TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Fianna Fáil, Sinn Féin call for clarification of Merkel and Kenny communiqué

Sinn Féin described the outcome of last night’s contact between Merkel and Kenny as a reiteration of a previous statement, while Fianna Fáil called for ‘plain language’.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel, left, speaks with Irish Prime Minister Enda Kenny during a round table meeting at an EU summit in Brussels
Image: Geert Vanden Wijngaert/AP/Press Association Images

SINN FÉIN AND Fianna Fáil have given their viewpoints on last night’s joint statement from Taoiseach Enda Kenny and German chancellor Angela Merkel affirming Europe’s commitment to splitting Ireland’s banking and sovereign debts.

In their statement, Merkel and Kenny said Ireland was recognised as a ‘special case’ because of the way it was frozen out of the bond markets, a fact which would be taken into account. They also agreed to end the ‘vicious circle’ of banking and sovereign debts.

Sinn Féin’s finance spokesperson, Pearse Doherty TD said that point of the Taoiseach contacting the German Chancellor was to seek clarification of her earlier statement regarding retrospection of the arrangement whereby the ESM could re-capitalise banks directly.

Clearly, Enda Kenny achieved no such clarification, but just a reiteration of the statement of 29 June 2012, which promises nothing more than a examination of ‘the sustainability of the adjustment programme’.

He described the joint communiqué as showing “that no progress has been made in dealing with our debt, which is unsustainable”. Deputy Doherty added that “the sooner the government admits that and starts to act in the interests of the Irish people, the better”.

Fianna Fail

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil leader, Micheál Martin TD, said the joint statement “appears to be positive”, but he called on the Government to outline what it is actually seeking from Europe.

I am glad that the Taoiseach put aside his dismissive attitude from earlier in the week and eventually telephoned Angela Merkel today to speak to her directly about the importance of Ireland’s legacy debt being examined and dealt with by the EU.

“There is an urgent need for confidence to be brought back into this process,” said Deputy Martin. “It is crucial that plain language and clear explanations are used so that the Irish people are fully aware of what the Government is seeking and what is agreed at EU meetings.”

Saying that the communique is “far from clear”, he described it as reaffirming the June agreement, but added: “German sources have spent the last week briefing that this agreement did not mean what the Irish Government had claimed it meant”.

We need to hear, in straightforward language, what the Government is seeking and what Europe means when describing Ireland as a special case.

Read: Ireland is a special case’: Kenny and Merkel commit to improving bailout>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• Clarification?! But ive already bought a new car on the basis of what they said last night!!

• I think Paul Sommerville is right though when he said this morning that when we finally stopped being “good little boys” and actually stood up to the Germans, we did get this announcement, which is a row-back from Merkel’s “no retrospective application” statement.
    In fairness though, we’re not going to get any clarification until the final deal is actually hammered out.

• I would like to hope Merkel and Kenny are genuinely commitment to splitting Ireland’s banking and sovereign debts, but alas my gut tells me this is more lips service.

• I just feel so special!!

• I personally think it’s all smoke & mirrors in order to deflect things coming down the line in connecton with previous referenda and an upcoming budget.
    I base my views on my distrust and the fact that I have no confidence or trust in the present (or last) government/s.
    If I’m proven wrong I will be happy to eat humble pie and freely admit I was wrong but given the track record of previous deception and false promises I doubt it.
    I am seriously conserned and quite worried about the approaching winter and where the money to just keep on the breadline and maintain my health is going to come from.
    At this moment in time I am debt free but I can’t see it lasting .
    Oh yeah,I did not upgrade cars,houses,buy property or have holidays. Nor do I smoke and I do have the occasional pint but apart from that I (like hundreds of thousands) did not dabble in the so called tiger but we are paying for those that did.

• @ Declan we want a deal of some sort of relief. Nothing is funny about the nations misfortune. I think every party even fianna fail to a lesser extent wants what’s best for the country. Hoping it’s a good deal with no strings attached. Noonan and Kenny need to keep pushing.

• Ireland is a special case alright. A gombeen nation led by the gombeen king.

• It must be bad if the waffle elite can’t understand it!! let me break it down!! ye managed to bankrupt yer country and we the self proclaimed euro elite will make ye jump through as many hoops as we like!! Is that clear enough!!

