#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 5°C Tuesday 24 November 2020

Irish residents in the UK will get to vote in Britain's referendum on Europe

Citizens from most EU countries living in the UK will not get a vote.

Image: AP/Press Association Images

IRISH RESIDENTS IN the UK will be able to vote in the referendum on Britain’s membership in the European Union.

David Cameron pledged to hold an in-out referendum on membership in the bloc by the end of 2017.

Citizens from most EU countries will not a get a vote but citizens of Commonwealth countries who are UK residents, such as Maltese and Cypriot residents will.

BBC reports that the legislation for the voting eligibility of the referendum will be introduced to Parliament via the EU Referendum Bill on Thursday.

The Bill will clarify who is eligible to vote but it’s believed the franchise will follow the same rules as the general election.

British, Irish and Commonwealth citizens over 18 who are resident in the UK will be eligible to vote, as well as UK nationals who have lived overseas for less than 15 years and Commonwealth citizens living in Gibraltar.

Read: Citizens from most EU countries living in the UK will not get a vote in the referendum on Europe>

About the author:

Read next: