TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Column: Why I should be allowed to vote at 17

I will inherit the actions of the electorate’s decisions for decades to come, so why shouldn’t I be able to influence government policy too, asks Adam Houlihan.

Adam Houlihan

The Constitutional Convention recently voted in favour of lowering the voting age. At its meeting in Dublin, 52 per cent of delegates voted in favour of lowering the voting age. Of these, 48 per cent were in favour of lowering the age to 16 with 39 per cent selecting 17. Adam Houlihan believes he should be allowed vote at 17. Here, he explains why:

AS A YOUNG person in Ireland today, I believe the voting age should be lowered to 17 so I can have a say in how my country is run. As a student taking the Leaving Certificate exam next year, the influence that government policy has on my current life and on my future life is huge – but I have no say into how policy works.

Some people argue that at 17, my friends and I are incapable of making a mature, independent decision – but I see people my age making mature decisions and having responsible interactions with the State on many levels every single day.

Trusted to…

If I have been entrusted with many of the rights and responsibilities that people over 18 enjoy, surely it stands to reason that I deserve the right to vote? Let’s look at how the State treats me now: next year I will sit my Leaving Certificate, a State exam, and hopefully go on to university, which I am allowed to attend while aged 17. I work on the weekends, making a financial contribution to the State through taxation, which I am legally entitled to do since I was 16. The State recognises that I am mature enough to drive a car, entrusting me with my safety and that of others and the age of sexual consent is 17. I can also make independent medical decisions at this age. I was at the train station recently and when I asked for a child’s ticket, I was told I would have to buy an adult’s ticket as I am over 16.

However, some people will say that young people have no interest in current affairs or politics and, hence, are not informed enough to vote. This is a moot point, applying a burden of proof not extended to all voters – after all, do adults have to prove they are informed? Of course not. Nor should they have to, because democracy is not about being a member of a so-called “informed” group, but about being a member of society, a citizen.

It is each citizen’s civic duty to investigate where they stand and to assess which candidate best represents their views, at their discretion. It is universally true –  for young people and adults alike –  if an individual has the cognitive ability to decide for themselves about how to vote, then they also have the ability to choose how informed they want to be.

Youth engagement

We live in a time when voter apathy is rife, broadly speaking, across every demographic in this country – with the sole exception of older people in Ireland. In North African and Middle Eastern countries where the Arab Spring is in progress, an astonishing estimated 90,000 people have died for the right to self-governance. In the US Presidential Election last November, people lined up for six hours in Florida and in Idaho, ballots had to be photocopied just people could have their say in how their country is run.

It is embarrassing then, and even demoralising, to assess the recent Children’s Rights Referendum where voter turnout was as low as 33.53 per cent, the third lowest turnout in Irish referendum history. This shows that we seriously need to act, to engage people young and old with the system of government.

Looking to the sole demographic with high voter turnout, older people; how do we replicate that behaviour in younger people? Evidence has shown that a person is much more likely to vote for life, if they start at a young age, so that is one consideration. If Irish young people are introduced to voting sooner, while they are still in the structured school environment taking certain behaviour as norms on board for later life, we could see an increase of regular voters in the long run. Hence, lowering the voting age to 17 could be an effective step towards re-engaging people with the political system.

It is the youth of society, at any given time, who will inherit the actions of the electorate’s decisions for decades to come. We will have to drink the water, pay for the pension funds and live with the infrastructure handed down to us from governments elected by the franchised today. It is essential, therefore, that we give the opportunity to have the voices heard of all capable citizens. Maybe, if politics was forced to address the concerns of younger people by extending the franchise, we might also find that the policies being considered would be different in themselves.

But, then, I’m not 18… so does my opinion really matter?

Adam Houlihan is a member of West Waterford Young Fine Gael and will be taking his Leaving Certificate exams next year.

Read: Convention votes to lower voting age, rejects reduction of presidential term>

Read: Sinn Féin and Greens call for lowering of voting age>

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• If you promise not to vote Fianna Fáil, you’re in….