• Oh Boy – is that all you can say. Dont deal with the subject but the messenger?

I take it you are happy with the manner the Germans are running rings around our Taoiseach – and all you can say is how dare Sinn Fein should point that out!

Stop deflecting attention Oh Boy and deal with the weakness of your government and their FF tutors

• Proably a Labour or FF stooge..they’re a wee bit nervous of the gains eating into their seats. A major case of arsebite from over-exposure to the electoral elements.

FF want ‘clarification’??Micky Mouse martin no longer fluent in Bertiespeak?

• I think its pretty clear. Germany are willing to renegotiate the terms under which the Irish people are paying back european banks losses for them. Kenny and noonan will then hail this renegotiation as a victory

• “Your place or my place, Frau Merkel?” ” Remember, Herr Kenny, your place is actually my place. Ve do own you.”

• Interesting that the Irish Times and the other rag the ”independent” are hailing this as some kind of victory for the master debater Kenny…. HOW!? She said that they would think about Ireland, THINK!!!………….NO COMMITTMENT ANYWHERE IN THAT STATEMENT.

• is this the same kind of clarity as when FF ministers came out 1 by 1 saying we do not require a bailout? Or SF saying earlier in the year that there’ll be a second bailout and an early budget?

• O’Reilly, Ireland WILL need a second bail-out … you are an Ostrich, if you believe otherwise.
      This is not an emotive response, even FFG members are saying it. But as usual, with all the hype and spin from the Government ministers, you would think everything is fine. In reality, we will have used up the 64 billion euro bank loan by mid-way through next year in payments to the external Euro Banks. Where will we get the money to continue paying the Euro banks debt, unless we get another bailout… otherwise the Euro Banks will have another crises, and we don’t want that to happen, do we???

• Wow the FG?Lab stormtrooper defenders are out in force today. Must be learning from the germans

• Pity Mr Martin wasn’t so intent on seeking public clarification of Frau Merkel when she cynically and with full intent publicly stated that she believed Ireland hadn’t the capability to repay loans as a consequence of bank bailouts which forced us out of the markets and into bailout territory, a sly move designed to protect her people from accepting responsibility for their own bank gambles.
    No backbone then in standing up and demanding a response on why a foreign head of state should be allowed comment on a nations finances, no backbone asking why Frau Merkel was so intent on us adopting her country’s debt……maybe if he had to be so vocal then the rest of Europe mightn’t have us tagged as a reckless country who sought a bailout and are now back looking for charity but true to form him and his FF circus meekly accepted the debt doled out to us unfairly, they rolled over like the cowards they are.

• I think Sinn Fein have a lot of things they need clarifying themselves before they go after anyone else

• Can you clarify that one, Oh Boy?Are they nibbling your Labour arse?

• Sorry am I missing something here. The article above is about Irelands Debts and in particular what was discussed between Merkel and Kenny. Sinn Fein had no input either way regarding Merkels Statement or Kennys statement. Oh I see. You were taking a cheap shot. Ah well sure go ahead. Thats all Fianna Gael and labour have been doing to us since going into office.

• I for one am getting tired of the monotonous insinuations and swipes at Sinn Fein everytime they are mentioned on here. They are trying to move on from the past, yes I admit it is a questionable one but time to cut them some slack. I have never voted for them but fully intend to in the next election. Oh and by the way I am university educated, have a good job and live in a fairly decent area….before the usual ‘working class school dropout’ chestnut is thrown at me.

• Adams was trying to get a word in edgeways on Morning Ireland..Section 31 hasn’t gone away you know.

He was closed down as usual. Those who prevent peaceful change make violent change inevitable. Thats what created Provo IRA and SF, as it created Finianism originally.

• Wow only 25% believe Enda’s version of Merkel-Gate and that Ireland will get a deal.

while 52% say he is telling porkeys

• The question was loaded.

Yes we will get some sort of deal that wont resemble anything like Enda and Co were trying to sell us since June.

Thing is -it will now be sold as something far greater than what it is. Banks and bondholders will still be paid. We’ll still suffer the cuts and austerity to ensure they do get paid -while the liars and cheats drive on.

