You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Threshold answered a call every 20 minutes from private renters facing eviction so far this year

An eviction ban is currently in place until 1 April 2023.

NATIONAL HOUSING CHARITY Threshold answered on average one call every 20 minutes from private renters facing eviction in the first nine months of the year. 

The charity’s impact report for the third quarter of the year detasils how an average of 472 private renters a month, who were facing eviction, sought assistance from Threshold between January and September. 

Between July and September, Threshold supported a total of 8,835 households and prevented 1,121 households from entering homelessness, including 1,758 adults and 1,185 children. 

Advisors answered over 12,000 calls and responded to over 2,500 webchats on behalf of private renters regarding tenancy issues. 

In this period, 1,384 private renters sought Threshold’s help when they received a notice of termination from their landlord, with 60% of notices issued because the landlord intended to sell the properties. Threshold advisors identified that 46% of notices were invalid. 

“In the first nine months of the year, over 50% of queries received by Threshold concerned security of tenure and tenancy termination. This level of queries surpassed the number received on the same issue for the entirety of 2021 and was over double the number received in 2020,” Threshold CEO John-Mark McCafferty said.

“We are continuing to see a large exodus of landlords from the private rental sector, resulting in fewer properties available to rent and fewer housing alternatives for households who are facing eviction,” McCafferty said.

“Given the increasingly dire situation, it was necessary for the Government to introduce a ban on evictions to allow for short- and medium-term solutions to be implemented to combat the growing rental crisis.”

An eviction ban is currently in place until 1 April 2023. 

Under the legislation, all notices to quit that are issued over the period of the emergency ban will be deferred until at least the end of March 2023.

While notices to quit can still be issued to tenants while the ban is in effect, they will not be able to be evicted until after the ban ends.

However, when these evictions actually take place will be dependant on a number of factors, including the date on which the notice was served and the length of the tenancy.

This also means that notices to quit issued before the ban takes place will not go ahead until at least 1 April.

The Department has specified that there will not be a “cliff-edge” on 1 April however, with evictions after that date set to come in on a phased basis based between 1 April and 18 June, based on the date when the notice was issued and the length of the tenancy.

McCafferty said that it is “absolutely vital that the Government uses the time of this eviction ban to develop and implement measures to not only slow the rate of evictions being served on private renters, but also to increase the availability of affordable and secure homes”. 

With reporting by Christina Finn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:12 PM

Find a candidate who is both charismatic and a genius at stroke politics and deception. You have your TD

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:13 PM

Class Todd

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:19 PM

It’s about time that Chambers learns that politicians are back stabbers and that fairness and integrity doesn’t come into it!!

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:23 PM

They could be wasting their time.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:26 PM

Modus operandi in a nutshell Todd

Mute alan donnelly
    Favourite alan donnelly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:04 PM

Then why does he hire a P.R consultant to bring this in to the media? Hollystown is in Dublinwest. in fact it’s where the convention is going to take place.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Feb 25th 2015, 10:37 AM

He fixed de roooad

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Feb 25th 2015, 9:55 PM

I hate that. Hahahahahhahahahahahahahahahaha

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:26 PM

No offence David McGuinness ,
    But if the public didn’t want you the first 2 times, then I don’t think it’s going to be 3rd time lucky for you…..

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:42 PM

Speaking of people who have been roundly rejected by the electorate multiple times but keep trying to be elected, Fidelma Healy Eames announced today that’ll she’ll be running as an independent.

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:13 PM

Thats unfair, he finished second each time for a single seat, in a 4 seater he’s now a shoe in. You’d be upset if you campaigned twice(both hopeless cases) and did the groundwork for the party in the constituency and then when a proper election comes along your place is given to someone else.

Mute Prince of Burren
    Favourite Prince of Burren
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:21 PM

I have always heard that your own party is the one that you should watch your back, the gravy train is too attractive looks like nothing is going to change if this is what is going into politics

Mute Prince of Burren
    Favourite Prince of Burren
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:23 PM

I have always heard that your own party is the one that you should watch your back, the gravy train is too attractive looks like nothing is going to change if this is what is going into politics. Gods help our country.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:31 PM

Alan – Are there no Caps in FF Dublin ?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:37 PM

No Fianna Fail TDs in Dublin. Let’s keep it that way!!

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:16 PM

Or fg/liebor

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:17 PM

Do my eyes deceive me, FF trying to manipulate a vote?? Say it aint so!