• With FF being the largest party, you should seek their support on this as it means you’re half way to getting it passed. :-)

• @Dave- Adam is a young fella who’s still at school. You should be helping him with his Maths, not confusing him. Fine Gael have 73 seats, Fianna Failed have 19 seats. Because Fine Gael have 54 more seats, Adam that makes them the biggest party. Your grasp of maths, Dave does explain FF’s economic performance….

• I’m 12 I should be allowed to vote purely because I have more sense than the present government and fianna failure put together

• Not much chance of him voting Fianna Fáil given that he’s a member of Young Fine Gael. As a 19 year old who was irritated by my lack of franchise at 16 and 17, I agree with him totally. The last election was just over a week after my 18th birthday and no candidate or organisation informed me that I could register before my birthday so long as I would be of age on polling day, incredibly frustrating!

I would only differ with him in that he supports a party which is as bad at the moment as Fianna Fáil were in the past! However to be fair, his article is in no way party political.

• This site is full of clowns like you. FF FG SF, eternal oneupmanship sniping at each other. ALL of you are full of crap. You make me sick that theres no alternative in this country. All any of you think of is whats in the best interest of your party, no interest in whats good for the country.

• Cry me a river babes! X

• @ Ronan- you’re absolutely right. The national conversation would be much better served listening to considered, eloquent contributions like yours. The body politic has clearly been missing an important voice. Tell me more Obi Wan Kenobi. It was gentle ribbing. You’re the one going off the deep end.

• Better off staying away from our “democracy” lad. Looking at this weeks opinion polls we’re on the same repetitive path to destruction anyway.

• mart_n 10/02/13 #

Anyone directly paying service to the state should be allowed to vote.

• I was so left wing when I was 17. I’m 32 now and my views have totally changed. I can see how wasteful our system is. I feel the government has too much control over our lives and we’ve become a nanny state. People seem to be asking for more and more regulations and more and more taxes.
    At 17, all you’ve seen is the education system.

• Dude, you’ll be 18 soon and you can vote then. Be grand.

• I’m only 18 but I don’t think even I should be allowed to vote. I know so many people of the same age that have completely warped views on many topics! They don’t look into things most of the time and would end up wasting a vote.

• phil 10/02/13 #

Yes but there are 18 year olds who are very aware. Then they are 60 year olds who have voted who or what there party tells them to without looking into it themselves. Plenty if wasted votes from all ages.

• I’ve met some pretty thick adults in my time

• Fair point! But what I’m saying is, the older you get, the more likely you are to be politically informed. I’d consider myself very well informed on politics but still the vast majority of people my age aren’t so none of us should be allowed vote, in my opinion.

• I don’t understand how you feel it’s of benefit to spite yourself when what the system needs is informed voters of which you are one. I don’t believe very many of the uninformed under 18s would vote in the first place. I think (though its only my opinion) that anyone who would go to the bother of registering to vote before their 18th birthday must have an opinion they wish to express. For this reason I disagree with suggestions that have been made to bring in automatic registration facilitated within the education system, all this will do is to bring in a majority of uninformed young people rather than a sizeable minority such as you and Adam.

• just promise me one thing kid,
    dont vote for for whichever side your great grandad was on in the civil war
    and by the way
    dont vote for the other side either
    “Hurrah for revolution and more cannon-shot!
    A beggar upon horseback lashes a beggar on foot,
    Hurrah for revolution and cannon come again!
    The beggars have changed places but the lash goes on.”

• We’re no more idiotic at 16/17 than 18

• If 17, then why not 16, then why not 15 etc. Voting age is reasonable

• Over 16 is reasonable with 17 as the age aimed for. Its not fair to deny someone a vote because their 17th (or currently 18th) birthday is a month after polling day. 15 however is very clearly too young. I haven’t heard anyone campaign for 15 and there’s a reason why. I’m not ware of any other rights gained at 15.

• Sure it is. You have to pick a cut off point. Your 18th birthday is that point and is as good as any. That’ll work in favour of some and against others. That’s life.

• Yet for some strange reason it’s not standardised alongside all of those privileges bestowed on one’s 17th birthday.

• Very well written and reasoned article Adam! If only all 17 year olds possessed the same level of intelligence and worldly interest as you.

I could say that you are in the minority, that the vast majority of your peers can’t see beyond Xbox or Facebook. But in saying that, I could also be talking about a significant section of those over 18 who can actually vote! And going by recently published opinion polls, our public remain a very fickle, goldfish if you will!