• Am I barred for revealing the churn scam?

How the loans cycle through with interest increments at each turn without ever touching the productive economy in whose name they are raised.

How it is organised white-collar crime, as was the bundled split-derivative bad-debt slurry.

Third time trying.

• The 52% are correct because he’s been telling porkeys since he came to power.

• wonder what enda had 2 to do to get her change her mind doesn’t bare thinking about..

• She didn’t change her mind. She reiterated a statement from June but did not reverse anything she said on Friday. I suspect the fact they are both in the same grouping in EU parliament had more to do with attempt to make Kenny look less stupid.

• Read the statement parties – there is no clarification – just spunspiel so Enda and Eamon can trip the cabinet into the early part of next year to secure those meaty, luxurious tax-payer paid ministerial pensions.

• Is that what you want Don? I often wonder if people on here want us to get even more shafted than we already are!!! Its all about a pension with Enda…Course it is…Thats why at 61 yrs of age he is bothering his arse!!!! He could have retired on a pension whenever he liked!!!! The nonsence that is talked on here

• Its an awful pity for the country that Enda didn’t retire ….. We are the ones suffering his incompetence now. Don’t forget a large minority ion his own party wanted to get rid of him, not long before the election, but it was Hogan and Reilly that saved his bacon. The three muppets should all be banished for treason IMO.

• Changed profile name i see Cal…Still my rules still apply…I want no contact with you in any form..
      Thanks
      D

• Just to clarify Deputy Martin, I think this government are trying to sort out your parties mess and as for Deputy Adams requiring clarification…can you clarify what exactly happened to Jean McConville…..

• what the F**k has that to do with this article. have you alzheimers? Your wandering.

• Sorry Christopher…have I touched a raw nerve? It’s just that since SF are so big on looking for clarity on issues, I think they need to honest and clear on a hell if a lot of issues to do with themselves and their party members….out of curiousity would you not like to know what happened to Jean McConville and whether or not certain parliamentarians had anything to do with her “disappearance”? Clarity if you will I suppose?

• Will you also be so vocal in calling for clarification from the British government on exactly what role or input they had in to colluding with loyalist terrorists who planted car bombs in Dublin in the 1970s.. just one example of the dirty tricks they engaged in. Terrible things were carried out on both sides but people like you never seem to know or care about what the British army, RUC etc inflicted on innocent folk. I not condoning any violence but I do try to take a balanced view on what happened in Ireland during the Troubles.

• Cant help feeling that both SF and FF were exciting and happy at the thought of Ireland not getting some sort of deal last week in order to in some way damage the Goverment!!! I thought we had moved beyond that! We all want the best for Ireland and I don’t think anyone would argue that some right down of debt would not be useful, however why do i get the feeling the Mr Doherty , Adam’s and Co…are praying that we get nothing so they can push their own agenda!!

• How can you damage a government already a resembling a train wreck.

• Or course they were hopeful no deal would be done. Its not in FF’s or SF’s political interests if a deal is done because that gives the Government some vindication for their approach to the debt problem as opposed to the Opposition’s stance. And when some form of deal emeges you can be sure that they will be immediately out saying that the deal isn’t good enough as well.

Opposition politics is about criticising everything the Government does. Both these parties want do well in the next election and history shows that you don’t do well in an election by praising your opponents.

• Clarification sought by FF and SF – this is some joke. Neither of these parties understand the meaning of the truth. FF swore the IMF were not coming and SF are unable to answer any question with any degree of coherence.

• Indeed but the same can be said for the current government.

All the political parties are exactly the same everything they do or say is based on short term gain for themselves and no real thought about long term gain for Ireland.

• Patrick,

If FFG/Labour won’t answer the questions posed by SF… please tell me, will FFG/Labour answer questions from me … average Irish citizen, or what crappy waffle will FFG/Labour use to not answer legitimate questions at that stage?

We saw Pat Rabbitt yesterday complaining people were talking too much about the crises, and that it was getting too much coverage in the media.
      Is this FFG/Labour way of not answering questions about the reality of our situation?

When FFG/Labour have to resort to attacking SF rather than answer the illegitimate questions posed to them, then you know the country is in real trouble.

Add New Comment