TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Shatter criticises Martin for not cancelling debate following garda death

The Justice Minister said that he had attempted to delay the motion until after Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe’s funeral, but Micheál Martin refused.

Minister for Justice and Equality Alan Shatter
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Updated 12.40pm

MINISTER FOR JUSTICE Alan Shatter has criticised Fianna Fáil, and in particular the party’s leader Micheál Martin, for refusing to postpone a debate on an Garda Síochana.

He made the comments during Dáil Éireann private members’ time yesterday, where the members were discussing a motion on An Garda Siochána. In response, Fianna Fail’s spokesperson on justice accused the Minister of being “disingenuous”.

The motion comes ahead of the closure of 100 garda stations nationwide tomorrow. In the motion, Fianna Fáil calls on the Government to immediately review these closures, put a stop to the reduction in garda numbers and cuts to specialised units, and to reopen the garda training college at Templemore this year.

Motion

Minister Shatter said that it had been suggested to Fianna Fáil to postpone the debate on the motion until after the funeral of the murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe, which takes place today.

We wanted to avoid a situation where, by engaging in political controversy at this difficult time, this House might be seen as insensitive to the great grief people are suffering.  We wanted nothing to happen here which would detract from a united message being sent from this House: a message of condemnation of those brutal killers who were solely responsible for Detective Garda Donohoe’s death and of our complete support for the efforts of An Garda Síochána.

Minister Shatter said that approaches were made to Fianna Fáil last Sunday, but it emerged on Monday morning that Deputy Martin “was unwilling to postpone this debate even for the few days that would have been involved”.

He said there was a “general disappointment” about the situation, and that many would see it as “ill-timed opportunism and politics as usual”. The Minister said that the motion is “in the circumstances, inappropriate, deeply cynical and totally dishonest”.

He also said that any attempt by Fianna Fáil to criticise him as Minister in terms of the resources allocated to the gardaí “shows a level of breathtaking hypocrisy”, mentioning the Fianna Fáil-led government’s National Recovery Plan 2011 – 2014 in 2010.

Speaking about the cuts, Shatter added: “It is nothing less than scaremongering to suggest that reducing that network to 564 Garda stations is a cause for fear and anxiety.”

Response

In a response to TheJournal.ie, Fianna Fáil spokesperson on justice Niall Collins said:

It is disappointing that Minister Shatter never passes an opportunity to be disingenuous.  However, in this case he has surpassed himself.  At no stage did the Minister or anyone from his office contact me or any of my colleagues to request the postponement of this debate.

The Government chief whip’s office contacted the Fianna Fail whip about the issue, as per normal procedure. “If the Minister was genuine in his stated desire to postpone the debate, surely the obvious thing to do would have been to postpone the closure of these garda stations? Instead, the Minister prefers to grandstand in the media and seek to undermine democratic debate,” said Collins.

He added that he had consulted with garda representatives about this motion and its timing, and “they were determined that the debate not be closed down and that it proceed as planned this week”.

Read: €50,000 reward offered for information in garda killing>

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• Shatter is some man to be criticising alright.

• How quickly we forget Fianna Fáil is the root cause of these cuts in the first place.

• David with the greatest of respect me and my colleagues don’t wont to hear from fg on this very difficult day, we are sick and angry enough so please don’t make it any harder on us. Let us have this day without fg using his murder to score points. Thank you

• Ah David, the old FG battle cry of the bold boy in the school yard. “An older boy told me to do it”. The public have wised up to it and it doesn’t wash anymore. What FG are doing with policing goes massively beyond what anyone else ever proposed. It’s slash and burn tactics. Your lot didn’t “inherit” this economy, ye campaigned for it, made promises for it, spent a fortune going up and down the country to convince people ye knew what to do with it and what now? We see that 2 years on there isn’t a single original thought in this Government. Trying to play the FF card is a gross admittance of defeat in this debate, that ye know ye have it wrong but that ye’ve gone too far to turn back now. Tell your leaders that they won the 2011 general election but that it’s now 2013 and it’s time to stop fighting it and to actually start governing for a change.

• David you and all other FG supporters seem to forget that when FF were recklessly spending the country’s money FG were calling on them to spend more and criticising them when they didn’t. This isn’t an opinion it’s a fact. There isn’t one good political party on this island.

