TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Defence Forces make device safe in Donnybrook

The Army Bomb Disposal Team says the viable IED was made safe early this morning.

File photo.
File photo.
Image: Brian O'Leary/Photocall Ireland

THE ARMY BOMB squad was called to an address in Eglington Road, Donnybrook, Dublin last night after the discovery of a suspicious device.

The team was arrived on the scene shortly before 1.30am today and the viable Improvised Explosive Device was made safe.

No controlled explosion was carried out and the device was taken away for further examination by the Defence Forces team.

The Army Bomb Disposal Team has been called out 200 times this year and last night’s operation was the 40th viable device made safe by the team so far this year.

Read next:

Comments (5 Comments)

• Eglington Rd is residential, was it targeting the house of a developer or banker?

• 40 So far this year? Hells bells! I’m astonished at the lack of kerfuffle about this stat. We’re a tiny country with a tiny population but this is the 40′th viable explosive device made safe this year, and yet hardly a word about it. Even at the height of “The Troubles” I don’t think there was anything like that level of foiled attempts to cause explosions.

Presumably the authorities have some “intelligence” on who is behind this rash of bombs but I’ve yet to hear anything remotely like informed speculation in the media. Who is it? Republicans? Possibly. Loyalists? Hardly. Citizens disgruntled at their futures disappearing before their eyes? Possibly. Islamists? Possibly. Have I missed anyone?

• Yes, basic lowlife criminals putting a crude yet viable device near/beside/in the proximity of another lowlife’s car and/or property resulting in loads of garda and army, scene sealed off, media coverage and a nice message been sent. Pathetic

• Aydo 11/10/11 #

Ye seems highly suspect to me.
    No one gets blamed, ever, no one is caught, none go off.
    Fear mongering tactics?

• The army or guards should reassure the public with an explanation of all these devices. Drugs, politics, what? And why don’t they ever seem to go off?

Add New Comment