You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Maria_Janus via Shutterstock

Mountain walker found safe after going missing on Carrauntoohil last night

He rang the gardaí last night reporting that he had gotten lost on the mountain.

Updated at 11.55am

A WALKER WHO had been missing on Carrauntoohil, Co Kerry since last night has been found safe.

The man was located shortly before 11am this morning. He has been airlifted to University Hospital Kerry.

An alarm was initially raised after the man called gardaí yesterday reporting that he was lost on the mountain.

Kerry Mountain Rescue was dispatched to rescue him at around 8pm.

The man’s exact location remained unclear and Valentia Coast Guard used his 999 call to triangulate coordinates for the search, believing that he could be on the Black Valley side of the mountain.

The area was searched last night, however, the teams were unable to find the man.

The search was stood down at 1am.

“It was extremely cold, obviously dark, and with little else to go on we decided we would resume this morning,” Alan Wallace, spokesperson for Kerry Mountain Rescue, told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

The search resumed at 8am this morning. Valentia Coast Guard’s helicopter and a number of rescue teams were been dispatched.

The man’s car had been located in the Lisleibane area, five kilometres from Carrauntoohil during the search.

Yesterday, Kerry Mountain Rescue was involved in two separate operations on Carrauntoohil, rescuing three climbers.

Read: Stormy conditions to hit the country on Saturday

More: Man in court over fatal late-night attack on Irishman in Perth

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

85 Comments
    Mute Harry byrne
    Favourite Harry byrne
    Sep 10th 2015, 12:44 PM

Exponential growth,rising housing prices..Sure were could it go wrong at all lads

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:34 PM

” Growth (of my personal wealth) has been ‘exceptionally strong’ so far this year, but jobs and wages (for the Peasants) haven’t caught up. (and never will.) “

Mute Veronika Hladová
    Favourite Veronika Hladová
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:34 PM

I’m thrilled I made the move to Ireland , now I just have to figure out when the bubble will burst so I can jump ship in time

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:45 PM

Is that the Minister of Finance who sold all those distressed mortgages to foreign vulture funds along with writing off debt to a lot of dodgy companies and who is responsible for the fire sale of a lot of state assets. Yes indeed a great country to business in if the country’s finance minster is a bond holder and an investor in gold amongst other investments.

Mute Fiannaoicht
    Favourite Fiannaoicht
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:23 PM

Is he not entitled to invest his money any way he chooses?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:33 PM

If he wasn’t a Minister with vested interests yes but it’s pretty obvious where his interest lies and it’s not looking after the Irish state in its entirety. Correct me if I’m wrong but as a bond holder surely he wouldn’t want a write down for any bondholders, in my humble opinion the man is not fit for office.

Mute shane o malley
    Favourite shane o malley
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:42 PM

all this good news yet,, child poverty increased,working poor increased,hospital waiting lists increased, people on trolleys increased, crime increased,house prices increased,rental property increased,homelessness increased,suicides increased,mental health issues increased, go away noonan

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:42 PM

if the minister is the one who decides which of our national assets are sold, how low the price is and which companies get debt write downs , then no , he cannot invest his money any way he choses. There could be a direct conflict of interests.

He is supposed to be serving the electorate, and any minister in his position must be above financial reproach.

(I am not saying that he isn’t, just that it is not as straightforward as him ‘investing his money any way he chooses’ )

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:05 PM

Is today Fine f&(king Gael day or something?

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:13 PM

Are these Stats from the CSO? the same department that bows to omitting facts in favour of the government’s Spin machine…! Fine Gael Liars and electioneering in full flight.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:13 PM

The days of strong average wage growth are gone folks.

Three challenges in Europe.
    1. Large unemployment means pressure on wages.
    2. Improving technology means that recoveries have less jobs than before.
    3. Mass migration from outside Europe to ensure that a strong downward pressure remains.
    4. In lots of ways, lots of companies are paying down debt, building reserves and the Eurozone economy does not inspire for the future. It is a bright, shining turd in the rest of EZ.

So wage growth will be slow for a long time to come.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Sep 10th 2015, 6:55 PM

And its the same minister who brought in tax after tax and increased all taxes more than any previous minister in his 4 1/2 years

Mute Paid_Shill
    Favourite Paid_Shill
    Sep 10th 2015, 7:47 PM

Exactly Liam, he should have simply cut all government spending, and not increased any taxes, like the right wing neo-con he is.

