TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Column: Kenny is dragging Fine Gael into a kamikaze mission on abortion

Voters remember Fine Gael’s pre-election promises on the issue of abortion – and the party will permanently lose support if it decides to legislate for it, writes Niamh Ui Bhriain.

Niamh Ui Bhriain

A SECOND OPINION poll in rapid succession has shown that public support for Fine Gael is now on a downward spiral, and that the party has now been overtaken by Fianna Fáil.

The figures are startling: Fine Gael, who almost won an overall majority in 2011, have now crashed to 25 per cent in the polls. Satisfaction with the government is at a miserable 18 per cent, and Enda Kenny has sunk to a satisfaction rating of 29 per cent.

The party faithful may well feel that they are being hammered for making difficult decisions during an unprecedented recession.

Electoral pledges

But Fine Gael needs to realise that they are also making bad choices – and those choices are losing them vital support. At a time of unprecedented economic crisis in Ireland, Enda Kenny’s big idea for the country has been to propose the legalisation of abortion.

In doing so he is dragging Fine Gael into a kamikaze mission which will permanently crash and burn the party for many motivated and highly engaged voters. Fine Gael explicitly promised supporters in Election 2011 that they would not legislate for abortion, and voters remember electoral pledges.

The party’s strategists will be frantically reviewing these polls, which show that Fine Gael could lose almost 40 seats if the decline continues.

In order to pull back from a course of self-destruction, they will need to identify exactly what factors are losing the party votes. And the evidence shows that one of those factors is abortion.

Commenting on one recent poll, Damian Loscher of Ipsos MRBI listed abortion proposals as one cause for a fall in support for Fine Gael amongst key voters.

That revelation came on the heels of a finding in an earlier poll by Behaviour and Attitudes which showed that support for abortion propositions was highest among Labour party supporters, but lowest among Fine Gael voters at just 42 per cent. Kenny is not listening to his base on the issue of the sanctity of human life. And that brings us to the crux of this matter.

On this issue, Enda Kenny is letting Labour be the tail that wags the dog.

Labour is calling the shots

Labour is pushing hard for this government to legalise abortion. Despite the serious and persistent misgivings of many Fine Gael TDs and Senators, the Taoiseach is allowing Labour to call the shots on an issue that not only divides the nation, but has the potential to split Kenny’s party in two. It appears that the pilot has lost control of the plane.

Ceding that control to Labour (which has also crashed in the polls) means Enda Kenny is dragging Fine Gael into an unnecessary political and cultural conflict. Younger and more outspoken Fine Gael TDs and Senators are opposed to the legalisation of abortion. Junior Minister Lucinda Creighton has publicly expressed serious concern on an almost weekly basis on the issue.

Meanwhile, voters have become energised and motivated in response to Fine Gael’s proposal to legalise abortion in Ireland.

Within just three weeks, some 32,000 voters have signed a pledge never to vote for Fine Gael again if the party introduces abortion. More than a 1,000 people are continuing to sign every day – and these are votes that Fine Gael cannot afford to lose.

Enda Kenny should look to the man whose party has now overtaken him in the polls. Fianna Fáil leader, Micheál Martin, last week told TheJournal.ie that his party ‘had issues’ with the inclusion of suicide as a ground for abortion.

Abortion a major concern

Martin, unlike Kenny, has experience of being burned by misreading the Irish electorate on this issue. During the first referendum on the Lisbon treaty, abortion became a major concern for voters. The government at the time misread the signs and underestimated just how widespread those concerns were.

The country voted No to Lisbon. Research undertaken by Millward Brown showed that 66 per cent of No voters were either somewhat or very concerned about the potential for the EU to interfere in Ireland’s pro-life laws. The electorate did not want abortion legalised in Ireland.

Now a Fine Gael-led government is looking at a proposal to legalise abortion on suicide grounds. John Bruton, the former Fine Gael leader – and a former Taoiseach – has publicly opposed the proposal; a public relations nightmare for Enda Kenny at a time when the party is already sinking fast.

Perhaps Bruton can see that the numbers for Fine Gael are going to get worse if they continue on this course of self-destruction. Enda Kenny needs to pull back from this kamikaze mission on abortion, or face the consequences within his own party.

Niamh Ui Bhriain is a spokesperson for the Life Institute.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (329 Comments)

• And lack of legislation on abortion has been dragging mothers into kamikaze missions for years…

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Patitas, sure the pro-life crowd don’t care about the mothers so what does that matter to them?

• If that’s true then why were the majority of the 30,000 supporters at the pro-life gathering 3 weeks ago women and many of them mother themselves? Or is that you think they’re too stupid to understand the issue they feel so strongly about?

• Yes they are too stupid well said

• Ok, fair enough. Can I ask whether you yourself are stupid and if not why? Is it because you are well read? Have a degree? I’m honestly interested what makes these people’s opinions stupid and your own not.

• @Hippocrateeth, people on either side of this argument feel strongly on the issue. Is it not then wise to offer a legislative choice to those in immediate danger?
      The vitriolic assertion that this will lead to ‘abortion on demand’ is flawed. The legislative framework will not allow for this.
      Bodily integrity is a human right that is stripped away in this country when a woman (or her baby) is close to death (and dead).

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Hippocrateeth, your comment makes no sense.

Lack of legislation on this very important issue has meant that women have no real options in this country and if suicide is seen as a option by a women she’s may opt for this over the option of a non-existent abortion.

Numbers at any sort of “pro life” gather don’t change the situation one bit, of course statistically you’ll have some pregnant women or mothers that are pro-life. the exact same as statistically you’ll have pregnant women and mothers pro-choice. This makes your comment completely invalid and off-topic in relation to Patitas’s comment.

Regardless of the support by women mothers for the so called “pro-life” agenda it doesn’t change the fact that lack of legislation means that suicide has been and still is seen as a option for women in certain situations…..

Once again you’ve ignored the life of the mother, so yet again a pro-lifer misses the point and cares little about the life of the mother, good job!

• as i have learning difficulties which i have said many times on journal so yes maybe i am a bit stupid but not brainwashed dont like abortion dont have one.

• I was responding to your comment barry, that’s probably why it seems ‘off topic to patitas’ comment’.

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Hippocrateeth, ok so.

But it still makes no sense, the very fact you simply want to ignore these women by not legislation shows you don’t give a monkeys about them. It doesn’t matter if you have men, women or dogs cats supporting the pro-life agenda….the mothers life isn’t as important as the fetus in your eye’s.

Unless of course you support the position put forward in a recent Irish Times letter which suggested taking them into “care” and thus forcing them to go through with a pregnancy that they see the only way out of is by killing themselves……after all, doing that to pregnant women has worked soooo well in the past!

• @ Kieran
      ‘ The legislative framework will not allow for this’
      Big statement there Kieran. Maybe with you’re obvious superior legislative knowledge you’d like to explain exactly how.

• 30,000 lol.

• There is a big difference between giving a woman a life saving treatment which could result in the death of the unborn and having abortion available freely in a country…
      The best treatment available that what “prolife” folks want, that’s what everyone wants, not intensional abortion…
      Legislate for that..
      Give the money for doctors, psychologist, hospitals, staff that they waste foolishly elsewhere ….
      Even the top doctor at the recent hearings agreed that abortion was not the answer for anyone who had susidal thoughts

• That figure of 30,000 is quite incorrect. The area where the protest took place only holds around 12,000 to 15,000 people standing shoulder to shoulder. The space needed for the expensive screens and other stage props reduces that figure by another ten or twenty percent.

• @hippocrateeth or whatever. Are you talking about the pro-life gathering that was shouting your warped views into the car windows of people who were driving by? Scaring the life out of children and upsetting them? I personally know a family who u done this too and the children were really upset over it! Pro-life my ar$e!

• Sorry, 25,000 official. Lol.

• I shouted huzzahs into the opens window of a Toyota Yaris as it rolled menacingly past us and frightened the beejayzus out of a ignorant yorkshire terrier in the back seat. In my defense, the terrier looked like Marie Stopes and was trying to get hold of a can of lager to chuck at my homeboys da youff defense.

• Denis 21/02/13 #

Those women are the same women that a few years ago would have sent their daughters to a Magdalene Laundry for shaming the family.

• There weren’t 30k or even 20k but somewhere around 12k

The majority were men

Of the women who were there (about 1/3) only 10-15% were of child bearing age. Most of these were pushed up the front of the rally to provide the fake majority referred to.

This attempt to manipulate the image from the rally was well covered on Journal at the time but also in the Irish Times. The WSM website had a detailed look at numbers plus a load of photos taken inside the crowd.

Women’s tight to control their own fertility shouldn’t be a question of majorities and minorities anyway but this attempt by the 10% who have yet to escape the 50′s to to claim they are the majority should always be challenged,

• This is the mad one always going around with her bible and telling us all how to live.

This is not the 1940’s love. Ireland is not a theocratic State.

If you don’t want an abortion – don’t have one. Irish women will still travel to England each year, irrespective of what happens.

Who funds your organisation ? Ireland is bankrupt, yet the anti-choice brigade are advertising throughout the Country.

• JayK 21/02/13 #

“The pro-life crowd don’t care about the mothers…” – Barry

“(the women who attended to pro-life gathering) are too stupid well said” – Richard Fennelly

“Those women are the same women that a few years ago would have sent their daughters to a Magdalene Laundry for shaming the family” – Denis

“Ireland is not a theocratic State.” – Meredith Lopez

And, irony of ironies;
      “… so yet again a pro-lifer misses the point ” – Barry

I don’t even have an opinion I’m trying to push. I just wanted to point out how moronic you people sound.