• What’s amazing about this whole episode is that no one in the media has called out Shatter for quite breathtaking cynicism – attempting to use the murder of a Garda to avoid legitimate criticism of his policing policy!

• “How quickly we forget Fianna Fáil is the root cause of these cuts in the first place.”

Interesting take,seen as Fianna Gael are continuing where Fine Fail left off.The only reasonable question left to ask is,when are they going to merge into one party ???

• Shatter asked to postpone the debate but refuses to postpone the Closure of 100 Garda stations in return.

• Get Shatter out.

• Bloody fool ! Complete support for the Gardai ? Who believes that ? This minister could not direct traffic let alone run a department . He is looking after his own interests as he knows he has left the Gardai force down and is trying to shaft them . I bet that man will have the gall to attend the funeral today of a brave Garda who gave his life in the course of duty . Bloody hypocrite !!!!!

• Fools 30/01/13 #

Shatter is away with the fairies.

• The Garda Representative bodies were consulted and they gave their approval for the debate to go ahead. Shatter is out of his depth yet again. The reason he wanted this postponed is that the closures are due to go ahead tomorrow and by postponing the debate, he would be hoping that it’d be too late to do anything about the closures anyway. He must think we’re all fools to fall for his delay tactics.

• If there was a national vote in the morning on whether these stations should be kept opened or closed…I believe it would be a over whelming yes to closure. I looked at the list of stations and also looked at the level of crimes noted / recorded in them in the last 3 years… In this very culture that got us where we are now!!! These stations are not remotely necessary and add no value except to give idiots a reason to argue.
      On the issue of repecting the Funeral…The Minister is correct…. No question but FF are trying to use the media in this matter which i quite frankly find sickening..

• Declan, you’re way out of line. The GRA themselves called for the debate to go ahead and no amount of Fine Gael bluster can gloss over that. With respect the stations, some of them, like Lahinch given its proximity to Ennistymon, should indeed be closed. However, there are some that are just farcical. In East Clare for instance they are closing some stations and downgrading others. The net result being that during peak crime hours (late evening/night) the nearest Garda is over 40 minutes away and that’s if there are enough Gardaí in the area to cover any and all situations. Also, you have completely misjudged the national mood. As stated there are case for some closures but the slash and burn cuts the Minister is advocating goes over and above and sends the wrong message to criminals. And finally, this motion was put down last week, before the murder of Garda Donoghue and, as stated above, the Gardaí themselves have said the debate should go ahead. Suggesting otherwise is more party political guff designed to hide the shameful, thoughtless manner in which stations are being closed without public consultation. I suggest you do more “research” into the list of stations Declan.

• Tony 30/01/13 #

@Declan – John Parker ex president of the GRA, Damien McCarthy current president of the GRA, Willie Gleeson, President of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, John Redmond, deputy general secretary of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, Mick Carty former head of the Garda Emergency Response Unit and Former garda assistant commissioner Martin Donnellan have all come out and said that Shatters proposal is flawed. Using your argument that areas with low crime rates shouldnt have Garda staions is moronic – the policing model that has served this country well over the years is one based on interaction with the community, where a relationship of mutual trust and respect is developed.

• Facts don’t matter in Declan’s small world
      he’s a party man and will support them at the expense of everyone else

• jrbmc 30/01/13 #

Just do your job Shatter!! The one your paid to do !!

• It’s time to wake up. As far as I can see this man is in a world of his own. It’s seems to me that no one else’s option counts but his.

He stated yesterday that burglaries overall where down, I’d like to see the figures on aggravated burglaries, bet those figures are well up..

• peter 30/01/13 #

I do not like this mans attitude.

• Red Ed 30/01/13 #

I’m glad to see Shatter finally under pressure for his stupid callous decisions but unfortunately as it always is in Ireland a good person had to die before anyone stood up to him. Resign you pleb!

No doubt this mans funeral will be highjacked by politians scrambling for the front row and the cameras. They all should be banned from attendance.

RIP Adrian Donohoe

• Typical FG logic, lets debate this issue on the closure of 100 Garda stations, after they are closed, christ tonight these guys don’t have a brain between them.

• “We want nothing to happen here…” Sounds about right..

• Lu 30/01/13 #

Shut up shatter, do your job. Stop closing Garda stations and start recruiting!!!

