TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Michael Lowry hits out at media ‘baying for his blood’

The deputy said he had been victimised by the “self-appointed beacons of virtue” over his meetings with ministers.

Michael Lowry
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

MICHAEL LOWRY HAS said he was unfairly victimised by media coverage of his meetings with ministers after the Moriarty Tribunal, describing the reports as “reckless”, “irresponsible”, and “baying for blood”.

The independent Tipperary deputy and former Fine Gael communications minister said he had been the victim of a presumption of guilt, and that his rights had been “trampled on mercilessly” by the media.

He also reiterated criticisms of the Moriarty Tribunal’s final report, saying the finding that he delivered the State’s second mobile phone licence to Denis O’Brien’s Esat Digifone consortium was “completely false”. Lowry noted that the tribunal did not describe him as corrupt.

In a lengthy two-page statement, Lowry said he was “greatly troubled by the extent and nature of reckless and irresponsible comment emanating from various political and media sources”. He continued:

Despite never having been charged with or convicted of any crime in Ireland, I have been roundly condemned as a convicted criminal by the media and by various political opportunists. They wish to strip me of all constitutional rights and basic dignity; both as a public representative and as a citizen.

Lowry denied that he had been the net beneficiary of around €900,000 in transactions covered by the Moriarty Tribunal. “The fact is that absolutely no money accrued to me” from these transactions, he said.

‘Self-appointed beacons’

He said he had never been approached by the gardaí or other State agencies in relation to the report’s findings, which he noted had no legal status. Lowry hit out at those who he said were “crawling over one another to stake a claim to the high moral ground” over his case.

The deputy also defended his right of access to Government ministers. “My representational rights and entitlements are constitutional and equal to that of any member of Dáil Eireann,” he said.

Environment minister Phil Hogan was criticised last week for meeting with Lowry days after the publication of the Moriarty Tribunal’s final report.

Lowry said his rights were derived from his electoral mandate, which has seen him top the poll in Tipperary-South Offaly several times. He said:

I will not tolerate attempts to belittle my constituents by any of the self-appointed beacons of virtue and morality.

Read: Michael Lowry’s statement in full>

More: Here’s what happened at the meeting between Phil Hogan and Michael Lowry>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• Doesn’t this weasel realise that in 90% of all other democracy’s he’d be spending most of his life behind bars! The circumstantial evidence alone would secure a conviction! It’s only because he’s in a corrupt little banana republic called Ireland, that he’s still at liberty! Your time will come Lowry!!

• “Despite never having been charged with or convicted of any crime in Ireland”. An innocent man would have opened with saying he was innocent. That statement has a whiff of OJ Simpson about it “I did something illegal but ye can’t prove it”.

• Power corrupts and the corrupt seek power.

• Poor Lowry. Probably the best TD in the Dail. if people need a pothole fixed in Tipperary Michael comes around and fixes it himself. Same with plumbing problems – the bold Michael will arrive on your doorstep with a plunger and bucket. Indeed If Carlsberg did TDs all our TDs would be armed with plungers. The only way this guy is going into the dock is if he’s found to have a TV with no licence.

• His ‘rights’ didn’t include trying to screw the political system (thus the public) for possible personal gain!
    I guess he contently might have forgotten about that bit of course!

• Yep, the media should leave him be, this is the corrupt asshole the people of n tipp wanted! Oh Ireland I love and hate you all at the same time…

• In disgusting detail, Moriarty revealed how the bloated rich and their Oireachtas chums held the Irish people in contempt and made millions in the process. Reading the report is like a slow crawl through a sewer. Lowry, a senior Fine Gael cabinet minister, imparted substantive information to Denis O’Brien that was ‘of significant value and assistance to him in securing the Esat Digifone licence.’ Moriarty established that O’Brien made or facilitated payments to Lowry via a series of offshore accounts, and sums of money (‘political donations’ nudge-nudge-wink-wink) were also handed to Fine Gael in the immediate aftermath of the awarding of the licence and that the party behaved with ‘gross impropriety’ when it attempted to conceal the donations.

Nine ministers in the present government who were also cabinet ministers in the government that approved the awarding of the mobile phone licence to Esat Digifone. They were Richard Bruton, Michael Noonan, Brendan Howlin, Eamon Gilmore, Pat Rabbitte, Joan Burton, Phil Hogan Jimmy Deenihan and Enda Kenny.