• The half mad reaction of some abortion supporters is actually hilarious. The article is backed up with some serious facts, deal with them rather than ranting and raving.

• I am a 21 year old female student and I am pro-life. I am not pro-life because of any religion but because of my experiences and because I have taken the time to learn as much about abortion and the question of person-hood as can.
      This is not a religious issue, it is often associated with religion purely because a lot of religious people are pro-life. It is a human rights issue.
      I don’t want to directly attack any of the comments above but I just want to say… I am FOR women – the truth about abortion is, although it may seem to be an easy option, it causes so much pain and hardship in the woman’s life, and unfortunately many women don’t realise until it is too late.
      What most pro-life groups try to do is in fact help and protect women.

If you just take one minute to consider this;
      when the egg is fertilized and begins to develop in the womb at what point do you call it a person? 12 weeks? 20 weeks? 40 weeks? Birth? 2 years old? 15 years old? 50 years old?…. you get the point. We are all just people at different stages of development in life. Lets go back to the foetus developing in the womb: at which day in the pregnancy can you say “yes it is a child today – it wasn’t a child yesterday”.
      We are interdependent beings so we cannot say that if the foetus can survive on its own it is then a person. Not one of us COULD survive on our own. We are responsible for other people and other people have a responsibility towards us. A baby cannot feed and clean and take care of him/herself – it would die if left alone. A sick adult could not survive alone.
      When a woman becomes pregnant she has a responsibility to the body developing inside her developing body. Unfortunately sometimes it is not a happy situation for that woman (and maybe the father) but there is no getting around that reality. Her body knows she is pregnant and abortion results in a mourning of the lost child in some way or another.
      We cannot see the child, hear it, touch it, interact with it in the early stages of pregnancy. Therefore it is easy to only consider the woman’s current situation, if the pregnancy causes a seemingly worsened scenario for that girl/woman then abortion seems like the perfect solution.
      The truth is that in the overall span of things abortion ends one life, and hurts the other.

• Sorry I hadn’t planned for that comment to be so long… :)

• JayK 21/02/13 #

A considered opinion Niamh? I guess that makes you a stupid, uncaring theocrat who supports the Magdelene laundries.

I don’t necessarily agree with you, but it’s still a nice change from the ridiculous, hyperbolic nonsense in the pro-choice comments. You’ve made a fool of some of the self-important windbags on here.

• Abortion is never an easy option

• Consider some scenarios. This one: A young girl, 13yrs discovers she is 3 weeks pregnant, as a result of being raped by her father, or uncle or brother, she is in absolute crisis and realises she should have reported the rape but didn’t this increases her guilt and her self hatred. She cannot contemplate carrying the pregnancy full term, because its her fathers, she wants to die. She CANNOT continue with the pregnancy. The only option for her is to die behind the Grotto, while giving birth.
      Or this scenario: a woman in early pregnancy enters hospital because of complications. The medical experts tell the woman the foetus cannot be saved and WILL die, she is upset but realises the best option FOR HER is a termination. She is refused, she reminded the medical intervention cannot help the foetus, she asks for a termination. She’s afraid, she feels I’ll, she feels like SHE has NO CONTROL over her body. Her request is ignored, she is offered toast. She dies a week later, her body poisoned as a result of her treatment.
      Simple really, did these women/girls need an abortion or not. Yes or No. Keep in mind in the first example that comforting words of support will not change the paternity of the girls pregnancy, ever.

• Pro-choice abortion groups do not provide care for women. They don’t want to hear about those feeling hurt. Sure didn’t they try to deface their posters thus silencing them? Don’t they give them dangerous information that put their lives at risk? Women often feel suicidal because of the many pressures on them to do something they know to be abhorrent. Many of those reasons could be overcome if more people helped women rather than being ideologically for killing their babies.

• okay

• Yes William those scenario are bad and the abuser should be punished for the crime….

But that is still no reason to introduce abortion in this country.
      We are no different to any other country and once it in it will be abused and misused by many, you can take examples from England, America, Canada…
      As for Savitas case, if the doctors neglected their duty or there was negligence on their part, whatever the outcome we’ll have to wait and see, that should be dealted with in court…

• Abortion is never an easy option, but it’s a permanent one. I find it curious that all the pro-choice activists have already been born themselves.

• @john the baptist, Simply put: a number of doctors will have to sign off on the termination after a psychological assessment. Won’t be an easy thing to achieve in Ireland.

• @Hippocrateeth – YD, LI and other organizations quote an “official” figure of 25,000. This figure was never released officially by the Gardai, it does not appear on the Garda website, there appears to be no record of any Garda ever saying it, and there appears to be no indication of who actually produced it in the first place.

• @Donal I was born into a loving family, I was lucky. Not everyone is, you realise that right? That the world isn’t all sunshine and lollipops for everyone?

I love this idea some anti-choicers have that abortion is something people will gallop off to the doctors to get, whooping with joy as they go.

• I’m beginning to think that alleged pro-life gathering didn’t even take place at all! I’ve scoured the databases of an Gardai Siochana, the Dublin City Council, and combed exhaustively through the complete works of George Hook and can’t find a shred of hard evidence it definitely existed. How deep does this thing GO??? Sterling work, detective. #gathering.ufo.chemtrails.shell2sea24/7horsemeatscandle

• Today’s Millward Brown poll show a sizeable majority support legal protection of unborn.

Q1. In current medical practice in Ireland, the doctor treats the expectant mother and her baby as two patients and does his/her best to safeguard both in a crisis situation. Do you consider that this practice should be protected and safeguarded by law or not?

Result: 66% answered YES, 15% NO, 19% No Opinion. Of those who expressed an opinion 81% answered YES.

Q2. Are you in favour of, or opposed to constitutional protection for the unborn that prohibits abortion but allows the continuation of the existing practice of intervention to save a mother’s life in accordance with Irish medical ethics?

Result: 63% answered YES, 19% NO, 18% No Opinion. Of those who expressed an opinion: 77% answered YES.

• Hipocrateeth, – the pro choicers have tried to come up with every possible excuse for the huge numbers at the last Pro Life vigil. – the usual…. free buses, US funding….. etc etc.etc
      Every possible way, they can try to deny or rationalise, the massive crowd who attended.
      Huge numbers of like myself, young women there. I consider it a privilege to have attended.
      As your say, – they would almost try to convince us that the vigil never happened at all!

• Who cares how many people were there anyway?
      Our constitution states that if the woman’s life is in danger including from self destruction then abortion is permitted.
      There’s been two referenda to try and get that pesky suicide clause out, but they were rejected. So it’s staying in unless we have a third referendum..

There is a duty for the government to provide the legislation to put this clause into effect, this was pointed out by the EU and was the purpose of the expert report and those hearings. FG aren’t too pleased at the prospect but they are obliged to uphold the constitution.

There could have been 100,000 there, it doesn’t change the constitution, only a referendum will. And to be honest, if we are having a referendum, how about we vote on whether we want the 8th amendment – seeing as the last vote on that was 30 years ago (the ones trying to ditch the suicide clause were within the last 21).

• So who cares what the people say, rigidly adhere to the text in a book? 100,000 people may call out? – shanti says ignore them! The prescribed text must be followed!

Reminds me of something I can’t quite seem to put my finger on.

• Do you have issue with the democratic process Hippo?
      Like I said, we have been asked in two referenda to remove that suicide clause and the people voted to leave it there. The legislation must reflect the constitution as this is the highest law in the land..
      It’s not about rigidly following a book, it’s about expressing the democratic will of the people.

• Kitty C 21/02/13 #

@Niamh NicAoidh let me first commend you on studying up on this topic, but let me share with you something from someone with experience. At 24 I found myself pregnant, distraught and overwhelmed I took advantage of the positive options put forward by the government. While very supportive there was one type of information they wouldn’t provide and that was information on what my options were if I didn’t want to continue with the pregnancy. Alone and with growing anxiety about what was coming I visited my doctor who through assessing me realised that I was in no fit state to continue with the pregnancy. He gave me the details of the Marie Stopes clinic where I attended and then i took the very lonely trip to London. They offered counselling and support following that. It’s 10 years on and while I regret having found myself in such a desperate place I will forever be grateful to that doctor and do not regret what I did because it was right for me at the time. I’ve since married and started a family. It upsets me that the anti-choice brigade constantly push this idea that abortions have long lasting psychological impacts. Every serious choice is difficult, but as someone who found themselves in a desperate situation the thing that does weigh on me is that I was forced to take my dirty little secret and leave my home country so I could be someone else’s problem. It happens and ignoring it and all women like me is not an option anymore.

• And again this poll was carried out on behalf of the pro life campaign. Biased much???

• I don’t think the results of polls are skewed based on who comissioned the survey.

• Bridget 21/02/13 #

@Shanti, your always talking about these two referendums that we voted to keep suicide in..
      first it is not accurate to say that a No vote endorsed the x case decision…
      I myself and lots more voted No because of the absence of care for the baby in the proposal…
      In the second referendum the 49% was clearly Prolife BUT in a Millward Briwn Lansdowne poll taken after identified that 5% of the No vote was Prolife who were dissatisfied with the wording, so that puts the Pro Life over the 50 % mark…… A poll taken today shows a Pro Life majority to..