Sep 11th 2015, 1:33 AM

Ever hear of bubbles and not the Michael Jackson sort?

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Sep 10th 2015, 12:52 PM

We are above pre-recession levels yet we have a massive unemployment figure. GDP growth means nothing to people who can’t get a job.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:26 PM

Agreed.

Jobs are everything.

The macro and micro benefits are incalculable – on a macro level it leads to lower welfare payments required and a higher tax take leading to increased capital investment and on a micro level it leads to happier individuals, a reduced crime levels and increased consumer spending.

Complete virtuous circle.

The current stagnation in the positive unemployment trend is worrying. Hopefully the fall will resume – regardless of who people think the credit should go to.

The underlying economic conditions would favour a fall – it is badly needed.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:42 PM

The unemployment rate was 15% in 2011 and now it’s 9.5%, 2015. So unemployment is getting better.

Mute Fiannaoicht
    Favourite Fiannaoicht
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:20 PM

Ah Jack, you should no better than to state facts on this site.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:45 PM

Correct Jack.

It has stagnated over the last three months – which is what I was referring to.

Overall the economy added an average 1,000 jobs a week in the year to July 2015 and that is extremely good news for the country.

Hopefully it will continue and the current plateau is a blip.

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:01 PM

While the Govt in 2011 was estimating 15% the IMF said it was 19%-21%. Go figure.

People on zero hour contracts working between 8-15 hours a week are considered fully employed in the when calculating the 9.5% figure.

And the Govt would have more of this type of “recovery”

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:10 PM

“Forget part-time jobs – real unemployment rate is 24pc, says IMF” – 2013

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/forget-parttime-jobs-real-unemployment-rate-is-24pc-says-imf-29358808.html

“IMF queries strength of Irish economic growth – Washington-based fund suggest GDP is being distorted by off-shore manufacturing” – Jan 2015

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/imf-queries-strength-of-irish-economic-growth-1.2084738

Isn’t it amazing how even the Govt bedfellows in the IMF don’t even believe them?

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Sep 10th 2015, 4:49 PM

@ James

I clicked on the Irish Times link.

It tells a very different story to the one you are implying. Quotes taken form the same link you have posted –

“Mr Beaumont, who was speaking after the publication of the IMF’s second post-bailout report on Ireland, said the Irish economy was “doing well”, noting recovery was being led by an upswing in investment on the demand side, which would lead to further job creation”

Isn’t is amazing that the link you provided questioning the “recovery” as you put it, was from 2013?? And that it was far more positive than you made out??

You wouldn’t be misrepresenting the position now James would you?

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Sep 10th 2015, 7:06 PM

I never said it was all bad news did I? My point was to give two examples where the Govt is saying one thing, the IMF are saying something else (re: figures).

You’re happy with the first link I posted then I take it?

All these well paying fulltime jobs are being created via multinationals in other words. Which is the least they can do considering the often pay no VAT on goods or services used in the State (if their goods are manufactured entirely for export) and little by way of Corporation Tax.

And it’s not good enough for the rest of the economy if indigenous businesses are milking the system.

I know there are loads of jobs being “created”. Loads of people now work in a job where, without additional dole payments, would not be able afford rent or mortgage payments, or food, or electricity.

What good is it when an employer takes €10,000 of employment grant to employ a full time worker, then a second, gets €20,000 in total, keeps the money, and then divides the one job between two people? One does 20 hrs per week and so does the other.
    Both “employees” must then go back to the dole office for assistance, so the public pay twice.

But hey, if the Govt says these are “real jobs” then I guess they are “real jobs”.

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Sep 11th 2015, 1:31 PM

Massive emigration by tens of thousands of young Irish to foreign shores more than accounts for the difference between 15% and 9.5%.
    Try putting together a football team in rural Mayo.

