TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Taoiseach, Noonan, Howlin among ministers claiming unvouched TDs’ expenses

While the country struggles under immense financial pressure, eight cabinet ministers take expenses that can’t be audited.

Enda Kenny and Michael Noonan are among eight members of the Cabinet who claim unvouched TDs' expenses.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY and seven members of his cabinet are among the 66 members of the current Dáil who do not vouch for their TDs’ parliamentary expenses.

Kenny and seven full ministers claim the vouched expenses to cover costs like improving their office accommodation, buying signage for their constituency offices, and distributing newsletters.

The unvouched expenses are not subject to audit by Oireachtas authorities, though TDs opting to allow their expenses to be vouched are entitled to claim more reimbursements under the Public Represntation Allowance (PRA) scheme.

TDs claiming unvouched expenses under the PRA system are only required to certify that the funds they receive are used for the correct purposes – but are not subject to audit unless they seek reimbursement for any spending over €12,000 a year.

This means that ministers – whose telephone and travel expenses are already covered by their government departments, and who can use prepaid Oireachtas envelopes to distribute newsletters – are beyond investigation as to how they spend the money.

The six ministers, aside from Kenny, who claim the unvouched expenses include the finance minister Michael Noonan, public expenditure minister Brendan Howlin, jobs minister Richard Bruton and social protection minister Joan Burton.

The others include communications minister Pat Rabbitte, justice and defence minister Alan Shatter, and arts minister Jimmy Deenihan.

Junior ministers

There are also six junior ministers who do not vouch for their expenses, including junior finance minister Brian Hayes, Gaeltacht minister Dinny McGinley, small business minister John Perry, innovation minister Seán Sherlock, sports minister Michael Ring, and equality minister Kathleen Lynch.

Former junior minister Willie Penrose, who quit the cabinet in November over plans to close an army barracks in his constituency, also opts to claim the unvouched expenses.

Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett received unvouched expenses for the time between his election in Dún Laoghaire and his appointment as Ceann Comhairle two weeks later.

TDs from the two government parties are far more likely to opt for the unvouched expenses, with 42 of the TDs elected on Fine Gael or Labour tickets opting for unvouched expenses, compared to 13 of the 53 opposition members.

Of the 13 TDs who sit on the Dáil’s Public Accounts Committee, only eight vouch for their expenses. The members who don’t include the committee’s vice-chairman, FG member Kieran O’Donnell, and Fianna Fáil’s public expenditure spokesman Seán Fleming.

The others are the Fine Gael pairing of John Deasy and Simon Harris, and Labour’s Michael McCarthy.

This is how much your TD claimed in expenses in 2011 >

More of our analysis of TDs’ expenses for 2011:

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• These people have the neck to tell us were all in this together. We all need to grow a pair and tell them where to go.

• I didn’t even know there was a small business minister. They just make up these positions don’t they. Minister for Tea and Coffee. Minister for Video Games

• And they have no shame knocking ur doors for ur vote……i know what to say to them….???????

• There are far better people behind bars than these crooks, they are supposed to help this country

• jimbo 03/02/12 #

clowns,robbers and twats

• Love that transparent governmenent and a new way of doing politics.Thank God Enda reformed it all like he said he would.Oh wait….

• If these people are spending tax payers money then they should be made to account for every penny. They should publish their expenses online and show the receipts for any expenditure, what was purchased, from who it was purchased and only items directly relating to their work as TD’s should be admissible. I don’t see how it can be right that anyone who is spending public money should somehow be allowed to do that in secret. Given the greed and dishonesty that prevails in Irish politics and culture it is imperative that TD’s, Senators and all public and civil servants who have access to the public purse are monitored and audited on their spending to ensure that they are not misusing public funds for personal gain. Unvouched expenses are not on, in the modern age of technological advancement surely it’s not too much to ask that the boneheaded gombeens who the Irish people put into power every 4 years or their crony’s and apparatchiks master a computer and put their expenses online so the public can see what it is their elected representatives are spending THEIR money on? Oh but wait, this is Ireland we are talking about, where accountability is a dirty word and the cute hoor is king of the bog and much admired by the very fools who are being who are screwing them for every cent the can get their grubby hands on.

