TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Would you like to see more anti-austerity protests in Ireland?

The Greeks and Spanish are striking, the Germans and Portuguese are protesting but the Irish have, in the most part, been relatively quiet.

Workers from Telefonica phone company take part in a demonstration blocking the traffic and protesting against the unjustified dismissals at their company ahead of a general strike in Barcelona.
Image: Emilio Morenatti/AP/Press Association Images

IT HAS BEEN billed as a day of mega-protests across Europe but Ireland will not participate in the Day of Action and Solidarity against austerity at the same scale as its counterparts across the Continent.

Strikes are planned in Greece and Italy, while massive demonstrations are already underway in Spain and Portugal. Further action is due in Belgium, Germany, France and the UK.

Everyday life, including transport and other services, will be impacted but organisers say they aim to show leaders that “austerity is a total dead end and must be abandoned”.

In November 2011, up to 100,000 people turned up to take part in a large march against austerity in Dublin but turnouts at protests since then have been smaller.

Do you want this to change? Would you like to see more anti-austerity protests in Ireland?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (161 Comments)

• Poll should read – Would you bother your arse to turn up to anti-austerity protests in Ireland?

• I’m not been funny or anything, but the country’s that have taking part in protests they have the weather in fairness!!

• @ Joe …. you’d rather trade your future and kids futures for a dry shirt?

I’m not being smart with you but you sir embody everything that is wrong with this joke of a country

• @ truthfully Irish, I take it your out protesting today for your joke of a country??……….,, Enough said!!

• We live like Kings! Long May it Last!

Irish protestors outside Molly Malone’s Bar in Siem Reap, Cambodia………..

We don’t live here- we’re poor artists with the good fortune of getting a commission here : )

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151346944734575&set=a.265996664574.179406.718009574&type=1&theater&notif_t=photo_comment

• @ Joe. You think because you say “enough said” you have somehow proven a point? Silly boy. It is not me who refuses to defend my birth rights given to me by my ancestors because of a little bad weather. You muppet.

• @ truthful Irish, WOW with that tongue You’ll do our country proud!! So glad we have people like u standing up for us, good luck on your protest today. it’s a mild owl day so u should be fine in just a light coat! On behave of myself and the Irish people I’d like to thank you! If only there was more people like u, this country would be a much better place.

• Your welcome Joe. Thanks for the plaudits but I feel it’s not necessary. I’ll say this though. If the protestors do make the government end the austerity and jobs come back and Ireland drags itself out of the crap it’s deep in now. Pat yourself on the back for allowing everybody defend your rights and civil liberties. Cause Ireland doesn’t already have enough spongers like you already.

• Brilliant, LOL iv never sponged anything in my life, but then u wouldn’t know that as U don’t know me, and sure ud know that u dont know me as unlike u I’m not hiding my identity, How’d the protest go today?? (u know the one u didnt attend). once again, enough said!! Have a lovely day ;)

• Joe Mulready
      Pathetic comment. Man up for gods sake .

• @eileen, that’s your opinion, as its mine, are u protesting from your armchair too? Well done you! Your doin great, we’ll be out of this mess in no time, good luck ;)

• No Joe ,
      I go to protests . I have been drenched and brought sandwiches and hot flasks. I do my bit and more . But Joe , can I take from your comments that you don’t care about the state we are in ? Or that you are happy about the governments actions or inactions. You are happy with the cuts in Education ? You are happy with the Health cuts? You are happy with the salaries bankers are getting retired or otherwise after the destruction they have brought down on us all? You are happy that Bertie Aherne and Pee Flynn deserve their pensions 2,500 per week ?
      Are you not concerned about the forthcoming budget or are you alright Jack?

• John 14/11/12 #

The Irish are thick, they let people walk all over them, again and again…they deserve poverty

• John 14/11/12 #

As for the clown who thinks people should march because of the weather….he sums up the whole country, the perfect stupid Irish stereotype!

• i must have been asleep during the austerity marches in ireland…what marches…the marches in europe have been led by the unions…thats why noonan and kenny crow that europe would love a croke park agreement as it silenced the unions here…beggs and o connor have cast the private sector members adrift

• So Martin Smith
      You don’t think that any of that the home help workers protesting their cut in hours,,the anti household charge protests, the protests against hospital closures ,bed closures , the students protesting their grant cut backs etc etc etc have nothing to do with austerity? Wake up .

