TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

19 ministers set for overseas travel for St Patrick’s Day

13 senior ministers, five junior ministers, and the attorney general are all jetting off next week to lead trade missions.

Updated, 14:54

THE GOVERNMENT has released details of the travel itineraries of ministers who are leaving Ireland for St Patrick’s Day.

13 senior ministers, six junior ministers, and the Attorney General are all due to travel abroad as part of the ‘Promote Ireland’ programme.

The government says ministerial-led trade missions are a key part of its jobs strategy for 2013.

Enda Kenny will make his traditional trip to Washington D.C. to meet with the US president Barack Obama and vice president Joe Biden, and will also travel to New York to meet city mayor Michael Bloomberg and visit the areas affected by Hurricane Sandy.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore will also travel to Washington, but later depart for Atlanta and New Orleans.

Pat Rabbitte, Joan Burton and Phil Hogan are also travelling to the United States – to Pittsburgh, Chicago and Boston respectively – while Jimmy Deenihan heads for Canada.

Frances Fitzgerald will travel to India, while Ruairí Quinn heads to China and Brendan Howlin take a tour of Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines. Leo Varadkar will travel to Japan and South Korea.

Closer to home, Richard Bruton will visit Germany, while James Reilly will travel to London and Birmingham. Alan Shatter will visit the Irish troops on peacekeeping duty in the Lebanon, as well as visiting both Israel and Palestine.

Agriculture minister Simon Coveney and finance minister Michael Noonan are the only ministers not to be leading trade missions.

Among the junior ministers, chief whip Paul Kehoe is bound for Australia and New Zealand while planning minister Jan O’Sullivan will visit Saudi Arabia.

John Perry will visit Glasgow and Edinburgh, while Brian Hayes will travel to Belgium and Luxembourg. Joe Costello, whose brief includes trade, will visit South Africa.

Michael Ring, the junior minister responsible for sport, will be in Italy for the conclusion of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign.

The attorney general, Máire Whelan, will travel to France.

Read: ‘Green carpet treatment’ for world’s media

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• Surprised there is not a minster going to South America, in terms of trade and potential Investment opportunities I would have thought that sending someone to somewhere Like Brazil would have been a good idea.

• Isn’t it remarkable the way we are always hearing about the smart economy and cloud computing yet not one single Minister is going to Silicon Valley ? Or how we’re supposed to be working on inward investment for film making here yet no-one is going to L.A? Seems like they prefer the Irish pubs in Boston and New York to me.

I’m not against Ministers traveling for St.Patrick’s Day provided the opportunity is used correctly and they can show us some tangible results. Sadly that never seems to be the case. There is literally billions of venture and investment capital floating around Silicon Valley and LA yet none of them are even bothering to go.

• Kenny gets to go the White House. There’s not many national leaders that get that audience every year. I think that trumps Silicon Valley.

• Fair enough Brian- by all means the Taoiseach of the day should go to the White House, I’m absolutely agreed on that point.

But there are another 17 ministers who could have gone to Silicon Valley yet none are. 7 of the worlds top 10 internet companies have operations in Ireland and they are all headquartered in Silicon Valley yet the Minister for Jobs Richard Bruton is going to Germany. I don’t see Audi, Mercedes or BMW setting up operations in Ireland but I do see lots of Silicon Valley companies already here so that is where our Minister of Jobs should be- not in a country to whom we owe billions and who have little or no multi-nationals on the ground here and never will.

As someone else mentioned Brazil is another option that has been overlooked, Russia the same. Both of them are emerging economies so they should be on the list if jobs really is the name of the game here. But the cynic in me says it isn’t- if it was why are we sending a minister to Pittsburgh and not to California, which is the worlds 7th largest economy.

• Derek, there’s absolutely nothing remarkable about it at all. The same crooks traveled last year on the same pretext of a “Trade Mission”. What trade did they generate in the last 12 months? Unemployment has increased – emigration has increased, so where is the Trade?

It might have been better if Ho Chi Gilmore went to China, at least he’d feel more at home with his communist friends having invited the President elect here last year. Speaking of which, what Trade did we get out of that visit. If you or anyone believes that this is a Trade Mission – then keep an eye out for the Easter Bunny and send your letter to Santa. This mission is nothing more than a €3.6 million boozing session – at OUR expense!

• I know a lot of people will complain, but if they are tied up with efforts to promote the country, they are potentially invaluable.

How many countries our size would love to have the opportunity to meet the American President on a yearly basis?

It’s a pity nobody is going to the US West Coast (esp San Francisco and Seattle) as it’s an are full of companies that could potentially provide jobs here.

• Sal 13/03/13 #

I can never understand why the leader of our country leaves our country on our national holiday? Surely it would make more sense for world leaders to be invited to Ireland on St. Patrick’s day.

• Because they won’t come. They’ll each attend a dinner or meet and greet with about 500 well paying high powered execs. Between 18 ministers that’s 9000 potential investors. 9000 high power execs won’t have time to come to Ireland.

There’s some analogy I could use about Mohammad and mountains but I’ll save that one.
      It’s a no brainer if you ask me.

