also very challenging.
      But we must be careful about our rhetoric and use of language lest we encourage a race to the bottom when it comes to wages and living standards. The people who will benefit most from a race to the bottom are those who wish to exploit workers. They are the very same people who encourage a private sector versus public sector conflict and who themselves prosper from that conflict.

• Hmm I still think 35 K is a good wage (it would be in my field anyway) for an individual. Ok probably not the best wage if you are a sole provider in a family, but for a single person it is enough. I see your point about the exploiters though. It really is time for a complete paradigm shift in this country.

• franco 29/01/12 #

jaysus i was just enjoying my coffee until i read varadkar the impailers gaffe for the day is there no way of stopping this
    foot in mouth idiot…

• He’s done it again!

Leo V just said on Sunday RTE News that he believes referendums are not democratic.
    The man is living on another planet!

• Mmm. So last week he said a bomb would explode over non payment of bondholders. And this week it is ok to break a budget cap on salaries. Banana republic.

• That’s Right Leo!!

Dish Our Money Out To Your Chums!!

• Does that include the lavish expenses they get??? Cracks are starting already!

• Ciaro 29/01/12 #

A doctor masquerading as a transport minister hires a healthcare professional to advise him.
    Fucking unbelievable, Leo you are an incompetent idiot.

• Why not sack Leo and replace him with his advisor and save hundreds of thousands.
    If they need advisors we don’t need them.
    Grow a pair and make your own decisions Leo that’s what you are well paid to do ( jobs for the boys) Arrrrrrr!!!

• Rob 29/01/12 #

FFS theres a pay cap there, but ALL the ministers are requesting special arragements to break it.

why have a cap at all, or is the cap just optics to fool the public?

they’re a disgrace.

BTW if the ‘advisor’ decides to leave a job paying 135k for 92k…. thats his choice, he knows the rules before he decides!

• How is this crook only 32! All that lying and cheating must put years on you.

• He knew the salary before he took the job,why would he take such a drop to work for this muppett??

• The pay cap rule is a load of bollox.
    Did he ever hear of looking around for a cheaper adviser and living with in our troubled economy?
    Here’s what FG/teacher party pay with our tax money for advisers:(think you may need Microsoft word to open)
    http://www.finegael.org/upload/file/policyarchive/Special%20Advisors.doc

And he goes onto say
    “but exceptions were to be made where someone was coming in from a job in the private sector where they were paid a lot more.”
    Brain Murphy worked in FG on some Chair of the Fine Gael National Executive is that private sector?
    http://www.politicalworld.org/showthread.php?t=8779&page=10

• Pay the advisor to advise the civil service and bin the wanker.

• This Government and this Minister are morally bankrupt …

• Publish the rule-book Mr Varadkar, where is the open & honest politics we were promised, or was that just another cynical exercise in vote getting?

We were promised change and I can see the change alright, as in there is nothing new. 6 Ministers have now upped the pat of their advisers despite the pay-cap. One rule for us, one rule for them, that must be in the rule-book so? Is that the way of it Mr Varadkar?

• Prick

• Why do we have civil servants minsters and advisers why not pay the advisor and sack the rest.
    If leo the liar can’t do the job without this advisor why did Enda give him the job.
    Jobs for the boys is the first principle of FF FG and labour

• Leo, noonan and Enda have all shown in the last week or two they are unfit for purpose. They do not care about the Irish people all they care about is self serving issues. God help this poor country, we have elected mistake after mistake and we will have to pay for it for years to come.

• Leo V. What part of the wage cap do You not understand 92K is the max to be paid Not 135K that is almost a 50% if a pay increase Get a grip Leo…Well I would prefer if you would just get to he’ll out of politics you have proved to be a liar and a cheat your services are not needed anymore. We can employ someone more suitable.no need to clear your desk so as it can be checked for all that you made a muck of just close the door after you and see any of your colleagues take them with you

• Gobshites

• Being in the troika quick – 3 guys who do not need advisors at 135k and seem to know exactly how to get our country back living within our means. Leo – I hope as minister for transport you get the advisor to speed up the mainline trains as the average speed of our trains is 42.3mph which is the worst in Europe after 4 eastern European countries. The mainline trains run at half the speed of the London to Edinborough train in 1922. They were steam trains at that time. Will the head of Irish rail get a good bonus and pension ? He should be FIRED.

