TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Integration group abandons complaint after judge apologises for Polish comment

Judge Mary Devins says she can “accept the hurt” caused by her comparing the social welfare system to a Polish charity.

Judge Mary Devins made her comments at Castlebar District Court (pictured) last week.
Image: Google Maps

Updated, 16:49

THE COUNTY MAYO judge who compared the social welfare system to a charity for Polish people has elaborated on her apology for her remarks – saying her previous remarks were not an attempt to dilute her apology.

Judge Mary Devins made the remarks at Castlebar District Court last week when presiding over the sentencing of a man who had previously been told his public order charges would be struck out if he made a donation to a Polish charity.

When told about the time given to the defendant to identify a suitable charity, Judge Devins said there was such a charity: “It’s called social welfare.”

Last night Devins said her comments – which were picked up in the Mayo News – were “intended to be specific to that incident and occurrence and was never intended to offend any community, or members of any community”.

She apologised for any offence caused – but the Integration Centre slammed her apology as as “rambling, contrived and spurious”, and said it would be making a formal Garda complaint over the remarks today.

This lunchtime Devins issued a further, second statement in which she elaborated on her apology.

“I unreservedly and without qualification apologise for my off-the-cuff comments at a recent court case,” she said.

“I understand and accept the hurt these comments caused to members of the Polish community. This was never my intention and I express my sorrow for same.”

‘Attempt to provide context’

Devins added that her previous clarification had been “an attempt to provide a context  and was not intended in any way to dilute my apology for such unwarranted comments”.

Integration Centre CEO Killian Forde had described Judge Devins’ remark was “irrelevant” and a “so-called apology” – and had last night said the body would proceed to make a formal Garda complaint.

The group said this afternoon it would not be doing so, in light of Devins’ apology.

“We will continue to monitor statements made by public servants including judges and where we think appropriate we will make interventions utilising whatever mechanisms exist in the state,” it said in a statement.

Forde said Ireland could “ill afford to be seen as a backward, unwelcoming country”.

Read: Integration Centre to complain to Gardaí over comments by Mayo judge

Read next:

Comments (161 Comments)

• I’ll bet she’s sorry. Sorry she was heard, sorry she didn’t think before she spoke.

But she probably meant what she said.

• I’d be more concerned about the judge who gave a man 6 months and a fine for an attempted rape to be honest. This story is just another case of people getting offended for the sake of it.

• Totally agree Sean..storm in a teacup by small time reporter looking for their 15 mins of fame or perhaps An axe to grind re this judge

• absolutely spot on. as bad as it is a judge sayin somethin stupid and offensive its not the end of the world. what really needs to be addressed is the fact that sexual predator got away with 6 months cause he is paying 75000 compo!! saw pictures of the da outside his house…. think its pretty ovbious what he thinks should be done with the money… sun and dont shine spring to mind

• “…offended for the sake of it…”

A by-now standard catchphrase of the unthinker (like your idiotic response to Reg above). And placing this case alongside the completely unrelated 6-months-for-rape business is as laughable as comparing it to the behaviour of the Inquisition or the Boer War.

Go back to sleep.

• alan 02/08/12 #

spot on

part of the brigade that would think that the abolition of slavery was ‘pc gone mad’

• totally agree Sean. She made a mistake and apologised. case close, but obviously not for some.

• David Kelly… So you think SORRY is the end word for having offended someone or a whole community? Right…you must be joking. That judge should be dragged before a court of law and punished. Doesn’t mean when you are a judge, you can say or do whatever you want! Will be a very good example for other judges.

• @FotoCrat….OF Course it is! People say stupid things in the heat of the moment. If she refused to take it back then I would agree with you. Im glad your not a Judge!

• She’s a judge, and she made this comment in her professional work role. Would you hope for “good judgement”? Clueless.

• @ Er Censored…is that your real name?
      Anyway it was poor judgement on her part for making the comments in the first place.
      The PC mob are out and want her scalp, and perhaps they may just get it.
      Ridiculous!