• pagan 03/02/12 #

A yes.We must all take the pain they tell us,while at the same time robbing us blind for so called expenses.I have to travel 130 km to and from work each day.Can I clam expenses for what its costing me in petrol and tolls.
    Next time round when there’s an election ill run for a seat.Sure its easy money and you don’t have to vouch for your expenses.Just ask any TD.

• Sure who watches them, only their own, self regulation. A revolution will only bring reforms, anything else is a waste. We voted for change and we got the same, but worse. Will the irish ever get up, stand up and fight for their rights?

• Is it any surprise Sherlock is in that list? He’s censored his expenses and wants to censor the internet, if only he censored his gob.

• Mark 03/02/12 #

So the public expenditure minister Brendan Howlin is looking up everybody else’s a**e to save a few euro but couldn’t be bothered letting us know what he’s spending our money on
    What a w***ker

• Michael Noonan cutting people pay while he can claim unvouchered expenses up to 12,000 is a fu#king disgrace.Joan Burton hunting people on the dole down is up to the same trick,she has a cheek to acuse people on the dole of fraud you robber.

And as for that fuckwit Enda Kenny yes you did look like the french president’s pet puppy you bitch.

For what died the sons of Roisin?

• Mr joe…those scum really took us to the cleaners……cant wait for the next election…oh im not gonna bother cos they mite b the same….scum scum scum da lot o dem

• That Joan Burton I thought was semi ok,but now after this I’m filled with rage!!
      I’d sooner go into town and listen to a flock of crows fight over a bag of supersmac’s chips,they would certainly make more scence & be easier on the ears!

• I like thousands of others worked hard all of my adult life. I receive just under €12,000.00 per year from the state in the form of “state pension” (contributory). Some of these fucking obscene leeches draw up to 5 times that amount in expenses. Where is the sharing of the pain in that??

• If I tried to claim over €4k expenses in a month, WITHOUT even a receipt not only would I be fired but I’d be put into St Pats & the key thrown away!

• Read the full list of expenses paid yesterday and given the struggle forced on us by ‘outside forces’ these expenses (particularly the unvouched ones) border on pure gluttony. Fair enough if they have been genuinely accrued but the unvouched ones are an abuse of power befitting this corrupt poltical system..if only we were all able to do it.

• Do as I say not as I do !!!!!
    Continuity F F rolls on

• Where the frack is Eamonn Gilmore and his green jerseys I want to know???

These are not leaders lads. If they were they’d lead. Stop looking for leaders and find a bit of inspiration instead.

I’ll meet ye at the Household Protest March in the month of March and we’ll all #OccupyDáil and make some real changes.

• Take thousands of euro tax free from someone and you’re a criminal. Take thousands from the taxpayer and you’re a politician. Can anyone tell me what the difference is?

• Well said ” fergus lynch “, that day WILL have to come

• D Burns 03/02/12 #

Absolutely right. Let’s get the ball rolling people. The Irish Congress of Trade Unions are the people to see about organising a protest. You can contact them here:

http://www.ictu.ie/contact/

If enough people make their feelings known, we can take this to the street and demand the respect that we deserve from our Govt.

• And sooner rather than full term is up It is down to us to get them out And demand an end to the party whip give the party members more of a voice with the party by removing the fear of expulsion from party via party whip

• Snouts in the trough, continuing a noble irish tradition of gorging on the backs of taxpayers. Secretly if possible but in public if needs be, Dem Deutchen Volke are about to bring this to an end. Trouble is the rest of us are going to suffer for the sins of the few.

• Its bad enough that they claim these outrageous vouched expenses but then to have no accuntability! When will we wake up and run these crooks out of office? Everyday its something worse. Im getting so incredibly angry reading about their constant abuse of an obviously ridiculous system. God help any of them that come canvassing my door in the future.