• Animal Farm logic from Leo. All animals are equal, except some are more equal than others. Different faces at the table, same generous menus shuffled around.

• *sigh*

Here we go again…so much for changing things…

• Minster Leo down in the pub with his mate.
    Minster Leo : how’s work these days.
    Mate: ah it’s not as good as it use to be, you nearly have to work for a living these days.
    Minster leo: I’ve a great idea, I’ll get you a job for 130K + expenses and you don’t have to do anything cos I have senior civil servants and a department to all the work.
    Mate: you’d never get away with that.
    Minster Leo: no seriously it’s already sorted. We have a Hugh majority and labour are lining their own nest so for the next 5 years we can milk this country for whatever we can and the best bit is I get a massive pension for ripping the guts out of the country

• Can’t help wondering why some one would take a 30k drop in salary to join what many would say is a sinking ship? Is it an act of patriotism borne of ones love for their country?
    Or it is a loss on paper, but a stepping stone to a even better gravy train in Europe because don’t forget what people see as incompetence here seems worthy of reward by Europe as long as it keeps us on the preferred path. Ask Kevin Cardiff.

• jimbo 29/01/12 #

eh leo it clearly breaks rules that have been clearly set out.
    they are the rules you have to follow,you are such a silly little man and just cant see that can you.
    fossets circus is coming to town soon,you should enrol ASAP.
    just do us all a favour and resign.

• What’s all this advisor shite ? Fu*cking advisors. If these shower of fu*ckfaced TDs want promotions to ministerial positions & greater power & salary,do the fu*king job & use the people employed in the dept already to fu*king advise you or if you are not up to it just sit on the backbench & shut the fu*k up you shower of egomania boring bunch of geebags. Advisors my boll*x… Rant over sorry,I made the mistake of checking out my bank account online

• So Leo reckons that he has broken no rules ??? he must have got that nugget of information from one of his advisers.

• Fr Ted and Dougal robbing the poor box again and again and again.

• The man deserves that money, we all agree to it, yap yap yap amongst ourselves, so Government carry on thinking we don’t mind advisors getting this wage. So stop your moaning to each other and vent your anger in a letter to the Enda’s office.

• What’s the points in imposing caps if exceptions are made!?

This gov’t has lost their credibility. Time to arrange a coup…..

• Are we,as an Irish nation stupid or what.They are all at it.I wonder how much pension the adviser got when he left his job,plus the “golden handshake”.I wont matter to the adviser at all how much he earns with leo.He only has to work for a few months,then resign,get a golden handshake,and a pension for life paid for by us mugs for the rest of his life.You only have to look at all the people who retired to see this,most of them in disgrace,but still on massive pensions.All of them are back in full time work,again on high earnings,while we pay the pensions.when are we going to say,Enough is Enough.We all sit here typing each day,and really we should be out there doing something.We all have to stop this country for a day or two,if just to show them that we are the people.If we dont do something soon,you can bet your life they will carry on till we do.If everyone gets just ten of their friends not to watch Rte for a week,you will see what happens.If we dont pay our Mortgages,they are fucked.We have the power to change things.We are Irish,and we should remember,we are a proud nation.I know I am up for it.

• I could not agree more about closing Down and taking to the C.O’s Of every TD and also DAIL EIREANN to get our Hospitals back and all with 24/7 A&E’s our schools back with SNA’s where needed Taxes sorted fairly so folk will have some spending power to create jobs and try and keep at least some young at home in Ireland but We Need To Get this Shower of DAIL Eireann take Ireland back from these traitors now

• Lads, count me in! Just a train of thought, who would be interested in the job without the money? I’ll tell you. The people who truly love Ireland would.