• Unions are a waste of time and money. They no longer represent, but control the ordinary man/woman.
      They have no interest in getting you a fair deal, as long as they have a direct debit from your wage or salary.
      The Unions are deeply involved with employers and government with the main intention of keeping the dust down and pacifying those from whom they reap their salaries. Everything gets done in the end and Unions just make a little noise for your benefit and then scurry off into the shade to sip with their partners in crime.

• If one were to visit the grave of James Connolly, one would see a fog of steam covering it as he spins at the speed of light. For those who do not know…J C ( the real J C ) was one of the founding members of trade unions in Ireland and had more integrity in his left big toe than all of these yes men in today’s Unions.

• More? Have there been any?

• There were those hippies living outside the central bank.

• Not hippies, happies!! The only openly friendly strangers I met in Dublin last Christmas!!

• Gemma 14/11/12 #

there have been dozens, going back last last four years, usually on a Tuesday night ending at the Dail

• If more of us had joined those so called hippies at the central bank, then the Gardai would have to call for the assistance of the army. It would have been all over the world news as the government sanctioned the use of force from the forces of the state.
      You should also think about this…we as a neutral country only have an army for one reason and that is to quell any disquiet from within the general public.
      It hasn’t happened yet but that is because we are a very obedient bunch of losers.
      Be sure that when we finally cop on and protest en-mass, they will be deployed and then we become a Nation and a true Republic at that.

• I think people have just rolled over and accepted the unacceptable, we were drip fed these measures, so we don’t feel the pinch, sure even look at the voting during the week, 30% voted! its like no one gives a boll#x any more

• Sinead I asked this elsewhere but would it be possible for thejournal to contact the leaders of the Irish trade unions and ask them why Ireland is not taking part in this “day of Action and Solidarity”?

Thanks!

• Id love to take part Kerry but if I saw a unions name on it I wouldn’t be near it..

• The beards in the trade unions are very much part of the problem – they milked it as well,sitting on as many state boards as they could …O and yes the Croke park agreement ,how could we forget it!!!!

• Bilbo I’m not into unions either but it is a valid question and I’d be interested in their answers. After all are they not meant to be representing the workers of Ireland?

Gerry indeed they are part of the problem. Part of the reason that there’s not a word out of them today on the European day of action and solidarity I suspect….

• see thats the problem in ireland.

most of the protests held euro wide are organised by public service unions and attended by public sector workers. but when the unions here organise a protest everyone whinges that the unions are complaining, but yet complain that there aren’t enough protesting. there is a public v private sector divide in ireland which suits the people in power.

• A peaceful protest march would be all well and good and I’d be all for it, but if it’s a straight choice between apathy or mass violence, a la Greece, I’ll take the apathy any day of the week.

• I agree with you Kerry, the fact that this is why unions exist. Unions have done so much damage in inflating the public service that their complicit in the downfall I believe. They sat at the table with Bertie and shouted mo money mo mo money . and I’m not turning this into a public/private sector thing. It’s just the private sector corrects itself (unless ur a bank). the top tier of the unions have their contract so sown up the nest to too comfy with all the feathers to draw attention to themselves.
      Unless of course their pensions are threatened then they’ll cripple air transport to everyone’s detriment.

• Rob there is no mass violence in Greece. Yes there are the far right / far left anarchists but the majority of people are protesting peacefully.

• And don’t forget the union leaders all get their directorships on state bodies to top up their 6 figure pensions when they retire #corrupt like the rest of the 1%. The general population in Ireland is also as weak and treacherous as they were when spitting on the 1916 leaders and then lauding them when they got an illusion of victory.

• They’re still at it ffx, and the minute the shutters come down on the Croke Park Agreement the tantrums will start.
      I’m all in favour of workers rights and fair pay for a days work, but some of the stories you hear about the carry on of public sector unions in the workplace just boil my blood.

• Some person or organisation has to lead any organised protest. They will not just happen. In other countries its the Unions, whether we like it or not our ‘Unions’ have been bought and wont rock the boat. The leaders of the workers like to dine in Leinster house.
      The oppopsition parties are happy as larry with their lot and even Sin Fein have been brought into the fold.

We are the pariahs of Europe now and even the workers will despise us. We are the modern day version of Quisling and Vichy all rolled into one.

