You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Calls for Michael Shine inquiry, Ukraine’s Russian incursion and Defence Forces retirement age.

GOOD MORNING.

Here’s all the news you need to know as you start your day.

Ukraine 

1. Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy has said his country’s push into Russia is intended to create a buffer zone.

West Cork

2. Two men have been charged following an assault in Dunmanway, Co Cork that took place on Saturday.

Abuse

3. A group calling for a public inquiry into one of Ireland’s most prolific paedophiles, Michael Shine, are breaking their silence for the first time today in a series of exclusive, in-depth interviews with The Journal.

Arms trade

4. Amnesty International has said “numerous governments continue to brazenly flout the Arms Trade Treaty rules” and that it is “leading to a huge loss of life in conflict zones”.

Passports

5. Over one hundred people have been charged for failing to present valid passports or IDs when they enter the State in the first five months of the year, new figures have shown.

Retirement age

6. The mandatory retirement age for members of the Defence Forces has risen from 60 to 62 today.

Chicago

7. Thousands of people will attend the Democratic National Convention in Chicago which begins today, as the party looks to capitalise on the wave of momentum it has experienced since Joe Biden announced he would not seek re-election.

Israel  

8. While in Israel to push for a Gaza ceasefire, US Secretary of State Antony Blinken said today that ongoing negotiations were “maybe the last” chance to reach an agreement to end the war.

Slingshot 

9. Irish researchers are among those involved in a first ever Earth and lunar spacecraft fly-by.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    May 2nd 2015, 1:17 PM

Fools.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    May 2nd 2015, 2:25 PM

Fick as tuck.

Mute The Irish Ranger
    Favourite The Irish Ranger
    May 2nd 2015, 3:17 PM

Flueless ehh… funts is what I’d say

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Favourite Jackie Culligan
    May 2nd 2015, 10:18 PM

Tis onshore with high walls, what’s the problem. they’ll get wet, big deal

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    May 2nd 2015, 10:26 PM

Jackie – there is water either side, it is a pier so they could be washed in to the sea behind them. You do it and leave your kids at home.

Mute Bernadette Bolger
    Favourite Bernadette Bolger
    May 3rd 2015, 8:41 AM

Cupid stunts.

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    May 2nd 2015, 1:23 PM

Ah Lads come on now, buy them an Xbox if ya want rid of em.

Mute Vinny Cooney
    Favourite Vinny Cooney
    May 2nd 2015, 1:26 PM

To call them gobshiites is not fair on gobshiites!

Mute David Carino
    Favourite David Carino
    May 2nd 2015, 5:23 PM

Sorry I’m sure he didn’t mean to insult you Vinny

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    May 2nd 2015, 1:20 PM

Gobshiites

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 2nd 2015, 1:25 PM

Some people just have no cop on at all .

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    May 2nd 2015, 4:00 PM

Some people are so stupid you would wonder how they even figured out how to have kids in the first place !!

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    May 2nd 2015, 1:24 PM

Great to see parents doing a splendid job taking care of their children…

Mute Ken McCarthy
    Favourite Ken McCarthy
    May 2nd 2015, 1:27 PM

But think of the amazing photos they’ll have for Facebook later, all those likes & crazy comments!

Mute Debbie McLoughlin
    Favourite Debbie McLoughlin
    May 2nd 2015, 1:59 PM

What about the lives they put at risk rescuing them if something goes wrong

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    May 3rd 2015, 4:42 AM

Yes Debbie you are 100% correct…..Surely it’s the duty of all parents to keep their children out of harms way, NOT to put them in harms way.

They should be named and shamed, if that is possible……Totally Irresponsible Idiots..

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    May 2nd 2015, 1:26 PM

People are at this again?? How stupid can u get…

Mute Niamhs
    Favourite Niamhs
    May 2nd 2015, 1:41 PM

For some people having kids is the first of many bad parenting choices.