• Scarr 02/08/12 #

@david an seanbeag – just supposing you were accused of a crime in a foreign country. Now supposing that the judge you’re up in front of had recently said something to the effect of “all Irish people are no good. They just come here and cause trouble.” you would have no problem that judge presiding over your fate? Come off of it.

• @David .. is that your real name? Did you show your passport before putting that comment in? .. do we live in a Police state?

• @Scarr, what are you talking about? I dont agree with what the Judge said. I have stated this and thinks she spoke poorly.
      Do I think she should be sacked? No! Thats just my opinion.
      @ censored…yes it is my real name . As to your other questions…well they are pathetic so I will not answer them. Now Ill let you ramble on and have the last word!

• You realize that you’re in the wrong to question my identity, and have to resort to a lame response. Let’s see if you can keep your promise.

• 2 separate issues Seanbeg – they’re both problems but one is the behaviour of a judge and the other is the penalty imposed. Cause for concern from both I think.

• I blame the aliens from space there taking everything and not paying tax!

• I know what the Judge said was stupid, and she should have her knuckles rapped, they do seem to be a power on to themselves these days, the letter of the law seems to have gone astray they just do what they wish it really is unbelievable, having said all that i am also tired of hearing the word racist every time something happens thats wearing a bit thin also…

• So a judge makes a fliipant off the cuff remark what harm apart from the pc brigade who get offended.The next polish person up in front of her would expect their legal rep to object to her hearing their case.so all this judge has done is precluded herself from hearing any cases involving polish people and to be honest is her remark not echoing the view point of a silent majority in this country who see welfare payments been made to families living outside of this state who never even placed a foot here and who now fly in week in week out.It must escape peoples memory that the minister wants to base dept of social welfare officers in our airports so as to check on those arriving to sign on from eastern europe and the last time i checked the athlas poland was in eastern europe

• “is her remark not echoing the view point of a silent majority in this country”

If they’re silent how do you know what their view point is?

• The last bastion of the troll – take an example of few and apply it to the many. Unless you seriously think a couple of hundred thousand Poles fly in each week.

• Scarr 02/08/12 #

So if next week, she or another judge makes a disparaging remark about, oh I don’t know, let’s say the blacks or the Jews, sure it’s just a flippant remark. Maybe they could instate some kind of prejudice database in the courts, ‘ judge Nevin? Nah he can’t do that case. It’s got a one legged, black, Muslim. He hates them!’ judges are supposed to be impartial, she has demonstrated a prejudice and should resign.

• Everybody should go to the public gallery in the district courts at least once: it’s a real eye opener! Judges make off the cuff comments all the time. There’s a certain amount of “gallows” humour with judges who deal with some pretty terrible crimes on a daily basis as well as some boring red tape legal mumbo jumbo cases. I don’t know how they cope. The only unusual thing here is that the media reported it. Judge Mary has a reputation for shooting from the hip. She’ll think twice now.

• Everyone gets their knickers in a twist when shatter says Londonderry but when its about a non narionals a lot of ye seem to find it acceptable. People say things like this everyday. move on . First world problems eh

• Poppy 02/08/12 #

Would I be offended if an Australian judge made remarks about the Irish in Australia been noisy rowdy drunks ? I wouldn’t be offended because it’s true of a lot (not all) Irish who are out there. This judge is guilty of not being PC thats all. It’s true that a lot of polish are living off benefits , involved in knife crimes & driving like lunatics without insurance. It’s also true that Irish people behave like this too. Looking for her resignation is an over reaction. It’s hard for a judge not to be cynical as they are dealing with the dregs of society on a daily basis.

• She is the dregs of society!

• Poppy if you were up before a judge in Australia and they assumed that you were a drunken degenerate just because some Irish people in Australia are drunken degenerates would you think that was particularly fair? (Assuming you aren’t a drunken degenerate and you were just in for parking fines or something).

• Precisely. Imagine standing before a judge in Australia, being accused of a crime having to do with drink or welfare abuse, and knowing that the judge not only thinks the Irish all drink or abuse their host country, but also he got away with saying it in public; no one will mind if he convicts you based on his prejudice.

It’s not how a legal system is supposed to work.

