This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 14 December, 2019

Status Orange snow warning issued for seven counties

Accumulations of up to 8cm are expected.

Image: Sam Boal via

A STATUS ORANGE snow-ice warning has been issued for six counties tonight.

Met Eireann has issued the warning for Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Longford, Leitrim, Mayo and Sligo.

It became valid at 4pm today and will stay in place until 6pm tomorrow.

Met Eireann says, “Snow showers will occur this evening, tonight and during Friday.

Accumulations of 4 to 8 cm expected, with the larger values on high ground. Icy roads and footpaths.

A status yellow snow-ice warning is also in place for Munster, Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath and Roscommon.

Snow showers are expected for the counties which icy roads and footpaths.

It will also be valid until 6pm tomorrow, with accumulations of up to 3 cm expected.

Read: Luas Red Line back in service but passengers warned of 15 minute delays>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel