TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Republic and Northern Ireland will eventually be reunited, predicts Enda Kenny

During a question and answer session in Ohio, the Taoiseach predicts Ireland will be united – ‘but not in the near future’.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has predicted that the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland will eventually form a unified single state – though he does not anticipate it happening in the near future.

Speaking at a question-and-answer session in Cleveland, where he is promoting investment in Ireland, Kenny said he believed a unification of the two countries would happen ‘one day’.

This would require a referendum to be approved in both countries, under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement, and was not likely to happen in the near future.

Cleveland.com says he told guests: “The priority is keeping peace on the streets.”

The Taoiseach told the group that though Ireland’s economy was still stuttering, there were signs of an economic turnaround, with exports growing and the high-tech sector flourishing.

“We are moving steadily in the right direction,” the site quotes the Taoiseach as telling the City Club of Cleveland.

He warned, however: “We cannot be complacent about the challenges that lie ahead. It is a long and difficult road.”

Kenny also assured the audience that Ireland’s corporate tax rate of 12.5 per cent would not be changed, and that Ireland’s inflation was among the lowest in Europe.

The Taoiseach is today attending the Mayo Society of Greater Cleveland’s annual banquet, and returns to Ireland tomorrow.

Read: Referendum on united Ireland ‘inevitable’ – Gerry Adams

Read next:

Comments (221 Comments)

• Someday it will but all in its own good time when people are ready.

• Sam 13/10/12 #

I think when there will be a United Sates of Europe(because that is the way things are going) of course a united Ireland would happen. Unless Britain would not agree to further integration within the EU then there would have to be a land border between the Republic and the North, I don’t think the people of Ireland would accept a land border on this island. Or else there will be a united Ireland if we were to rejoin the UK. I hope both situations will not happen.

• Kenny is playing the populist game to bolster the Blueshirt’s December Budget. Everyone knows he doesn’t believe what he says.

• Mark: trollololololol lolol lol lol.
      Troll.

• Mark
      You don’t have to convince us down here. In the North opinion polls show a very substantial and consistent majority against a United Ireland. Interesting to see such a high proportion of Catholics that want nothing to do with the South.
      With an informed debate on the same subject I believe you might not get a majority in the Republic either. However that is immaterial as you need the figure in the North to first pass the fifty percent level and you haven’t a chance in Hell over the next twenty years.

• An end to partition and an economic turnaround?
    Maybe someday.

• An end to Fine Gael and an an economic turnaround? Early Elections PLEASE.

• Ah Mark. The people have spoken and they placed SF on the margins. You’ll have to live with decent people running the country, instead of a band of drug dealers, terrorists , murderers and liars. Try again in 3 years.

• F***king hell Killian….actually – sorry killian, I understand you’re one of the few that still maintain the FG and labour mandate uttered during the GE is the same mandate they persevere with now….I apologise again, here’s a rubber ball – go fetch.

• #Dermot- The Irish people get what they deserve. We consistently reward those who tell us what we want to hear at Election time. Contrast the fortunes of Messrs Ahern & Haughey with that of Alan Dukes. Fianna Fáil were unashamed in doing it. If a few truths were massaged by FG pre election we shouldn’t be surprised. That is how the electorate have conditioned politicians. You can’t change things from the opposition benches.

• It will happen in 2024, according to Star Trek…

http://en.memory-alpha.org/wiki/Irish_Unification_of_2024

• God loves an optimist.

• There is a difference between patriotism and terrorism. I am the former, and I totally condemn the latter, as its NOT the way forward!
    I would love to see a united Ireland in my lifetime.
    I’d die happy!

• If Scotland vote for independence in 2014, I wouldn’t be surprised if the north had a turn around.

• Scotland and NI are two completely different kettles of fish Pat. Of course Scotland will vote for independence. NI has people who consider themselves English and those who consider themselves Irish. It is not clear cut in NI like Scotland. The Scottish are Scottish, end of. It isn’t comparable.

• Your argument is ‘Scottish are Scottish’?

Dare I reply to an argument as flippant as this? Na, I save my breath and wait for your next moment of wonderful insight…

• LOL. You are a delight !! And you miss my point but that is not a surprise pet.

• @ Pat: I’m genuinely interested to know why you think that? Do you think it’ll lead to a revival in demands for a referendum in the North and the Republic?