Mute Number ZeroZeroOne
    Favourite Number ZeroZeroOne
    Sep 10th 2015, 12:54 PM

The rich get richer, and this is why we don’t see any benefits from growth passed down to the lowly peasant.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:06 PM

#001 stfu with the world owes me everything s h I t its bloody boring.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:10 PM

No Tom….a decent days pay for a decent days work….so you can bring up a family without counting coppers.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:23 PM

more populist soundbites there al I’m all for fair pay for work but that’s not what were talking about. #001 was basically saying there’s no recovery because there’s more than one person unemployed in this country. That’s what annoys me.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:30 PM

I don’t think that poster said that now Tom in fairness. Look at the hotel industry in particular; making money hand over fist in a bumper year for tourism and exploiting a lower rate of taxation at 9% but playing the poor mouth when there was talk of a fifty cent (€0.50 ffs) raise in minimum wage. Horseshit is what that is…. not someone owes me something. Where would they be without their staff after all? If they’re making a killing isn’t it only fair to pass some of this onto hardworking staff members?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:31 PM

Yeah, Tom, blogger on English football. Would it surprise you to learn that there are people who don’t give a sh!te about “what annoys you – you’ll let us know”. Give it a rest and concern yourself with matters closer to home.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:18 PM

The western economy is becoming more skewed away from most people in terms of pay, benefits etc.

The world doesn’t owe one anything but neither should we pretend that working smart and like a horse will be met with the same benefit as before.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 10th 2015, 12:50 PM

It’s amazing what they can get the public to swallow. All great till after the budget.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:00 PM

Mary “get the public to swallow”? Are you suggesting that the figures are fraudulent or that they shouldn’t be published? What are factual figures asking the public to swallow ?

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:12 PM

Figures can be manipulated or presented in such a fashion to reflect well on the area the issuer wants them to, remember all the strong figures that emanated from Irish Water, strong that is until they were analysed and found to be bunkum. GNP or GDP are meaningless to the man on the street, it’s money in the pocket that counts.

Sep 10th 2015, 1:20 PM

Yes, they are definitely cooking the books. They have a lot less money than they are letting on. Not giving any money back to the people and making false promises with things like road projects that’ll take years to get started, very conveniently due to planning issues etc.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:56 PM

Well Martin I certainly hear what you’re saying but the figures aren’t meaningless. Strong growth may not be reflected in many wage packets yet (including my own) but is is being reflected in more people in employment and growth in tax revenue especially corporate taxes. Unfortunately the Govt is still borrowing money for day to day purposes so the amount they can give away in tax increases is limited. However if we didn’t have strong growth our position would be worse than it currently is I consider economic growth preferable to the alternative even if everyone is not benefiting.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:59 PM

Adrian how are they cooking the books (which are audited by the way) ? How are the Govt worse off financially than they are saying? Other than rhetoric where are your facts?

Mute Andrew Halpin
    Favourite Andrew Halpin
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:00 PM

In fairness to Mary, John her gut instinct is probably right. The CSO recently got involved with Eurostat about figures and for me this brought up a large question mark over the CSO’s independence from government. The database used is not always readily available when you want to download and check their charts in excel where as it is in Eurostat, eg if they post charts you can also access the database it came from. Of course this does not mean I can categorically state they are cooking the books but it is questionable practice and until they become transparent, people like Mary and me are going to doubt their figures. On a basic level, business’s become more competitive because of a weakness in the euro and at the same time a massive drop in costs( oil price dip) then how does this translate to an increase in wages or even happiness for the ordinary person? How does it work when the economy earns more and people have to pay more in service fees and stealth taxes?

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:27 PM

John R, employment is one area where it has been shown that figures are regularly manipulated, this has been catalogued on many occasions.
    Government is doing little to address employment in rural blackspots, indeed in an attempt to put a gloss on it, here in Wexford, one of the worst affected areas, we had a visit from Richard Bruton this week to announce a major jobs boost in the Southeast, which he duly did, 200 jobs for TIPPERARY.
    FG press officers have been tripping over each other to recover the ground in a county which is already in danger of losing both its representatives the GE.

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:08 PM

Look at this article from 2013 John.

“Forget part-time jobs – real unemployment rate is 24pc, says IMF”

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/forget-parttime-jobs-real-unemployment-rate-is-24pc-says-imf-29358808.html

“IMF queries strength of Irish economic growth – Washington-based fund suggest GDP is being distorted by off-shore manufacturing” – Jan 2015

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/imf-queries-strength-of-irish-economic-growth-1.2084738

Isn’t amazing how even the Govt bedfellows in the IMF don’t even believe them?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:34 PM

Yes.

Mute What
    Favourite What
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:45 PM

John the banks where also audited. I’m sure you can remember that outcome

Mute HRH The Brummie
    Favourite HRH The Brummie
    Sep 10th 2015, 12:39 PM

well it won’t get any better with these guys running the country into poverty again.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan

What’s the alternative? And anyone but FG/LAB is not an acceptable answer!

