TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013
Twitter

Twitter

A microblogging site allowing users to share what they are doing with others. Entries are called 'tweets' and are limited to 140 characters. The site was founded by Jack Dorsey, Evan Williams andBiz Stone and was launched in 2006. The company has 141 employees and over 190 million users.

# twitter - Thursday 7 March, 2013

‘For us, there is a fundamental value in anonymity’ – Twitter at Leinster House today

The Joint Committee on Transport and Communications heard from representatives from both Facebook and Twitter today.

# twitter - Wednesday 6 March, 2013

Facebook and Twitter representatives to appear before Oireachtas committee

They will speak to the committee about social media, cyber-bullying and harassment.

Rabbitte: ‘Bullying didn’t come in with the advent of the internet’

The Minister for Communications was speaking about social media before the Joint Committee on Transport and Communications earlier today.

# twitter - Tuesday 5 March, 2013

From The Score How Twitter reacted to Manchester United v Real Madrid Twittersphere This post contains images

How Twitter reacted to Manchester United v Real Madrid

Joey Barton on Southgate-gate and much, much more.

# twitter - Monday 4 March, 2013

From The Score Here’s the Twitter reaction to the departure of the Off The Ball team Otb

Here’s the Twitter reaction to the departure of the Off The Ball team

Ross O’Carroll-Kelly, James Downey and Barry Glendenning are amongst those lamenting the news.

From The Daily Edge Here’s how Charlie Sheen documented his trip to Dublin Winning
From The Score Dancing hurdler Michelle Jenneke rehabs injury in very Michelle Jenneke way Viral This post contains videos

# twitter - Sunday 3 March, 2013

From The Score O’Gara dropped from Ireland squad: Here’s the Twitter reaction Twitter This post contains images

O’Gara dropped from Ireland squad: Here’s the Twitter reaction

The hashtag ‘legend’ features quite prominently.

# twitter - Saturday 2 March, 2013

Gerry Adams: I don’t mind if people think my tweeting is weird

“You have to think of the sensitivities of teddy bears,” Gerry Adams told TheJournal.ie this week.

# twitter - Thursday 28 February, 2013

From The Daily Edge 10 most annoying replies the Pope got on Twitter Pontifex This post contains images

10 most annoying replies the Pope got on Twitter

Did @Pontifex really quit because he kept getting sass tweets?

# twitter - Wednesday 27 February, 2013

From The Daily Edge 11 things girls like, according to the internet All The Ladies Love This post contains images

11 things girls like, according to the internet

Some of these are true. Some are not so true.

Contempt action to be taken over photos of ‘James Bulger’s killers’

Individuals who posted material purporting to show the notorious Jon Venables and Robert Thompson face prosecution by the British government.

# twitter - Monday 25 February, 2013

From The Daily Edge The 13 best tweets about Oscars 2013 Oscars

The 13 best tweets about Oscars 2013

It’s not real until you read the tweets about it.

Tweeting the election: How one TD really saw the 2011 campaign

Labour TD Aodhán Ó Ríordáin kept a diary recording all his tweets – and what he really thought – throughout the 2011 election campaign. Two years on from the election, he shares some of them for the first time.

# twitter - Sunday 24 February, 2013

From The Score How Twitter reacted to Scotland v Ireland Anger This post contains images

How Twitter reacted to Scotland v Ireland

The site’s users were not impressed by Ronan O’Gara, Declan Kidney and Paddy Jackson, among others.

From The Score Crossmaglen star Oisin McConville announces retirement from GAA Wave Goodbye

Crossmaglen star Oisin McConville announces retirement from GAA

The player confirmed the news on Twitter earlier today, ending a 20-year playing career with the side.

# twitter - Saturday 23 February, 2013

From The Daily Edge The 11 people that wreck your head on social media We All Know One

The 11 people that wreck your head on social media

If you’re a hashtag addict or an Instagram obsessive, we’re looking at you.

From Business ETC Meet the company which will only accept Twitter CVs Careers

Meet the company which will only accept Twitter CVs

And it’s for applications for a six-figure job.

# twitter - Friday 22 February, 2013

From The Score Snapshot: Is there anything Cristiano Ronaldo can’t do? Novel Idea

Snapshot: Is there anything Cristiano Ronaldo can’t do?

The Real Madrid star tweeted a pic of himself as a pilot earlier today.

The 9 at 9: Friday

Good morning. Here are nine things to know as you start your day.

Oireachtas committee wants to hear your issues with social media

Transport and Communications joint committee has launched a public consultation process to explore the use – and abuse – of social media. (And you can participate through social media).

