TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Three due in court over Alan Ryan funeral probe as 12 others released

Gardaí have been investigating events at the funeral of the Real IRA member Alan Ryan last weekend as well as activities of suspected dissident republicans.

Mourners and Gardaí at last weekend's funeral for Alan Ryan.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Updated 10.10pm

THREE MEN ARE due in court in Dublin tomorrow morning in connection with the invents at the funeral of Alan Ryan last weekend.

The three men – aged 33, 23 and 22 – were arrested by Gardaí this week along with 14 other people in connection with the events at the funeral of former Real IRA member Ryan last Saturday afternoon.

Twelve others including 11 men and one woman have been released without charge tonight. Earlier two men who were also arrested as part of ‘Operation Ambience’ were released without charge.

Gardaí carried out the arrests and a major search operation earlier this week which saw imitation guns, mobile phones and computers seized.

They are investigating the possession and discharge of guns at the funeral for Ryan in north Dublin last Saturday which saw the attendance of a number of men and women dressed in paramilitary-style uniforms.

More than 200 Gardaí were involved in the search operation and an incident room was been set up at Clontarf Garda station.

The three men will appear before a special sitting of the Special Criminal Court in Dublin tomorrow morning at 11am.

Earlier: 15 people still being held over Alan Ryan funeral

Read: Ryan family to make formal complaints about gardaí and newspapers

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• @Bang Bang – if there are 3 stations within a mile of your mate why didn’t he walk to one to report his bike stolen?? What a waste of Garda time requiring an emergency vehicle to call down to take a report of something which had already happened and that he could just report at one of 3 stations within a 5minute walk! God help someone being attacked or something while the Garda car is tied up taking that report!

• Very easy to slag the guards off for doing their job. When you need their assistance, will you be saying the same things?

• Agree..when my house was broken into 2 weeks ago the guards were at my door within 2 mins of the call…they do a great job with not a lot of thanks for it…& no I’m not a copper:)

• Sorry for your bad luck. But, compared to the German police in the 70s and the British police in the 80s, the Irish version is fairly benign. I’m not belittling your situation, but to really see how badly the police system works, we have to look at yearly statistics. Overall, how effective are they? Your situation ma be the norm, or it may be an exception to the norm. I don’t know, and I won’t damn the police to charges of incompetence, laziness or corruption until I do.

• Thanks,although they were still in the house when I rang the guards so that’s probably why they came quicker,anyway i personally think they do a good enough job with the resources they have,although hate those traffic cops,they’d do their own mother..!!

• @ Tara -an embarrassing apology; my comment was in answer to Bang Bang. But I’m sorry to hear of your bad luck, and it’s good to hear that you felt the Gardai were on your side.

• Wannabe republicans are just drug dealers trying to hold their turf!!

• Keith
    Go to the top of the IQ class and obtain your failure card.

• No. But a lot of files being sent in cakes apparently.

• Ronan 15/09/12 #

Why are we still talking about this loser?

• Well said Shane.if a crime has already been committed why call the guards to your house to take a report??call down and make a report.unless it is a case where they need to call down to collect evidence – burglary etc

• Paramilitary uniform I’m referring to (not obvious I admit) !

• Hugh, have I a comment in the moderation queue or something? It hasn’t appeared and I don’t think I had any inappropriate words in it…

• At Adam, you don’t have a clue, you should be down at the crusty camps in mayo, sweating it out, complaining about anything going and not wanting or willing to work a day in your life

• Any files being sent to the DPP?

• Why is it that a FG government care more about a republican funeral than a murder by a gang of drug dealers. nA SF councillor where I was growing had his family including school children followed by the special branch while six door down the road a major heroin dealer operated a massive import and selling of death and misery to hundred of the local population. nThe area is now nearly a murder a month three square miles no go area. nThe FG minster for justice at the time just as the present one cared more about the prospect of SF / republicians becoming a real alternative for the irish people than their care for the big farmer and rich west Brit party that they represent. nIf shatter took the drug dealers of the streets Last murder would not have taken place. n

• marty 14/09/12 #

This is nothing but a PR exercise. Only created to keep Alan Shatter happy.

• Great to see Alan Shatter wasting Garda time and taxpayers money on his publicity stunt.