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:00 PM

HRH, love them or hate them the current government has made some tough decisions. Decisions that could effect them in the election.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:03 PM

@Andrew You’re right, there’s not much alternative. But I don’t think there’s an alternative with party politics in place. It’s not representative of us. Wtf do we do it when we know that there’s a boom/bust cycle which causes misery for the poorest and middle every time? More change has been made which effects normal people outside of politics than in the circus that is The Dáil, through normal people coming together and agreeing to fight for things which effect them.

HOWEVER, for the moment, I will vote for people who make that fight easier than the current FG/LAB/FF do. I will vote left for parties such as Soc Dems, PBP , and the new Right2Change party.

So there’s your alternative. Cause it’s not enough to just say there’s not much else and accept it.

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:47 PM

With all this good news tell me how many of you are better off than you were in 2006? I have less money now than I have ever had and there are less services provided for me by the state also. I’ll tell you this much, this crowd aren’t going to piss in my pocket and tell me it’s raining.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:05 PM

Tough decisions, Tom?
    Irish Water, Siteserv, Prom Night, Selling Aer Lingus & Bord Gais? Dismantling any State structure where an FF loyalist could hide, stuffing the Judicial benches, attempting to get rid of the Senate and dismantling the Department of Justice!
    Tough?
    They relished every fascist deed.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:18 PM

They promised to have a vote on abolition of the Senate and they delivered one. Unfortunately from my point of view, 51% of those who voted wanted to keep the institution.

Nobody previously had “dismantled” the Department of Justice and FF had implacably opposed having ain independent Policing Authority for An Garda Siochana which we are now getting. The Toland Report is clearly the way forward for that Department.

All state board appointments have to go through the Public Appointments Commission now.

Irish Water won’t bother you as you won’t be paying.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:35 PM

Advisors are appointed via State Appointments Commission?
    DoJ dismantled following AG delay in informing Cabinet of a potential shitstorm leading to a bonfire of the vanities in the entire department.
    The decisions were made dictatorially, as a true fascist would.
    Stop pretending the disgrace that is this Government isn’t a disgrace.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:38 PM

Yes, it is, Andrew.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:41 PM

Conor, a man after me own heart. Apart from macro-economics, every landless peasant in the country can work out from their pay and their cost of living how much better off they are – and they are worse off – this is indisputable. However, the 1% and our Political Masters are actually better off – this is also indisputable. The facts are there for anyone who cares to face them.

Mute Wang King
    Favourite Wang King
    Sep 10th 2015, 7:32 PM

GDP was up a massive 6.7%. That’s boom time growth. Why the fcuk are we still being crippled with USC? Ahh I see I forgot we had to pay the gamblers back.

I’m still taxed on 52% of everything I earn, I was prudent and never splurged and I’m not a bloody miser either.

I will not vote these shower of bsatads back in again for two simple reasons.

1) They didn’t fix the economy, the IDA and natural cycle of economics and downturns means we are going to come out if it anyway, no matter who was in charge. These lads don’t have brain cells to put Lego blocks together.

2)Enda is a PR robot toss bag

Mute debco
    Favourite debco
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:21 PM

house and rent are up childcare is up and wages are still the same…. hmm such exciting times

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 11th 2015, 12:17 AM

essential Google and facebook are growing their worldwide revenue, and our economy is still f3cked, led by an incompetent self centred buffoon who has zero ideas to change this.

Sep 11th 2015, 1:33 AM

Manufacturing creates growth.

Mute Ted Leddy
    Favourite Ted Leddy

It is important to point out that this very positive change in our national finances would have been impossible to achieve if we had tried to spend and stimulate our way out of recession as so many people called for. A government that is running the economy in a competent way is a government that has more money to deal with the nations problems.

Mute Diolúin Ó hUigínn
    Favourite Diolúin Ó hUigínn
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:08 PM

While it’s good that the economy is improving it’s also important to look at the situation on the ground. There is still a big unemployment problem and wages are stagnant, people on lower incomes don’t benifit greatly from the small cuts in things like USC.
    Bring on the recovery, but a real recovery regular people can feel.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:28 PM

Growing economy is good.. But there’s growing economy’s all over the world.. It’s not just Ireland. And put the the growing Economy aside for a sec. Look at what underlining problems island are facing? Look how angry people are with the governent! The fact is the margin between rich and poor is widening.. The homelessness crisis is getting worse. Every year the situation has piled on hundreds of extra homeless and the the government promised they’d be no homeless by 2016. Irish water! They refuse to acknowledge the will of the people! Zero hour contracts.. Crappie jobs etc etc.. Not to mention all the scandals, siteserv, fennely etc etc etc.

