You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda Commissioner Drew Harris during a press conference last week outside Garda Headquarters. PA Images

Garda group 'disappointed' that sergeants and inspectors won't get priority testing

The AGSI said that a “u-turn” had been done by Garda management.

THE ASSOCIATION OF Garda Sergeants and Inspectors has expressed its “deep disappointment” after it said that Garda management won’t push for priority Covid-19 testing for its members.

The AGSI represents almost 2,500 middle-ranking Gardaí and have been in discussions over the last number of weeks with Garda management on progressing this issue on behalf of its members.

Garda management addressed the issue in its meeting with the Policing Authority on 20 April.

The report the Policing Authority reported back to the Minister for Justice and Equality stated:

The Deputy Commissioners confirmed that the organisation has sufficient PPE resources and provided assurance that the matter of priority testing for Garda personnel will be resolved within the next day or two.

At a tele-conference meeting yesterday with Garda management, the AGSI were informed that management were “not progressing” priority testing for members of AGSI.

General Secretary Antoinette Cunningham says the “u-turn” caught the Association by surprise and their members feel “let down” by Garda management.

“We had already informed our members that priority testing would be available.

“The AGSI supports priority testing for our members to ensure capacity in the force at all times and have asked Garda management to review this decision.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute Jimbohs
    Favourite Jimbohs
    May 27th 2013, 6:21 PM

These scu m are in operation in Co. Meath. Told an old lady they found a sum of money outside her house, asked if she mislaid money, she got her handbag to check, when they pounced and grabbed it. They got €500. Pure scu m

Mute Shirley Boshell
    Favourite Shirley Boshell
    May 27th 2013, 8:38 PM

Fid the same to my uncle in Meath about 20 minutes after the old lady was robbed. 3rd time they’ve hit him. Luckily he hit the alarm this time and they scarpered.

Mute Jimbohs
    Favourite Jimbohs
    May 27th 2013, 9:02 PM

I know about this incident too, driving a black Skoda Octavia, and they only operate close to motorways to assist their escape. Both of these two incidents occurred in separate locations minutes from the M1.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 27th 2013, 10:11 PM

Hope the poor lady is alright, can imagine being shook up…

bloody fcukers – hope they get caught and locked up!

Mute commonsense
    Favourite commonsense
    May 27th 2013, 6:24 PM

What kind of a person does something like this? They take away a persons sense of safety in their own home. I’ve seen the after effects an an old lady who lived alone. She never felt safe in her home again.

Mute Sal
    Favourite Sal
    May 27th 2013, 7:27 PM

If a scxm bag did this to my grandmother I would hope that myself and my family would find them before the guards did. I have a strong urge to bring in vigilante justice sometimes in this country

Mute Shane Ellis
    Favourite Shane Ellis
    May 27th 2013, 6:22 PM

Answer the door in the nip. They won’t stay long.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    May 27th 2013, 7:40 PM

Answer the door covered in red body paint holding an up and over….then they’ll run

Mute bob®
    Favourite bob®
    May 27th 2013, 7:28 PM

I have a good one when their sussing out the house when they call to my door.it’s a fine dog, is trained to go apeshite when anyone rings doorbell.all friends,family normally phone/txt our just drop in.
    You should see their faces, especially the religious heads.btw,if my dog got out, she would roll on her back and wag her tail :)

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    May 27th 2013, 9:18 PM

With any luck one of these young thugs will meet an armed house owner soon !

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    May 27th 2013, 9:46 PM

Happened before. Probably happen again!

Mute sean fitzgearld
    Favourite sean fitzgearld
    May 27th 2013, 7:14 PM

Why aren’t our wasters of a police force giving out these tips ,never thought of the closing the back door before opening the front door good idea. My folks are worried about this going on all round and nobody catching them.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    May 27th 2013, 7:18 PM

Nice Sean. An Garda Síochána have a very comprehensive brochure about home security available online http://www.garda.ie and at all Garda stations in the public office. The public office is through the FRONT DOOR of the station which in assume will be a new experience for you.

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    May 27th 2013, 7:59 PM

Seriously you never thought to close the back door…. You can’t police stupid

Mute Darren Callaghan
    Favourite Darren Callaghan
    May 27th 2013, 9:09 PM

Nice John. The way you make presumptions about people because they dare make a comment knocking our so hard done by police force . I have seen it with me own eyes our gardai looking at dealers on O Connell street and turning a blind eye , not saying they all bad but some of them are ignorant lazy fools and just so ye know I have never even had so much as a parking ticket never mind a charge sheet before ye think you know anything about me

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    May 27th 2013, 9:15 PM

I think the point he was making Darren is the Gardai can only do so much. It’s very hard police certain crime types when idiots make it easy for criminals or never bother their ass inquiring about preventative measures that are already in the public domain.
    Regarding those that target the elderly, I think they should be crucified.

Mute Darren Callaghan
    Favourite Darren Callaghan
    May 27th 2013, 11:15 PM

Yes Willie I got that I was just picking him up on the comment he made to Sean about using the front door of station and it being a new experience for him ,does he know of Sean being ever arrested for any crime or was he just being an ignorant prat

Mute Eoin Donovan
    Favourite Eoin Donovan
    May 27th 2013, 11:35 PM

I think Darren that John’s jibe at Sean was based upon the Fr Dougalish manner in which he exclaimed about not thinking about the back door. Its a pity it has to be explained to you as it makes you look as much of a prat as Sean does.

Mute sean fitzgearld
    May 27th 2013, 8:39 PM

Maybe if the guards got off there arses and went around to old people and gave them a few tips rather than waiting for them to come in to report a crime and give them a leaflet.
    It’s call PROACTIVE policing did ye not learn that in templemore

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    May 27th 2013, 8:44 PM

What’s to stop you looking after you’re own instead of expecting others to do it for you. Easier to blame others then admit your own faults.

Mute Eoin Donovan
    Favourite Eoin Donovan
    May 27th 2013, 11:31 PM

Sean you truly are a tool. There are Neighbourhood Watch and Community Alert Schemes all over the country where info as above is given out. Unfortunately you can’t put a guard in every house but what can help fill this void is if the elderly person’s lazy assed children/grandchildren got off their spotty arses, plugged themselves out of the internet and called to them, maybe impart some of the knowledge they lap up from their computer screens, to them. Your comment shows you for what you are and unfortunately we have a generation of whingers and bemoaners that do nothing and expect everything to be done for them.

Now calling around to houses isn;t proactive policing it is community policing and crime prevention , proactive policing involves targeting the criminals not potential victims. Unfortunately the great elected ones have decided with a stroke of a pen to destroy the community based policing system that has become so much a part of rural Ireland. We are now left with communities that have and will become more detached from their police and urban societies. This is doomed to failure but our political elite dont care as they live in their leafy suburbs surrounded by Gardaí. Before you prattle on with your childish snipes it may be best to firstly know what you are on about and secondly to get off your arse and stop expecting everything to be done for you.

Mute Kevin Beakey
    Favourite Kevin Beakey
    May 27th 2013, 8:12 PM

Bogus callers in the north???
    Why not let Angus o Snodaighs election campaigners deal with them???? Or wait…… Might there be a conflict of interest there???

Mute sean fitzgearld
    May 28th 2013, 3:03 PM

Ignoring your personal abuse, maybe you could give advise to old people who are afraid in their community .Your opinion of Proactive policing is not exactly dynamic