I can boycott. I can keep money under the mattress. I can go to a public rally at Leinster House. Guys, I will do anything. I love my country and am horrified that my fellow countrymen, my elected leaders, can behave this way. I might sound mad, but I am deadly serious. Reclaim our beautiful wonderful little country.

• Leo V forgets that TDs are meant to be leading by example so he needs to be seen to be staying within the pay cap agreed, just proves that some of our elected reps are as thick as a bloody post. Leo the jockey called, he wants his bollox back. Bloody neck on this fella.

• He did not break any rules.
    The rule says the maximum an advisor should be paid is €92k unless Leo says otherwise :-)
    To be fair to the advisor, he clearly has his work cut out for him, he’ll earn every penny working for this donkey.

• If only we could comment on goings on in castleknock hotel !!!!!!

• Varadkar. Once an up and coming bit of new blood, but for the last 6 months shows himself to be as bad as any politician this country has had. A total lapdog for toothless Kenny.

• As an afterthought;if we dont pay our mortgages,the bankers get no bonus.If we dont watch Rte,their salarys come down. tell me gobshite kenny who has the power.

• I dont even know what to say…and that rarely happens…. WTF? Has this man no concience (?) at all? It is absolutely … it is a disgrace … one of the people which the RECESSION will hit VERY VERY hard…if god is in good mood he will let me watch…

• pay cuts for ordinary public servants..forcing experienced garden nurses etc to retire..no replacement patrol cars..rural garde stations closing..wards mothballed..the list of cutbacks us endless yet despite the talent available within departments are ignored for favour of special advisors on a kings ransom…if I could is jump ship itmrw!

• Maybe we should start electing people into jobs according to their ability to do a job, not what party they are affiliated with, then they wouldn’t have to hire advisers for obscene amounts of money!! Makes sense to me. That’s what would happen in business, and our economic future depends on those elected so surely it should b the best placed for each dept, that gets the job.????

• David 29/01/12 #

At least Fianna Fail were accountable for their incompetence and paid the price. This lot don’t care and act like they’re untouchable. I thought public servants were there to advise Ministers? Either the public servant can’t do their job or Vlad the Waster can’t. At this rate the next ballot paper will have to have a ‘None of the above’ box.

• Since the ministers want to pritivise all our state assess. Lets start at the top they dont seem to be able to do the job having to get advisors to make their decisions for them. privitise the
    Dail out to people that are capable of making a decision. portfoilo for health, the countries top doctor, and so on.
    Just a ramdom idea that someone thats takes on a very important area is qualified to do so.

• It worries me that the minister defends his position with “it doesn’t break the rules” He actually thinks that is a defense? It doesn’t break the rules??? What happened to our representatives leading by example. That is what leaders do!
    A representative is one who speaks on behalf of the people:

1. One that serves as an example or type for others of the same classification.
    2. One that serves as a delegate or agent for another.
    a. A member of a governmental body, usually legislative, chosen by popular vote.
    b. A member of the U.S. House of Representatives or of the lower house of a state legislature.
    adj.
    1. Representing, depicting, or portraying or able to do so.
    2. Authorized to act as an official delegate or agent.
    3. Of or characteristic of government by representation.
    4. Like or typical of others of the same class.

• Wow said madam Clinton about this fella

• politicians are arrogant smug c**ts and this varadkar gimp is the perfect example of that.unfortunately we are to blame as we never kick up serious stink when any kind of injustice by bankers or politicians is done,instead the best we can do is have a peaceful march or call joe duffy!we deserve what we get because we accept it and they know we will always accept it and that is the sad reality GET USED TO IT!

• Craig – get real! That is plain silly. Nobody here elected a man of the moral he has demonstrated. Going into the election we were promised something new, something brave and intelligent. Sadly, we were lied to. Don’t hold the Irish people responsible for being lied to. Maybe people will see through see low lifes soon and vote for a party that is about Ireland. Sinn Féin!

SF have worked hard the last decade, and indeed longer to help NI turn a corner. Everything that party do is about Ireland. They will be getting my vote AGAIN in the next election.

Finally, what do you do? Have you been to protests? Do you write to your local TDs and councillors, pointing out their mistakes? Or do you listen to Joe Duffy? I’m thinking it’s the latter!