• And that’s why it’s totally right for everyone in the country to ignore tax laws. Lie, cheat, evade, avoid alls fair

• pigs & trough

• Jaysus Mark. You would make a spin doctor blush. How in the name of common decency..that they obviously do not possess, defend their expenses. Their overpaid as it is. Throw in expenses et al. That makes a princely sum. There are people going hungry. There are people living in the dark,the cold unable to pay for simple basic things. Yet these scum are doing this.

• Couldn’t agree with you more. The cut to the Exceptional Circumstances payment is defended by Mr Gilmore who claimed that people are using it to have “lavish communions”. Today the papers are full of the story. Are people outraged that another helping hand is being cut? No, they are outraged that people actually get help with their childrens communion in the first place. This divide and conquer method must stop. The fact of the matter is the vast majority of people who apply for an exceptional payment are in dire need. They need their esb bill paid or else they will be cut off, they need a cooker to feed their family, they need a washing machine so they don’t have to go to the nearest river. But Eamon Gilmore has managed to sensationalise once again. And divert the attention. And why? Because the expenses details were being released today.

Then he has the cheek to come on the radio today and defend policitians who claim €50,000 in expenses on top of their wages each year. How dare the people think these politicians are living the high life with this money. How dare we is right. But the person who gets a one off payment to help with their struggles?? Abhor those people – they’re the ones robbing you. I voted Labour in the last General Election and I am so ashamed to admit that. But the local elections are coming. And in time the General Elections will come. I hope, at that stage, more honest people put themselves forward for these elections. Give us some hope.

• Great comment Fiona. I became a member of the labour party last year. I thought they were about real change. But alas, i was wrong..very wrong. Last week i sent my membership back to them. My own principles and values would never ever allow me to support the party anymore. Gilmore plays Kenny’s puppet so he can hold onto power.

• I know how you feel Lesley. The Labour party have let us down badly. Unfortunately FG are looking after their voters more. They have been least affected by cuts. :-(

• And where are the watchdogs from the opposition ? This is the one common Ground where they all close ranks. Sinn Fein especially are strangely silent the one time you would expect Mary Lou, Gerry, and Co. to stand up and be counted. I wonder why ?

• You apply for Job seekers u fill in more forms than ur passport…and if ur an MP or minister u get more money just showing up every morning…JOKE…and believe me half of them have the same standard education like the average citizen…

• When is this madness going to stop? Go to http://www.quinn-anglo-story-blogspot.com for more scandalous revelations about how billions of euros of taxpayers money was needlessly squandered.

• made 03/02/12 #

Absolute fucking whankers and parasites, how in gods name can they keep getting away with this. A total of ?6 million claimed in expenses in 12 months and they tell us to keep paying more and more! it’s time to STOP.

• Civil disobedience is the only way.Pay no mortgages,esb,gas,phone,tolls,rte.They cant cut off the whole country.Hit their pockets.

• Civil disobedience needs to be organised so that it has a masive effect……. not just a few refusing to pay but a majority refusing to pay….so I am all for this idea but who is going to organize it……..we need strong people and strong voices….

• Why is it time after time we take this treatment from these scum who inflict more pain on us day after day while they rob and rape this countrys finances or whats left of them, we continually bury our heads in the sand while these so called representatives of the community help themselves to not only a high salary but almost half again in expenses.In libya, Tunisia, Egypt etc people were treated with disregard , disrespect and indifference, and look what happened, Noonan, Kenny, and Co are all sucking this great Island of ours dry and we just watch idly by and let them do as they please,Enough is enough , these idiots should be held accountable for every cent they get paid and be 100 per cent answerable to us their employers,,we need action now.

• “ALLOW” revenue to audit??? and get a higher allowance fo this? why are these people above the tax law of this country? disgraceful

• John 04/02/12 #

Two words. Pigs. Trough.

• I rest my case your Honour.

• This has always been the case, old news

• I wish some of you nitwits would read the article before commenting. Those TD’s who opted for unvouched expences get a minimum amount and no more. Those who opt for the vouched expences can claim an unlimited amount.

