TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

VIDEO: Kenny, Martin argue over ‘missing’ bank guarantee files

Fianna Fáil says the Taoiseach is “throwing out conspiracies like a man standing at a bar at a pub”.

ENDA KENNY and Micheál Martin traded angry exchanges in the Dáil today in a dispute about whether the Department of the Taoiseach kept records of the meetings and discussions leading up to the bank guarantee in 2008.

During Taoiseach’s Questions today, Martin asked Kenny to elaborate on remarks made in the Dáil last month when he suggested that the Department of the Taoiseach’s files on the guarantee had been “either shredded or has been disposed of or dispatched of”.

Today Kenny said his remarks were intended to illustrate the “remarkably small volume of documentation” which remains on file at the Department about the events on the night of the guarantee, and said he had not meant to suggest that the files had actually been shredded.

Micheál Martin – a member of the cabinet who made the decision to guarantee the assets and liabilities of six Irish banks in September 2008 – was not impressed with the response, describing it as “unacceptable”.

“Stop trying to walk away from your own words,” Martin advised, saying the Taoiseach was “throwing out conspiracies like a man standing at a bar at a pub”.

I don’t know why you deliberately articulated the view that documents were shredded. You decided to invent a wild allegation… I think you were making a cynical political attack. It’s unworthy of you and I’d ask you if you accept that that is the case.

Kenny was equally dismissive of his opponent, admitting: “I’m amused at you, honest to God,” before going to on to say he found it “quite incredible” that there was “not one solitary slip of evidence” about any discussions that officials held with banks before the guarantee was introduced.

“There is no file in the Department of the Taoiseach,” a defiant Taoiseach insisted. “There is no file on the discussions or the meetings that took place, and the rationale applied to that.

Up to and until the incorporeal meeting at that hour of the morning, all of the evidence prior to that, there is no file in the Department of the Taoiseach.

If there is, it’s certainly not in a place where we could find it. There is nowhere else.

Previously: FF: Taoiseach ‘must clarify suggestion’ guarantee files were shredded

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• dessie 17/07/12 #

This is embarrassing

• Guarantee is in a brown envelope with Sean…

• Wonderfully articulate commentaries on this story which shows the complete informality bordering on criminality that surrounds the administration of a Prime Ministers office in the run-up to such a monumental decision. If you consider for just a moment how a Budget is prepared with months of work and both public and private debate and thousands of records retained by way of Minutes and Agendas and personal notes etc and all these are filed and here we have nothing. Nothing. The Taoiseach suggests a conspiracy of some sort or hints at impropriety of some sort and the Leader of Fianna Fail attacks him. The same guy was a senior Minister in the Cabinet that sold our soul as a Nation.

• Kenny: Ye shredded the files or intentionally lost them
    Martin: We didn’t leave a paper trail for the biggest decision in 90 years, so take back your shredding allegation.

What an absolute bucket of s%%% Martin is. He has no problem with nearly a 100bn of tax payers money being paid out and not even a post it note, of his Govt’s decision process, logical or reasoning survives. Time for Micky to join other FF luminaries like Bertie Ahern and Ray Burke and get out of politics. He has made his money, helped destroy and betray his country, time to go.

• Shergarr has them in a safe place

• Stop tip toeing around and just ask him straight out: where are the files and and if there are none then why not.

• Are u kidding? A politician give a straight answer to a straight question- as likely as the bond holders saying ‘oh we took our risks so we’ll take our losses’. And even when they do speak plainly, they are more likely to lie than tell the truth ( refer to Bill Clinton ‘I did not have sexual relations with woman’)

• I believe Martin. I believe he and his Fianna Failures didn’t have the intellectual capacity to think of keeping notes.

• KENNY 17/07/12 #

The smirk on Reilly. Can’t stand him

• Pure handbags…two tools in full flight.

• Dumb and dumber. Not sure which is which…

• why are traitors not not brought before a court of law, they only serve banks and rich money interests not so called democracy. why are the irish people accepting this bullishit.