• Typical shite response, anyone in uniform at that circus deserves to be locked up

• I’ve a mobile phone , a lap top, a pc and the bin lids have toy shooters here in the house. Should I call my brief before old bill comes knocking? How were the paparazzi at the front door of these houses when those lads were getting nicked? This was a PR exercise from day one. But in defence of the bottle stoppers, the shots werent fired in public as I hear it

• Nick. Call the Gardai? You mean make a booking. My friends motorbike was stolen, It took the Gardai over FOUR (4) hours to arrive. It happened on North Strand so there were 3 stations all within less than a mile from the scene. Most times a waste of time.

• I’m down here.

• Is that you with the glasses?

• @bang bang why didn’t your friend just walk a mile to the Garda station and report it instead of waiting for 4 hours?

• Which language are you speaking? Mixture of cockney slang thrown in with some “Talla” gutter talk. Are you 12? If you wish to be taken seriously on a discussion forum, grow up a bit and try and use an educated adult’s lexicon. Seeing as the majority of people are screaming at the Gardai to do something, they brought along the journalists to witness and record it. Those who were arrested are nothing in society and were not to be afforded any respect or privacy. Bring them on down here to Darndale and we will save the tax-payers the cost of keeping them in Jail. Let’s see how brave these “republicans” are now when in custody – they will be spinning and ratting out their “comrades” in order to cut deals as Mountjoy and Porlaoise are no please to be during a recession – they are cramped and smelly, not much room for their tracksuit collections.

• Albert you are a big fat liar, first you say look at you first comment and you are only new on this, and then look down further and you say your on fb a while and you only have your friends on your real profile. Now you are a smaller person, with a smaller mind, and a tiny dick without balls, first you were from Doneameade now your from Darndall. You are a coward with a big mouth and a liar.

• @Denise,

I see the lardy lass from Derry with the poor English, general spelling and grammar is back! I thought myself and the other posters had seen the last of you considering we ran you off the boards last week.? You and that other 32csm head, Kerron O Luain, broke records for the most red thumbs on posts! you must have put 10 Euro credit on your mobile this morning, or was it sterling you used?

You see people like you need to quit while your ahead. Being from Derry, you have no idea how Dublin and it’s surburbs are laid out. I live in Donaghmede ( pay attention to the correct spelling ) as Alan Ryan did. I work in Darndale, Belcamp ( again pay attention to the correct spelling ) with addicts in recovery. Alan worked in the same area, although his day was spent doing much different things.
      You see Denise, Darndale, Donaghmede, Killbarrack, Clearwater, the Malahide Road are all within a 10 mile radius. You can walk to each in about 10 mins from the Malahide Road.The areas have their difficulties and the local people do their best to get past them. The are also has another scurge, or at least it did until recently. I thought you 32csm heads could at least be bothered to learn the geography of the places you spend so much time in down here? Then again, your just a harmless lass, with an Irish flag on her facebook page, a few BEBO / you tube links to RA music and you think your a sympathiser ! So funny!

And one last point – if you weigh over 15 stone, don’t go onto forums calling others fat. I see from your FB pages you could do with a good gallop through the fields of Derry and a month away from Mcdonalds!

Bye now Denise, and do yourself a favour, invest in a good Oxford dictionary, your a bit old for all that teenage text speak, it’s so not cool when your over 40!

• After being afraid to arrest them whilst firing in the air. As far as i know that is a criminal offence in Ireland.

• One thing for sure they were not afraid unfortunately for the police they have to consider innocent people no matter if it’s a group or criminals shooting at a funeral or a car chase sometimes they have to step back.

• Waste of time and money arresting them. Tryin to save face after the funeral.

• Very disappointing stuff from the Gardaí.

Assuming that those 3 people that are due to appear in court and everyone else was released, that means that at least 2 of Alan’s brothers were released without charge by my deductions. It’ll be interesting to see the names when/if they are charged.

What evidence did they have in the first place to arrest the brothers? It seems very harsh to arrest them in a time of grieving if they’ve done nothing wrong. They look to have been arrested by association.

This will severely damage relations between Gardaí and locals in the area. The family are very well liked locally. Why would they trust the Gardaí now?

Add New Comment