From Business ETC Zendesk security breach affects Twitter, Tumblr & Pinterest users Hacked

Zendesk security breach affects Twitter, Tumblr & Pinterest users

Some contact information for users was compromised when hackers attacked the customer support service, Zendesk.

# twitter - Thursday 21 February, 2013

From The Score How Twitter reacted to Martyn Irvine’s double medal success Twittersphere This post contains images

How Twitter reacted to Martyn Irvine’s double medal success

The site’s users were generous in their praise of the Irish cyclist.

From The Daily Edge Alert! Jeremy Clarkson is being really sound this morning Top Guy

Alert! Jeremy Clarkson is being really sound this morning

He’s helping to find an old lady’s stolen car.

# twitter - Wednesday 20 February, 2013

From Business ETC Apple hit by cyber attack, says no data was stolen Apple

Apple hit by cyber attack, says no data was stolen

“There is no evidence that any data left Apple,” Apple said as it confirmed an attack similar to one carried out on Facebook recently.

# twitter - Monday 18 February, 2013

From Business ETC Burger King’s Twitter page is hacked, gains 30k new followers Ouch
From The Daily Edge The 10 jobs we’d REALLY like to see at Facebook Poke Us

The 10 jobs we’d REALLY like to see at Facebook

We just want to make the world (i.e. Facebook) a better place. These are the positions they should be filling at Facebook HQ.

Chavez uses Twitter to announce his surprise return to Venezuela

Hugo Chavez has spent more than two months in Cuba for cancer surgery and treatment.

# twitter - Friday 15 February, 2013

From The Score Here’s how Twitter reacted to Jerry Kiernan’s interview last night Grants Debate

Here’s how Twitter reacted to Jerry Kiernan’s interview last night

The former Irish athlete has provoked a strong reaction from his views on the payment of grants to inter-county players.

# twitter - Thursday 14 February, 2013

From The Daily Edge 11 tweets from the world of Gerry Adams Gerry Tweets This post contains images

11 tweets from the world of Gerry Adams

They’re really not what you’d expect.

# twitter - Monday 11 February, 2013

Murdoch “considering” getting rid of “so last century” Page 3

The newspaper king made the comment following an online campaign by the No More Page 3 activist group.

How social media connected people in the US snowstorm

“I guess what’s better is that you are not sitting here waiting for the 6 o’clock news, waiting to find out what’s going on.”

# twitter - Sunday 10 February, 2013

From The Score Snapshot: The Dublin lads are ‘no craic’ on the bus back home Dublin GAA

Snapshot: The Dublin lads are ‘no craic’ on the bus back home

The side put in a hard shift against Kerry earlier today, and it showed.

# twitter - Saturday 9 February, 2013

From The Score Martin O’Neill: ‘Is James McClean maturing? No.’ Asking For Trouble

Martin O’Neill: ‘Is James McClean maturing? No.’

The Sunderland boss has criticised the Ireland winger’s decision to start using Twitter again.

From The Daily Edge Tweet Sweeper: Here’s what Brian O’Driscoll likes to eat Twitterverse This post contains images

Tweet Sweeper: Here’s what Brian O’Driscoll likes to eat

Our pick of the week’s tweets from famous people.

# twitter - Thursday 7 February, 2013

From The Daily Edge ‘Is this the Gathering?’: The very best #promnight tweets Prom Night This post contains images

‘Is this the Gathering?’: The very best #promnight tweets

Whatever happens, we’ll tweet our way out of this.

# twitter - Tuesday 5 February, 2013

From The Score Trapattoni hits back at Harte criticism Harte Attack

Trapattoni hits back at Harte criticism

“I know him. I saw many games,” an exasperated Trapattoni said in Malahide today.

How Twitter reacted to the Magdalene Laundry report Magdalenes

How Twitter reacted to the Magdalene Laundry report

From Enda Kenny’s non-apology to the record of previous governments, here’s what people on Twitter had to say about the Magdalene Laundry report.

From Business ETC ‘Facebook account would not be helpful to us’ – Ryanair’s new spokesperson Ryanair

‘Facebook account would not be helpful to us’ – Ryanair’s new spokesperson

The incoming head of communications Robin Kiely says that tapping into social media sites would require the airline to employ more people to deal with queries.

From Business ETC Half of Irish adults now ‘two-screening’ while watching TV Digital

Half of Irish adults now ‘two-screening’ while watching TV

A survey from Sky shows that almost 50 per cent of adults now text, tweet or use Facebook to discuss what they watch.