• This is just more PC bull****

• True Kevin but they are not on their own . For a lot of Irish people its a lifestyle choice and if work was in their bed they would sleep on the floor to avoid it . There are those who have never worked and would not want to . Because they are better off than some people working for minimum wage .

• What about the Dail Charity Club, anyone jumping up and down about that? I bet she wouldnt remark about that, as her husband was a FF junior minister, two state pensions right there and she on about others milking the system!

• Wesley 02/08/12 #

Looks like Judge Devins has a bit of form for this sort of thing – “Why, when the country is on its knees do we have to pay for a Polish interpreter” – http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=10936

• Well spotted Wesley, there is a pattern here from Judge Devins! She appears to be groveling now she might be forced to resign her big salary ivory tower! They actually think they’re above the rest of us.

• Hey judge Devins, if you are so worried about your country well being, maybe drop a bit from your 200K salary, 36 days paid holidays and another couple grand in expenses think 2K alone for a wig…

• Did you read the article? She had a point, the accused was in the country for the last 7 years and could speak English. Not too sure about you, but that is the last thing I want to see my taxes used for. They are wasted on enough things already.

• Wesley 02/08/12 #

Paul, how many Irish people have been in Saudi Arabia, Abu Dhabi, Dubai etc. for years and can’t speak the language. Would you be happy for Irish citizens to be tried in Arabic and no translator provided under those circumstances? That’d be prefectly fair, right?

• Too many ‘do-gooders’ in Ireland…perhaps its the reason why this incident has been blown out of all proportion and why I write this comment 15,000 Kms from home. Hope you feel politically correct now…

• Dave 02/08/12 #

The people responsible for you being so far from home are Irish people who tolerated those in positions of power being completely unsuitable for their jobs and then defending them when they get caught out. A bit like this case…

• Can someone please explain how she is racist? Inconsiderate maybe, possibly a bit stupid, mildly humourous, but racist…what is a fact is that we have a very generous social welfare system that gets abused by both the Irish and immigrants.

Judges make these type of comments all the time. Whether that is right or wrong is another matter.

• js1711 03/08/12 #

She’s certainly an ‘interesting’ character if you google her. How much is true I don’t know. There’s one very slanderous website devoted to her. How it exists I don’t know.

• Scarr 02/08/12 #

There sure are a lot of Sun, Star and Daily Mail readers on this article. It’s pc gone mad I tell ya! What’s the world coming to, when a judge cannot make a biased and bigoted comment without everyone jumping all over her. It’s all the poles fault anyway, they came here and worked and now we have to give them dole too? Pc gone ruddy mad!

• I propose to wear a T-Shirt for those working and paying tax:
    ” I PAY MY TAX
    AND I AM NOT ON SOCIAL WELFARE/POLISH CHARITY”
    That way someone will make money (Chinese supplier of T-Shirts and Irish print studios)

Objection, objection, objection
    Withdrawn

• This is the standard of Irish Judges? She’s a disgrace.

• This is the same woman that put a Mayo farmer off the road for 2 years for driving slow?? She should step down but she won’t …

• Nobody died. It’s not the end of the world. Am sure some Poles might have thought her comment funny. Grow a sense of humour. Stop taking things too seriously starting with yourselves.

• franco 02/08/12 #

Was there not some truth in what she said ?

• Annie 02/08/12 #

Remark made, then apology! Get over it..

• I don’t think an apology makes any difference. The comment reflected a particular mind set which isn’t going to change. Personally, I think judges have far too much power and seem to be a law unto themselves.

• Sounds a bit like the Irish in the 80s in the UK Kevin, They milked the system

• She has a right to an opinion.. And she’s right too.. Ireland is broke and we’re still paying foreigners to live here!!!!! C’mon, that’s a joke, not common sense and not racism.. For all you who condemn this judge, make sure your perfect!!!!!

• Fair play to the Judge.

• The level of bigotry on this thread of comments is digusting. Like this nation hadn’t enough problems we have to suffer the xenophobes coming out of the woodwork blaming Johnny Foreigner for the problems.