When asked whether Lowry should resign from the Dail – Enda Kenny said Lowry should only resign if we all lived in an ideal world! Enda once described Lowry as a ‘man of the highest integrity and honour’

• Poor man ,,, well he has all that money to make to drown his problems !!!!!!!

• Lowry has been re-elected continuously since his difficulties became known many years ago. That’s the bit I don’t understand.

• ha ha ha ha ha ha, sorry, I have to laugh at what he said about the media!!! Trying to play the victim like aherne. God, these need a good slapping.

He says he has been “trampled on mercilessly” – I beg to differ Mr. Lowry, it’s innocent people that have been left with unreal morgs. to pay and estate agentshave them advertised at EUR165,000 less than what the owner paid for it not too long ago!

“My representational rights and entitlements” – sadly I feel we have another narcissist here!

“crawling over one another to stake a claim to the high moral ground” over his case. – I’m afraid … it is you, yourself that feels you claim the high moral ground! – Narcissist!

All of these quotes are yours Mr. Lowry, but sadly you feel you have to aim them at the media and the electorate! – again, NARCISSIST!

• Falling back on his usual rhetoric. ” I was never charged or convicted of a crime”. Neither was Hitler.

• jimbo 10/04/12 #

Caught out lowry so get over it and face it…

• As a Kilkenny man I like nothing more than ripping into people from Tipp, but those of you blaming the people of North Tipp are missing an important point, they didn’t vote for;

Charles Haughey
    Pee Flynn
    Bertie Ahern
    Bull O’Donoghue
    Etc.

• @Chris Bewildered: To be fair to the Justice department they have been very busy. In 2009 15,700 people were prosecuted in our courts for TV licence dodging and fine defaulting. They never got Al Capone for gangsterism or murder, just some problem with the Revenue. Perhaps Lowry should get a visit from the TV licence inspectors!

• Lowry and co are dragging Ireland into the gutter as regards politics. Until they are eradicated and removed from politics the Irish people will have faith in politics in this country and would you blame them? Tribunals find these people corrupt and the state sits back and does nothing. What kind of a failed democracy is this ireland becoming.

• Michael Lowry
    You are abloody ”cry baby” now that you are caught and found out. Speak to the hand………..

• As Bart Simpson would say ” I didn’t do it, nobody saw me, you can’t prove anything”

• @ Simon Gates,

You have it in a nutshell. Corrupt and full of contempt for the electorate! My stomach feels so sick and my heart hurts for the people who have taken their lives because of scum like these. As I said before, they are no different to the scum, cheats, liars, short of the truth, evil, narcissistic bastards that were there before them!

The only difference with this crowd is that they have huge experience in knowing how to steal from the people of Ireland. Their teachers, Haughey, aherne, F Fail, etc. etc. etc.

• mattoid 10/04/12 #

Apologies for posting a comment that isn’t particularly constructive, but Lowry you really make me want to vomit.

• @Phili Kennedy,

No TD, Senator, elected representative should be denied, no…… but only if they were elected properly and legally! People in Tipp elected him because they know he’s a sleezy character and has a ‘way’ of getting things done. (allegedly!) If he was treated legally after those contracts were signed for the telephone licences he wouldn’t be representing the electorate of Tipp. He’d be in Mountjoy! A loyal and honest TD/representative would be there doing the job!

@Jason Walsh above has it to a tee!!!! “A whiff of OJ Simson about Mr. Lowry”

• For absolute certain. He gets things done no other man could do. Got Borrisokane a new school, gets people off drink driving charges. He seems to have limitless power and voters are using it to their advantage. Disgusting in one way but you can see where they are coming from too. Still think he deserves to be locked up though.

• Lowry like the Healy-Raes is the epitome of the parish pump TD, he knows how to get the votes of the gombeens in North Tipp, the old irish traits of ‘you scratch my back and i’ll scratch yours’ and the ‘not what you know but who you know’ mentality has served him well. He also has strong loyal allies within the Fine Gael party who are not willing to dump him no matter what the corrupt shit has got up to. He is sitting back and laughing at all of this an doing a Bertie on it, the media all hate me blah blah. Bottom line is that this corrupt shyster should be doing time for his crimes and not sitting in the state legislature taking tax payers money and influencing laws that he himself has no problem breaking, another nail in the coffin for the banana republic!