• Barry claims prolife people ignore women but it is he who ignores women and what is in their best interests. All the evidence given by the medical experts including prochoice is that Abortion is not a treatment for suicide and some experts say it may increase x6 times the possibility of dying by suicide. Ferguson, a prochoice psychiatrist, who has a lot of research in the area, says it increases mental illness post abortion by 30%. These facts can be found in the recent government hearings where there was extrodinarty agreement on these points.
      To persist with the excuse of abortion for suicide only shows one to be ideologically driven towards abortion as a social change marker or an achievement while ignoring the real women who need help.

• The writer points to the abortion issue as being an important issue that effects the way people vote. Some of the comments here deny that as one would expect from the majority of Journal readers. 294 comments on this article. 139 on article about cutting pay. I think abortion plays a bigger role than people think even if many don’t like to articulate their feelings on the issue.

• I’ll just leave this here

http://imgur.com/iWzj0op

• Bridget 22/02/13 #

@ William.. ?!??? What has that to do with the abortion debate, Nothing…

That has nothing to do with the doctors giving best practice medicine as they do now..
      Nothing to do with the people on here debating abortion..
      This has nothing to do with people who have faith..
      Do you really believe that anyone who has faith in God actually supports anything that these abusers have done?? No they don’t..
      Do you really believe that people should change their opinion on abortion because of what these abusers have done?!?!?? No they shouldn’t

• @ Bridget, this has quite a bit to do with the abortion debate, it illustrates hypocrisy in a simple way, and the anti choice movement does the very same thing with the same motivations and eagerness to interfere in other peoples lives and bodies. The Church and it’s supporters have always maintained this compulsion of control whether toward contraception, abortion or homosexuality and at the same time the Church themselves engage in obscene concealment of heinous crimes of rape and abuse of children, or most recently revealed gay orgies in Rome.
      The Church orders operated slave labour camps in Ireland under the pretext of helping ‘fallen women’
      If the church had their way and the irish people didn’t rise up against them there would be no contraception available, the hideous laundries would still be operating and abusing priests would still be roaming free,
      That little cartoon illustrates the hypocrisy of the church, obviously your church, I washed my hands of it a long time ago.

• Bridget 22/02/13 #

@ William, well good for you if you washed your hands of them, but as I said that had nothing to do with abortion…
      They are prolife too but so are many many other people…

Abortion is not just a church issue, it is a human rights issue because there is no greater right than that to Life..:)

• @KtthC I regret to hear that this person felt so alone. There is and was so much help that women in crisis pregnancy can receive. But she did say there were other options. The doctor in my view did not consider the best option for the 2 patients he was faced with i.e. the woman and her baby. Abortion was definately not the best option for the baby at that time. So he failed in his duty to protect the second patient he had. It’s very easy for the doctor to feel comfortable with his advice having airbrushed out the baby. A lot of women resort to abortion because they feel absolutley desolate. When they are offered real practical help and psychological support they go through with the pregnancy and the outcomes for everyone can be so different.

• @KtthC I am also very saddened to read this woman’s experience and the fact that she felt her only option was to have an abortion.I want to share an experience I had with a woman in crisis pregnancy. She had just started a new job here and discovered she was pregnant. She at first did not know that I knew she was pregnant so one night I told her that I knew and that I thought I could help her. I will never forget the way she reacted when I told her that I knew. She seemed so utterly distraught and began to cry unceasingly , so much so that I just held her and she cried and cried for about 5 minutes. She then told me her situation. She had told her boyfriend who was also working here but he told her that he did not want the baby and did not want to be a father and told her to have an abortion. In the country she was from abortion is commonplace. She was afraid that she would lose her job and because she was not an Irish citizen she was not entitled to any assistance here. So, in her mind, she was facing being pregnant, alone with no job and probably nowhere to live. Her English was not good so she probably did not know how to access any help. She really felt she had to have an abortion. So I told her that I could help her by providing money for her while she was pregnant and also after the baby was born. She could not continue with the job she was doing because of the nature of the job so I , with the help of others, arranged for her to go to live in another town where we hoped we would be able to find another job for her and where we knew she would have free accommodation. I put her in contact with a counsellor who would help her through the pregnancy, keep in contact with her, accompany her to doctor’s and hospital appointments etc.The Life counsellor arranged an voluntary interpreter for her so she could understand everything. It took her a while to make the decision. I think her biggest problem was to trust us that we would continue to support her so I brought her to meet these people and she decided to go through with the pregnancy. In time she moved to the other town where we did find her another job. She gave birth to a beautiful baby boy and is still living and working in that town. She keeps in contact and constantly sends me photos of the baby. Again, this experience really brought home to me just how much in crisis these women are and that when they don’t see any other way out, they feel they have to resort to abortion. As soon as this woman knew she had support she decided to have her baby. She still had the option of adoption if she had felt she couldn’t raise the baby herself. But at least, even if she had had the baby adopted, she would have gotten to meet the baby. This is only one of the experiences I have had but the more women like this that I meet the more I am convinced that abortion is never a solution.

• @ShantiPixie Research has shown that the reason people voted against those referenda was not to keep the suicide clause in but because the referenda did not give a clear choice between abortion and no abortion. Opinion polls that are designed with a straight clear question about abortion show consistantly that people in Ireland do not want abortion legalised here. There is a poll published in this journal today which shows the same, that 3 out of 4 people here do not want abortion.

• The questions used in that survey are actually quite telling – they’re awful. I don’t mean that their content is awful but that how they are phrased are. Part of my job is to write questions for assessments & if I wrote badly worded questions like that people would complain.

You have to read them several times to work out what they are asking. They clearly were written to give a preconceived and biased result.

• re “I’ll just leave this here” William with his Simpsons cartoon seems to be implying that paedophilia in the church is carried out by homosexuals.

• Brid, the poll you refer to required yes or no answers to either / or questions.
      These questions were as clear as mud, so the results can only be interpreted as same.
      The suicide clause is in our constitution. If you didn’t want it there you should have voted to remove it. Did you vote for the right to travel and the right to information while you were at it?

• Legalise abortion? He is talking about enacting the law, which was voted on by the people, so can you please stop this unnecessary scaremongering? Everyday, in clinics across Britain, Irish people are having abortions and has Irish, or British, society unravelled? Do you personally feel your morality has been weakened in some way, or are you just trying to stir up trouble by chasing shadows? Personally, I would like a much more ope system, where exporting our problems, so as to appease the morally obtuse, such as yourself, was not an option, but I am willing to accept the Taoiseach’s decision to maintain societal cohesion and enact existing legislation. Why can’t you?
    Also, FG have been a disastrous ruling party and this will not be a ‘Kamikaze’ mission, as they are already dead in the water. I can only assume you are writing, so as to try and pressure FG supporters into challenging their leaders decision to enact existing laws? If that is your goal, I hate to shatter your dream, but you are REALLY wasting your time. Haven’t you heard? They’ve all gone back to cold embrace of FF, where the political bullsh*t comes with a filter and a seasoned polished smile.

• Regardless of what the party faithful want or don’t want the majority of the population voted on this already.

• Exactly. And given this article is written with one aim in mind, which certainly isn’t anything to do with the health of FG, the opposite point can also be made:
      FG could gain support for finally doing what successive governments have not.

All of this is so up in the air anyway (in terms of party support) – The bottom line is that those with the intelligence to see through the bs will recognise it is a constitutional obligation to deal with the issue and it unfortunately took such a tragic case to get some action.

• The conservatives don’t have a majority anymore. Most Irish people have progressed into the 21st century. We should be legalizing abortion!

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Indeed we should be, that and gay marriage and both issues are what the lunatics don’t want, but it doesn’t matter what they don’t want anymore as they no longer have control because nobody fears them anymore.

Only a few decades ago (think 60′s) people would not have spoken out against the church’s position on a matter…atleast not in public without the fear of the reaction of the community they lived in.

Only a few hundred years before (think 16th) you’d have been burnt for disagreeing with anything the church was in support of.

Well that doesn’t happen anymore thankfully and although one of the pope’s condemned things like free speech and free press, we can thankfully speak our mind and speak out against such backwards views that the so called pro-life crowd and church have.

The church and its pope have nothing but contempt for people that do things they don’t like, when reading the words below remember that the church views the pope as infallible so nothing they say is wrong in their eyes.

Pope Gregory XVI in his bull of 1832, Mirari vos, said ” Liberty is madness, and any work advocating freedom of religion, freedom of the press, freedom of assembly or freedom of eduction is “a filthy sewer full of heretical vomit”

• sure Barry in 30 years time our kids will be saying that their idiotic parents voted the party that ruined the nation back in.

We’re no more progressive than our parents or grandparents generations.

• “Call good and Evil by name”. These words were spoken by a champion of freedom, Pope JP 2 and collapsed the evil charade of Communism. The present Pope has done all that he needed to doto Watch this space.

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Tom, but what about a previous popes words?

They can’t be wrong in the eye’s of the catholic church, this means that both popes are right?…how can this be?
      One says communism is evil but the other says freedom is heresy, who’s right? :)

Watch this space? so I can expect further contradictory comments from future popes…none of which can be wrong? Great, I look forward to them as much as the fairy tales in the bible.

• Jp 2 collapsed communism with six words?!
      I must have missed that.
      Sounds like sorcery to me.

• Barry you’re thinking of communism in North Korea, or the communism that was in Russia. Real communism is very liberal. Although I am very much against the pope, and I agree with everything else you’ve said.