• pc brigade were like vampires ready to attack after this remark, so what if she said it are we gonna hold anyone accountable in ireland now if they have an opinion thats not with the so called holier than thow groups that protect minorities and the sort think>?. Its no wonder were a laughing stock of europe more worried what a judge says then fighting to get our country back to where it shud be its madness and quiet sad!

• Reg 02/08/12 #

The only apology acceptable in this case is a resignation. How can a polish person come before her court and expect fairness?

• They could try not committing a crime in the first place. They wouldnt have to worry about it then.

• Seanbag, and if you haven’t committed a crime you’re accused of do you still waive your right for an impartial judge?

• Reg 02/08/12 #

Firstly, no Polish person was on trial when the remarks were made. Secondly a judge is supposed to be impartial until they hear the evidence presented. Race, nationality, sexual orientation etc should not be a factor. A judge who holds such obvious prejudices should not be a judge.

• Paul 02/08/12 #

Absolutely agree. The nasty old racist doesn’t feel remotely sorry and judging by her earlier ‘apology’ she doesnt give a damn who she offends.

• So let’s see. If a judge in the UK/Australia/US makes a nasty and malicious remark about Irish people in a trial that doesn’t actually involve any Irish people …. the solution is to tell Irish people to “try not committing crimes”.

Class act Seanbeag.

• GoGo99 02/08/12 #

Racist?? I didn’t realize the Poles were a different race to us?! Try learning the meaning of the word before using it, and that advise/request goes to a LOT of people out there…

• “I didn’t realize the Poles were a different race to us”

From a legal standpoint race is defined as:

a group of persons by reason of the group’s colour, race, nationality (including citizenship) or ethnic or national origins.

I did, of course, write a blog about this months ago. Here it is: http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/ere-what-about-my-freedom-of-speech/

It’s actually about “freedom of speech” on private interweb sites and it relates more to the UK than Ireland and I’ve already copied the salient part here, so you needn’t read it.

• “Racist?? I didn’t realize the Poles were a different race to us?! Try learning the meaning of the word before using it, and that advise/request goes to a LOT of people out there…”

Good idea, why don’t you check into it. Start by reading the comment above. Another tip: if you want to be pedantic about something, it’s a good idea to run the spell checker first and maybe tone things down a little bit in the punctuation/capitalization department.

• Polish people simply can’t expect fairness from this judge – she must resign.

• Agree with you Fergus, if i was Polish and had to stand infront of her in a court, i would frightened.

• GoGo99 02/08/12 #

Damocles, thanks for the legal term, and well done on your blog, thanks for posting the link and advising me not to read… however for all intents and purposes race goes down to asian, caucasian, black etc. You can’t say if I’ve a problem with an English person “it’s racist”! Xenophobic, bigoted, but not racist!

Censored, thanks for your post, apologies for the bad spelling or punctuation or whatever you’re on about, I was writing on the fly and have no spell check, but maybe you could tell me what I spelt wrong…? Or maybe it really doesn’t matter.

• @ mark, if I was polish and had to stand in front of her I’d be happy enough knowing that any decision that went against me could be appealed on the grounds of prejudice.

• You can’t say if I’ve a problem with an English person “it’s racist”!

An English person, no.

But this wasn’t about A person, it was a generalisation directed towards A group of people. There’s a difference. I think you know that.

• @ GoGo99: you should learn the definition of these terms before spouting off. Xenophobia has nothing to do with someone’s origins other than by proxy. Xenophobia is the fear or exaltation of another culture. For example, an Irish person who regards French culture as superior to Irish culture is Xenophobic. An Irish person who regards Polish culture as inferior to Irish culture is Xenophobic. The concept of race as you defined (i.e. breaking down the human species according to colour) is an antiquated definition. Racism is a term which has evolved since those days and now includes all forms of discrimination, prejudice, etc. towards someone, not only based on skin colour, but also on ethnicity, nationality, etc. A bigot is someone who is simply obstinate when it comes to his or her own opinions and beliefs, especially when it comes to religion, ethnicity, nationality, etc.

• GoGo99 02/08/12 #

Brian, you may want the definitions you supplied to be the beginning and end, but unfortunately they’re not. Xenophobia doesn’t have to mean thinking one superior, it can mean an intense dislike, or irrational hatred of another country. I don’t need your narrow explanations thank you.