Don’t worry councillor Chambers, if you lose just get the party to make everybody vote again until you get the answer you want, just like yiz did with Lisbon.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:36 PM

Ah bless, its great to see youth given its chance (the youth that coincidentally didn’t need to leave the country to find a job as a teacher, or have the cash to undertake postgrad entry to medicine a la Messers McGuiness and Chambers respectively). It never ceases to amaze me that there are people of my generation, a generation which is better educated, more world weary and ultimately more cynical than ever before, who want to engage in the farce that is Irish politics, and who will fight for the privilege to do so under the aegis of a party which is at the core of the countries near destruction.
    If you want to know just where we are as a people, take a look at Cllr. Chambers twitter feed. The last tweet thanks him for arranging road sweeping. Road sweeping. Truly something requiring the oversight of an elected official, “looking after his constituents” as its put.

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh

Jaysus ya know things are tough when your fighting someone to be selected as a FF candidate

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:15 PM

Do you really mean it when you say there is actually a ff organisation in dublin west?

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:22 PM

I think it’s safe to say that Paul Donnelly sinn fein will take it this time around.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Feb 23rd 2015, 10:39 PM

He’s been rejected countless times by the electorate too so I wouldn’t be so confident either..

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:21 PM

Someone hand Chambers a tissue. You seriously mean to tell me that he’s complaining that FF did something unfair, against core values and unjust? What the füćk party did he think he joined? FF isn’t exactly the beacon of good policy and fairness, it’s FF for christs sake.

Mute dj dangermouse
    Favourite dj dangermouse

Hopefully they’ll row themselves off a cliff.

Mute David Fleming
    Favourite David Fleming
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:32 PM

Two bald men fighting over a comb.

Mute alan donnelly
    Favourite alan donnelly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:43 PM

Terrible to see the posh young chambers fella trying to stop people living in his own constituency from voting in a convention. That’s a great marker for his commitment to democracy. He has more money behind him than integrity.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:21 PM

Politicians shafting each other, how unusual .

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:22 PM

Oh God! Just the sight of them…

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:30 PM

FF have no seats in Dublin let’s try and keep it that way,In the unlikely event that the school teacher gets elected will he be giving up the teaching job?

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Feb 23rd 2015, 11:35 PM

According to a fellow FF Cllr, Chambers is stuffed with monies as both his parents are Consultants looked after by Mary Harney.
    Typical FF carry on- more concerned with themselves rather than the people.

Mute Martin Bonner
    Favourite Martin Bonner
    Feb 25th 2015, 11:03 AM

Do you have a little bit of Job envy Cllr?
    Or perhaps a bit envious of the work dedication and talent required to become a consultant?

Mute Martin Bonner
    Favourite Martin Bonner
    Feb 25th 2015, 11:06 AM

Sorry, I just realised you are SF.
    In your utopia, those that have work ethic, talent and dried to become hospital consultants should not be rewarded anything more that a road sweeper would be.

Long live the Utpoia.

Mute Patrick Masterson
    Favourite Patrick Masterson
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:53 PM

Joke of a comment,

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:30 PM

We should give them boxing gloves and let them fight it out for the privilege….not that they’ll get the seat…..but at least we could enjoy them thumping the head off each other.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:19 PM

I said months ago FF would shaft mcguinness.
    Chambers will get castleknock vote and that’s what gets you elected in Dublin west.
    McGuinness should have defected to Sinn fein years ago.
    He would be more suited to this party him and Paul Donnely could run and win two seats.
    Sinn fein would support him the way FF never have.

Mute Sarah Molloy
    Favourite Sarah Molloy
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:51 PM

Chambers won’t get the Castleknock vote. Well certianly not all of it anyway. He’s in his first term as a local representative and has done very little. The ‘castleknock vote’ was Lenihans because he actually gave a damn about us. The Castleknock area has absolutely no representative in Dáil Éireann because the constituency is far too large. Every single TD in this constutuency are too concerned with the goings on in the Mulhuddart/Hartstown areas to even care about the fact that there is a whole other part of this constituency. Personally I believe that Chambers is mentioning this now to get his name out there, so he’s known in the constituency for the election, but that doesn’t mean it’s going to do him any good or gain him any support. If anything it’s completely turned me off voting for him.

Mute alan donnelly
    Favourite alan donnelly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:54 PM

apparently chambers has hired a P.R consultant in the last few days to try and halt convention, that’s what money does.

Mute alan donnelly
    Favourite alan donnelly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:03 PM

McGuinness can think for himself so wouldn’t fit in with the Shinners.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:15 PM

No he can’t he trots out the FF party rehersed line.
    Also he has been involved in a few scandals that the party HQ might frown apon.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Feb 23rd 2015, 6:21 PM

Also Alan you seem like mcguinness’s own or agent :)

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:00 PM

Or relation maybe?

Mute Alain O Donaile
    Favourite Alain O Donaile
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:19 PM

Gary, that’s David McGuinness’s campaign manager using a fake accounting my name to desperately support his bro. It’s quite hilarious TBH.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:23 PM

@ the real Alan
    That’s makes sense his posts sounded like a PR agent alright.
    Must be a panic in the mcguinness camp.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:47 PM

Was there some issue around racism in that camp?

Mute Fergal Connolly
    Favourite Fergal Connolly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 10:21 PM

He is known in the constituency. He topped the poll in the local election by a distance. He’s doing this now to simply get the chance to run in the election, not “to get his name out there” for the election. It’s one thing for a teenager to misunderstand the selection committee scenarion, but for mindless drones to then like the comment makes very little sense.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Feb 25th 2015, 12:23 PM

Will he do your work as well?

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:12 PM

And this crowd want to run the country!

Mute Steo Dowd
    Favourite Steo Dowd
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:48 PM

I don’t know the man but being in The party that destroyed the country says all I need to know.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:40 PM

That’s the seat that lenihan failed to reach to necessary quota to be elected got in as he was last man standing

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Feb 23rd 2015, 8:05 PM

Margret Thacher would have a better chance of getting elected.

Mute Marian Doherty
    Favourite Marian Doherty
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:46 PM

David mcguiness is a good man and he’s good for the community I see the good work he does! He deserves this ,

Mute alan donnelly
    Favourite alan donnelly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:49 PM

he has worked as a councillor for years now and is still in his 20s. there is no one else in FF who could finish 2nd in two by-elections.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Feb 23rd 2015, 9:02 PM

FF are gangsters who looted this country.

Mute Fergal Connolly
    Feb 23rd 2015, 10:15 PM

Except of course the guy whose seat it was, the one who won the last seat in Dublin for FF. But he was from Castleknock, God forbid.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Feb 23rd 2015, 10:41 PM

How many elections has Paul Donnelly failed to get elected in?

Mute Alain O Donaile
    Favourite Alain O Donaile
    Feb 25th 2015, 12:45 PM

Fianna Fáil chappies squabbling over who gets their big nose in the trough is the outstanding glaringly obvious end result here. Another exposé of the real mindset of Fianna Failers. This has nothing to do with whats best for their own party, the community or the country, and all simply about a power lust that’s inherent in them . As David’s campaign manager posted recently on social media,in reference to the possibility of David missing out on selection.
    “I’ll be getting my ladders and posters out, because one way or the other, we’ll be running”

I’m presuming this threat to the FF stalwarts didn’t go unnoticed, and again this attitude is probably whats most symptomatic of what is wrong in politics, The seat is MINE, Mine , all mine.
    ……..Time for the popcorn.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Feb 25th 2015, 6:54 PM

I think the whole Nulty affair left a bad taste in people’s mouths could really effect the McGiinness vote.

Mute Tod Moneen
    Favourite Tod Moneen
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:27 PM

Let them both stand.. Hopefully this will split the vote and both remain unelected

Mute Fergal Connolly
    Feb 24th 2015, 2:02 PM

Lots and lots of comments on the fact Chambers’ parents are doctors and I couldn’t agree more. After all, all of the best run societies in the world follow a system that shows disdain to the educated.

Don’t be fooled by the idea that we should judge this charlatan on his merits, I mean come on now- a degree in Law and Political Science from the top university in the country, studying Medicine and winning a local election by a country mile all within 18 months- does this guy think we want intelligence in politics? Pfft.

It makes far more sense to judge him on what his parent’s do by profession. That’s the real measure of a man.

In fact I go one further and say it’s high time we indulded in Sinn Fein’s Pol Pot-esque vision and slaughter doctors, other professionals and then their young- sure what can they offer us anyway? Let’s hear it for our own Khmer Rouge! Hip Hip Hooray!

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:34 AM

nice to see the Fianna Faied priorities have not changed

Mute ShinnerbotArgo
    Favourite ShinnerbotArgo
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:17 PM

Bit Ironic seeing your “yes equality” pic.

Mute Niall Moran
    Favourite Niall Moran
    Feb 25th 2015, 10:48 AM

Chambers is a clown

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:17 PM

Could not care less about FF gangsters

Mute James Horkan
    Favourite James Horkan
    Feb 23rd 2015, 5:31 PM

where are members of the Lenihan family

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:18 PM

A lot of fighting over who gets to lose their deposit first.

Mute RR85
    Favourite RR85
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:22 PM

Hahahaha they’ll be winnin nowt

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 25th 2015, 12:30 PM

Destroy all big parties in election

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:32 AM

Clenched fists …… Are you ducking joking.

Feb 25th 2015, 5:31 PM

Seeing Fianna fail and that photo of yer man with his hand up, i’m getting an image of a bunch of eejits you’d find in a father ted episode. And i’d say i wouldn’t be far off!

Mute Nicholas
    Favourite Nicholas
    Feb 25th 2015, 10:58 AM

who cares?