• Barry, I don’t consider myself backward in anyway and I’m not a church goer. I do not agree with abortion. I believe however that there is a need for legislation to guide medical professionals and for TFMR. With your attempt to ‘drag’ the people of a different opinion to yourself ‘kicking and screaming’ into the 21st century you sound pretty backward yourself.

• Start killing babies ! It’s so old fashioned to be against abortion !

• To solve a problem with a greater evil is not progress.

• I am a 21 year old female student and I am pro-life. I am not pro-life because of any religion but because of my experiences and because I have taken the time to learn as much about abortion and the question of person-hood as can.
      This is not a religious issue, it is often associated with religion purely because a lot of religious people are pro-life. It is a human rights issue.
      I don’t want to directly attack any of the comments above but I just want to say… I am FOR women – the truth about abortion is, although it may seem to be an easy option, it causes so much pain and hardship in the woman’s life, and unfortunately many women don’t realise until it is too late.
      What most pro-life groups try to do is in fact help and protect women.
      If you just take one minute to consider this;
      when the egg is fertilized and begins to develop in the womb at what point do you call it a person? 12 weeks? 20 weeks? 40 weeks? Birth? 2 years old? 15 years old? 50 years old?…. you get the point. We are all just people at different stages of development in life. Lets go back to the foetus developing in the womb: at which day in the pregnancy can you say “yes it is a child today – it wasn’t a child yesterday”.
      We are interdependent beings so we cannot say that if the foetus can survive on its own it is then a person. Not one of us COULD survive on our own. We are responsible for other people and other people have a responsibility towards us. A baby cannot feed and clean and take care of him/herself – it would die if left alone. A sick adult could not survive alone.
      When a woman becomes pregnant she has a responsibility to the body developing inside her developing body. Unfortunately sometimes it is not a happy situation for that woman (and maybe the father) but there is no getting around that reality. Her body knows she is pregnant and abortion results in a mourning of the lost child in some way or another.
      We cannot see the child, hear it, touch it, interact with it in the early stages of pregnancy. Therefore it is easy to only consider the woman’s current situation, if the pregnancy causes a seemingly worsened scenario for that girl/woman then abortion seems like the perfect solution.
      The truth is that in the overall span of things abortion ends one life, and hurts the other.

• Graham 21/02/13 #

Well isn’t it a good thing Niamh that you have a CHOICE not to have one.

• Niamh — You’ve copied and pasted that comment twice now on this thread. That’s called spam.

• What? Where?

• ah that was a mistake it was meant to be a response to a thread above, I hadn’t even read this thread.

• @Graham, Unfortunately, Niamh doesn’t have a choice in this country. If she was to become pregnant tomorrow (whether by consent or force) she would have to remain pregnant until she either gives birth or has a miscarriage.

Groups like SPUC etc took away Niamh’s right to choose when they decided the rights of a fertilised egg took precidence over the woman or girl carrying it.

• Barry,

“Only a few hundred years before (think 16th) you’d have been burnt for disagreeing with anything the church was in support of.”

I respect you like commenting on this website a lot but please check facts before you post them. The Catholic church in Ireland did not burn people for disagreeing with them.

• Barry – it’s a pity you didn’t spend time learning about the Papacy rather than spewing gross nonsense. A Papal Bull is not necessarily “Infallible”. Infallibility is restricted to matters concerning Morality, Doctrine and Dogma – everything else is merely a considered and valued opinion of the Pope. So your posts are completely nonsensical and should be ignored.

• Check their website, she’s from another Iona type institute. Peddle your lies and scare tactics elsewhere Niamh.

• More crap from the Pro-life crowd. I really don’t think FG is losing support just over abortion legislation. The laws are changing so they better get use to it.

• Real politicians make decisions based on what’s best for the country and the majority of people, rather than what will win/lose them votes.

• Oh is that how it works? I see. This whole time I’ve been under the impression that a democracy was run on the premise that the elected government acted as a spokesperson for what the majority of voting citizens wanted! Thanks for clearing that up. I suppose now you’ve said it it makes sense, Irish people didn’t want Lisbon, we got that, we didn’t want to unfairly bear the brunt of the banking crisis, out govt elected we do, we didn’t stand in favour of increasing austerity targeting the middle and low income sectors, and we’re getting that. The sooner the pro life fools realize the basic principle of how a democracy operates the sooner we can all move on into the 21st century and be good Europeans and stop dragging our feet on issues many people feel are simply not the right decision for our country.

• The majority of people want it ,??????????

• Then they won’t have any significant fallout in voters because of this issue so what’s the problem?

• Hippo, the people voted to keep the suicide clause in, they’re merely legislating for the will of the people as expressed in two referenda.. Deal with that..

• Sorry, but this article is complete nonsense. Successive governments have ducked legislating for abortion, and following the death of Sativa Halapavennar in Galway last year, this government has run out of road. The law needs to catch up with the Constitution, the Supreme Court decision in the X case, and the 2003 Referendum result. The personal views of the TDs, ministers, columnists about abortion are irrelevant. As Bertie said in 2003, “the people’s choice is the final word in a democracy.”

FG are losing votes because of broken promises, for sure, but it’s not the abortion question that’s doing for them. People are looking at how much lighter their wallets are getting, and how much closer to the wall they are financially, and they’re blaming the government. Why FF would be the people’s choice since they got us here is anyone’s guess. It just goes to show, some people will never learn anything.

• Couldn’t agree more. Manipulation of the polls for their own goals of scaremongering. Everyone should be allowed to express their opinion, but the Journal.ie should really not publish such ungrounded drivelling propaganda.

• It’s more than a bit delusional to think that abortion is the reason the government is losing support or the reason Lisbon I was rejected.

Try cuts, especially unfairly targeted ones and a lack of progress on unemployment for the first and a desire to kick the government of the time for the second.

• The rightwing fear CHANGE even if the CHANGE makes the world a BRIGHTER place.

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Leanne Furlong, ssshhhhhhh

They don’t like it when you point out where they get all their funding from! It upsets them when people know facts and are educated,

• i wont be voting fine gael because i never have and its nothing to do with abortion!!it seems to me the vast majority of people just want to have that option there if its needed and if the author thinks fime gael are losing support purely on this issue shes her head in the clouds

• What a wonderful age we live in that we can use technology to read the opinions of a mind cowering in the 1400’s

• To be fair to the Journal they are doing their best to stay impartial and present different sides of the argument. I am sure they will have another article soon arguing against this particular article.

Also to be fair The Life Institute regularly writes these completely eroneous and inflammatory articles and they end up looking like zealous arch conservative eejits in the process! Let them hang themselves with articles like this! Virtually every comment on here so far this morning has derided their appauling rhetoric and drivel produced here.

• Baseless accusations. The only one writing inflammatory comments is you. The Life Institute has thousands of supporters unlike marginal groups like Action on X.

• And thousands of supporters imply that they are right? I do believe that many agendas have millions of supporters now and in the past, it doesnt mean they were actually right e.g. the Khmer Rouge, the Nazis, the Ku Klux Klan.

Having read the drivel in the above article and the rubbish they produce on their website with an impartial eye, I can clearly state, that they produce a load of utter bull pushing their agenda, while funded by radical atrch conservative evangelical christians from the US. So are their thousands of members in fact Irish?

My above comment was made to praise the Journal on being impartial and allowing both sides to discuss. You Fergal of the purple egg features just made a fool of yourself.

• Yeah Fergal.. The life institute, youth defence etc have a load of support – from fake twitter and Facebook profiles and extreme right wing American Christians… Not really relevant to Ireland now is it?

• Conor,
      Pot kettle black. Inflammatory journalism is a serious thing indeed. Its deserving of the courts. You repeat the allegation but you have no data to back this claim. Its striking that your attempt at supporting your claims involves calling me fool. I’m not here to criticise or praise the journal.ie only to correct your post.

• next up on the journal.ie, Mickey Harte explains the difference between decent people who commit sexual assault and people from outside his parish.

• What would be destructive for Ireland in regards to abortion is not Fine Gael’s legalising of it, but Ireland’s inability to move away from the Catholic brainwashing and backward thinking era, and move into the 21st century where people should have a mental capacity to make decisions for themselves instead of the law and its influence by years of an oppressive religious institution making decisions for them. Its this ‘stuck in the mud’ conservative rubbish which gave a destructive force like the Catholic Chuch power for all those years. Lets move on shall we people and give the power back to women and not to old backward ideals.

• CABK 21/02/13 #

An important thing to remember is this:

“I do what is right regardless of what I’m told, instead of doing what I’m told regardless of whether its right”.

We need abortion legislation, you can pretend its not happening all you like but we have abortion – we just export it. Plus those (unbiased ie not overtly religious or youth defence/Iona institute led) who discussed abortion at the Oireachtas three day hearing all agreed with this.

I think it is despicable that you are trying to blackmail/hold the government to ransom to go along with your flawed ideology by saying if they don’t do what you say they will lose votes and therefore should bow to the pressure of your organisation and the catholic church.

• CABK 21/02/13 #

This kind of blackmail happened to the government for far too long and look at what is now coming out about this – state apologies based on the magdalene laundries, widespread and systematic child abuse by christian brothers/clergy.

I for one would be more inclined to vote Fine Gael if Enda Kenny does not bow to this kind of ridiculous hysterical and uninformed pressure by the church/Iona/Youth Defence or others who believe they have a right to control a womans choice in this country.

• CABK,
      Are staying the State was blackmailed into using Magdalene Laundries? Really?

• kat365 21/02/13 #

Never thought I’d read from the LI on the journal. It even reads like brainwashing. And if FG have to go all the better!

• It will be the most admirable thing they do if they sacrifice re-election for demonstrating compassion and maturity by legalizing abortion. There is more to life than ‘the party’ Niamh. I think it will actually benefit them. The party faithful as you put them are the vast minority of voters. Usually older and narrow minded people with not much to do.

• This kind of biased journalism is actually repellant, it speaks for an extremist side of the argument, why, when we live in a supposed secular society, are we being consistently bullied by other people’s religious beliefs? If you don’t like it, don’t do it, but you do not have the right to dictate my personal choices, nor do I have the right to dictate yours.

• Thankfully it’s not actually journalism, it’s an opinion piece from an anti choice advocate and is merely a good example of the journal offering a balanced view. There’s most likely going to be another from the pro choice side in the next 24 hours :)

• I can’t wait for an entire article written by Stephen McElliggot. Maybe they’ll make a movie and a trilogy of books, it would probably fix everything

• I am happy that a Fine Gael led government is going to put legislation in place for something that has been needed since 1992.

This government has not only apologised to the Magdalen Laundry, something FF & Michael Martin as a Minister in Health failed to do, but Enda Kenny’s speech post the Ryan Report is again something that was well overdue.

The government isn’t, nor cannot, can get everything right but in this instance it is doing the right thing.

Looking at the polls, one thing is clear, the fall in FG support isn’t to do with bring in Abortion legislation.

• a) voters DO forget election promises because EVERY party that gets elected breaks them ….. It just gives polemicists and extremists a platform to preach from …. rational people understand this
    b) is the life institute a religious group by any chance ? I saw the link to the web page but really don’t want to give 30 mins of time I will never get back digging through the propaganda to find out
    c) to The Journal …. by ALL means quote people like this and on the other extreme … but when you give a column to someone like this in an otherwise balanced news site it can skew some people and a sets a dangerous precedent.

• I think Ms Ui Bhriain vastly overestimates the influence that she or her organisation have on the outcome of an election. He isn’t proposing the legalisation of abortion at all, stop the scaremongering.

• Niamh Ui Bhriain’s claim that Fine Gael made a pre-election promise not to legislate for abortion is a brazen lie. In fact, in Fine Gael’s pre-election manifesto, the only reference to abortion was an undertaking to set up an all-party committee to investigate the implications of the European Court of Human Rights judgement on abortion.

http://corkfeminista.com/2012/11/19/lies-damn-lies-and-youth-defence/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A,_B_and_C_v_Ireland

• Only 8% of Irish people want no legislation whatsoever. I think Niamh here got it all wrong.

• dear Enda Kenny i note that your favour abortion for those who claim that being pregnant is leaving them suicidal
    will you then support an en exemption from paying taxes, household charge, water rates for those who claim that having them is driving them to suicide

• I wouldn’t imagine legislating for abortion is gonna make much difference. The very fact that Enda Kenny and Fine Gael told the electorate bare faced lies in order to achieve power is the biggest cause of their demise. The ironic thing is that the lies weren’t necessary. It was nearly impossible for them to lose the last election.

• Just lost 4 minutes of my life reading this BS. What a load of crap. They are behaving like kids, if you do this i will do that. C’mon my body my choice. Its time the government starts making good decisions and they should start by legalizing abortion once and for all. Who cares about these people not voting for them? People forget quickly, its a characteristic of us, most of the ones that ‘sign up’ to this will more than likely forget and move on.

• The tiny amount of votes that Fine Gael will have lost by legislation on abortion and it will be an insignificant amount. Will not affect them in the long or the short term. As usual the right wing cathofacists try to manipulate and lie to support their archaic views. I always wonder how it doesn’t affect their belief system to constantly lie?

• @the journal…a new low for ye to allow this drivel from an institute that is so delusional to think that abortion is the first thing on the mind of a population crippled by debt. If she’s going to offer an opinion make her stick to the story(polls) and not use the column to sprout her drivel.

• How anyone could vote FF again is beyond comprehension, all I can say is that the Irish people have short memories and are like sheep to the slaughter…….

• What can I say? The woman is a knuckle-dragger!

• Blinkered religious fanatic in narrow minded opinion piece shocker.

• Brian 21/02/13 #

A typically arrogant, patronising and insulting piece of scaremongering from someone who clearly has a problem with the way government and democracy works.
    Here’s a message for you Niamh: legislation on abortion is going to happen very soon and there isn’t a damn thing you or any of your right-wing cronies can do about it.
    And by the way, tell your dark side apprentices in Youth Defence that they need to be more polite when someone engages them in debate. Their manners over the phone leave a lot to be desired.

• The only argument in this article is that the state should not legislate for abortion because if they do, they’ll fall in the polls? I’m sure if you made that argument to the European Court of Human RIghts, the Oireachtas, or even in a lowly debating competition you won’t be taken very seriously.
    I’d rather my government do what’s right, not what’s popular. Doing what was popular got us into the economic mess we’re in today.

• Light at last. I totally agree with the article. There is a pledge of 100000 voters on the way to Kenny saying if he does legislate for abortion in Ireland for the first time, that they will “never again”, vote for FG.
      There are other options to address the ECHR concerns and the issues around the X case.
      We understand that labour leadership is pro abortion, but FG promised otherwise. Keep your promise!

• Brian 21/02/13 #

Paddy, are you quite sure these 100,000 ‘voters’ are all from Ireland? Right wing activists from the United States don’t get to vote in Irish elections, remember that.

• @ Brian
      Still in denial! I didn’t notice any surge in aerlingus flights from America, the day when 30,000 turned out in Dublin.
      The people signing the petition are voters with Irish addresses and votes.
      You need to understand that the journal commentators are not a cross section of the population. Look at the history of votes in Ireland, we are still without abortion, one of the few trends we have stood against in western society. Ireland still respects life.
      Enda needs to understand that legislating for suicidal presentation, opens the gates, and the Irish voters know this. What the article above says is true. If abortion was off the table, I believe FG would have taken a little hit because of the economic hardship. If they also succeeded in reducing their own rewards, they would gain moral authority to implement austerity, without loosing favour. But that’s not going to happen this time.

• Brian 21/02/13 #

According to the article above this petition has 32,000 signatures…so where are you getting 100,000 from?

• @ Brian
      The pledge itself has just started. The 100,000 is the target for the pledge. When this figure is reached, Enda gets a present.
      Not all pro lifers would sign this pledge, even though they won’t vote for FG the next time out if they go ahead with abortion. The pledge says never to vote for FG again, which is extreme, as we could be in a situation in the future where all parties are pro abortion. This would potentially disenfranchise the signer.

• Paddy — The mind boggles. What business is it of yours what any woman does with her own body? The brass neck of you. Why the need to control the bodily functions of other people?

• @ Petr Tarasov
      Interesting to see your avatar depicts a Marxist philosophy, and you propose sexism, when it comes to criminal activity in Ireland.

• No, I propose equality. Women are not incubators.

• @Petr: Men the likes of Paddy and co have a natural distrust and fear of women. They see us as devious connivers and liars who need to be controlled at all times.

When asked why they need to control us, they don’t answer.

• @ Petr Tarasov
      Do you have a grievance with nature? Are you proposing wombs for men or hysterectomies for women? I’m not in favour of either as a solution for the worlds problems.

• @ Daisy Chainsaw
      Misandry is never pretty. Men can lie and be dishonest with the best of them.

• Brian 21/02/13 #

You seem fairly sure about reaching that target of 100,000 Paddy. Are you privy to information the rest of us don’t have?

• Paddy, I’m starting a petition with an aspirational target of 1,000,000 signatures of people, who will never vote for FG again, if they do not legislate for abortion. I have 1 signature at the moment but when I hit the million Enda will get a present. By your rational thats 1 million votes they are not getting, since we are only talking aspirations, my guns bigger than yours Nah nah nah… Like your argument the 100,000 don’t exist.

• @ Stephen Nolan
      I can’t say I wish you well with that Stephen. If you ask the question straight, “Do you support the provision of abortion in Ireland”, then you should be able to achieve the million mark, if everyone registered to vote comes forward. Your problem is the two million not in favour of your proposal.
      Enda knows well that if he went to the people on this issue it would be defeated. The 100000 target for the real petition amounts to 5% of those who do not agree to abortion on demand for Ireland.

• That’s the problem, you wanna paint this as a black and white issue when it is not and never can be.

There’s plenty of people who would answer no to the question “would you like to see abortion in Ireland” who would say that they could agree with it’s use in certain circumstances (such as fatal foetal abnormality / rape / incest / mothers life in danger), if you frame the question as though you are asking for abortion “on demand” as you like to call it, the support would be much lower as a lot of people are uncomfortable with this idea (thanks to the propaganda that insinuates that all women are lying “fallen women” who would rather have abortions than use contraception – the same propaganda that led to the magdalen laundries incidentally, pesky women – not to be trusted with their sexuality)

Why is it that women are painted as harlots? Is it because we take the responsibility of carrying the baby when the contraception fails? It’s perfectly alright for a man to sow his wild oats but women, no, women must be punished for having sexual urges or experience.. We haven’t moved on from magdalen Ireland at all, not with people like you around Paddy..

• Paddy once again you just pluck figures from the air, non existent figures for a non existent point. You are trying to make an argument about abortion on demand now because you couldn’t make a valid argument on the point at hand. Effectively you lie to cover a lack of any coherent view point.

