TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Allowances, Reilly and property tax on the agenda as Cabinet returns

The Cabinet meets for the first time in over a month today amid growing tensions between the two coalition parties over Health Minister James Reilly.

Will ministers be all smiles when they meet today?
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE CABINET MEETS this morning for the first time in 42 days following its summer break and ahead of what is sure to be a turbulent autumn and winter in the lead up to the Budget.

Top of the agenda are likely to be the future of Health Minister James Reilly or more specifically ministers views on the decision to announce €130 million cost-cutting measures in the health service last week which has drawn widespread criticism.

Amid efforts to table motions of no confidence in Reilly by the opposition and concerns about his failure to notify the two junior ministers in his department or anyone else in cabinet of the HSE announcement last week there is likely to be a frank exchange of views among ministers this morning.

Over the weekend comments from Labour chairman Colm Keaveney went as far as to suggest that the junior coalition partner was preparing for a snap election.

Although his views are apparently not shared by Labour ministers according to Fine Gael minister Leo Varadkar who accused Labour figures of “throwing shapes”.

Also likely to cause some friction among the two parties in government is the long awaited review of 800 allowances that staff in the public service are entitled.

Public Expenditure and Reform Minister Brendan Howlin is likely to present to cabinet a recommendation that allowances continue for existing staff but be cut for new personnel.

Cuts to allowances were expected to realise savings of some €75 million this year but this would now appear to be in doubt.

Other allowances up for discussion will be those paid to teachers for supervising yard duty and based on their qualifications. These allowances were suspended earlier this year and a final decision on whether they will be reinstated or scrapped altogether is expected to be made.

Proposals for the forthcoming property tax are also likely to be discussed as the government seeks to put some shape on the new tax and how it will be implemented ahead of announcement in the forthcoming budget.

Other budgetary matters, the promised referendum on the rights of children in the constitution and the increasingly thorny issue of abortion ahead of the publication of the review by an expert group on the matter could also be discussed today.

Read: Opposition parties to force Dáil vote of confidence in James Reilly

Read next:

Comments (66 Comments)

• I hope they face realities. They need to lead by example and cut the cost of senior public servants including themselves before touching home help. If they do not, how can we have any faith in democracy as exercised here. We have leaders who either cannot or refuse to make hard decisions. It is not hard for them to reduce services for the disadvantaged. How can the politicians and hospital consultants look themselves in the eye each day taking so much disadvantage in society? The cabinet should talk about that.

• Democracy is all about numbers and 300000 plus is a big number to start annoying also its a lot of money to take out of the economy a lot of businesses would suffer so its not really a matter of public servants others will be affected

• December’s budget will put an end to our country.

The majority of us (people and businesses) are near financial breaking point. We cannot take anymore.

The government will not realise this until the consequences of their actions are irreversible, and that will happen in the very near future.

RIP Ireland

• Unfortunately,I’m afraid, I agree with your comment….

• Creamy
      The economy is actually growing.
      Taxes on income are higher than expected.
      Exports are ahead of last year.
      House prices in major urban centres actually rose last month.
      Now if you stopped your whinging and allowed positive sentiment to replace your constant negativity then things may improve at a faster rate but when I see your postings I automatically reach for the antidepressants.

• The people who voted Fine Gael and Labor will regret their decisions when these taxes come into force. At least I will be voting Sinn Fein because they will abolish property taxes and replace them with a tax on the rich.

• Ryan'O 04/09/12 #

Agree creamy the budget will be the breaking point for the majority of working families. @ Tim I do regret voting FG!!! Tipping point is nearly there

• what happens tim when Sf gets in to power will they have a real investigation in to our banks and our judiciary or will sf go under the bed like this goverment as well

• Creamy unfortunately thousands of people have passed the breaking point years ago. They live begging welfare for emergency payments and urgent needs payment to CWO’s and in the majority of cases the answer is no because there is no more money left. Poverty is alive and well. The capuchins in Dublin have thousands lining up for food parcels every day and they are people who once worked and have families and paid all their bills and now they are reduced to poverty. There are people in this country who have never even touched the reality of a Recession. Recession is a word they see in the paper. It has no impact on their lives whatsoever and we all know who they are. basically the wealthy and the very well paid. Try tell them their are people suffering and they will laugh at you and say where, who. Denial because it suits them and because they know their interests are protected by the powers in government. Their way of life is promoted while ours is eroded and degraded.

• @ MIck. Denial is a dangerous thing. Its not Creamy bringing the bad news its REALITY.