Sep 10th 2015, 1:03 PM

If the economy is sooooo great, well cut taxes and give people some breathing space! No, but they’ll happily increase their own pensions and expenses and wages. Things ain’t as great as the gov are trying to portray before the election. Their planning a massive nationwide roads improvement program to buy the election but in reality, this will take years to get off the ground, so its nothing more than another false promise before the election, and the gov don’t have to spend anything, pretty much cause they don’t have much money. They’re trying to hoodwink the whole nation. They can’t even solve the housing crisis and there’s a surplus of vacant houses in the country. These guys are morons.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Did you miss the tax cuts this year? Hopefully some more next year.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:47 PM

Reg I did miss the tax cuts last year. I now pay more tax than last year if you add the direct and indirect tax together.
    Funny enough I paid my car tax and prsi and still got a bill in the post for water tax? I’m confused as I though I was already paying taxes to cover my use water?

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:53 PM

But you didn’t pay the water bill so things aren’t too bad.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:11 PM

And when they cut taxes we’ll be told they are buying the election.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 10th 2015, 6:49 PM

The way we pay for water is changing Chris! Income taxes are being reduced and the tax base is being broadened. Fairy sensible given what happened.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 11th 2015, 12:25 AM

reg, your figures don’t as up. income tax revenue has increased significantly, but salaries have remained static. just because you think changing the name of a tax to a charge is a “tax cut”, doesn’t stop it from being a tax. broadening the tax base is just a euphemism for paying taxes for things you didn’t pay tax for before, in lieu of people not being able to absorb any tax increases (which is essentially what happened).

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:21 PM

Still not voting for these lying Clwns Again

Mute What
    Favourite What
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:01 PM

Clouds beween there ears. Was there not an announcement of further job losses with 100 people to go at the end of the year. How meny are shutting down that we don’t hear about.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:10 PM

Good on ya, Micky – the saviour of the Nation :-(. A grateful people thank you. (any chance of lobbing a bit of the Swiss gold into the national coffers?) – After all, we paid for some of it.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:15 PM

Must be an Election coming

Mute Toha Teoranta
    Favourite Toha Teoranta

Things will only get worse with all they are going to let into the country. .

Sep 11th 2015, 1:38 AM

But they gave Irish passports to government Ugandan officials supposedly that have been associated with child sacrifice and child pedophilia. How can anyone make out it wasn’t them but someone using their passport to smuggle children into London for hideous crimes?

Sep 12th 2015, 12:09 PM
    Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:51 PM

I’m a single parent and lost my tax credits and now down 35 euro per week….. how is the economy benefiting me ?????????

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

“However forecasters have said it could still be a while before the increases, which have made Ireland easily the fastest growing economy in Europe”

Peter why do you continue to peddle this crap of Ireland being the “fastest growing economy in Europe”?

“Thankfully, the Irish economy is not a European economy in any meaningful sense. We are an Anglo-American economy with a Franco-German currency grafted onto us.” – David McWilliams

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:13 PM

If they would only legislate to keep variable mortgage rates at the eurozone average it would give the economy a terrific boost..imagine over 300,000 people having a bit more to send (lot of votes)

Mute Paid_Shill
    Favourite Paid_Shill
    Sep 10th 2015, 7:51 PM

To do that, banks would have to have the same powers to call in their loans that they have in other European countries – ie more evictions.

In other words, banks in Europe can charge less for their loans as is someone doesn’t pay, they repossess and sell the house. In that way they keep making profits.

The extra we pay on variable loans subsidizes those who can’t/don’t pay, and those on tracker mortgages.

Sep 10th 2015, 1:13 PM

So should FF get some of the plaudits seeing as FG/Lab were only following the plan agreed between the troika and FF?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:24 PM

Yes, Kerry, bizarrely, they should. I fail to be convinced that this Government, with their collective balls in a vice – and a gun to their heads, could have done anything different or better. The EU, and Trichet, treated this small country abominably. I am aware that we benefitted hugely from the EU, but all bets, it seems, were off when the ordure hit the air conditioning. The fantasy of ‘the community of Equals ‘ was fatally exposed for what it is. We are wiser now – don’t get fooled again.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:52 PM

We the two billion we burn/destroy every year at the behest of the ECB make a difference to the life of the taxpayers of this country?….I think so…..but FG/Labour won’t even broach the topic with the ECB or the EU, instead we have Brian Hayes of FG in Europe thanking them for their help…..lol, you could’t make this sh*t up!