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    May 2nd 2015, 1:34 PM

They should be taken into care – the parents, not the children.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 2nd 2015, 1:39 PM

I live in Howth and I wouldn’t go down the harbour today.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    May 2nd 2015, 1:47 PM

Genuine question: what would hypothetically be better for these kids – their mother and father who allow this OR a same sex couple who adopted them and kept them safer?

Mute were not jamming
    Favourite were not jamming
    May 2nd 2015, 2:00 PM

Do gays are better?

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    May 2nd 2015, 2:06 PM

‘Do gays are better?’ Ah hmmm, I don’t know…do explain be clearer?

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy

Who’s to say it wasn’t a gay couple?

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    May 2nd 2015, 2:08 PM

That’s why I said hypothetically.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    May 2nd 2015, 2:23 PM

But why did you even say it in the first place?

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 2nd 2015, 2:31 PM

@ Colin;
    Your comment draws some interesting parallels to an encounter that I had in work the other night.
    I work in a restaurant and these regulars come in. Now, these people are minted by most people’s standards. They’re also excellent customers who regularly frequent the restaurant. As a result, I, as a supervisor, am aware of how much these people’s custom impacts the business. Therefore, I know that I, as well as the waiting staff, have to put up with their “peculiarities”, essentially, they’re big supporters of Iona, massively Catholic and are virulently on the “No” side. They’re total homophobes, basically, despite their assertions that they have “gay friends”.
    So, the female customer is well into a rant about how “she wouldn’t like to raised by two men or two women because it would obviously affect her childhood development”. I decide to play the Devil’s advocate in the limited capacity that I could.

I asked her; suppose two drug addicts have a child, as they often do, would it not better that the child be raised by two gay parents as opposed to two drug addicts, given that the kid would be likely to emulate it’s parent and become another drain on society? I deliberately picked those words to appeal to their sentiments, but she dismissed this, saying, and I quote,
    “That never happens anymore, the children of drug addicts and alcoholics are always just taken into care and given to better foster parents”.
    I was dumbfounded, but knew better than to argue. How can you argue with one whose mind is so closed?
    The great irony is that these people consider themselves devout Christians. What happened to”love thy neighbour as yourself”?

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    May 2nd 2015, 3:24 PM

Toddle on paperboy. The adults are talking.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    May 2nd 2015, 5:04 PM

Yeah talking sh!te.. @ Colin Moron

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    May 2nd 2015, 5:26 PM

Just because you don’t understand something doesn’t mean it doesn’t make sense. Good lad.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    May 2nd 2015, 5:58 PM

I understood what you were trying to say but it was irrelevant and in quite bad taste too.. now take your silly comments elsewhere.. good lad

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 2nd 2015, 1:37 PM

I’m just pleasantly surprised that there are still parents who actually get out and do something rather than watching TV all weekend.

Mute Chris Bruton
    Favourite Chris Bruton

You get pleasantly surprised by 2 flies having a ride mid-air though.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 2nd 2015, 2:30 PM

And why wouldn’t I? Around us all is wonderment, if we open our eyes to it.

Mute Billy Cotter
    Favourite Billy Cotter

If it’s that dangerous surely the coastguard should close the area off

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 2nd 2015, 1:29 PM

In other news, don’t let you kids climb trees, cycle, or run. No fun allowed, by order of the government. How many kids have been killed in Ireland by freak waves?

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    May 2nd 2015, 1:38 PM

1 would be too many Alan that’s the bloody point!

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 2nd 2015, 1:50 PM

I know people have been swept into water in the Aaron islands, or anywhere off the Atlantic Ocean, but a national news story about Howth, just an excuse for busybodies to call parents stupid.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Robyn Morton
    Favourite Robyn Morton

Oh Alan, nobody is saying the kids aren’t to have fun. This is not about that. You try holding on to a kid, and keep your own footing, when you are caught off guard by how much force there can be in those waves. You get lucky, both of you just get soaked. Unlucky, you, or the child, or both get washed off the pier. Then what happens. Someone has to go in after you. Again, lucky, you’re rescued. Unlucky, someone DIES!