• Regardless of the debate over the value of these trips does anyone know why the Attorney General gets to go every year? Seems an odd duty/perk (depending on your point of view) for the role.

• Declan 13/03/13 #

Since the country is on its last legs from a financial standpoint, they better be flying economy and staying in 4 star and not 5 star hotels!

• KM 13/03/13 #

Donegal mayor Frank McBrearty is going to New York and is being funded by the county council. You can make arguments for the benefits of ministers travelling abroad but McBrearty’s trip is pure selfish greed that will have zero impact for the country

• President obama has blocked all foreign travel for those going at taxpayers expence to try to cut the US budget deficit, when Mr Kenny meets him on the 17 mar he will still be earning far more than him even as Ireland is bankrupt his buddies are traveling all over the world and sending the bill to the taxpayers,the expression banana Republic is apt.

• I saw an Irish minister doing his St. Patrick’s Day thing in a pub in Athlanta about 15 years ago. He wasn’t well received, an embarrassment.

• 15 years and you still can’t get over it?

• Well, they are an embarrassment generally but it’s a bit worse when they’re going out there and doing it on the world stage. I can understand them going to the US and Australia St patricks day is quite a thing there, but trips to India, China and Saudi Arabia leave me a bit bewildered. I’d never thought of those places having a particularly Irish heritage to celebrate. Somehow I can’t imagine the Dubai Paddy’s day parade! Or are there specific trade events they are going to and not a 5 day all expenses paid trip for a haf hour meet and greet with some civil servant out there. Sounds like a few more ministers getting jumping on the “Paddy’s day” bandwaggon and getting their holidays paid for by the taxpayer while the rest of us will be sitting at home in the snow and drizzle worrying about where we’re going to get the money to pay the property tax!

• Didn’t think Hogan and Varadkar would be allowed to go anywhere. In fact, I’m surprised they haven’t had their passports confiscated. I mean that pair are seriously dangerous. Who knows what untold irreparable damage they might do!

• Name him!!! or her!!!

• Colm you’re right; those places may not have many people of Irish descent but what they do have is lots and lots of rich people.

Paddy’s Day is a superb opportunity to promote Ireland as a great tourist destination. Come one, come all, we;re open for business :)

• Alien8 13/03/13 #

Convincing rich people to pay high prices is not the way to recovery. Convincing everyone else that we will not rip them off is what will bring in jobs – and that is a harder sell due to local issues, not something that can be achieved in a hotel in Dubai.

• I didn’t suggest asking rich Saudis or Chinese to pay high prices, but given the distance and cultural differences between our countries, tourists from those lands are more likely to be people of means.

• Please send more Irish cyclists abroad for Paddy’s Day :)
    http://dublincyclists.blogspot.ie/2012/05/old-fashioned-cyclists.html

• 2013 – Year of the Gathering….
    …enough said!

• The Un-Gathering…spreading your political puppets far and wide, as far away as possible from the gathering point on our national holiday!!! Such a disgrace. They claim it’s for economic prosperity..but what do they do every other day of the year?

• God help Chicago in there time of need. A shitstorm is coming called hurricane Joan. Please pray to god to bless and cleanse their hearing and minds.

• One way tickets for this lot would be a real reward for us, the suffering Irish population.

• Will there be any government ??? Since most if them are leaving?

• My favourite Irish government minister visit during the annual St Pat’s Day exodus of government officials was during the foot and mouth outbreak in 2001. The St Patrick’s Festival was postponed & the government advised against any foreign visits especially to potential foot and mouth disease countries. BUT – the then Minister for Agriculture, Joe Walsh (FF) visited Argentina with other department officials for St Pat’s Day – a notorious foot and mouth country. Lovely. Don’t know if anyone remembers the soapy disinfectant carpets everyone was obliged to walk through.

• Exactly, why none of them will travel to the biggest and most powerful county in the world (Russia)?? Why? Hmm..

• AND WHY NONE OF THE MINISTERS TRAVELS TO THE BIGGEST AND THE MOST POWERFUL COUNTRY IN THE WORLD????

• Theres a good opportunity here to start a revolution… if there is an uprising and the Dail is taken for the people then Enda and the others could have their passports null and voided… (like a scene from The terminal, Tom Hanks) I could just see enda living in an unused area of JFK airport trying to live on coins collected from travel trollies… He might learn something of the hardship some people are having here…

• let them eat cake!!

• Noonan and Coveney must have more local junkets organised !

• After the next election they will be visiting the dole office, and no free drink down there.

• We don’t need to fly these goons around the world to promote Ireland
    They are doing that here already and we are already laughing stock world wide

• As long as they get to claim mileage and they’re not out of pocket! Or better still! Maybe they should pay it out of their own pocket like the rest of us!

• @gavreilly – You should check who else is going. Seems from the Ming story some county managers are flying off.

• I understand the desire to promote Ireland on our national holiday but this degree of travel seems more than a tad excessive.