• Actually Democles, you are right… People do not protest here because there is a really evident stigma. People who have opinions and stand up for injustice or for what they believe in in this country are labelled self-righteous (or dirty hippies, who by the way are drastically misunderstood) and they are ridiculed by peers for being too opinionated, or acting above their station. ‘what gives him/her the right to speak about such things as though he/she knows everything’, ‘who do they think they are’. Fundamental inferiority complex in the Irish psyche. Get up, get in the know, care even just a little bit, and then act on it. There needs to be an effort on creating a culture of action here, and not condemning those who already have it.

• I’m getting to the point where I want someone to answer “What are we GETTING for all the money we give the government?”. The taxes keep going up, and yet they keep cutting services. As ‘customers’ of the government, we’re not getting value for money any more. They keep giving it all away to bankers.

• The political system is closed to accountability between elections. Aside from that, the political options available to us are either center-Right-wing clones of one another in the case of FF and FG, too radical and populist and thus inviable in the case of SF and too weak to count for much in the case of Labour.
    The rest is an endemic catch-22 where we’re frustrated that we can’t change a representative system that we see as not representing the views of the majority, and because there isn’t actually anything we can do about it, for many that frustration just gives away to apathy.
    We need (a) a new political option and (b) more accountability from our representatives if we’re ever going to challenge that apathy and restore the health of Irish democracy.
    (If you’re interested, I go into this in more detail at http://www.perspectivesbyjack.com).

• I have 3 related points for everyone:
    1- The current Govt are all the time ‘capping’ our pay and the capping will be increased in 3 weeks time again. However, although suposedly also capping their own pay, their advisers pay and the Top Bankers pay, every day we hear about more top Bank Officials in breach of the salary cap, more ‘special advisers’ being paid 20k more than their supposed cap and also the policians continually claiming unvouched expenses.- One Rule for them!!?? Why do we put up with this?
    2 – Nobel prize winning Economists have even stated that nowhere in history has across the board Austerity cured the ills of a recession and brought about growth again. So ask yourself, why would this time be any different? Exactly, it wont be! The Austerity is driving down growth, spending power ans driving up unemployment!
    3 – The Government here know that apart from some well organised groups ie Farmers, that Irish people do not come together to protest/make their case, in the spirit of democracy and a true republic , where they feel totally agrieved at what is going on. Why do we not come together as one for the common good?

• There will only be action in this country when the “I’m alright Jacks” fall below critical mass. Successive governments have always ensured, and continue to ensure, that that will never happen.

• As long as we have the Croke Park Agreement we will have no protests, because our Unions don’t care about anyone else, if the CPA is tampered with they will bring the country to a standstill, the Unions are the reason we dont have any protests.

• Marian. I have been making that very point for two years. The unions and the government are as one, because of Croke park. The people outside the CPA are the people that need the most help, but because Union leaders only care about protecting their handy life’s, the rest of us can go to hell. The private sector workers of this country need to be represented by a union that has no ties with Croke park, and if that means going it alone, and starting up a brand new union, then so be it.

• Scarr 14/11/12 #

Im confused, the CPA is stopping you setting up a union or organisation for the last 2 years?

• I’m confused – the CPA is an agreement between public sector unions and the government. Why are so many comments targeting these unions and not the unions who are not bound by the CPA?

Why are the private sector unions not out protesting or organising protests? Why is it that public sector ones are being talked about as if they’re the only ones that exist?

• SIPTU dont just represent the public sector, they have members in the private sector too, but they only care about their members in the public sector.

• we are a nation of whingers, yet will not go out and make our views known. the policy makers are rarely affected by their policies. they are removed from the reality of the average struggling person in this country. why not protest. it will make little difference anyway. austerity is the only show in town even though it hasn’t worked. it constantly puts down the most vulnerable in society down. it will not be problematic for our 500k a tear bankers, ironically the cause of the problems in the first place.

• As long as the is peace in country and a few spuds, shure why would any protest or be upset at all by anything that goes on in ireland? Child abuse, Bank payments, Huge salaries of the governments, Enda being paid more than the President of the USA? no, people in power know what is right for us!!!!!! This country is an embarrassment!

• I have long since wondered about the apathy and sheer bone idle laziness of this country. The Fighting Irish? The cowardice Irish more like. Shameful whingers that would sooner blame everybody else for their lives getting worse. Oh it’s the government … oh it’s the banks …. oh it’s Angela Merkel .. oh its the EU and the ECB ….

