Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 1 °C Monday 23 January, 2017

Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

Thursday 19 January, 2017

In full: Martin McGuinness's statement on why he chose to leave politics now

“As a society we have made enormous progress. We must continue to move forward.”

Friday 13 January, 2017

What's being done to help people sleeping rough cope with this freezing cold weather?

The cold weather is an inconvenience for the majority, but for the homeless people living on the streets, it’s much more serious than that.

Thursday 12 January, 2017

Body of missing Polish man found

He had not been seen since Wednesday afternoon.

Tuesday 10 January, 2017

The 5 at 5: Tuesday

5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

Tuesday 3 January, 2017

The 5 at 5: Tuesday

Five minutes, five stories, five o’clock…

Friday 30 December, 2016

The 10 most popular comments on TheJournal.ie in 2016

From garda pay to gangland crime, here are the comments which got the most thumbs up from readers this year.

Thursday 29 December, 2016

Here are the 10 articles which got the most comments in 2016

From Munich to abortion to Ghostbusters, here’s what got you all talking this year.

Tuesday 27 December, 2016

The 27 photographs that took our breath away in 2016

From Dublin’s gangland shootings to Syria, from Brexit to the migrant crisis, here are the best photos of this year.

Sunday 25 December, 2016

Singer George Michael has died at the age of 53 RIP

Singer George Michael has died at the age of 53

He sold more than 100 million albums across his career.

Thursday 22 December, 2016

Newgrange's winter solstice is only 50 years old? No way, says OPW

A former State archaeologist had suggested that the roofbox at Newgrange was fabricated in the 1960s.

Wednesday 21 December, 2016

Man arrested after attempted armed robbery at Waterford post office

Two men entered the post office armed with what appeared to be a firearm – but left empty-handed.

Controversial plan for hundreds of pylons in rural Ireland has been given the go-ahead

The plan had been widely criticised by people living in the area.

Monday 5 December, 2016

It's a yes: Rank-and-file gardaí have voted to accept the pay deal

Three-quarters of GRA gardaí have voted to accept the Labour Court’s recommendations on pay and conditions.

Saturday 3 December, 2016

Robbie Keane and Olympic heroes honoured as People of the Year

The list also includes some extraordinary acts of heroism.

Monday 28 November, 2016

Man arrested after attempted armed robbery involving a hatchet at a Dublin post office

A man carrying a gun and a hatchet threatened staff at Rush post office.

Saturday 26 November, 2016

Fidel Castro has died at the age of 90 RIP

Fidel Castro has died at the age of 90

The revolutionary leader shaped Cuba for more than 50 years.

Friday 11 November, 2016

Got health insurance? The cost is likely to be increasing from April

Health Minister Simon Harris has asked insurance companies not to pass on the increased cost to customers.

Wednesday 9 November, 2016

How Donald Trump's supporters reacted to the result

The polls may have doubted him but his supporters never did.

Saturday 5 November, 2016

Friday 4 November, 2016

Ireland's oldest practising lawyer has died at the age of 100 RIP

Ireland's oldest practising lawyer has died at the age of 100

Maurice Gaffney, who was born in October 1916, died last night.

Oireachtas committee to investigate the funding of Mary Robinson Library

The library is due to be built in Mary Robinson’s family home in Ballina.

Thursday 3 November, 2016

National Transport Authority has announced its plans for fare changes on Ireland's public transport

It covers Luas, Dublin Bus, Iarnród Eireann and Bus Éireann.

Wednesday 2 November, 2016

Wednesday 12 October, 2016

WATCH: Simon Coveney and Katherine Zappone answer your questions about Budget 2017

TheJournal.ie asked your questions about housing and children live on Facebook this evening.

Thursday 6 October, 2016

AIB is laying off around 150 people

The Financial Services Union says it is concerned about the redundancies.

Tuesday 27 September, 2016

Poll: Should fracking be banned in Ireland? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Should fracking be banned in Ireland?

Environmentally problematic? Or a way to potentially tap into billions of euros?

The 9 at 9: Tuesday

Here’s all the news you need to know this Tuesday morning.

Wednesday 21 September, 2016

The 5 at 5: Wednesday

5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

Sunday 18 September, 2016

WATCH: The refugees stuck in limbo in an eerie, abandoned airport

Life gets strange (and boring) when you’re living in an abandoned airport with no prospect of leaving.

Monday 5 September, 2016

How rogue crisis pregnancy agencies have been operating outside the law here for more than a decade

The agencies are in the spotlight again after an investigation found an agency in Dublin giving abortion misinformation to women.

Friday 26 August, 2016

The 5 at 5: Friday

5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

Former tánaiste Peter Barry has died RIP

Former tánaiste Peter Barry has died

The former deputy leader of Fine Gael died this morning at the age of 88.

Tuesday 9 August, 2016

GSOC is looking for witnesses to a brawl in Temple Bar

Around five men were involved in the fight in Temple Bar in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Thursday 4 August, 2016

Temple Street Hospital emergency department to reopen at 6pm after power supply issues

A second generator will be installed by 6pm tonight.

Friday 29 July, 2016

The 5 at 5: Friday

5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

Sunday 17 July, 2016

'I am not pregnant. What I am is fed up': The week in quotes

Here’s who said what and what was said this week.

Monday 11 July, 2016

UTV Ireland is being sold to the company that already owns TV3

Virgin Media is paying €10 million for Ireland’s newest television station.

Thursday 7 July, 2016

Five men die after wall collapses at recycling site in England

All five men were pronounced dead at the scene.

1 2 3 4 5