• That’s strange gogo. I just looked back over my post and I dont see where I limited xenophobia to thinking one culture is superior to another. I did mention fear which generally manifests itself as an irrational hatred (such as homophobia). I also gave two oft overlooked central points of xenophobia which racism apologists typically ignore in their attempt to either hide their racism or simply because they do not understand the difference. I’ll put it to you this way, if you believe racism exists but is solely based on skin colour, and that someone of a different colour is a different race, then you are by default a racist whether you like it or not as you see a fundamental difference between people based solely on skin tone. I suppose you’ll be telling me next that the German extermination of Jews was xenophobic and not racist.

• love to know where these lot were for calling cops and demanding sorry when bill cullen called every young person in ireland and those on the dole lazy good for nothings, I didn’t hear mass do gooder out cry instead he was actually applauded by some for his views……..isn’t that wonderful some views get expressed that are as bad as others but sure aslong as they don’t bother certain folks and there way of thinking its not that bad really!

• If an immigrant went infront of her in a court for social welfare fraud, she would lock them up, the rapist gets off. Justice system is a joke. And overpaid.

• Her dealing with Shell to Sea cases also exposed her personal biases in favour of Shell regardless of the law or justice, a company her husband had a financial interest in seeing them get their way as speedily as possible.

• Poppy 02/08/12 #

Not relevant to this story….you’re obviously biased towards this particular judge…it’s kinda ironic that you’ve a problem with her been biased towards the Polish !!

• Well said Poppy!

• Poppy she regularly shows in court her biases which have nothing to do with justice. She refused to adjourn a court case when the defendant was in hospital with serious injuries as a result of an injury received in her court room and when a letter from the hospital pointing out that he could not leave the hospital. Higher courts have been extremely critical of her in many instances when she exceeded her powers as a result of her own biases. Amongst these was a decision to refuse legal aid and bail to a number of individuals charged with very minor public order offences. She thinks SHE is the law

• a corrupt and unequal system with 1 rule for the people and 1 for the elite.

• The judge must resign as she obviously will not be able to give a Polish person a fair hearing in the future and her general fairness is now in question. Of equal importance is the need for the introduction of a disciplinary procedure for judges. This has been spoken about before and should have been introduced long ago. This should be introduced even if it takes a constitutional amendment.

• Ah come on judge.How dare you.If the polish government were giving 5 or 6 hundred a week in benefits to the irish we`d all be over there.Dont blame our polish brothers and sisters.Its only human nature to take all u can get.Good on them i say.So what if Ireland is disappearing.We are europeans now.At least ryanair will make a few bob eh and look at all the new business cork is going to get from ryanairs new flights.We`ll be rolling in it what with the spending power of the polish.Happy days.

• How is Ireland disappearing? I hate when people make out as if immigration somehow damages Irish identity. I personally think an increase in cultural diversity is a good thing, if anything its enhancing Ireland as a country. We are an island nation, if immigrants hadn’t come here in the first place no one would be here.

• Its already gone Antoine but it is the best thing ever.Hopefully we will get as many of our romanian and bulgarian brothers and sisters to join the party thats going on in ireland at the moment.All this immigration only badly affected mostly construction work anyway so I assume you werent affected and thats brill.I worked with a lot of polish and they are the most honest,decent folks you could meet but even they would say some of the vilest humans on the planet came with them and i hope you remain unaffected by these.

• alan 02/08/12 #

immigration centre are right. proper apology needed

• How could she be a fair judge with comments like that, apology is not good enough. She has to resign.

• If her first apology was the unreserved apology she could have survived. As it is it is clear that the reaction to her initial apology is what has prompted this apology rather than any apologetic feeling she has.

• Mark, Not all of them came here to work, some came for the handouts.. Would we get the same abroad? NO.. I didn’t blame the foreigners, I blame our government!!!!! And Wesley maybe if our jobs wern’t taken by foreigners here our own Irish might not have to go abroad and work.. She only apologized because she had no choice.. Good on her for speaking her mind!!!!