Heres a clue Ireland. It’s Irish media and all you guys . Just reading over your comments and some of you are completely miss-informed. Irish journalists are to blame for that. Research seems to be a thing of the past. What you get in Ireland now is the government release a press statement and ALL Irish media copy paste that and print it as fact. What you don’t hear is the rest of the story.

Like todays protests across Europe are nothing new. Take Spain, 70,000 Spanish protestors have circled in their government buildings for weeks now. Irish people won’t do that because “the weather” or “whats the bleedin point”.

Is it the fluoride? Is it because every Irish person is wealthy and therefore theres no problem? Is it the media for being so damn impartial? Is it simply the Irish don’t care? When more Irish people vote for Jedward than they do on the supposed rights of a neglected child do you think they will protest? When protesters are labelled as “hippies” and mocked for trying to stand up for YOUR rights, is that really the view point of everybody or is it the view point being pushed by the media? Because yes, people like you Damocles and you are not alone in this …. are gullible enough to soak up that partisan nonsense and then fool yourself into thinking because you have now read a sound bite from a over payed civil servant which was printed in news media, if you make a joke about who the civil servant was discussing you are now somehow super cool in your little tiny world of chat boxes.

As an Irish man, I am disgusted by this country and it’s pathetic people. You allow yourselves to be crapped on from above and waffled to by your media. You allow yourselves to told what to do , when to do it, how to vote, how to live, when to be angry, who to be angry with. And you never once use your own brains and decide for yourselves …. I swear … theres more honest bravery in a school playground.

• Well said T.I., WELL BLOODY SAID!!!!!!!!!!!

• I’m not protesting because I’ve nothing to protest about.

• What? You live in a country with mass unemployment and poverty where all services are cut to pay off the banksers – where billion and billions are handed to bankers each month while we;re asked to pay tax on contaminated water with boil notices in some parts and no water service at all in others if there’s a bloody R in the month and then you tell me that you have nothing to protest about???!!!! What ivory tower are you living in Damocles?
      I’m with Truthful Irish – this country and it’s pathetic people make me SICK!

• If you’re so bothered why are you not outside the Dail right now protesting?

• Thats nice Domcles … so because your life is so perfectly well insulated from all of societies problem you will do what the politicians do. And simply pour scorn on anybody who doesn’t match your expectations.

Talk about being selfish. You should probably sign up for FG.

• well said. I’m staying positive about this I think people will wake up they can’t continue denying whats going on. http://www.facebook.com/events/122229381266866

• You know what little boy. I will be at the Dail today. Will you? Will anybody else from this joke of a poll be?

42% of you that voted on this said you want to see more action….. today there is a chance for you to participate at 2 pm. I bet you , you won’t back up your vote and attend.

As I said already, joke of a nation.

• Well if you’re so angry about things “Truthful Irish”, why are you sitting around bickering with me, why don’t you take your ire to the Dail?

• Read before you comment ….. pure proof right there of the Irish mentality. All gusto and bravado but as usual…. no substance.

I am going to be at the Dail today from 2 pm. Will you or is your life really so well sorted? Are all your frinds lives so wonderful? Do you believe the current shower in office represent you and your ilk? Do you think that you have nothing to complain about when so many of your civil liberties are being stripped from you almost weekly?

Listen mate, I have watched and read your comments on this site for months and months. You are a spoon at the very best of times and I won’t be wasting anymore of my time on a pleb like you.

• Actually I think you’ll find we posted near simultaneously.

“I am going to be at the Dail today from 2 pm. Will you?”

No. I’ll be at work.

“Irish mentality”, ” I have watched and read your comments on this site for months and months.”

Not very thoroughly.

“mate”, we aren’t mates.

• Just because I don’t want you to have the last word . Good come back .. mate !

• Well said, Truthful… on all points.
      I’ll repeat what I said earlier: “There will only be action in this country when the “I’m alright Jacks” fall below critical mass”.
      http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/1010/1224325095342.html

• I agree, we lie down for everything they throw at us, when all the irish get up off their asses to shout we,ve had enough, then I go, why have you lot of moaners let a yes vote win against your kids in favour of the goverment, yer full of wind and piss, now piss off back to your bottle of courage.