It’s just my opinion, but 18 is a key year. It’s like a ‘coming of age’. Where one takes on new adult style responsibilities. And for me anyway, 18 is time enough for voting privilege.

Not too long to wait anyway!

• ”the vast majority of your peers can’t see beyond Xbox or Facebook.”
      Maybe – but quite a lot f adults canrt see beyond the X factor or Big Brother .
      People should be allowed to vote at 16 – ” — Cameron is more than willing to throw them in jail for years for minor offences – so if that is the way they are to be treated – they should have a say in who rules – or at least who the Banks employ to rule us .

• “18 is a key year” says who? 18 is an arbitrary number chosen by society as some sort of magical year where a person suddenly changes and gets abilities that they didn’t have 24 hours before their 18th birthday. God forbid a 17 year old should be able to buy a scratch card, you have to be 18 to manage that kind of responsibility. No, and I mean NO argument exists against lowering the voting age to 17 that cannot be applied to people over the age of 18. Your offensive generalisation that “the vast majority of your peers can’t see beyond Xbox or Facebook” is a glaring indication of how out of touch you are with todays young people and does nothing but widen the divide between the youth and society as a whole. Try and tell a 17 year old teenager in 5th or 6th year, forced to sit the biggest exams of their lives and subsequently decide the career that they will have for the rest of their lives, that they are incapable of making decisions on topics that will affect them directly for years to come.

• Jim & Dylan,

I apologise if I touched a nerve! It’s encouraging to see enthusiasm for voting among leaving certificate candidates. I have no doubt but that you guys could and would make a reasoned and informed decision in polling. I’m just saying that in all probability, you are in the minority.

The fact remains that limits to ‘mature’ activities, such as driving, gambling, drinking, voting etc must be imposed at some sensible level. Society could, if it were allowed for example, limit voting only to those with an IQ over 120, however that would exclude many and would quite frankly lead to revolt as its a ridiculous proposition.

Sensibly, a limit must apply. Personally, I would impose the limit to those who have ‘completed leaving certificate’, ie irrespective of ones age at that time. That way at least, a level of maturity has been demonstrated by the individual.

BTW, you are not ‘forced’ to do your leaving certificate! But I recommend you do. Enjoy your youthful exuberance!
      Believe me. Theres Plenty of time to be angry when you are older!

Best of luck in the LC!

• I hadn’t a clue at 17 and I was quite interested in ‘news’ per say, not politics though…say I wasted many a vote, to be honest I’m in my fifties now and probably still waste votes as the choices are rubbish and don’t really truly reflect my views, but then we get told don’t waste your democratic right to vote….conundrums!!!!

• The simple answer is to not waste your vote. If no candidate reflects your view then don’t dilute the process by voting for someone you don’t support. Others out there find that some candidates do reflect their views and that might not work out if your wasted vote goes against a candidate where the vote is very tight. Just be sure to vote if a candidate who represents you does come along. Surely you can make a yes or no decision for referenda though?

• This is a good article and I agree the voting age should be younger, considering we just saddled his generation with 40 billion in debt.

• My three year old son will also be affected by government decisions, can he vote too?

• That’s a ridiculous argument. Adam’s point is that at the present moment he “has the cognitive ability to decide for” himself. By the time your son is 17 he’ll have that ability too, but he doesn’t now. Please don’t make light of Adam’s argument, as it’s his and my generation (I’m about 2 years older) that will hopefully work to make the world better for your son at 17 than it was for us.

• @Paul – As outlined by Dónal, I’m putting forward that: “we give the opportunity to have the voices heard of all capable citizen”. ‘Capable’ being the key point and I think 17 should be included in that bracket for the reasons mentioned earlier in the article.

Thanks,

Adam

• If your’e responsible enough to drive a car, have sex or join the army at 17, your’e old enough to vote.

• One big question is, why is there a need for a “young” version of any party. Surely the views of the entire range of society should be expressed in one overall party. Just goes to show the narrow minded parenting type approach the current set of gombeens in the Dail posses. And I mean all of them!