And this isn’t a national story about a little harbour in Howth. This is a reminder to stop and think before doing something stupid, endangering yourself and your children!

Mute Chris Bruton
    Favourite Chris Bruton
    May 2nd 2015, 2:07 PM

It was a recommendation by an expert, Alan – not an order. Get with it.

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 2nd 2015, 2:28 PM

That is not true, many people in the comments have called for the kids to be put into state care where over 12 children die every year (according to the Journal), much more dangerous than waves. I am not from Howth, I don’t know what these waves are like, but I encourage my kids to play sports, cycle, ride horses and fly planes, boys need some danger in their lives. The comments I see here make me feel, that the people here have never had a connection with their children, never really been with them in the moment, and not giving a damn what busybodies say. Maybe the waves are too high, but calling for kids to be put into care is sick.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 2nd 2015, 2:33 PM

I wonder why someone would make a comment like this one?

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 2nd 2015, 2:41 PM

Do you mean your comment or mine, if you are talking about your own comment, it is genius, it is almost like, I am seeing myself, writing a comment, but, if I can see myself writing a comment, who am I? The person writing the comment or the person seeing myself writing the comment?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 2nd 2015, 5:17 PM

Good points Alan.
    Remember that the latest cover-ups about child abuse are not of Church institutions either. So more children die in care in Ireland than are washed off piers.
    This is news?

Mute Claire Hegarty
    Favourite Claire Hegarty
    May 2nd 2015, 5:44 PM

Think about the coast guards risking their own lives to save these idiots.

Mute alltalk
    Favourite alltalk
    May 2nd 2015, 5:45 PM

totally agree….im not saying it’s the right thing bringing kids to howth today…….but at least the family are out together doing something…..and trying to have fun together…..give them a break…im sure we’ve all made bad judgement calls when kids are begging for a bit of craic…..

it must be great to be so perfect!!

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 2nd 2015, 6:43 PM

Well said alltalk

Mute lizzy
    Favourite lizzy
    May 2nd 2015, 11:24 PM

some of my fondest childhood memories involved near death experiences

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 3rd 2015, 9:26 AM

Love it

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 3rd 2015, 9:33 AM

I know. It’s so true!
    Who could ever forget their first self-sustained concussion?
    - Unless of course it’s linked to amnesia…

Mute alltalk
    Favourite alltalk
    May 3rd 2015, 11:14 AM

Ha ha definitely. I remember cousins of ours would come visit us down the country and their parents were so uptight……not allowing them jump too high on the trampoline…no climbing trees etc…
    on the otherhand my parents encouraged us to do everything and I must say it develops a sense if adventure alot of people don’t have these days …

my brother wasn’t great at school,totally adhd by these days standards not to mention dyslexic…He found it difficult. However my parents encouraged his adventurous side to be developed……..constantly out and about.every Sunday when most parents couldnt be arsed doing anything with their kids we were off on adventures with my dad..In forests..up mountains ..im the sea…all the neighbours in tow…….we would have definitely been the ones in that photo…….and no it never ended up with
    coastguards being called…

anyway.. my brother is now a fireman and a paramedic. got a degree in international world disaster management…European surf lifeguard medalist and internationally recognised big wave surfer…..

im just really glad for him that he grew up in a house where parents took a chance,had a bit of craic,connected with their kids and encouraged them to have a sense of adventure…

I know dragging them into the sea in rough conditions isn’t thde smartest thing…
    but neither is wrapping them in cotton wool

mollycoddled kids = paranoid adults

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 4th 2015, 9:10 PM

:-)

Mute Eddie Grady Grady
    Favourite Eddie Grady Grady
    May 2nd 2015, 1:31 PM

The kids should be taken off them how stupid is this no common sense what so ever.

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor

Maybe the Harbour Master should close the pier, not everyone is familiar with sea conditions and the dangers of powerful waves.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    May 2nd 2015, 4:06 PM

People underestimate the power of water and much too often they realise it much too late.