• some change here no tlong ago they were all giving out about BERT MARY and the gang going away for the trip. look what they do just the same only different faces

• THESE MINISTERS WILL BE THE ENVY OF THE YOUNG PEOPLE THEY LEAVE BEHIND.

AT LEAST THESE MINISTERS GET TO COME BACK HOME TO GOOD WELL PAID JOBS

• These Ministers should be feeling guilty as they leave behind all the young people in these foreign lands, as they head for the comfort of their families, whilst leaving these young people to flounder abroad.

• Its simply trade and marketing lads. someone has to do it. Dubai, India etc are emerging markets. We need their business. As for Silicon Valley, why send someone there (and yes, even in California, St Pattys day is huge) when Silicon Valley is making its way to Irelamd.
    Personally I would be far more concerned if a lot of them had headed to Brazil or Hawaii :)

• Finally a chance to go the airports on their return and don’t let them back into the country until they agree to resign. Anyone agree?

• Well, there should be at least protests there when they’re going and when they get back. They’ll be looking for photo op’s on both occasion. We should all give them one, just not the one they want!

• How apt that Frances Fitzgerald, our first minister for children should visit India – a country racked with poverty when this week we learn that almost 1 in 10 Irish children are living in constant poverty: http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0307/374627-children-eu/

Good job Fran. Drink as much of the tap water as you can.

• “SHAME ON ALL YOU MINISTERS……SHAME ON YOU….

• Who’s paying for it?

• Lovely free holiday for the boys and their partners etc

• Good to see some money well spent on promoting our country abroad

• What benefit is there in rudhri Quinn going to China?

• No need for this at all …we pay the president and out ambassadors to do this advertising work surely !!

• great to see all OUR money is being spent ever so wisely !!!

• Disgraceful excess. Princes and princesses don’t seem to be able to give up their pampered lifestyles. So, we are all in this together ? No way ! The representatives of our puppet government just keep on betraying this country.

• Irish people are total idiots with this National Holiday-used by the Government as a Glorified Piss up at our expense.The the US President and his cabinet don’t jet off around the world on to celebrate American Independence Day & wouldn’t be tolerated by the US people. What jobs have been specifically created by a St Paddys day trip in comparison with other sponsored trips by other semi state or so called government led jaunts. Talking in government to improve the Irish Technology manufacturing base why no Government minister considered making an effort to visit Silicon Valley is left off the itinerary if these glorified junkets are about job creation.

• Ireland has a population of 4.5M we have to get out there. we are very privaliged that our national holiday gets so much recognition, other countries would pay billions to get the global coverage adn access we get on the 17th of March.

look at all the famous landscapes that are getting lit up in green. Name another national holiday of a country that has 4.5M people that gets such treatment.

Seilicon Valley gets visited failt often and theres ana enterprise Ireland office out there, this is more about access to the world leaders and the Dispora who have plenty of money to invest in to Ireland.

• @ Brian Magee

We “have to get out there”???

I hate to be the one to break this to you Brian – but vast, unheard of, ludicrous numbers of our citizens have had to EMIGRATE to find work and build a decent life for themselves. All because of the incompetence and selfishness of our government.

The Irish People and the Irish Nation IS “out there”. And they do a far far better job of representing this nations business interests than those we have in elected positions.

Ireland’s reputation internationally is based on its PEOPLE, mostly its emigrant population. It has little or nothing to do with its travelling politicians. If you asked an American what they thought of Brian Cowan for example likely the only image they could conjure of him (if any) is his picture on the Late Show….

• Well said, Stephen.

Where is Lucinda Cretin in all this? Travelling to Malta to discuss its anti-abortion laws?

• Just about as narrow a view as is possible to have… Al S….

• That’s it send Leo to Japan he’ll come back GLOWING

• Can anybody tell me how the attract trade for Ireland?? If it is just them meeting other country ministers and photos for news how does that help or the might meet some big business man how and why would they even convince them to set up shop over here. Companies don’t work like that “at a board meeting guess what guy I meet an Irish minister I had lots of photos taking with him we should set up over there” ?? So what are the doing??

• When they go – let there be outbreaks of “amnexia, airline strikes, ash cloud & anything else” that can keep these Dictators/Destroyers away from Ireland . We would be far better off without them….good riddance to lousy rubbish.

• Smiley 13/03/13 #

If these guys are serious about promoting Ireland, they need to go to places that don’t have celebrations for Paddy’s Day, to extol Ireland’s beauty.

• these physcos annoy me when they repeately refer to these junkets as “trade”trips..not one..job will they bring back.

• We got a govt minister out here last year & from what I saw and experienced, the minister worked hard throughout with no obvious ‘junketing’!

There were high level meetings with govt, industry bodies, tourism, education & also with Irish Social groups, to get their opinions esp the young and recent graduates.
    Whatever cynicism I had, particularly about the Tiger years, what I saw last year changed that.

Asia in particular is about being present, showing face & building relationships. Meaningful Govt meetings framed around St Patricks Day is a great way to construct that.
    So yes, I do think they are a good idea to capitalize on our 15minutes each year. Some things cannot be immediately quantifiable but in Asia, long term relationships are worth investing in.

Add New Comment