• Mary immigrants have to work so long in the country before they can claim social welfare, contributions paid while in employment in Ireland (PRSI), only then they will receive state help.

• Get the facts right lady, you don’t get anything for coming here, you need to work and pay in the region of 50 prsi weeks first before getting anything. And don’t take too much right to Irish jobs. The biggest employers in Ireland are not Irish but Usa and other European / UK companies who anchored down their hq’s in Ireland. If it wasn’t down to EU grants decades ago and foreign investment you would probably still farm sheep and cows as the main country business…

• Wesley 02/08/12 #

Eh Mary, I think you’ll find Irish people have been going abroad to work since the foundation of this state, long before we had any immigration (into the country). Also, not too many Irish people were lining up for the service jobs Polish people were willing to do in the past. Even with our unemployment rate, still not enough unemployed Irish people willing to work in service jobs.

“Good on her for speaking her mind” – and then totally capitulating, twice. Yup, she’s a brave and inspiring person. Our heroes of ’16 would be proud. Apart from James Connolly maybe, since he was an immigrant to Ireland (from Scotland). (And de Valera. And Markievicz.)

• Dave 02/08/12 #

Fizi, while I strongly condemn the judges’ racist remark, the remark you made there about the Irish was not too far behind.

• Dave: why? honest question?

• Fizi water, the anti Irish racist, once again making anti Irish remarks, I see.

Post them up using your real name.

• Kevin and Dave: racist remark towards Irish? Are you kidding me? Where?
      About sheep and cow? Yeah, maybe slightly ironic but that’s all and mainly, this is simply economical truth.
      Ireland does not have 1 big own made company and simply relies on other countries investment.
      My comment if anything, was a response to very silly (in my opinion) Mary Mazzer comment.
      I agree, maybe I was a little bit too ironic about sheep and cow thing, but why I suppose to be perfectly fine all the time if I hear racist slur towards polish daily, what about 10 more racist comments in this thread about Poles (scammers, spongers, etc.)? Any man has his breaking point I think.
      I did not say anything racist I merely said the truth in bit cynical or ironic fashion, which I don’t consider bad form. Oh and by the way – I’m not judge. That’s it.

• Dave 02/08/12 #

Fizi, dont level that crap at me. I’ve been defending the Polish, and criticising this judge, throughout these articles. I comdemn her remarks, but now you are being just as bad. Sheep and cows? Not one big Irish company? (Europe’s largest airline spring to mind??)

• You have form when it comes to making anti Irish remarks, all the while rushing to defend your compatriots. I just find it funny that somebody who constantly displays anti Irish views, continues to live here.

Anyway, some clown of a judge made a stupid off the cuff remark and apologised. Witch hunt over.

• Penneys/Primark another big Irish company expanding all over Europe.

• Kevin and David and others touched ok guys I am sorry for my comment I still can’t see it being racist, certainly would not feel it, if it was about my own country I am serious now. But maybe I crossed good taste line a bit ok, sorry. Was bit carried on by some other comments here perhaps need a walk outside. I honestly did not mean to hurt your feelings. good night.

• Dave 02/08/12 #

Apology accepted Fizi, thanks and fair to play to you.

• Wesley 02/08/12 #

Mark – I think you’ll find that Pennys/Primark is own by Associated British Foods PLC (an English company).

• Penneys/Primark The company’s main headquarters are in Ireland, and it is a subsidiary of Associated British Foods (ABF). Primark first opened in 1969 in Mary Street, Dublin. It started out as an Irish company. HQ still in Dublin .

• Wesley 02/08/12 #

Yeah, like I said it’s owned by an English company :) I don’t dispute that it has Irish roots and offices, but I don’t think we can claim it as an Irish success when it’s wholly owned by a foreign corporation.

• “And Wesley maybe if our jobs wern’t taken by foreigners here our own Irish might not have to go abroad and work.”

Mary, this is actually hilarious. So you think that it’s wrong for foreigners to come here “stealing” Irish jobs, but Irish people going abroad “stealing” Australian/British/Canadian jobs is grand??? Don’t happen to see a problem in your logic, do you??