• Should have seen the reception he got in Dundalk. Rank and file were kept clear of him so they could not clearly express their high levels of morale to the minister

• FF consulted with garda reps & they want this debate to proceed.

This is an important & urgent issue.

If Minister Shatter is serious about postponing debate, he should postpone the closures

• May Detective Garda Donohue’s Burial take place today without mush attention paid to the Politicians attending This is a state funeral for a man that paid with his life doing his Job which he always did to the best of his ability and locality as most of our Gardai do paid for that locality with his life May He rest in Peace and may his wife,children,Parents,family,colleagues and friends and the wider community give him a dignified and honourable funeral which he deserves
    Shatter is only the minister for justice in the job for a very short time and lives up in the clouds and has no idea what the REAL MEN AND WOMEN on the streets are facing on a daily basis.Has Mr Shatter ever walked the beat with any Member of an Garda Siochana or. Prison Officer No he has not and no he is not interested either Mr Shatter should resign or be kicked out but if Shatter any decent bone in his body he would resign but hey I think he will not cos he really has not got a clue because just like the rest of the cabinet they are so out of touch with reality they will never know what it is like to walk in the shoes of such honourable men and women who are The Gardai Siochana
    Rest in Peace Detective Garda Adrian Donohue

• Wow,I am honored. Between declan cotter and rodgers telling me how crude I am in calling shatter “inspector clueless” . *sigh* thank’s for noticing folk’s and please pass on my compliments to your idols …. Actually no,hold that thought and pass on my disgust as a tax payer and voter.
    Just as an aside,are you surfing the internet on taxpayers property and time. Just asking.

• Fianna Fáil are angry. Angry because it is their job to make all these cuts. Remember when Niall Collins TD called for a GRA spokesperson to be fired by the Garda Commissioner in 2010 because he had planned to criticise the then government for cuts to the Gardaí.

Nobody does hypocrisy quite like FF.

• This whole thing smacks of political opportunism on the side of FF and FG. Shame on the lot of them.

• Good move to close down these Garda stations which manned by one garda on desk duty who could do nothing, and open just a few hours a day.

• Sinead,
      You are 100% right… Thank God somebody has some logic..
      D

• Oh right, so just to point out that that:

1: they are not all stations with 1 Garda, some had up to 30.

2. The rural areas, that had the stations closed are now left without 24hr Garda cover, as some areas the closest 24hr Garda station is up to 70km away.

So how is this a good, thing??

• The vast majority of them had one garda sitting there for a few hours a day signing forms. No investigative work could be done or patrols as the station had to be manned. They won’t be missed.

Unfortunately the fact some garda stations are going to be around 20km away is a fact of living in rural Ireland with low population density. At least with the closure of these stations, the garda can patrol the area rather than sitting behind a desk.

• Patrol with what exactly? As we have been informed before there is no money to purchase a Garda car for this Garda to patrol. More than likely there was no Garda car at this one man station, and the only interaction the local people had was to go to the station or the Garda on the beat in the local village.

20km where are ya going examples:

1. Leenane Co Galway to close closest 24hr Garda station Clifden 34KM

2. Hollymount Co Mayo, to Close 39KM to Castlebar nearest 24Hr Garda Station

3. Malin Co Donegal, to Close nearest 24hr Garda station Buncranna 26Km

So this is just 3 examples, so driving to a emergency incident or a home been invaded, its going to take at least 15mins for a Garda response, that is if the Garda car is not out at the furthest point of their area.

• Fianna Fáil are angry. Angry because FG aren’t closing as many Garda stations as they would have.

• Could there be a hint of antisemitism here?

• Yes I believe the Politicians(most but not all) treat the hard working people of Ireland with pure contempt but then they(politicians) have the gall to demand respect so I would imagine you could be right a Great detective Garda died on duty

• Abuse again Mike.. Nice… such a nice bunch of people on here…

• @ declan cotter…. Just to quote yourself “cop on…. Load of b****x”
      Hahaha… And you call me crude you troll.Now crawl back under your enda blanket.
      Are you trolling on taxpayers time ?.
      Now do yourself a favour and save yourself a lot of hassle and don’t reply to me again.

• Mike
    You are calling the murder of a Garda while carrying out his duties as payback to the Minister for Justice! That’s a new low for you and shows why Mr Shatter asked for the debate to be deferred until after the funeral.

Add New Comment