You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

say that again

Serious allegations and doing a very good job: The week in quotes

“They’re a law onto themselves and it seems like everyone is terrified of them.”

IT WAS A week when the Minister for Justice Alan Shatter was again in the spotlight.

Further documents regarding garda whistle-blowers emerged, and bottles were thrown at gardaí while they attempted to rescue an injured horse.

All that, and more, it’s the week in quotes:

Serious allegations and doing a very good job: The week in quotes
1 / 8
  • The week in quotes

"We are working in parallel but for legal reasons I am not going to intervene. If I have to intervene I will do so after and not before the sale." - Minister for Finance Michael Noonan said he cannot become involved in the sale of IBRC's mortgage book. http://jrnl.ie/1325688Source: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • The week in quotes

"Within 48 hours of the signing of this agreement, a special law will be adopted, signed and promulgated, which will restore the Constitution of 2004 including amendments passed until now." - The opening line of an agreement signed in Ukraine in an attempt to end protests across the nation. http://jrnl.ie/1326888Source: Marko Drobnjakovic/AP/Press Association Images
  • The week in quotes

"They’re a law onto themselves and it seems like everyone is terrified of them." - Martina Kenny from My Lovely Horse animal welfare organisation spoke of how gardaí were unable to enter an area to rescue an injured horse due to youths throwing bottles. http://jrnl.ie/1325682Source: Martina Kenny/My Lovely Horse
  • The week in quotes

"Alan Shatter is somebody who does a very good job." - Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore voiced his support for the embattled Minister for Justice. http://jrnl.ie/1326429Source: Niall CarsonPA Wire/Press Association Images/
  • The week in quotes

"Give the money back!" - Senator David Norris urged the recipients of the recent RTÉ payout in relation to Rory O’Neill’s interview on the Saturday Night Show to repay the settlement. http://jrnl.ie/1322642Source: Oireacthas.ie
  • The week in quotes

"There is no evidence of any technical or electronic surveillance against GSOC." - The words of Minister for Justice Alan Shatter was the GSOC bugging scandal rumbles on. http://jrnl.ie/1325453Source: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland
  • The week in quotes

"I just want you to understand I’ve no intention of playing politics with an issue as serious as this. We’ll deal with it in the interests of our state, of our country and of our people." - The Taoiseach pledged to deal with documents that have been passed to his department by the Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin and which outline "extremely serious allegations of garda misconduct". http://jrnl.ie/1324865Source: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • The week in quotes

"I think at this stage his situation is untenable as a result of a series of difficulties into which he’s got himself." - TD Shane Ross, along with eight other deputies, called for the resignation of Minister Alan Shatter.Source: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Read previous weeks in quotes >