• @ Stephen Nolan
      Fewer and fewer of the population at large, are swallowing the lie that Ireland will buck the trend and successfully implement a “very restricted” abortion regime. There are no international examples of where, what was meant to be restrictive, stayed restrictive.
      So do acknowledge the intelligence of the Irish people, and call a spade a spade.
      At least, two thirds of the Irish voting population, do not want abortion on demand. So where exactly am I exaggerating?
      The danger is that FG, without a mandate, will run with the liberal media and our neighbouring superpowers, in case we appear old fashioned, you know what I mean, supportive of the child and mother.

• Paddy the most recent opinion polls say that 85% of the population want some form of legislation to be brought in. So where are these two thirds of the population your talking about? With the rest of the youth defence support in the Bible Belt of the USA I’d imagine. This article is not based on abortion on the demand, the legislation is not based on abortion on demand, your figures are based on nothing except the imaginings of a closed mind. Your argument is based on nothing whatsoever except your fears, I’d imagine you were a leader in the flat earth society in a previous incarnation the way you argue.

• @Paddy, you still haven’t answered me. Why do you need to control what women do? Why do you distrust us so much?

• What a load of hogwash!!! Polls show that the vast majority of Irish people support legislation
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1201/356288-poll-finds-80-support-for-abortion-legislation/

• When you consider the out and out lies peddled by Ms Ui Bhrian and her cohort – breast cancer, suicide, Lebanese testicle transplants, kidney transplant from a foetus (see http://www.rabble.ie), it’s easy to see what a laughable, horrible little hate group she’s involved with.

The money wasted on the “vigil” to continue exporting women to the UK could have helped hundreds of women with crisis pregnancies. But as we all know, groups like YD and the “Life” institute hate women.

To be honest, I’d vowed to never vote Labour/FG again after their screwing over their voters, but if they pass this legislation, I’ll reconsider.

• What an absolutely skewed article. The government legally have to legislate for abortion so just get over it. The anti choice crowd actually want women to die needlessly. In regards to Lisbon there were several reasons that didn’t pass not just abortion. I remember when we were voting on that and I don’t remember one person mention abortion for voting no. The majority voted no because they didn’t understand it as the gov did a crap job as usual. Fine Gael have lost support coz they have fecked up the country further not because of abortion. What ridiculous article

• The author is using a public forum to push pro life and try to use that topic as a reason for the fall in support for government. Thought the journal was better than this!! The only reason people are unhappy with FG and Lab is because they have been pushed to the breadline and struggling to pay their bills.

• Ah, if abortion were the only pre election promise broken, that has led FG to self destruct – is there one promose left that hasn’t been broken ?

The public have greater understanding of political performance than the writer perhaps credits them for, will they so easily be convinced again by electoral spin – I have greater faith in them than that.

Abortion really is not a political PR issue nor should it be used as such.

• Only a fool or a self serving charlatan would disingenuously cite abortion legalisation as the reason for the FG slide. The fact is, FG got their hands in the reigns of power at the worst possible time ( after a sustained period of FF mismanagement, incompetence and corruption). They are trying to implement the demanded austerity albeit in an unfair and completely unintelligent manner for which the populace is punishing them. The problem with FG is they have not shown leadership by cutting their own pay and perks in government, nor fulfilled their core election promise to defend the interest of Irish citizens. It has very very little to do with abortion. My single greatest political fear is the almost inevitable, cretinous return of FF to power when things begin to improve again. Ireland will never achieve any serious progress as a nation whilst we keep voting in the village idiot or the local tax cheating gombeen because he helped get a medical card for someone’s mum. That is clientelism at it’s worst as practised by the mafia amongst others.

Bring on abortion legislation by all means, it is long overdue but it is far from our most pressing concern and a true interpretation of recent polls would reflect that.

• This article is the BIGGEST load of RUBBISH!! I am surprised at such an article going to publication… The loss of FG support is because of the severe austerity they are dishing out on the Irish people, it has NOTHING to do with abortion legislation…. The vast MAJORITY of Irish people support abortion legislation. We have moved kicking and screaming into the 21st century. Attitudes have changed drastically on this issue http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1201/356288-poll-finds-80-support-for-abortion-legislation/

• Ah here, Niamh. Resorting to blackmailing politicians just to try to force your opinion on the population? What dirty tactic are you going to try next once this one fails?

Just go away. You’re embarrassing yourselves again.

• “Life Institute” – what a misnomer!

• There shouldn’t be an argument. In this case the government are simply legislating for a womans constitutional right. The state says its ok and so too must the government. Its 2013 for gods sake there shouldnt be an argument.uh To base your vote on just this would be very ignorant regarding your respect of someone elses rights. And further the ignorance goes to switch your vote to fianna fail after so little time .

• I try to keep an open mind on the abortion debate but this article has me convinced. If John Bruton, Lucinda Creighton and Micheál Martin are deeply opposed to something then I’m all for it.

• So who said this:
    “…Unfortunately, it happens that the need to render the aggressor incapable of causing harm sometimes involves taking his life. In this case, the fatal outcome is attributable to the aggressor whose actions brought it about, even though he may not be morally responsible because of a lack of the use of reason.”
    Pope John Paul II in his encyclical “Evangelium Vitae”, 1995., that’s who said it.
    Not even the Pope says that there is an absolute right to life. Once you admit exceptions to the principle, then you cannot be against abortion in every case.

• The Life Institute is capable of miracles. It has transmogrified foetuses (foeti) into human beings and it has expertise in political analysis. Of course it must be true that economic, fiscal and policy issues. It is FG’s position on legislating for the X case in accordance with domestic and international legal obligations which is the source of its descent in the polls.

The constant thread in all pro-life articles is cognitive bias. Facts are made fit ideology. How can one sensibly argue with those who consider that it is axiomatic that they are and must be right.

As a pro-life advocate told me, democracy is irrelevant. Abortion is contrary to natural law and no laws and not even the will of the people can supersede natural law or God’s laws. God says I am right.

The Irish fundamentalists are at it again. The belt of the Bishop’s crozier is replaced by the belt of a Youth Defence Hurley stick.

The pro-life view is that abortion is murder and that pro-life supporters are fully morally justified in doing anything required to prevent murder.

Logic!

• How can one sensibly argue with this fear mongering rhetoric, indeed! This is precisely why many pro-choice organisations worldwide simply do not engage in public debate with anti-choicers. there is no debate, as they say: “Debates imply opposing sides, but anti-choice and pro-choice are not the opposite of each other. The opposite of forced pregnancy is forced abortion. We oppose both.” (from here: http://www.prochoiceactionnetwork-canada.org/print-friendly/debate.shtml) let the extremists argue that they’re right and that they are the majority – the only people who believe and agree with them are the ones who can not overcome their confirmation bias. to be pro-choice, one does not need to encourage, promote, love, or even like abortion – one is only obliged to believe in and support ‘choice’.

• It’s the economy, stupid

• So let me get this straight. If FG do one good thing and enact long-overdue legislation, you promise to not vote them in next time? Grand, now just to sort out the FF problem.

• Y.F. 21/02/13 #

Fine Gael may well be losing support, but I think there are a lot more issues than the abortion legislation aiding their demise. Take for instance, the decision Michael Noonan made in the last few day, whereby the accounts for IBRC will not be published from June 1012 onwards. We, the tax-payer own the bank, and are going to be paying back their 32+ debt, so how dare Noonan decide that the accounts for the instituation not be published? Is he hiding the amount of losses they have made over the last 7months….the amount of expenditure on legal fees over the last while? He must be hiding something. If we own the bank, and the debt, then we have a right to see the accounts. Selective publishing of accounts is unacceptable in any company,,,,,,but Noonan has decided it is right here….why? Maybe the support is being lost because there is abuse of authority involved, as well as everything else.

• Well done Niamh. Yet another misinformed piece of writing on your behalf. Fine Geal are not losing support just because of the abortion issue. They are in fact losing more support because of their pre-election promises in regards child benefit and the property tax.

Your column is yet another clear example of the spin you place on issues to get your own point of view across as a member of the Life Institute. Need I remind you of your lastest “blog” about a woman in America that died due to a late term abortion. Not once in your “blog” did you mention that this abortion was medically necessary to save the woman’s life and was referred by her obstetrician. No you did not! As we all know surgery carries risks. If you are telling people that this surgery should not have happened then we may as well ban all types of surgery that carries risk from simple mole removal to knee surgery to heart surgery. Every surgery carries risk and by your anti-choice logic since the only acceptable risk rate is 0% that means none of these can be preformed

• just another load of twisted facts and scaremongering from a far right idealogue who founded a bully boy group full of vitriol and an unwillingness to listen to an opposing point of view the majority of irish people support legislation on the issue of abortion even with suicide as factor the pros go into the majority and btw fg are not falling in the polls because of the sole issue of abortion its because they and labour told blatant lies to get into power and are proving themselves to be no different if worse than ff

• Do we really want the crooks in power again!! Have people got amnesia or forgotten what FF did, they ran the country into the ground, they gave themselves huge pay increases, a failed benchmarking system, huge pension problem, never sorted the huge prison problem we have, destroyed the health system, wasted every penny that was earned in the building boom, they ignored everything people had said when they were warned about the boom! They constantly reminded about iceland’s bank bust, accepted bribes from developers and how many FF politicians were wrapped up in tribunals, please god don’t go back to those times. How many irish are emigrated because of FF, FF sold off our gas resources for nothing to big fuel and mining companies! They should be in prison tried for treason.