• If you’re responsible enough to drive a car, have sex or join the army at 17, you’re old enough to vote.

• Adam makes a good point. While it could be said for definite that a 12-year old is not mature enough to make the kind of informed political decision that a 20-year old could make, it’s not entirely clear where between these two extremes the demarcation should lie. Therefore, picking the voting age is always going to be something of an arbitrary process. It’s a matter of deciding at what age a person is mature enough to make that kind of decision, which is always going to involve some level of ambiguity.

Given that 17-year olds are already seen as responsible enough to drive, have sex, pay income tax, join the army, and in most situations that distinguish between child and adult (cinema, public transport, etc.), be deemed an adult, this seems as good a measure of maturity as will be gotten. Keeping the voting age at 18 in this instance, when 17 is already effectively treated as the age of maturity, actually seems to be more of an arbitrary decision than changing it.

• It should be 16, If you can work and pay taxes at that age? Then you should be able to vote, The Irish Democracy is a joke and so are FF/FG/SF/Labour!

• party politics will poison schools, even more then it has

• Ah Jaysus Tony, can you take your environmentalist stuff somewhere else? Thats it michael,thats all you got,thats your reply,you are either uneducated,or your getting paid by someone.Wake up to the real world and leave the dream world,because your still asleep.

• well written fully support this

• Tommy 10/02/13 #

Excellent piece, Adam! As a fellow 17 year old, I concur!

• Question for Adam (hope he chooses to engage in the comments as others who publish on the site do).

Your argument (which I agree with and is not party political) states that you want to be regarded for your “cognitive ability to decide” on matters rather than your age when it comes to the age of franchise.

If this is the case, why are you OK with being a member of “Young Fine Gael” rather than just “Fine Gael”? Surely that distinguishes you by age. Would you rather that you weren’t confined by a youth wing? According to yfg.ie the wing accepts members between 15 and 30 years old. Just under 30 seems a bit old to me to still be in a Youth Wing. More bafflingly it goes on to say that “Young Fine Gael is the only vehicle for young people to seek political change in this country”. What about Labour Youth, Óige Phoblactach – Sinn Féin Republican Youth any other youth wings of political parties?

• Dónal,

Young Fine Gael is an organ within the Fine Gael party i.e. I am a member of both. YFG acts as a “lobby” within FG, representing the views of young people to the wider membership. This gives us a much stronger voice, than if we were individuals. It also gives us a platform on committees etc. where the youth opinion would otherwise missed. I should add that it’s not compulsory to be a member of YFG when joining FG, it’s entirely your own preference. So, no, I’m not “confined” by a youth wing.

What makes us unique in comparison to other parties is that, YFG is the only autonomous youth wing of their senior party. This means if the party makes a decision that we don’t think is best for young people, we can call them out on it and recommend what we think should be done instead. Other youth wings don’t have this ability and have to toe the party line, whether they agree with it or not, hence, we have a much stronger lobbying capablity than them.

Adam

• Thanks for responding. I’m surprised to hear that the other youth wings have to toe the party line but I take your word on it. It does appear that it might put you in a conflict of interest at times where YFG and FG don’t agree despite YFG members being FG members by default, but that’s your concern, not mine.

I still don’t agree with the line on YFG being the only vehicle for young people to seek political change but I assume you weren’t the one who wrote it. I do note however that you spurned similar rhetoric from Ógra Fianna Fáil on Twitter recently. Such politically charged phrases go with the territory I suppose.

Differences aside, kudos on the article and keep up the good work, I’m glad to see from our interactions here and on Twitter that you’re not as arrogant as some of YFG’s literature might have people assume.

• Moot point. Everyone’s enjoying the moot point statement.

• Have you studies Irish politicians and how and who they work for. If you have, you should know that no matter which way you vote, the outcome will be the same. This is NOT a democracy. Get used to it. Get a qualification, and leave. Go to Canada or some country that has some semblance of democracy in it’s constitution. Become a citizen and make a proper life for your self. Good luck young sir.

• Bright. But every baby born will also inherit the consequences of their parents’ decisions. On that logic every baby should then have the vote too.