Based on the population demographics a referendum would be likelier to happen and to pass around 2021 (when Catholics overtake Protestants to become the majority religion in the North) and SF might overtake the DUP. However even so there may well be economic arguments for Catholics to vote against a united Ireland, given the significant subsidy the North gets from Westminster.

I agree though the Scottish referendum will have an impact in shaping the future debate one way or the other.

• ‘Scottish are Scottish’ is a point? Sorry, but that is actually a statement(and so is the rest of your comment before you get into that). A point has reference and reason, rather than speculation.

I am no longer going to reply to your comment, keep in mind this is not out fear of your overpowering logic and vast intellect (I could play you as a fool all day), but I have a life to get back to.

Regard,
      No longer gives a sh*t

• @ Ryan: Nice to see a legitimate comment. I nor anybody else can predict the future of the North. However, I think that if Scotland gains independence, it will allow republican politicians to reopen and re-evaluate being a part of the United Kingdom,allowing a fresh debate on the Norths identity to be explored.

I have no bias either way, I do however see the referendum in Scotland to be a key turning point if this WAS ever to happen.

• The people in the North are not stupid. Ireland is in a mess and only a fool would want to join the country as it is. Scotland is different. Even if it brought a new referendum to NI they would not want to be part of the mess in the Rep.

• @ Elizabeth: That is a fair point, but honestly who knows where Ireland could be in 20 years?

• My point is that they are two different things sweetie. You’re so very aggressive. Calm down. Breathe :) Elizabeth has taken the words right out of my mouth. Nobody in their right mind would want to be part of Ireland given its current state. Have a good Saturday !!

• That is exactly what I said in the comment where you told me to stop bitching. Bless ya.

• Vic A 13/10/12 #

@ Olive Yew, what makes you so sure that Scotland will vote for independence? Do you have any evidence to back that statement up? The reason I ask is because recent polls have suggested that the country will vote to stay in the UK. A long way to go but it is damn complex with an independent Scotland still retaining the british Pound, allocation of resources etc.

As for Enda’s comments, maybe a bit misplaced and untimely but it is a possibility that there could be One Ireland in the very distant future but I dont see how this exactly would help convince American businesses to invest in the Republic unless he was speaking to Americans of Irish heritage who support this idea. Anyway, at this time, it is the least of the problems/issues facing the country. Perharps he could have used that opportunity to convince Irish Americans to make more trips to Ireland to help the tourism sector, maybe even enunciate the fact that Ireland is gradually decoupling itself from the PIIGS- stigma of debt ridden nations in the EU especially with falling bond yields. I am not saying that the country has turned the corner, but on a trip where the head of government is trying to woo prospective investors, divisive issues like N.Ireland should not have arisen at all.

• I will put my hand up and say that i would really like to witness reunification with the North in my life time but when or if a vote comes it should be up to the people of Northern Ireland to decide what they want. Stay part of the UK, become independent or re join the republic.?

Sent from Samsung Mobile

• Good man Paul – but it will be up to the people of Ireland North & South to make that decision – certainly, that is what is legislated for in the Good Friday Agreement. It can’t be a unilateral decision by one or the other. Roll on the day when mutually agreed unification is agreed by a majority north and south and becomes a reality. And as John Hume never tired of saying ‘agreement threatens nobody’. Except of course the naysayers/bigots on either side of the argument who will either;- never agree despite a majority vote for it, or who will want it entirely on their own terms; the crooks who make their money by exploiting the border e.g. smugglers and social welfare cheats and, of course, as opined by a number of now retired former RUC officers – the securocrats within the ‘British Establishment’ who have used the north of Ireland as their training ground for other conflict areas around the world. Again a mutually agreed unified state properly planned and supported would threaten no one.

• Two countries unite?Northern Ireland is not a country it’s a province at best…….

• This little island deserves it. its destined for it. Minus all the crap of course.

Brendan, Derry.

• Here 8 years from Scotland. I thought everyone and their granny be up for it, but it’s more ‘mneah’! Not bothered. This is an observation, not a stand point!