• Well Tim I voted for Labour the last time and yes I am sorry now as things in government haven’t changed so next time I will vote Sinn Fein for the same reasons. We’ll just have to see will they do as they proposed.

• @Mick think you might wanna check some of those stats from an independent source,government sources at best are less than truthful.

• Howlin’s a complete coward. Cutting allowances for new personal will save virtually nothing, when there’s recruiting embargo in place! As for Labour preparing for a snap election. Complete lies. They have to know that after this governments term, they are completely finished. They’ll hang on and milk the system as long as possible.

• Where do they think folks are gonna find over a minimum of 1k a year for property tax. Seriously. This one is a deal breaker.Most folks I talk to don’t have spare cash for that tax.

• Good to see that some of the commentators on here are also back from their summer holidays!

• O’Reilly really needs to go.

• Fine Gael and Labor really need to go. When people finally vote for alternatives like Sinn Fein / Independents, maybe Ireland will do better in terms of the €600 million bondholder payment made yesterday. On October 1st, there is a €1 billion bondholder payment to AIB.

• Also SF pledged to abolish property taxes and water charges.

• Thats kind of obvious now Dec. People are saying that for a long time.

• Tim those figures are just staggering and depressing when you think they are basically coming from the health service and the welfare of the poor. From the poor to the rich. What a disgusting unequal society we live in.

• Tim. Unfortunately there is no alternative. SF and the independents don’t have the real numbers to win an election. This country is CRYING out for an alternative but nobody is taking the lead in uniting the independents with one economic policy. If a party started up in the morning that declared they would cut government pay, lucrative un earned pensions, long holidays, unvouched expenses I would vote for them or even run for them. We are taking from the poorest in our society and giving it to the clueless politicians & faceless fat cats of Europe. Enough is enough. This madness has to stop.

• When is the Oireachtas back? The British Parliament was back yesterday.

• What have the sitting times of the British Parliament to do with us unless you are suggesting harmonising the way we do things with them. In that case we should immediately reduce all Social Protection payments by fifty per cent to bring us in line with them. That includes pensions and unemployment benefits. That could save us a huge proportion of the nineteen billion spent under this heading very year.

• Mick were you ever unemployed or on the dole. If you were can you please tell me how you paid a mortgage, food, bills, etc etc because if you think by halving this to 94 euro and still paying the same bills then its obvious you were never unemployed and dependant on welfare.

• @Mick did you miss the point on purpose or do you use every chance you get to berate another commentator just for kicks?

• My statement was on about how British MPs are already back to work while our TDs have another two weeks holiday. The MPs also got their holidays after our politicians.

The TDs should be back to work in the Oireachtas this week.

• Kenny has done a good job of worsening and prolonging the debt, and abusing his power. When he no longer has to spend his time campaigning, he can/will manage to destroy the economy entirely, as is his Blueshirt agenda.

• “Stop playing the man and not the ball,this was a mess left to us by the previous government”etc.

The type of BS we are bound to hear in defense of O Reilly!!!

• As I said in another article which a young FGer refused to answer to. Why did Reilly stand back and allow the new HSE chief to give himself a 30,000 pay rise when the HSE is 500m over budget? That’s not inherited from FF, that’s pure corruption and ineptitude. FG can use the inherited excuse all they want, it doesn’t change the fact that the man on the street knows they are corrupt and can’t do the job.

• That 30 grand pay rise really sticks in my gullet.
      By the way he defended the cuts he looks like he is a real hard arsed twit as well.
      We’re not going to like this man at all

• What about their own allowances ? Are they up for discussion along with Counsellors?

• The kop 04/09/12 #

can someone please tell me when will this crowd stop blaming the last crowd….. they have been in power for 18mnths or so and all we have got is worse off with more taxes and cuts and the constant blame game…. Not another red cent and labour’s way seem to be a very distant memory at this stage…..

• I actually do think so many of the allowances are defunct. Supervising in the yard? An allowance for that? Really? There was another stupid allowance on that list the journal published before, what was it, eating your lunch on the premises allowance? Worth about 2eur. There are definitely some more cuts that should be made I recognise the validity of some of them, like supervisor allowances, but could they not go a step further and cut allowances completely for all grades above EO. The moratorium on recruitment means that this cut is just window dressing.

• Todays Cabinet meeting should be open to the public or at least televised!

• The savings made by cutting allowances for new entrants to the public sector will be minuscule as there is currently an embargo in place. Even when this embargo is lifted, the numbers will still be rather small. It is a symbolic gesture. Does no-one else foresee future industrial unrest within the public sector (especially when the CPA runs its course in 2014) between the haves and have-nots?