• Not so bright Myles. Since you clearly haven’t bothered to browse the previous comments, I’ll copy and paste this here for you:

That’s a ridiculous argument. Adam’s point is that at the present moment he “has the cognitive ability to decide for” himself. By the time your son is 17 he’ll have that ability too, but he doesn’t now. Please don’t make light of Adam’s argument, as it’s his and my generation (I’m about 2 years older) that will hopefully work to make the world better for your son at 17 than it was for us.

• censored 12/02/13 #

Hahahhaha even with the crisis your life at 17 is far better than it would have been a generation ago. As for the cognitive abilities, we’ll have to agree to disagree. You’ll understand when you’re older.

• censored 12/02/13 #

The unborn should be allowed to have a vote. After all, it affects them.

• Well done Adam I’m sure you’ll get a gold star for this one.

• If 16 year olds become entitled/competent to vote, will they also be competent to marry, etc at 16? Of course the question is rhetorical as they will be able to vote in referenda to lower the legal marrying age and much else (without the consent of their parents) in any event!

• I think a better idea than giving the vote to people based on their age would be to base it on their IQ for general elections. In the case of a referendum, they’d have to pass a test that asks them questions related to the referendum topic to prove that they’ve read up on it and know what the issue is, rather than just blindly voting either yes or no because someone else told them to vote that way.

• So based on an IQ test some people would never get to vote, while gifted 10 year olds would?

• Well the IQ test is just a preliminary idea because I can’t think of a test to prove how informed people are about politicians running for a seat in the Dáil (maybe a few questions related to what the parties are campaigning for or about their history would be a better idea, but I don’t know how that would cover independent runners). I would however honestly place more value in the opinions of an intelligent and informed person than someone who seems less intelligent and less informed regardless of age. I’d probably put the beginning of adolescence as a starting point for age, so 13 or so I’d guess rather than 10.

• If you can’t think of a good test, why propose a bad one?

• When is this journal gonna start discussing the real topics that are affecting the planet,like who are the private banking cartels,why is american military in 35 countries now in africa,and its destroying every country in the middle east,why are americans losing their freedoms,every day that goes by,why can,t this journal raise these topics,like there is a major currency war going on at the minute,and that there 50 million people in poverty in america,why are Irish people in a debt they can never get out of.Start raising these topics so that the people can educate themselves and you the journal would be a real journal,instead of peddling this nonsense.please reply.It would be rude not to.

• Voting age should be 21. When the kids have graduated and are in the workforce.

• Michael 10/02/13 #

I think we should raise it to 25. 16 year olds know nothing about anything.

• What age are you? I’m 19 and seem to be capable of writing more substance on the matter than you, unless you care to prove me wrong?

• Michael 11/02/13 #

Work in the real world, you are an outlier for even being on this board, as righteous as your statement is.

Also, my age is of no relevance.

• Michael 11/02/13 #

And no, you aren’t capable of writing to a higher degree than me on this topic, from the evidence one can gather.

You might think you can, but for now enjoy these green thumbs you get — you got a lot to learn.

• Ah Michael, that old green thumbs chestnut, thank you for making an irrelevant remark to prove my point. For the record, your statement is about as righteous as mine and on the strength of those thumbs you refer to mine is more justified. Not that I care.

• Seems Paddy Lambe above wants that question answered too.

• Ah Jaysus Tony, can you take your environmentalist stuff somewhere else? Thats it michael,thats all you got,thats your reply,you are either uneducated,or your getting paid by someone.Wake up to the real world and leave the dream world,because your still asleep.

• Speaking having just turned 18, YOU absolutely should be able to vote at 17, however I think a blanket lowering of the voting age would be a mistake. There is enough disengagement among the current electorate without adding a bunch of people who’s biggest priorities as a voter would be lowering the drinking age or being allowed into nightclubs, further distorting an already largely misguided voting population.

Does that mean YOU should be made to wait? Maybe not. If there were some means of assessing people under 18 to determine, based on a solid criteria, weather or not you were willing to engage and make an informed decision, then you wouldn’t have to wait. I think the level of effort this would entail on the voter’s part would deter much of the people I mentioned, and genuine and capable potential voters such as yourself could be given an opportunity to strengthen the credibility of the current electorate and help shape the future you and I are going to be tasked with fixing.

Add New Comment