You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

say that again

'I spent that night with Ciaran, making the most of our final hours': The week in quotes

Here’s what was said an who said what this week.

Alan Kelly visits homelessness service Niall Carson / PA Wire Niall Carson / PA Wire / PA Wire

I take no notice of anonymous commentary. If people are cowardly and they don’t want to put their names to stuff that’s their own business. I don’t get worried about anonymous press officer briefings basically taking on myself, or making comments about myself.

Minister Alan Kelly hit out at “anonymous” government colleagues following criticism of his efforts to solve the housing and rental crisis.

Homelessness reports launch PA Archive / Press Association Images PA Archive / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

You lay down and you stay awake because you never know when someone will attack you and smash a bottle over your head.

The words of a migrant sleeping rough on the streets of Dublin.

ciaran-treacy

My whole life was shattered and my heart was broken when my worst nightmare had been confirmed. Early Saturday Ciaran was brought to me on a stretcher. I tried to hold him on my best side with total disbelief, none of this made any sense. I spent that night with Ciaran, talking to him and making the most of our final hours together. I spoke to God about Ciaran’s favourite toys, food, colour and all the things that made him unique.

Gillian Treacy’s victim impact statement on the death of her four-year-son Ciaran, who was killed by a drunk driver.

Conor Morrissey / YouTube

The view from here on James Larkin Road across the lagoon at Dollymount, the Wooden Bridge, to the city and the hills beyond is one of the most beautiful and iconic in the city. It’s now under threat because of a seawall which has sprung up at roughly the same speed as the Berlin Wall.

Dublin Bay resident Conor Morrissey on the sudden building of a seawall that he fears will block the scenic views.

GOP 2016 Debate Mark J. Terrill / PA Wire Mark J. Terrill / PA Wire / PA Wire

I do carry on occasion. Sometimes a lot. But I like to be unpredictable.

Donald Trump on carrying on gun.

Jim McGuinness Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

I was 12, heading for 13, and you’re never the same person again. And that’s being honest. All of a sudden your life just changes. You’re weak and you’re vulnerable. There’s this sense of freefall and trying to make sense of it. All I wanted to do was make things right for my mother and father, to get it back to what it was.

Former Donegal senior football manager Jim McGuinness opened up on The Late Late Show about the deaths of his brothers, Charles and Mark.

shutterstock_96390125 Shutterstock / whitelook Shutterstock / whitelook / whitelook

My biggest fear was delivering on the plane because, of course, she had no medical attention. I knew that her lungs had not been developed and that could have been her demise.

Jenny Drake told RTÉ Radio 1 about giving birth on a transatlantic flight.

Bobby Storey arrested PA Wire / PA Images PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

All of this tomfoolery, getting carried away with himself, making an eejit of himself, shows the need for practical-based, people-centred politics.

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams on the Taoiseach’s claims that the Central Bank governor warned the army may have been needed to guard ATMs during the eurozone crisis.