By the way, what do you think all the Irish people in the UK should do when there are over 1 million British people unemployed? Should they do the honourable thing and come home and let a native take their job?

Without the mix of nationalities that we have in this country, we would be rightly f***ed. I worked for a large US company which now employs 500 people here in Ireland that moved from the UK because they couldn’t get enough speakers of other European languages over there. They came here because of our immigrant population. More French people than Irish people work there. There are many other companies (Apple, Facebook, Google, Yahoo, Amazon, PayPal, Siemens to name a few) who come here for exactly the same reason. A company can open their European HQ here and find a speaker of every major European language with relative ease. Most of us could count the number of Irish people we know who are fluent in more than one language on one hand, or more likely, we don’t know an Irish person fluent in another language.

• Quick correction:
      2.5 million British people unemployed (Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10604117)
      869,000 Irish-born people living in the UK (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_British)

So by your logic, Mary, they sould all come home and give their jobs to the natives?

• And 26 million more have some Irish in them. That is 37% of the population. 2.5 million unemployed but a further 4 million ontop of that are claiming other benefits not classed as Jobseekers.

• One months ego in euro2012 …lovely Poland .we love Poland ,thanks Poland ., great people .great country … never forget….. next months f…k of .back to Poland ,polish charity ,polish emigrants ….Irish citizens are two faces thank you Ireland

• Alicja you may as well speak chinese. Im lost with your comment a bit like Bart Kaluzny ……………….English please!!! Maybe polish is better for you, i can use google translate, or to make it easier for you………………………………………………….

Może polska jest dla was lepsze, mogę użyć google translate…….

You should reply in polish and i can use google translate……

• Dave 02/08/12 #

I better not ever hear any of the clowns on here criticising the BNP, or anti Irish remarks made by Australians/British etc.

• She has to go. She is not a fit person to sit in judgement of others. How can she possibly be seen to be impartial?

• How racist we are. Polish are more descent and hardworking then our own. We should be looking at our own career dole lifers.

Most polish people that would be on the dole I think you will find we’re paying prsi during the boom.

As for the judge. Time to resign

• I hope things will get better in Poland. I would encourage people to go back if they have young children. It is not good to raise children in the hatred environment. Even if you are working, cumulating pension, just take solicitor to sort out those things and go back to Poland. It is better to be poor within your own folks. God bless Polish people.

• As a Polish person I have no issue with her stupid remark…She forgot to mention that this ‘Polish charity’ is founded by Bundestag!!!! bwahaha…
    Und was nun meine lieben Freunde aus Irland?

• That is money borrowed Bart from the ECB paid back with interest, by the Irish tax payer.

• No no Mark…you are mistaken…this ‘Polish charity’ is a part of German reparations for WW II…that’s the reason why it’s called ‘polish charity’ and we are fully entitled to it!! ;-)

• You lost me on that one Bart.

• “No no Mark…you are mistaken…this ‘Polish charity’ is a part of German reparations for WW II…that’s the reason why it’s called ‘polish charity’ and we are fully entitled to it!! ;-)” Hahaha I had the same thought…WWII stolen all from Poland including forced labor, gold, industrial goods etc…Intresting …

• Irish and Polish taxpayer!

• Mark I’m still with u…the ECB is headquartered in Frankfurt, Germany…and German, Dutch and Finish are largely shouldered the direct cost of irish banking system collapse!! The truth hurts!
      And one more thing: the free movement of persons is a FUNDAMENTAL right guaranteed to EU citizens by the Treaties!
      You have had my dear Irish friends to vote against EU, Euro and EU citizens living in your country in the last fiscal treaty referendum. Why did you vote in favor?? You are all full of contradictions !
      And I think that Irish Government should also ask Amnesty International for help run this country!

• Bart, i don’t live in Ireland and im not Irish. You lost me when you start going on about WW2. The ECB / IMF the UK & Sweden loaned money to the irish government to bailout the banks in ireland. It is a loan paid back by the irish tax payer with interest.

• After reading her previous comments slating slow drivers and farmers who won’t pull in to let others pass, I reckon she can’t be all bad!

Add New Comment