You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sunday 19 May 2024 Dublin: 14°C
Lowry matches lowest round in major golf history with 62 at PGA
'Whether they're from Donegal or Senegal, it makes no difference': A night at the Lighthouse café
Hundreds of homeless people, from Ireland and further afield, visit the Dublin centre every day for food, clothes and friendship.
The centre provides a range of supports to homeless people and asylum seekers
"We need to remember it’s people who are actually inside the tents. These are human beings."
Yesterday
18th May 2024
Businessman Tony O'Reilly has died aged 88
Taoiseach Simon Harris described him as a “giant of sport, business and media”.
Quiz: How much do you know about portals?
Meet the 'replacements' who could take over seats in Europe if elected MEPs bow out
Sisters, sons, press officers and councillors. This election, it’s all very inside baseball.
Cody the match winner as Kilkenny scrape past Dublin
SPOTLIGHT
Election season
Local and EU ballots are on 7 June
And they're off
Political posters are up – love 'em or hate 'em
Who's who
Here's who's in the race to be Ireland's MEPs
Polling
Independents pip Sinn Féin as voters' top choice
Housing crisis shadow
People's housing tells us about how they'll vote
Kelly and D'Arcy goals fire Galway past 14-man Derry
Here's What Happened Today: Saturday
Analysis: Biden may be slipping, but here's what he should do to win...
Larry Donnelly
Emma Hayes signs off in style as Chelsea capture fifth WSL title in a row
Two arrested as man stabbed this morning near O'Connell Street, Dublin
State ceremony takes place in Dublin to honour 89 gardaí who lost their lives in line of duty
Georgia’s president vetoes controversial law that has provoked weeks of protests
Woman in her 80s injured in Dublin city centre assault
Slovak court puts man suspected of shooting prime minister in pre-trial detention
Suspected cannabis worth €1 million seized from Ashbourne warehouse
Climate protesters cause temporary closure of Munich Airport after gluing themselves to taxiways
Fighting rages on in Gaza's Rafah after first aid delivery via US-built pier
Cyclist in his 70s killed in early morning crash in Dublin city centre
Two people injured after car and truck collide on N1
Bodies of three hostages killed at 7 October music festival recovered in Gaza
Bottom of the class: Fianna Fáil running fewer women in local elections than any other party
Surrealing in the Years: We don't need AI to start freaking out about politics in Ireland
Carl Kinsella
The Explainer: Climate-related emergencies are on the rise but how are we dealing with them?
One more killed in French archipelago as troops try to restore order
Veteran broadcaster calls for 'much more scrutiny of what our MEPs are doing'
SPOTLIGHT
Voices
A mix of personal stories and opinions on the stories of the day.
Campus protests are squeezing Biden from left and right
Larry Donnelly
Protesting Israel's war on Gaza isn't antisemitic — it's a display of humanity
Emma DeSouza
Now I know, I don't care what anyone thinks of me
Clare McAfee
Many royal and political figures were honoured with street names
Donal Fallon
Opinion: Child-free restaurants? That's just insulting, we were all kids once
Niamh O'Reilly
'Their face was twisted up in anger': Election hopefuls share stories of abuse at the doors
Last week
12th May 2024 - 18th May 2024
Morikawa grabs PGA lead as Schauffele starts, Scheffler moves into tie for third
Bodies of three hostages found in Gaza as Taoiseach expresses 'deep concern' to Israeli President
World Number 1 Scottie Scheffler detained by police after traffic incident at golf Major
Lawsuit filed against Spotify for allegedly underpaying artists and publishers
French police shoot dead man armed with knife and iron bar attempting to set fire to synagogue
Here's What Happened Today: Friday
Security guards attacked at site set for Ukrainian refugee accommodation in Clonmel
My story: 'When you become chronically ill, you quickly learn that health is everything'
Sarah O'Connor
Hamas says commander killed in Israeli strike in Lebanon near Syrian border
'They deserve the truth': President Higgins lays wreath at Monaghan bombing memorial