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:59 PM

Seeing as the bailout money paid the wages and benefits in 2011 til 2013 until we got back into the markets, it is not unreasonable to be a bit grateful to the Germans and our other EU friends for helping us out in November 2010.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:12 PM

Ciaran please……€2 billion a year for the next 40 years just because of Anglo/IN…..not wages and benefits or other banks. Seriously the amount of people who are clueless about the bank deal for these two zombie banks is truly staggering.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Sep 10th 2015, 4:25 PM

Where do you get €2 billion a year to pay for the €30 billion Anglo and INBS cost us?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 10th 2015, 6:14 PM

In order to cover the money that our Government were told to create and pump into Anglo/IN…which was done. As that money didn’t exist before it’s means that too much money is in circulation, therefore the ECB insist that it be removed.
    This is done buy selling Government bonds(normally used to invest in infrastructure etc) and immediately destroying the money we get for them, we start paying the bondholder interest immediately. Then in a few years the bondholder returns to collect his principle investment. We then have to borrow money(so more interest to pay) to give back the bondholder principle.

The actual schedule worked out between Noonan and the ECB for the selling of bonds and the destruction of Irish taxpayers money in listed down this page(do take note that Noonan has increased the destruction of the money and has already destroyed €1.5 billion ahead of schedule just this year)….
    http://thechatteringmagpie14.blogspot.ie/2014/12/ireland-has-just-destroyed-500m-who.html

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:13 PM

You can really see the changes my local town as packed up massively in the last 12-18 months, some job around (nothing major) but shops and even restaurants are much busier which is a positive sign. Further tax reforms this year can only be a positive and announcements such as 500 new guards been recruited and others such as HSE staff will boost regions massively in the coming year or two.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:14 PM

has picked instead of as packed

Mute Keith Michael Gregg
    Favourite Keith Michael Gregg
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:18 PM

If growth is so strong, why are they not going ahead with capital investment like Dart Underground?!

https://www.facebook.com/dublinneedsdartunderground?fref=ts

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy

Noonan moonin’ again?

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:06 PM

I no longer believe anything that FF/FG/Lab say. Not one thing.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:41 PM

We’re back where we started – living in an economy , not a country! Remember where that got us? There might be few clouds for the economy , but there is plenty clouds for the people!

Mute MBA Tosser
    Favourite MBA Tosser
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:10 PM

And of course we’re paying for the Bank Bailouts so surplus income won’t be used for the benefit of the state. It’ll go to merchant bank shareholders in London, New York and Geneva.

Mute Conor Burke
    Favourite Conor Burke
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:42 PM

If tax revenues are so great than there’s no need to impose the water charges, just take the money from the tax surplus that they are so boastful about. But wait that might scupper their privatisation plans

Mute OhPlease
    Favourite OhPlease
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:00 PM

Few clouds?? I must be living in that alternate universe WWN talk about. Our national debt is gonna rain all over is one of these days – no one can cover that up.

Mute Conor Burke
    Favourite Conor Burke
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:56 PM

Maybe for those of us that stayed Sam we have learned the hard way not to buy into pronouncements of joy from this government. The economic indicators that are referred to in this article are all internal but subject to external forces and in reality the international situation isn’t looking so good, Europe remains stagnant, China’s in trouble and the situation in the US isn’t as rosy as market mystics would have people believe. Effectively the “recovery”in Ireland is largely based on wishful thinking and positive reinforcement which has managed to loosen up reserves of cash that were laying idle for some time that has had an effect but without a strong external recovery it can not last, I think we’ll find that once the election is over a much more realistic picture of the economy will be presented.

Mute Sam Sam
    Favourite Sam Sam
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:44 PM

I have returned from Australia aftet 3 years away. I am loving being home but what strikes me is the overwhelming negativity among a significant amount of people. I understand that a healthy amount of criticism is necessary but it’s almost like people are striving to spin good news (e.g. positive economic indicators) into bad news. I don’t get it. If you live your life with a constant negative view you get no where in life and the same applies to society as a whole.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:07 PM

Should have stayed in Oz Sam. Much better off all round.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Sep 10th 2015, 3:08 PM

Sam, it’s just the people that comment on the journal, some of them have agendas?? Perhaps they should go and live in Greece for a while.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:57 PM

Some people just like being miserable Sam.