FG+LAB are trying to undo what FF did the troika are running the show, FG are trying hard and are a hell of a lot better than what we had before, i will never vote FF ever again! The destroyed Ireland and made us the laughing stock of Europe, no country has had a worse implosion than what we had!

• Smiley 21/02/13 #

The basic issue is choice. At the moment women don’t have a choice regarding safe termination in Ireland. Once legislation is passed allowing termination of pregnancies it becomes a matter of women exercising their choice. At the moment they exercise it by going abroad or in a back street with a knitting needle. Some choice that is.

• This article should be deleted if the journal would like to maintain its popularity

• Guessing by the red thumbs there’s a couple of pro-lifers soaking up the crap this article is pushing

• Or people who appreciate that the journal are merely trying to offer both sides of the debate in the interests of fairness?

• Previous abortion related articles have relayed news, not opinion. Besides which the article does not present itself as a pro-life opinion. It instead completely misrepresents the truth to try and sneakily force it’s agenda in people’s face. If you consider this to a legitimate article you might also be interested in this http://www.thesun.co.uk

• Stephen, my apologies – it seems that you aren’t familiar with how this works..

Take a look at the headline on this piece, you will notice it is preceded with the word “Column”.
      On the Journal, all column pieces are opinion pieces. These are not news by any stretch of the imagination.

You are correct in that the majority of articles around this topic are news items, but the journal has had several opinion pieces from both sides of the debate, and this is important for the sake of fairness and objectivity.

There’s no need to get snarky and accuse me of being a sun reader, I’m pro choice too – and I happen to think that these pieces are beneficial to the pro choice cause, but that’s merely my opinion.

• Enda Kenny has broken every single election promise and continues to walk out Scott free! He furiously attacked FF when they refused to be held accountable and now he is doing preciously the same.

• Is there a button where i can report the article!!! Reasoning…its complete and utter bull c***

• Am I correct in assuming this is the same Niamh Nic Mhathuna, who attended meetings of Forza Nuova in Italy? A fascist group. Also it is well documented that Justin Barrett of Youth Defence attended meetings of the NPD in Germany where elderly SS guards were present.

In the week where women waited decades for an apology from the State having been incarcerated by State and Church, I find the piece written by Niamh lacking in credibility given the fact Youth Defence have associated with the far right.

After the concentration camps were liberated we vowed never again and never, never, never again will Church and State control women.

If anything her article strengthens my resolve to be pro-woman.

• This lady should just hire a heathen scientist to build her a time machine so she can go back in time 60 years. Her viewpoints aren’t in line with 21st century thinking.

• Everyone has a valid opinion, no point calling people stupid. What makes anyones opinion wrong just because it differs to yours?
    No civilized society permits one human to intentionally harm or take the life of another human without punishment, and abortion is no different.
    Also adoption is a viable alternative to abortion and accomplishes the same result. And with 1.5 million American families wanting to adopt a child, there is no such thing as an unwanted child.

• Pro-Life campaigners still favouring the pull out method I see…

• The fact is unborn babies are being dragged from their mothers womb if i am a moran for not wanting that,so be it.

• I will not be voting for either Fine Gael or Labour in the next election. I can think of a number of reasons for this,but legislation for abortion is not one of them.
    A very disingenuous article, which tries to suggest that most of the blame for the government’s slide in popularity is due to their intention to legislate on this issue.
    This argument is spin at its best, as two referenda have seen a vote in favour of legislation and also in favour of the suicide question. I presume that among that majority vote there must have been quite a number of Fine Gael supporters.
    No amount of spin by anti-abortion groups will, I hope, deflect from the fact that this legislation is long overdue.

• Ah yeah the God Squad out trying to circumvent democracy by appealing to politicians to put their backward beliefs ahead of the democratic wishes of the majority of people on this island.

• Notice the surge in comments from pro lifers?? Vigil for Life and Youth Defence have posted this article on their FB pages and now the madness starts!!! What I want to know is WHERE are these people who are so in love with the fetus but do not give a damn once the child is born??? Niamh Uí Bhrian has extreme pro life views as is obvious by her article. But lest not forget the vast majority of the Irish people are in favour of legislation including the suicide clause……..These same people who oppose abortion under any circumstances will try to railroad over the opinions of the MAJORITY!!

• Much the same as rape is rarely about sex, the so called “pro-life” movement isn’t about protecting babies. It’s about power and control.

We can see from the lack of schemes in place by Life Institute, Youth Defence and Iona to help women with crisis pregnancies or new mothers with difficulties, that they don’t care a jot about babies or the women who’ve just given birth to them. They just care about controlling women, denying them a choice and forcing them to go through with a pregnancy whether they want to or not. They don’t want this legislation passed because they fear devious, conniving women will dupe trained psychiatrists into thinking they’re suicidal so they can have an abortion.

I don’t know why they have this need to control women, whether it’s out of fear or hatred. The anti-choicers never answer when I ask them. But then, I’m just a woman and not to be trusted.

• Dont know what everyone is complaining about? Ive seen a few prochoice opinion pieces on here but this is the first prolife one i came across.

• Words are cheap. I won’t believe a word of “pro-life” camp until they start making a difference and spend money, which Americans provide for pro-life campaigns and automated phone scams, for stuff like adopting abandoned and abused kids and providing them with good care and square meals. THAT would be pro-life.

• More scare mongering and irrelevant nonsense from the backward, anti-women, pro-lifers. In my younger days I’m ashamed to admit i was actually a pro-lifer too, until I saw the light and realised they are the closest thing to fascists this country has.

• Are the ‘Life Institute’ and Youth Defence permitted to solicit donations from overseas fundamentalist organizations in America as they appear to de doing to fund their lavish campaigns in National Newspapers and running ads in local newspapers which include the contact details for TD’s ?

Is this type of fundraising illegal ? Another one of their members was recently on Rupert Murdoch’s Fox News far-right Network in America ( ‘Huckabee’) seeking donations and advise on how to intimidate Irish Politicians ( Huckabee Show, December 15th – Niamh Ui Bhriain founder of the Life Institute in Ireland and Lila Rose of Live Action ). They are a lobby group – they are NOT a Charity and their websites and literature are full of over the top claims and smears against anyone who isn’t an extreme right wing fundamentalist zealot. They said nothing when the Church Paedophile scandals were being exposed.

This unregulated organisation and Youth Defence seems to have an endless stream of Money and no-one knows anything about it. The Life Institute spent a fortune before Christmas, distributing anti-abortion leaflets to 1.4 million homes. It is also took out advertisements in 25 newspapers targeting Fine Gael TDs – yet we know nothing about where all this cash is coming from – especially in the current Economic environment.

Last Summer, Labour Senator Ivana Bacik called for the Advertising Standards Agency to be given a remit to act on complaints about anti-abortion ads and the National anti-abortion billboard campaign by Youth Defence in conjunction with the Life Institute. Who funded this and why isn’t the Life Institute and Youth Defence held accountable for their fundraising, lobbying and bullying tactics.

• Ah Niamh is just missing the “romantic ireland’s dead and gone” days. When we were all poor and uneducated, and the men & women in black could tell us how to live our lives.

• deirdre 21/02/13 #

Can i ask a question to all the pro choice ladies and gentlemen. What happens in an abortion? Do u need a general anaesthetic. I am not sure of the details…. Help please

• It depends upon whether its a medical or a surgical abortion.

A medical abortion is a case of taking a drug which induces a miscarriage. From there on out its exactly the same as having a miscarriage, as many women do in the first trimester.
      If not all of the pregnancy is miscarried then a DNC may be performed, which is where a vaccuum cleans out the womb of leftover products of conception, depending upon how the miscarriage went.

This is the most common method of abortion in the UK & Wales.

Surgical abortions are usually carried out later in the pregnancy and the methods and procedures vary, some may involve anaesthetic and others may not.

It’s not a pleasant experience, physically, mentally or emotionally. And one I suggest that you research on medical websites, rather than taking my word for it, or any lobby groups words for it. Seek out clinical, medical descriptions from reputable sources and veer away from lobby groups information on either side, this way you should avoid any bias and just get the facts.

• Im sure you can read up on it yourself Deirdre. That is if you can undersrand all the terminology and not twist it to suit your own misinformed ideals. After all you are the one that labelled all the people that have an informed difference of opinion from yours baby murderers in a previous post. Really did yourself justice there Deirdre!!!!

• Enda Kenny is doing a reasonable job for a conservative Catholic man from Mayo.

He’s not the Religious nutjob that this woman seeks.

• A political party went went back on their word? *gasps* Well if the LATEST poll results are anything to go by, the majority of the electorate are in favour of legislating for abortion. Thats as of this week, unlike the Millward Brown poll this article has cited which was taken in May 2012. Sad to see the Pro-Life advocates clutching at straws and skewing information to suit their agenda… again.

• socmot 21/02/13 #

I’d like to see an article from Niamh discussing how much funding the Life Institute gets from outside the State, and I’d also like to see her make some comments on the now notorious and totally unsolicited anti-abortion robo-calls that were made to people all over the country in recent months.

I’d like to see such an article…but I won’ t be holding my breath!