• @ truthfulIrish

Don’t really want to get involved in this particular bunfight but what exactly do you believe that we can achieve throught protest marches. It’s never achieved anything in the past and maybe that’s why we as a nation don’t do peacful protest outside the dail.

• @ Josh. Ok thats a fair point. I hate answering questions with questions …. but. What change has happened by staying at home moaning about it? What change has all these bar stool world savers brought us? Protest does work and has worked countless times in Ireland. Medical cards for the over 70′s? The recent increase in Farmers allowances? The cuts to special needs? The referendum being biased and one sided? If people actually get off their arses and speak up, things change.

• Damocles 14/11/12 #

You realise you are actually agreeing with me. We both think that people with something to protest would be better off protesting it than sitting around going “Oh we should protest this” forever and not actually going and protesting it.

The difference is that you want people to go and protest because you believe in the stuff they and you think should be protested, whereas I want them to go and protest because I’m finding the online whinging about this that and the other which isn’t followed up by action increasingly tedious.

• @ Truthful Irish,
      Can’t really agree with you there though. Farmers got nothing from their protest . The pensioners, I believe is different because of their political profile. They all vote , they all read the papers, and you can’t exactly send the riot squad in to break them up. As for the special needs An emotional topic that was payback from the PS to remind the government whom exactly rules the country. These are really important issues to the small interest groups involved and in terms of overall Government spending policy a pittance. We get distracted by them. The real issues we totally ignore because we are led around by the nose by, in general, Lazy financial journalists and of course RTE who really love to concentrate on the heart string issues of the day

• 24 November

• We shall see how people react come December 5th. The budget may get people to think otherwise little or no public action will only give the gov carte blanche to keep going with austerity measures and to truly squeeze every cent out of our pockets. We have to draw the line somewhere don’t you think..

• What is the Irish peopled boiling point? What would it take for the Irish people to jump from the bubbling pot? The Irish people like to pour more cold water in when it feels like they can’t take anymore and just go about their daily lifes complaining its getting very uncomfortable. So what is your boiling point? When will to much be just that and be to much? What will it take to make you react to take a stand for a better Ireland.

• The majority in this country wouldn’t show up, they can’t be arsed. One of the problems with this country is the “sure it’ll be grand” mentality, sickens me…

• he problem in Ireland are the traitor Unions. They are too cosy in bed with their fellow over paid government buddies and have stifled any chance of true democracy by avoiding/inhibiting protests.

All the unions would be organising mass protests if they had any spine. Instead they are more interested in maintaining the status quo.

• If people are interested, there’s one going to be happening this Friday in Waterford at the hospital to “greet” Minister for Health James Reilly to our City and confront him about plans to downgrade the hospital and move services for 500,000 people to the already over stretched hospitals of Cork and Dublin. I just hope it stays peaceful!

• Come join the disability cuts march/protest on 21st Nov from Bank of Ireland to Leinster house. For all disabled people their friends, families and supporters. Wear red, wave Red Card (get off the pitch- FOUL!) and no political banners or organisation banners. only ones by individuals . see website/facebook of ‘inclusion ireland’ or ‘disability rights coalition’. please everyone COME.

disabled people are suffering.

i meet minister kathleen lynch today for a one hour meeting. wish me luck!

disabled ‘pink hat’ twin protester

• I’d protest, but unfortunately work has a tendency to interfere with such protests, what with those protests usually being organised in the MIDDLE OF THE WORKING WEEK. Sure, there are plenty of armchair protesters, but has it ever occurred to those that complain about the Irish protesting that with over 1.7 million in work that maybe, just maybe, those people are too busy earning a day’s wage rather than spending a day’s wage by heading up to Dublin to protest. I’m all for solidarity with my fellow workers and am just as aggrieved at some of the appalling and disgusting decisions being made by government based purely on monetary value rather than societal value, but at the end of the day I have to look at my own shopping basket at the end of the week. Taking a day off for a protest is simply not an option for me and many like me. I live in the West of Ireland. I have a very tight budget to do me for the week. Taking one day off work to attend a protest in Dublin would cost me c. €140 (€80 lost wages, €20 on food and other expenses, €40 for transport to Dublin). That kind of expense is simply not an option. That’s why I don’t protest, and that’s the main reason why many of my friends don’t protest.