They are trying to make their life harder than it already is.

Enjoy and welcome back and best of luck to both of ye.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Sep 10th 2015, 6:59 PM

Sam sam, you’ve been away a while. This government has a constant and well proven history of fiddling the figures and manipulating information. It’s disgusting, disgraceful, but true. People just don’t and can’t trust people who are proven pathological liars. Brace yourselves, I hate being the bearer of bad news, but trust what this government says will come back to kick you in the bollox, and kicked hard you will be. People who stayed behind in Ireland have learnt this lesson, learnt it in bad ways.

Sep 10th 2015, 6:26 PM

Eejits are running our economy, I have said from the start that higher taxes and austerity kills jobs and it kills the PESTLE Model to get jobs here. Manufacturing creates exports and exports means the government borrows less, we could have had growth instead of austerity if only the value of the euro was devalued but on no.
    Now they are devaluing the Euro through Q.E. instead of devaluing the currency or removing austerity. Q.E. creates INFLATION as is now seen to make bills more expensive like groceries…
    Q.E. makes money for the banks before it is spread about which by that stage has made the banks and fund holders that bit richer…
    What does that mean but a stock market crash is coming and it will be massive… You have been warned, so prepare for when the Euro falls through the floor… How can anyone make money from debt as that is just crazy?

Mute Sam Sam
    Favourite Sam Sam
    Sep 10th 2015, 4:33 PM

I’m home four months, both myself and my partner have work and we are much happier than when we lived in Oz. I love oz and always will but Irelands a beautiful country with Europe on it’s doorstep.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 10th 2015, 1:53 PM

Would*(yikes! start of post)

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Sep 10th 2015, 6:51 PM

Election year me thinks….the propaganda begins. Next there will be the standard give away budget. The trickle down effect has yet (if ever) to happen for the zero hour contract people, the homeless, the minimum wage , the hungry children going to school because their parents can’t afford food.

Mute Sam Sam
    Favourite Sam Sam
    Sep 10th 2015, 4:34 PM

Maybe i should avoid the journal then! All my friends that have moved home from Oz have settled well in Ireland and are fairly positive about life.

Mute MBA Tosser
    Favourite MBA Tosser
    Sep 10th 2015, 5:12 PM

Are you or have you ever been a member of Young Fine Gael?

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Sep 10th 2015, 7:56 PM

Ireland GDP is 210 Billion per annum. It supports 4.6 million people.
    Portugal GDP is 213 Billion per annum. It supports 10.3 million.
    Italy GDP is 2014 Billion per annum. It supports 61 million.

So why cant Ireland supports 10 million like Portugal?
    Or compared to Italy Ireland it should support about 6 million.
    Why were 300,000 Irish “thrown overboard” after the 2008 crash to stop the ship sinking?
    Something very rotten with the state of the Irish economy …

GDP … total wealth created by domestic economy .. all goods and services.

Mute Kieron Meehan
    Favourite Kieron Meehan
    Sep 10th 2015, 6:35 PM

Things will change when isis arrive

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Sep 10th 2015, 7:41 PM

We were doing great during the later years of Bertie’s terms as Taoiseach as well and using overall figures without understanding what they’re built up from, how they relate to each other and what the real implications are for people and the environment. It’s up to voters to try to understand the realities as best they can and to choose their sources of information as well as they can. I’m not saying that’s easy, but it’s a lot better to attempt that than continue to vote the way we have been for so long. This Dail was supposed to be the one that had better TD.’s, better procedures, better transparency, better evaluation of policy impacts, etc. etc. etc. This is the Dail that was promised in March 2011 to put our past Dail’s to shame! It hasn’t in the large majority done any of that. It’s carried on many of the worst practices, shelved most of the promised progressive changes, intensified the redundancy of debate and accountability. This is the ‘game-chaning’ Dail.

Mute John Finnegan
    Favourite John Finnegan
    Sep 11th 2015, 10:30 AM

Noonan, your a gutless chicken. Aka bond holders.
    Redeem yourself and build some houses. You empty vessel. !!!!!!

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Sep 10th 2015, 9:09 PM

Are we honestly to believe anything from our corrupt government & liars @ cso

Sep 11th 2015, 1:39 AM

I hope Noonan is not praying to Merkel now lol.