• The recent enquiries by journalist as to whether individual Ministers including the Taoiseach held private healthcare policies was met with a stony none of your business by some respondents and with the current levels of trial by media on the subject of expenses and allowances I think such a response was appropriate.
    In all forms of employment and indeed unemployment there are additional payment benefits and allowances. One example is the agreement of the Revenue to certain employees claiming fixed and unvouched expenses for luncheon and overnight accommodation. Trade Union members and professional employees can get allowances for mebership fees and clothing expenses.Even in the case of unemployment benefits there are additional allowances for such extraordinary expenses like First Communions.
    All of these claims and benefits are approved and transparent but the appalled shock of journalists over Members of Dail Eireann making legitimate claims while using language and headlines to whip up public anger is to be decried and regarded as unprofessional. After all these allowances are not something new and recently discovered by clever use of investigation techniques.
    This is a time when we need to support our parliamentarians rather than witness the sharpening of pitchforks and encouraging an assault on our democratic institutions in exchange for cheap headlines.

• Paul 03/02/12 #

I for one was not aware of the levels of expenses being claimed. Considering they’re current wages how can these expenses be justified? And unvouchered expenses are understandably going to raise public concerns.

• this is a time when we need to support our parliamentarians…… oh dear god.

this my friend mark is a time we need to support each other, as were gettin F All support
      from our ‘parliamentarians’….parliamentarians me arse

there’s no more than a handful of them that deserve that title.

• Running for local office any time soon Mark?! Support our parliamentarians my hole, when they repeatedly attack the vulnerable and struggling citizens, while protecting the well-off and comfortable under the guise of ‘for the country’s own good’ malarky. And Democratic Institutions? Sure they’re all the fcking same.

• Mark, given that we are their employers, we have every right to know exactly what expenses they are claiming and what for.
      As for private healthcare policies that is also our business because we have a right to know that they are not claiming that as an unvouched expense.
      Unvouched expenses may be approved but they are not transparent.
      This is a time when our parliamentarians need to show leadership but sadly they seem to have neither the will nor the ability.

• I’m not a journalist but i’m disgusted at the level of expenses these leeches are claiming and i’m pretty sure i’m not the only one.

• In exchange for cheap headlines?? Excuse me, but as a citizen of this Island I think I have a right to know what money these parliamentarians, as you call them, are getting on top of their extortionate wages. What amazes me is if you go through the list of payments some TD’s just seem to claim the exact same amount each month. What is happening here is there is a high end limit for unvouched expenses these people can claim and they are just claiming that amount each month. On top of a €90,000 salary. And the annoying thing is secretaries etc that they claim the expenses for are members of their own family. It is disgraceful and sickening. No other person in Ireland gets paid just to turn up to work. If you do not produce a receipt for something you cannot claim for that expense. Why should the Government be any different? Because they are the Government? Because they are somehow a higher ranking citizen than the rest of us? Because that is how they perceive themselves. There is a recession going on, and regardless of how long this system of claiming expenses has been in place, NOW is the time to say here, hold on lads, we’re kinda taking the piss here.

I for one would prefer the Government to get rid of these expenses (people don’t care right now if the sign about their constituency office is a bit grubby) and re-direct that money to help the low income families who are struggling with everyday life. This Government need to get a grip on reality.

• Yes the do have private medical insurance

• How much is annual Bus/Rail ticket?…..its not 12 fucking grand which by the way 148 euro more (annually) than I get on my SW Invalidity pension.

Why cant they just dip into thier 90,000 euros and buy one. Its a fuckin disgrace what we the people allow them to get away with it. And we do, we sit here everyday arguing among ourselves the rights and wrongs of the financial crisis and the waste of space government, instead of going out and marching on the dail demanding they call both a referendum and a general election.
      Fine Gael are and always have been a gang of right wing fascists and as for Labour, well thier nothing more than a bunch of chameleons that change colour and tack everytime they are elected.

• CMD 03/02/12 #

Mark aren’t you the good little blue shirt now! Sounds like your lining up to get your own snout in the trough.

• D Burns asks us to contact ICTU so as to organize a protest march! As if any Union is prepared to risk upsetting a Government that’s adhering to the Croke park agreement. The silence from the likes of David Begg and Jack O’connor is absolutely deafening!!

Add New Comment