• Enough is enough lads. Irish people are marching against austerity on Saturday the 24th November. Please click the event link and invite all friends/family http://www.facebook.com/events/122229381266866

• Let’s face it, as a people we have been pillaged. What we are now experiencing now is the rape.

• I’m curious to hear why so many people voted no in the poll, why wouldn’t you want to see more anti-austerity protests? Genuine question, cause I honestly can’t think of a reason why you wouldn’t want more in Ireland.

• A nation of sheep led by wolves dressed as shepherds . Yes more protest, action needed to stop our politicians selling us out completely.

• There’s an uneasy silence about the Irish people lately, it’s an unsettling silence and it has the Government worried. Because, If we were jumping up and down every time a cut or tax was imposed. They’d know where they stand, But this calm before the storm, will come with a bang and knock this Government over!

• Could everyone who is utterly appalled at the attitude of people who won’t go out and protest please make your point by going out and protesting.

Sitting on the Internet whinging that others won’t go out and protest doesn’t get you out and protesting.

If you care that much you shouldn’t need someone to tell you to go out and protest, you’ll have already gone out and protested.

In fact if you’re still reading this comment at this point you’ve already shown that you’re all mouth as you’ve still failed to go out and protest.

• What would the protest be about?
    Is it to demand more government spending and therefore more borrowing?

This ‘down with austerity’ simplistic soundbite misses the point.
    “Down with the bank bailout”? – fine, but we still need to balance the deficit so even if the bank bailout was solved in the morning we would still need painful budgets.

• Wonder where Iceland would be today if they hadn’t of protested. Being a sucker to nameless bankers i suppose.

• the reason why governments here constantly sick on the weak is because we as a people have pat back and excepted their decisions. they back tracked quickly on the medical cards for the elderly. this government needs to be reminded that it is supposed to represent us all not just the wealthy.

• only the beaten down and the weak are the ones who don’t protest

• I’ve been on the 2 student union protests. On the first one there was a BIT of trouble and loads of coverage. On the 2nd one there was NO trouble and NO coverage. Us students aren’t bothering to go to Dublin to walk around and have a picnic anymore. It’s a waste of money. So the S.U. have developed a different tactic. Trouble is, we don’t know what it is! Neither do they ! What a shower ! Our future leaders… we’re doomed !

• no true, many ‘beaten down’ and ‘weak’ vulnerable disabled people did all night protest outside dail on sept 4th last

• Everyone write a letter to the Politician you voted for, that’s in the Government and tell them to Vote against the Budget. As you voted for him/her, She/He represents you and you demand that action on your behalf!

• Sibhs 14/11/12 #

The unions don’t represent either the private or public sector in this country. The union leadership have had their noses in the trough for a long time. Like all higher paid workers in the public and private sector, they want to keep all their perks and benefits and let the rest of us pay for it. When they organised a protest in 2010, it was only to make the little people feel better for a while. What was not reported at that time, was that both Jack O’Connor and David Begg were booed and heckled by their union members. Don’t let them put you off protesting, that’s what they want – Divide and rule and keep us at each other throats, while they enjoy the good life.

• Let’s have more protests….but let’s be a bit more creative about it. Marching does no good…it is just ignored. How about us all refusing to pay some licence fees???? …TV …that would really wake up the media lap dogs!!!!

• Well said truthful Irish. I’ve no idea why there wasn’t mass protest and strikes today but on Saturday 24th Nov @ 1pm at the Garden of Rememberance there will be a mass protest from Campaign against household and water taxes, DCTU, Communities against Cuts, Spark, Spectacle of Defiance and many more. It’s the likes of people like Damocles who are sitting pretty will eat up every last bit of tripe from the bowel of this government. Those people have no clue or will not even acknowledge that ordinary citizens of this country ARE suffering and austerity needs to come to an end very soon or we will have a huge population of people living in deprivation from these proposed cuts and property taxes. This government needs to lead by example and starting cutting from the top – highest salaries in Europe? For what? , they need to start holding bankers responsible instead of further approving 500K salaries and actually working for the people not against the people and maybe then they can start clawing back any credence they may once have had. The Labour party especially, if there’s any justice, will never get back inside the door of the Dáil come next election.

• down with this sort of thing! sure we wouldn’t want to upset poor ends now would we?