Stay well aware for the rough sea as every once in a while a larger wave will arrive and could drag you out to sea and you will not be able to do anything about it. If you get injured along the way you will more than likely drown,

Exposing ones children to this danger is criminal.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    May 2nd 2015, 1:31 PM

Gowls!!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 2nd 2015, 2:21 PM

By putting their children’s lives at risk the parents are also relying on the overstretched emergency service’s. Complete and utter mindless idiots

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    May 2nd 2015, 3:36 PM

Why would anyone want to go near Howth Pier on a day as dismal as today!!!!!! Even the Harbour Master stayed at home in bed!!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

3 counts of children endangerment and all the Coast Guard does is take pictures FFS!

Mute A.C
    Favourite A.C
    May 2nd 2015, 1:29 PM

@lesbehan how do you know this is all the coast gaurd did? Wouldn’t the idea of the pictures be to highlight to others the stupidity of these so called responsible parents! !!

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin

yea, why did’nt they film it

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    May 2nd 2015, 1:48 PM

LesBehan,

You are only aware of the 3 acts of child endangerment because of the photos. All the warnings in the world can be written,showing us what people are doing can help a lot more.

The person standing with their child under the wall waiting for a wave to come crashing over them must be up for a Darwin Award.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 2nd 2015, 2:03 PM

Howth Garda station is less than a 10 minute walk from where that picture was taken. My point is this idiot such be report to Gardaí and arrested for putting these children lives in danger. It’s not the children’s fault the guy is a moron but could easily lose their lives as a result of it.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 2nd 2015, 5:26 PM

And the Gardaí did what?

Mute Tom Smith
    Favourite Tom Smith
    May 2nd 2015, 3:20 PM

Can see the pier from the house and currently two people walking on the upper level. Guessing they are not Journal readers.

Mute fockoffski
    Favourite fockoffski
    May 2nd 2015, 1:39 PM

Probably couldn’t afford the water so they took them out for their weekly bath

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    May 2nd 2015, 1:45 PM

Oh would ye ever fockoffski

Mute fockoffski
    Favourite fockoffski
    May 2nd 2015, 10:48 PM

I tried but I didn’t have the hawk eye to see where I was going

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 2nd 2015, 4:59 PM

I have childhood memories of being in places like this on days like this and I love the fact that I have them.
    I remember worrying if the pier would be washed away. It wasn’t, nor were those memories.
    How sad to think that it’s somehow wrong for me to have them.

Mute Alan Moore
    Favourite Alan Moore
    May 3rd 2015, 9:31 AM

Your the man, Paul, well said. The peanut gallery are going to hate you.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    May 2nd 2015, 2:18 PM

Take the children’s allowance off them lads. No mercy.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    May 2nd 2015, 4:39 PM

You need a licence to own a dog, & Dogs in Distress come & inspect you, your house, & garden before entrusting you to take on one of their rescue dogs.

Pity those toddlers being put in harms way by their idiotic parents.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

3 counts of child endangerment and all the Coast Guard does is take pictures FFS!

Mute Chris Bruton
    Favourite Chris Bruton
    May 2nd 2015, 2:09 PM

Yeah, you said that already.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    May 2nd 2015, 5:38 PM

The coastguard shouldn’t bother issuing warnings – evolution is suppose to get rid of the idiots. Tough on their kids – but they have already inherited their parents genes – including the one that governs stupidity.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    May 2nd 2015, 7:04 PM

Darwin awards

Mute Hen Ri How Weird
    Favourite Hen Ri How Weird
    May 3rd 2015, 8:03 PM

Absolute click bate, I have walked this peir hundreds of times, the picture of the parent with his children is taken about 200 meters from where the waves break.

Mute Niall Doheny
    Favourite Niall Doheny
    May 3rd 2015, 12:52 AM

Handycaps !!!

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    May 2nd 2015, 6:10 PM

Idiots .