• Hear Hear Sandra S.F. truely LOVE Ireland

• http://www.eolasmagazine.ie/advising-government

Look how many advisors Simon Coveney has!

• The rule books of Ireland have been falsified to introduce opinions over 8000 times since 1922.

You cannot comply or breach falsified rule books, for they should not exist.

In Mr Varadkar’s opinion he did not break the rules and he is probably right.

• his special advisor has been doing a great job thus far…i wonder if it was him that suggested talking about bombs and stuff!! anx if got paid more than €135,000 in the private why is still not working in the private sector…no civil servant/td should be paid more than a 100k.

• Absolutely agreed.Working in the public arena does not necessitate exorbitant salaries. How many of us here would get up and do the job for average industrial wage? I would do it because I love my country and genuinely want the best for her and her people! It should be an honour to serve one’s country in this way.

• Keith I’m not disagreeing with you but SF are not or have been in government.
    One thing about FF was at least they conned us into thinking we were having good times while they screwed the country. This government doesn’t even give us a feel good factor as they line their pockets

• ah yeah…special advisor. justify why you need him Varadkar. This will outrage us until the next outrageous thing they do comes along. then it’s forgotten.

• You all voted fg & labour what did you expect ??

• ….and the show goes on…..

• I have never had the ambition to become a Ministerial advisor but some of the contributors above can be certain that their applications would be rapidly binned given the nature of their crude vulgarity and libellous comments.
    Our Governmental system accepted the need for advisors many years ago and differs little from other democracies in that regard.
    Why then do we get the vicious comments that ignore realities without any form of balance.

• What did all the advisors do in previous governments to prevent what we are going through now? our governmental system is seriously flawed & rotten to the core,nepotism & ‘jobs for me mates’ & ‘pay backs’ makes me want to vomit…

• I don’t have an issue with advisors just think they should adhere to the salary cap.

• Mark, other democracies do not pay the rate of pay for advise. Oh, and many are not as fcuk’d as us because of this advise!

• Again because the ” system accepted the need for advisors many years ago ” you believe that we should pay out hundreds of thousands of €s per annum to fulfill a jobs for the boys agreement .
      Can they not contact experts as necessary when specialist advice is needed ?
      I mean if I want to find out about tropical fish I will go to a tropical fish expert .
      By the same token, albeit my example is over simplified, can not mr/ms minister
      contact an independent expert as necessary

• Eileen, I don’t think that would be very cost effective. Clearly it makes sense to have someone on your staff who can advise whenever you need it. If you went and approached someone every time you need advice or a steer on things it would cost a fortune.

• Hi Lisa
      I just feel if they stayed within their own self imposed pay caps,
      I don’t mind if they have advisors , but why so many ?
      I have to make a conscious effort of not rubbishing everything this government
      does . I feel so let down and disillusioned , because of their lies …
      I accept advisors are needed , but not so many and not at any price.

However I am still annoyed at Veradkar….

• I agree about the pay cap and this Brian Murphy guy should never have accepted the job if he wasn’t prepared to take €92K. But two advisers doesn’t seem over the top to me, I would have thought going into a varied portfolio like Leo’s would mean you need more than two.

• Ah sure, we all break the rules sometimes.

• An let’s be honest about it. Which one of you would not grab that job with that Salary if you were offered it? I would be in there in a New York minute and I would not give a shite about rules and regulations or what any idiot wrote about me on this or any other website. Wake up folks, these people or no more dishonest than you or I. Deny it if you like but we all know the truth.

• Great to see such stand up people like yourself give as little a crap about this countries future as these morons clearly do. And let’s be clear, you don’t speak for me or know me, as I’m sure you don’t speak or know people’s true feelings on here, so leave it out with the “truth” speeches.

• Gerry
      I can honestly say I would not .
      To take money like that in the face of so much heartfelt opppsition just goes to show that as a person leaves a lot to be required. I do not have a problem with making hard or tough decisions but these lads are rail roading us and are doing it to benefittheir own puppet masters .

Add New Comment