• What an absolute pig of an article, the anti-choice mouthpiece needs to go back and get some facts before she starts spouting off rubbish like “Labour is pushing hard for this government to legalise abortion”? What? I don’t recall seeing that anywhere. The fact that the Irish govt, are being FINALLY forced into actually doing their job and clarifying the ridiculous and dangerous situation regarding abortion legislation seems to really offend those who would rather women died instead of being given a termination that would save their lives. People like this out of touch woman need to get a grip of themselves and accept that they live in the 21st century and that women from Ireland are travelling in their thousands to seek abortions in the UK, Holland and Spain because people like her are blackmailing and threatening the politicians who will have to enact the upcoming legislation. Odious groups like Youth Defence and Life Institute are not speaking for the majority of the Irish people but a small minority of right wing religious and ultra conservatives who think everyone should do as they see fit. Typically of these people to never let the facts get in the way of their propaganda. A thoroughly repulsive article whose only purpose is scaremongering and mis information.

• Fine Gael, and their champagne socialist friends, have proven to have been even more arrogant than their predecessors , directly breaking innumerable promises, engaging in egregious cronyism, with the Health Minister even refusing to answer questions in parliamentary sessions on the allocation of care centres, leading to official complaints, cutting back, closing down, selling off state assets, burning taxpayers instead of bondholders; and even having the disgusting arrogance to justify their betrayals with Rabbite declaring more or less that elections promises are just fodder to fool the masses, designed to be broken.

Now they are planning to break a solemn, written commitment of the most serious kind, for the first time, planning on permitting the intentional killing of the most defenceless on Irish soil.

Well, when you sow the wind, you reap the whirlwind, and that’s what Fine Gael will receive.

• Is what you call “giving someone a platform” it not referred to journalistic balance? Like it or not she represents a widely-held opinion in Irish society, though not my own I might add. Even though I don’t agree with her, I’m somewhat reassured that the Journal hasn’t completely degenerated into a mouthpiece for the liberal-left.

• The poll you are referring to was carried out on behalf of the pro life campaign. Biased much???

• The only people deluded on this page are those who convince themselves that abortion is a procedure. In case u werent aware babies die in an abortion. It will never be legalized in this wonderful country. There are a few morons here who’ll shout for it. But u have to listen to the wind……

• well said Deirdre, – I know many people who have been life long Fine Gael voters & supporters, who are disappointed by FG breaking their ‘pro life promise’
      They will be reconsidering whether or not, they will vote for FG again.
      Niamh is right in her column above, – the upcoming legislation is definetly a factor in the drop in support for FG.
      The views of commenters in ‘The Journal’ is not necessarily representative of large numbers of people out there, – especially for people in rural communities. Many rural FG voters would traditionally be ‘Pro Life’
      As Niamh said, – the Labour tail is wagging the FG dog.

• This is crazy, over the last two years I have heard many many people talk about how they will never vote for Fine Gael again yet not one have given the reason that it’s because they may legislate for abortion. I guess I’m fortunate not to associate with such closed mined brainwashed bigots.

• They’re across the line on pensions, so the cabinet don’t care and will do what they like now. They know they won’t be re-elected, will retire and laugh all the way to the bank!

• Time this government was gone

• Barry 21/02/13 #

Not before they pass this legislation they’re not!

Change is happening and the so called pro-life crowd are going to be dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century regardless of if they like it or not.

• The electoral implications for FG will very much depend on the controls put in place to regulate the suicide element of the legislation. If the provisions effectively stop the suicide provision being abused to allow abortion on demand, even pro-life FG voters will understand that the legislation was inevitable after the X Case and that it has value in so far as protecting the life of the mother. It could also take Abortion off the table for decades as the pro-absorption movement loses some of its traditional ammunition.

• “The electoral implications”?!?!
      I’m sorry, but when I go to vote I’ll not be voting solely based on whether FG enact on this or not!
      Janey Mac, with someone else on another thread suggesting that we should give Ming, Wallace and Co a go just because they weren’t the ones who got us here (what the almighty does That mean?!?!) and you here suggesting that FG will be decimated on the basis of its ProLife promise (we’ll forget, you know, the fact, that nobody’s pay packet is safe, nobody’s morale either and that’s not a result of the PL promise), is it a bleedin’ wonder we’re up the creek without so much a boat to sit in never mind the paddle to steer us out of the place. We’re like a bunch of headless chickens running and flailing wildly around.
      Reminds me of the scene where Mr Bean gets his head stuck in a Christmas turkey and flails wildly about the place. Well, Mr Bean = the Irish people.

• Countries that that have de-conscienced themselves regarding the killing of innocent human life are sick societies.

• @james- the article was based on the “electoral implications”. Happy to go toe to toe with you on the moral implications whenever you like, or the various pluses & minuses of this Government but unlike many on here who will use any spurious subtext to move ANY article to their subject of choice (usually burning bond holders), I thought it would be novel to, you know….address the point in the main article. Crazy, I know but hey it’s Thursday, we’re galloping towards weeks end- I thought I’d go nuts.

• Vincent, I read the article, and I’ve decided it’s sheer, unadulterated, complete, wholesome, grad A, gold rubbish.
      There is not one honest person in this country who will be basing their next vote on whether or not FG legislate for termination or not. If they do they are irresponsible, they are mal-informed, they are ill-deserved of democracy, because that is not how democracy works.
      Another thing, why do PL get to decide which polls they do or don’t trust? Most people *are* in favour of legislation (not that they have a choice, but another story), and most people dislike FG, I’m not sure what that tells you, but it doesn’t exactly say that the traditional PL are in the majority.

• @james- being selective with polls is not a phenomenon unique to the pro-life movement. I think you’re wrong, there are many who’s vote is strongly influenced by the stance on abortion- not as many as suggested above. As for Fine Gael, 70+ seats in the Government benches would suggest you’re wrong re: their unpopularity. Now a lesser man than you would point to the weekends poll but I know you don’t like Cherry Picking polls!

• Oh good, sweet, divine comedy.
      Have you any idea what it is you’re actually talking about?
      The only reason FG got so many seats was because they were the only alternative party. Nobody was going to vote for FF, and Lab didn’t have enough candidates up for election, neither did independents etc.
      The reason FG got so many seats was not because of their stance on termination, nor is it the reason they’re sliding down – they got in because they offered fresh faces, a new look, a new world, a clean start. They’re sliding because people are looking in their wallets and finding they’re handing out hand over fist for everything and barely having so much as the brass tacks and stitching holding the wallet together left in the damned thing.
      People vote with their wallets, their bank accounts, their savings, their assets. To state that the reason for FG’s slide is due to the righting of something that has only effected 100k odd families since 1993 when there are how many 100k’s of public servants whose families and lives will be decimated by the end of next week is childish, immature, ignorant, and shows a complete and utter lack of understanding of how democracy works.
      Although traditional PL and democracy is a laughable concept.

• @Tom care to provide some example countries?

• Flaps 21/02/13 #

Sounds like the author needs to get with the times… scare mongering at its best…

• Thank you for your valuable and substantive judgement. Would have been better had you quoted the New Testament though.

• If I threaten suicide unless the state executes a drug dealer or murderer that threatens my family will the death penalt be introduced

• @james I personal don’t vote with my wallet… I know at the end of my day what I would like to think of one of my achievements is to say I helped to defended someone’s life rather than I managed to vote in someone who put a few extra euro in my pocket.. Is not always about money, human life is much much more valuable..

• @james- In fairness, I didn’t anywhere suggest FG’s slide in the polls was attributable to Abortion. I know exactly what caused that.

• Bridget, most people vote with most of the emphasis on their wallet. How much they are going to have left over at the end of the month. I agree, human life is much more valuable than it being an issue of votes or money, unfortunately here we are, having this argument.
      Ah now Vincent, the article and your initial comment pretty much allocates the building and downing of FG to their stance on termination. Neither of ye said it, but that’s pretty much the sum total of what was said.

• Look up http://www.numberofabortions.com and http://www.womenhurt.ie before you make stupid comments!

• @james- many thanks for explaining to me what I meant. Not sure how I get through life without you! People vote on a range of issues to which they attach different weights. I simply said the Abortion issue influenced a significant number of voters. It does. As does the economy and any number of other issues. That you interpreted my words as you did, does suggest a certain bias on your part.

• @Tom…… So some example countries??? I notice you rarely respond to questions but make lots of “grandiose” statements!

• Rights of mothers! We heard an expectant mother at the Oireachtas hearings say she was not a mother. She declared herself to be a pregnant woman. Now we have it in Sweden that there are no longer Pregnant Women but Pregnant Persons. Love the way this world is going, you could hardly make it up.

• An excellent analysis by Niamh. Of course, if the public had been aware of the testimonies given to the Oireachtas Committe, instead of the disgustingly biased reporting evident once again on RTE, they would realise that Fine Gael is striving to do what virtually every expert in the country has advised against their being a need to do- that is to legislate for abortion on grounds of their being a suicide risk.

• Many of us will never vote for FG again if they legalise abortion. Often I find the ‘pro choice’ side want to demonise the pro life saying, we’re uneducated rosary lovers who have no concept of what women go through. I find this irritating, I was severely abused as a child and had a pregnancy scare at 11 due to this I have suffered from depression for a long time and know exactly what it is like to be suicidal; but abortion was never an option. Why should my liberation, my equality or my life circumstance allow me to take the life of another? I believe no one has the right to take the life of another whether through abortion or the death penalty.

• Have backbone for something Kenny you grovel to the EU elite at our peril stop grovelling to the ‘CHOICE TO ABORT’ children bullies. The same shower who on the one hand were all for the so-called Children’s Rights referendum or possibly their rights to abort them referendum instead.