• John 10/04/12 #

Problem is not all about Lowry, Ahern, or our last “troubled” Taoiseach(now simply citizen) Cowen, the problem is our constitution and legal system, cant reduce Judges pay or upward only rent reviews, or TD’s salaries, or TD’s pensions, Wake up people of Ireland, we’re not even 100 years old as an independent state, less than 70 years as a republic. In this short period of time we’ve managed to bankrupt the state, don’t just blame politicians, bankers and developers, there is another contributor to all of this, YOU. Whatever the defects in the constitution, fix them. Vote on them. The tribunals are a farce, if the abovementioned individuals are gulity of a crime then take them to a court of law and try them. We complain about lack of progress in taking corrupt officials to justice, comparing ourselves to the US “Judicial” efficiency. These guys (and some Gals perhaps) are hiding behind the constitution for a long time now. Time for change.

• No point slagging people from North Tipperary. I’m from Nenagh and can’t stand the man but he does a lot for the people of North Tipp, He’s responsible for getting schools built and roads fixed so why wouldn’t he be voted back in every time. Fixing potholes gets you elected in Ireland. Lowry knows how to keep his constituents happy.

• True he has represented your constituency well over the years propping up the FF coalition governments at the expense of the rest of the country.Him and Healy Rae fine examples of parish pump politicians who are just as responsible as ff for the destruction of the country….Remember the planning applications for the casino in tip thankfully thats one decision fg actually reversed…..

• @ Martin as stated previously I can’t stand the man. I know about everything he has done, I know how corrupt he is and I would never vote for him. Also I understand exactly where you’re coming from but he gets things done. And if your community needs a new school or an S.N.A and Lowry gets it… the majority of people will vote for him because of it. Unfortunately it’s the way things work in Ireland, unless something changes. I had this exact conversation with a group of friends recently they are all well aware of Lowry’s history but every single one of them gave him their number 1 in the last election.

• @ Sarah Moyles. Totally agree with you. Whether we like it or not this is how politics works in Ireland. He has done more for tipperary than any other politician & no matter how big or small the task he delivers. I have many friends in tipp who say this is how he operates & totally stand by him because he is totally dedicated to tipperary. We can blame these TDs as being under handed & corrupt but they are not the problem. Its the system thats the problem.

• censored 10/04/12 #

The Savage Eye is supposed to be a satirical program. God help us!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cjl8OIZijjY

• The people of Tip must love the Lowry family as his son is the lord mayor….

• pathetic excuse for a human being, as for being a politician well it obviously doesn’t take much to fool the people of Tipp, sad really.

• Bring back disembowelment.

• Unfortunately the way our witch-hunting media operates you are guilty until you can prove otherwise. The people of north Tipp elected this man so like him or not he has a mandate and a right to meet any Minister including Labour’s good and great. If Ms Burton is too clean for politics she should do a George Lee.

• so those who voted for him should be tried as traitors then.

• @Carmel Lane,

It is sad to read that this is your reasoning as to why Ms. Joan Burton should do a ‘George Lee”. George Lee was not and is not a politician. He probably is a good journalist, but certainly not a politician. He ran away from politics like a spoiled brat that didn’t get to be first in the game! Real politicians are ‘supposedly’ there to fight for the electorate, not for themselves.

Joan Burton (I am not a member of any club, I vote independently) is there for the electorate, seems to be trying her honest best, for the people. The difference with Ms. Burton, I feel, is that she’ll do her best for the people of Ireland, not for herself and sadly, unless her boss Mr. Gilmore gets off his ass and be counted and get his point across like he did when he was in opposition, he’ll screw this country up just like the others and the people of Ireland will deserve the name “the thick Irish”.

• Hes a slimy character for sure. But,he was not branded corrupt as others have been in these tribunals. The people of N. Tipp could not have been denied the rights of their elected representative.

• The People of North Tipp should hang their heads in shame for voting for him. They obviously see corruption as normal.

• They have not been denied their right to be made fools out of either!

• Sorry I didn’t make my loathing of him clear. I am from north Tipp, I know what he’s like. It really is astounding how he tops the polls again and again. I would like to say that his support is dieing though, literally dieing. I know no young person that would vote for him. But until he’s convicted it is illegal and morally wrong to deny the people he represents (those who did and didn’t vote for him) their representative. So get him convicted and in jail now!

Add New Comment