• Laid back Ireland or is it lazy Ireland
    Europe on strike and Ireland sleeps through or is it a case of heads in sand

• In reality protests do very little, the government expects them and may use them to their advantage with the use of provocatures to spark violence, as governments have in other countries. What works is peaceful non-compliance as with the house hold charge-people simply refusing to assist the government in daylight robbery. It would be more effective to stop paying RTÉ to lie to us, stop paying road tolls, stop paying car tax en mass. Now I can hear the goody-two-shoes saying that is unlawful, however, cast against the massive theft and fraud that the government has perpetrated against Ireland and the people, what I am alluding to is small potatoes! To them I say-perspective!!

• They do very little because your attitude is the attitude bred into people by the government press office (Insert any Irish newspaper here). Protest don’t work because you do it once in your lifetime. You have to protest every week, they have to get bigger by the week.. If that doesn’t work it escalates to every day and it will take less than two weeks of that to change once the pressure is maintained

• Caroline, I think there is a place for both types of protest. The Campaign Against the Household Tax has been a very successful civil disobedience campaign which has shown that the systems of the state cannot cope in the face of mass non compliance. Public protests and marches have also proven to be effective, most recently with the government forced into a humiliating reversal on the over 70′s medical card due to a mass protest outside the Dail.

• censored 14/11/12 #

They work in other countries. Maybe you’re not trying hard enough?

• All the Nos above are FG, Labour, FF politicos voting for their life

• This is a democracy it’s not a demonstratocray. People had a vote recently and they voted for more of the same. Those advocating demonstrating are anti-democratic, I suspect mainly frustrated ex-communists. Ireland is in a far better position than those other countries and most people realise we will be out of this mess soon, that;’s why they are not demonstrating.

I might add that in Greece the people continuously voted for corrupt politicians who carried on with their corruption and spending money the did’t have. It’s the Greek people’s fault so who are they demonstrating against? Themselves?

• ”I might add that in Greece the people continuously voted for corrupt politicians who carried on with their corruption and spending money the did’t have”
      U are just plain wrong
      Taken from John pilgers site May 2010

”At 11 per cent, Greece’s deficit is no higher than America’s. However, when the Papandreou [ Socialist ]government tried to borrow on the international capital market, it was effectively blocked by the American corporate ratings agencies, which “downgraded” Greece to “junk”. These same agencies gave triple-A ratings to billions of dollars in so-called sub-prime mortgage securities and so precipitated the economic collapse in 2008.”

”The right-wing government of Kostas Karamanlis, which preceded the present Pasok (Labour) government of George Papandreou, was described by sociologist Jean Ziegler as “a machine for systematic pillaging the country’s resources”.

The machine had infamous friends. The US Federal reserve Board is investigating the role of Goldman Sachs and other American hedge fund operators which gambled on the bankruptcy of Greece as public assets were sold off and its tax-evading rich deposited 360 billion euros in Swiss banks. The largest Greek ship-owners transferred their companies abroad. This haemorrhage of capital continues with the approval of the European central banks and governments”

• Jim, off the top of my head Greece’s debt is about 190% of GDP which is far higher than the US’ at 72% last month. So t hat demolishes your first point. Greece can’t borrow because it couldn’t pay back what it now owes never mind more.

The “right wing” government didn’t take power on a coup d’état, they were elected by the people.

If indeed some bankers tried to pull a fast one and manipulate the market then Greece can sue them.
      Greece is a basket case and has many of the insane spending programs as France and many European countries. Very early retirements, vast numbers of free accommodation for public officials, extravagant social welfare programs, a bloated civil service etc.

Two young people I know went out in the last couple of weeks looking for unskilled work and got it. How come the 15% can’t seem to find work? It’s quite clear that many people do not want to work or are better off on the dole which allows them to do black market work and also a bit of dodgy income earning; selling smuggled cigarettes, selling stolen goods, stealing, a bit of drug dealing, driving around in their white vans nicking etc

• Careful now!

• I’ll be marching. Had enough.

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

I was reading an article about people here emigrating in search of a better life. It amazed me to read the comments, people were actually condemning them for doing so, writing ‘how dare’ they, and ‘they let there country down’. After seeing the result of that vote i ask, why the f#%k would anyone want to stay on this doomed rock? seriously, when Europe fights against austerity, our little country will still be getting screwed because we just don’t give a s%#t! I would love to see another vote like this in ten years when we are back to living out of cornflake boxes.