• Enda Kenny; How long more till we qualify for our Ministerial pensions? Eammon Gilmore; Not long more Enda! Enda; Ok lads, lets hang on till we qualify and call the Election. We are going to get a good kicking anyway, so we may as well live in comfort on our pensions before the legal retirement age. Meeting over, Good luck lads!

• 800 allowances!!?? Can we get a list please? I (fortunately) am an employed taxpayer. If the civil servants can claim expenses from a list of 800 allowances I would like to do the same, that might allow me to lessen my tax burden.

• Robert 04/09/12 #

Why do they need 800 allowances it’s a joke they need to scale this down immediately for everyone…not just for new entrants

• It seems as though they are all spineless. It is easy to talk the tough talk but I can’t remember. Single occasion when they have taken on a ‘vested’ interest, be it senior public servants, Unions, ‘Special Advisors’ etc and faced them down and delivered savings.

It seems to be that all ‘savings’ are targeted on those that have no real voice and power. Pick on the weak. So much for ‘we are all in this together’. There seems to be some elements who have no idea there is even a recession!!

• I worked in a school and at the staff meeting I used to try to tell teachers (who didn’t even live in the city) the horrible poverty and social deprivation of certain parts of inner city Limerick and one day this horrible arrogant pompous blonde bimbo of a teacher screamed at me across the table that she didn’t live here and never saw this poverty or deprivation when she was driving in her car. I tried to explain that it is hidden in estates out of the main view of the public but that the local papers were full of the stories on this issue every week to which she replied she didn’t read those papers. So at that stage I knew what i was dealing with. She couldn’t care less about the poverty of the kids lives and only cared about her own salary. She told everyone out boldly that only went into teaching for the holidays. The sad thing her attitude was shared among other teachers and not shared among non teaching staff. So my point is these people get allowances for stuff that is so trivial its obscene. They need to cut them out and if a teacher don’t like it then vacate the position and give it to one of the thousands of unemployed teachers out there who would be glad of a steady full time permanent job regardless of allowances.

• @ Chris Gardiner

I can assure you that those sentiments are not shared by the wider teaching profession. My colleagues and I are acutely aware of the extremely difficult circumstances faced by our students and the dire poverty that some of them face. That is why we run initiatives like a breakfast club in the morning which is supervised (without pay) by teachers. We run a book rental scheme to help alleviate the financial pressures on students. We also run (without charge) an after school social club to help our students to interact with each other so that they’re not just going home and roaming the streets. To generalise as you have done is nothing short of a slur on the wider teaching profession and is based on one staff room and is a poor reason to scrap allowances. Most of us work hard for our students and do our best for them. Not for credit and most certainly not for an alleged exhorborant lifestyle that most people seem to think teachers live. It’s our job and most of us do it well.

• The Kenny legacy.
    Spread the people with new taxes on those who have worked hard and saved while Brendan Howlin sanctions €1.5bn worth of allowances paid to public servants.

• Sorry Tim when did that happen. I have been away for a few days and must have missed it . You say that Minister Howlin has sanctioned the payment if one and a half billion Euros worth of allowances to Civil Servants . Please tell us more?

• By the way, I think allowances are an anachronism and have little or no place in a modern public sector. There should be rewards but they should be based on merit not longevity.

• I agree with this. I worked in this sector and saw daily constant abuses. One teacher used to head into Brown Thomas and do her shopping while supposed to be supervising and her SNA was left to carry the can. I actually saw this SNA in tears one day after the teacher tore her apart after she questioned where she was as she could not cope alone. Needless to say the Principal did nothing even when I formally complained this teacher. She had a list of complaints as long as your arm but he was afraid to confront her as her sister was a solicitor so she carried on abusing her position (she was also vice principal).

• Just on the subject of School Yard supervision. If teachers will no longer get paid for this they obviously will stop doing so in my opinion this will put more pressure on school principals who will no doubt have to pay someone else to do this task and thus further deplete their school budget which charges will in turn be passed on to parents.

• OU812 04/09/12 #

How about keep the allowances, but slash them by a third?

Or maybe scrap the term allowances & have them as vouched expenses?

• I think a reduction in allowances is manageable, but a cut for new teachers and not for other? Why did I bother paying 6000 for a masters if I get no recognition alongside someone who barely scraped their degree? In private companies, staff get incentives for upskilling. Why not in the public sector? While I do agree some of the allowances are a joke…qualifications particularly for teachers, nurses, etc. to improve their work and should be rewarded.

• Does anyone know if today’s cabinet meeting is being broadcast over the internet?

• Pure rubbish

• good to see them back:)

Add New Comment