• JB completely useless bringing them before a court in this country ,ff appointed 90% of the pillars of society.

• Fagan's 18/07/12 #

Unless the septic and crooked individuals that it appointed over last 30 years because they ere party people and friends. Many of them will always put Fianna Fail before Ireland. Always have, always will. The need to be replaced with honest people, if u want Justice.

• D me what these clowns cost us again?

• All we need is the two grumpy old guys in the gallery and I was hearing that famous theme tune from Kermit the frog and co and the clip would be complete .

Let’s just be straight about this . They all made a bo**ix of the country . And as for fozzy bear sitting beside Enda , don’t get me started !

• Certainty is so essential to a law, that a law without it cannot be just. For if the trumpet gives an uncertain sound, who shall prepare himself to the battle? So if the law has an uncertain sense, who shall obey it? A law, therefore, ought to give warning before it strikes: and it is a true maxim, that the best law leaves least to the breast of the judge, which is effected by certainty.
    Francis Bacon, quoted in the Preface of Cunningham’s Reports

• Where do you think FF would have found a civil servant in the middle of the night to take notes?

By the time an agreement was made with the unions for a special ‘middle of the night’ allowance to facilitate the meeting the Olympics would have been upon us and by then sure nobody would be able to concentrate

• THIS is the type of crap they get up to during the day????

• This night changed Irish history. A webcam recording of the discussions was all that was needed. Or a dictaphone.

• Ceann Comhairle: “Can you ask a question please? A question? ASK A F*****G QUESTION? Screw this, I’m going to the bar. Does anyone know if they are still serving food?”

Martin: “Don’t know Ceann Comhairle, never asked.”

Kenny: “Typical. Did you shred the menu?”

And so on, do forth…

• Should the president have signed this off after advice from her legal council?

• I wonder if Enda check the Minister for Finance’s office for the bank files?

• The reason for a lack of documentation is that this was a knee jerk reaction. Martin knows this. We all know this. Why the handbags? Politics for politics sake. Solve the real problems and not the self serving one up-manship FFS

• No Stephen that’s not true in any sense. If you or I as ordinary people had a meeting with the Taoiseach it would be recorded or minuted and to say that there are no files on meetings that included the Chief Executives of our major Banks or discussions with Senior Ministers is mind boggling . I do not believe it and I’m sure that most people don’t. So where are they?

• My point is not how the guarantee was dealt with, or who said what. My point is, that these clowns should be working together to solve this mess we are in instead of the self serving (safe my political ass and try make someone look bad and by virtue, make me look good somehow) politics that we can do without

• Fagan's 18/07/12 #

The Guarantee was weeks in the planning. The night time spectacle as only a charade to stifle debate and bounce the greens in to backing it. It was probably the greatest 3 card trick even of the last century.

• What the…….?! NOOB!!

• MnB 17/07/12 #

Quality stuff

• Kenny and Reilly are a pair of SNEERS all they can do is Sneer and Smirk nothing is taken seriously with this pair or their colleagues in Government. all they can do when someone points out the failures is play the BLAME GAME… They are in power now and have been for nearly 16 Months and we are still waiting to see their leadership skills….. I know I know they do not have any and that is why they Bully and blame all else for their shirt comings. Fine Gael and labour Do the job yea are getting over paid to do OR please do not come back after your extremely long Holidays

• it’s all much to do with nothing .. that decision wasn’t important .. regardless of what the government decided the course of action was always going to be dictated by the ECB and the ECB were never going to allow bond holders be left holding the baby.

FG’s & Labours’ bullishness before the election soon disappeared when the ECB had a chat with them on entering government .. the reality is that we were never going to get away without paying the bond holders.

All this squabbling is nonsense, Martin is just trying to play politics with something stupid Kenny said.

• What an embarrassment to the good people of Ireland.
    I’m going to send the each a box of candy. A least with their mouths full, they won’t talk so much.

• AMARU its fingerprint on a lab top in a these days they would not sell us out for small cash in a envelope

Add New Comment