• Saturday 24th November, Parnell Square, Dublin. Anti-Austerity Protest.

The Campaign Against the Household Tax (CAHWT) and the United Left Alliance are calling on people to come out and support the pre-budget demonstration in Dublin on the 24th November. This is a protest against the property tax and other austerity measures ahead of another harsh budget. We’ll be marching with the Dublin Council of Trade Unions and other anti-austerity groups. If you want to fight the cuts, the household tax, the property tax and other austerity measures please come along and invite your friends.

• I just can’t believe that 41% voted for more shit. Why not just jump over the cliff like the bunch of lemmings that we are. Makes a mockery of being Proud to be Irish.

• Come on, pour the shit over the Irish, We are a bloody disgrace, taking on the financial woes of others. The whole world is laughing at us, spineless idiots that we are. Yes I include myself in there. What a sorry lot of arse lickers we are. Bend over and take whatever Enda and Eamon dish out. We are the true IDIOTS of the world.

• wait until about march next year. I would say this question would be answered differently.

• We Irish are great about complaining about everything, things will not get better anytime soon until the IMFcome in and slash the public service and other costs, with hundreds of thousands emigrating the government does not have to provide social services for them but with these people gone their tax net is shrinking rapidly, a dwindling population cannot take much more austerity, we are all great talking about protest but thats all we do is talk and complain and are to yellow and lazy to stand up for ourselves.

• the irish dont have a back bone to go out and make a say, we can sit and talk get angry, but we will just send out a cheque for billions to keep paying back uninsured bonds,, yes we are the laughing stock , yes the germans love enda,, dough boy,,, but love the way they have not said anything about the pensions being paid out, salaries and expenses,,, thats why they have the boys in their back pockets,,, they look after their own and austerity for the rest,,, and we shall sit and watch the march on tv tonight and say why cant we do it,, we dont have unions with back bones to shut down bus and trains, to shut cities down,,, what an inconvenience,, but take your cuts in the next budget,, so less inconvenient

• http://directdemocracyireland.ie/ they’re not afraid of protests.what they are afraid of is us coming together and moving toward a common goal.divide and rule,them and you,pink and blue.

• No chance of people protesting, those who work are too scared of getting kicked out of their jobs if any sniff of us having any tendencies towards “been a rebel that lad”, the rest then are on the dole where its easier to sit back and bleed as much as possible out of it without any need or want to work.
    Of course there are some who do want a job, but all around me I see people sitting on their hands getting well paid to sit on the dole.

We should be ripping the government from their nice warm seats, but that isn’t going to happen. And when the time for an election does come around and we do vote and kick them out, how bad will it be for them? It will as bad as having junior ministers having to “survive” on a pension of 70k plus per year!
    Hard for them isn’t it.

• Tommy C 14/11/12 #

Lads, there was a march a few months ago organised by the unions and guess who marched!! Those of us with jobs after we had worked a full day! I dont think there were too many of the 400,000 who are out of work though.
    Must have been football on.

• down with this sorta thing we wouldn’t want to upset poor enda now would we?

• we r doin the best of all the bail out nations in all fairness, this is 1 issue the government, who inherited this problem by the way, have dealt wit incredibly well

• dont think you should hold all of dublin up just coz people wana give out go and sit outside the government buildings and protest

• I would protest, but its raining

• Can’t people just calm down a bit and return to their homes?

• what a stupid question!

• Damocles 14/11/12 #

I was just outside the Dail and there was a protest going on.

Something about a bypass and Frank Feighan.

• Well I for one shan’t bother my ass. Would have to take the day off college/work to go to any of these marches and I really wouldn’t be stressed. If the past years shown us anything, after all the troubles and marching of the previous two, is that it really doesn’t achieve anything except a lot of sore feet and headaches. Governments knows too rightly the voice of public opinion, it’s up to them to start listening to it.

• censored 14/11/12 #

This is why we should cut the dole and charge fees for the ignorati to attend college.

• Right looking back now I suppose I did sound a bit thick. (long day) I know the point of marching’s to show the government we’re angry, to tell them in as direct a manner as possible what we think of their current policies and it’s not a lot. Just feeling a bit frustrated at the complete lack of progress coming from it and this is from someone who was up in Dublin marching myself last winter. I’m fed up. Wish them the very best those marching, maybe this time something’ll come of it.

Add New Comment