• Reunification is simply a matter of demographics, time and political will. Strict economics, whilst important, will not be the decisive factor as the respective governments will ensure economic growth throughout the 32 counties with the assistance of foreign investment and EU resources. The real driver will be “numbers” which, if converted to political will, will result in 2 plebiscites with the one in the 6 counties showing a majority for reunification assuming of course a majority of the population at that time are of a republican hue! Interestingly, it will be instructive to see exactly how the vote in the 26 counties actually pans out. Then and only then will you see which of the current parties are really in favour of reversing the partitionist policy and become engaged in a real vote whereby there is no room for obfuscation, prevarication, parish pump etcetera. No, it will be time to stand up and be counted and decide which sort of country one wishes to live in. The various points about welfare dependency figures in the 6 counties will then become more than just a talking point but a real determining factor especially given the real problems faced by the 26 counties in accommodating such an expensive influx. Personally, I would imagine that the UK would require to pay compensation or reparations for a period to allow for adjustment to the new fiscal reality post-reunification. Obviously, natural resources can be redistributed from say North Sea reserves (or Rockall?) to assist. Either way, the new entity will be assisted to reshape its welfare laws and other structures to bring them in to line with the UK and EU models thereby reassuring the newly reintegrated populace that their time honoured standard of living is safe! Remember, Messrs Adams, Paisley, Thatcher will not be around to influence the outcome. Interesting biscuits indeed? Regards all. It has been enjoyable reading all the posts so keep it up.

• Would love to see a referendum on mainland UK on whether or not to keep NI , what do we think the result would be ?
    Oh am only starting a debate ? Please don’t give out to me lol

• Eric 13/10/12 #

Not a hope in hell of this happening within the next 20 years. Even if both sides agreed to it, we wouldn’t be able to afford it. NI is running the highest fiscal deficit in the UK, and is the least economically productive region in the union due to a sprawling public sector, weak private sector and nearly 15% of the population receiving some form of sickness or disability benefit.

• northern Ireland does not want to be governed by Germany!

• @Frank I am sure that the Protestants in the south don’t wanna be ruled be them either.

• As long as there is peace on this island then I don’t care for a United Ireland…If Northern Ireland wants to become United with us then céad mile fáilte

• Ireland is 32 counties full stop.

• Why does Kenny only ever seem to have an opinion on anything only when he’s out of the country or giving a prepared interview to a publication like Time?
    Day in day out, he treats the electorate with contempt by refusing to give a straight answer in the Dail.
    A worse leader than Cowen and that’s saying something!

• Fine Gael founders were instrumental in Irelands partition , maybe they can redeem themselves by being instrumental in Irelands re-unification .

I think Ireland can only reach its full potential when all its people are united. Partition is just wrong.

• Michael Collins gave you the dignity of Statehood while your crowd carried out years of genocide, bank robberies, shared profits on heroin distribution and the murder of those who publicly opposed you.
      Your contribution to Irish History has brought International shame and embarrassment to the concept of being Irish and it would be preferable for you to accept your defeat and slide back into the slime from where you came.

• As the song goes “someday we’ll be together” in a true republic where Protestant, Catholic and Dissenter can live in peace and harmony on this beautiful island. I hope I live to see it.

• Enda changes his tune to suit the audience and realises it won’t be under his watch so he neither wants or cares that this would happen. I would love to see a united Ireland…..hopefully in my life time, here’s hoping!

• Hopefully an end of partition is in sight and Ireland will be united and free but one thing for sure Enda Kenny and his party played no part in it.

• The Brits will never give us back the north until they get our oil that’s around rockall when they have robbed every last drop then maybe they will because they don’t really care about the people north or south,

• Fair play to Enda Kenny “Our Taoiseach”! He is trying his best to sort out the mess with the rotten hand of cards that “FF” left him! The Truth Is The Truth!

• Brian 13/10/12 #

Ireland shouldnt be united ut should be divided further into four provences!! Comon munster

• Alex C 13/10/12 #

We can’t even afford to keep our 26 counties, never mind supporting 6 more!

• Why don’t these articles give the full, direct quote from Edna’s mouth instead of “one day”?

• Sarah 14/10/12 #

Some people here should read up on Irish history before they make comments

• Enda is after the Nationalist vote me thinks !

• Listen I am not in favour to any unification after all they had a chance to have their say and they want to remain British, so what’s the point of a referendum,

• we cant even look after 26 never mind adding 6 more to it ,the north would be better off if it was its own country not part of Ireland and not part of the UK just northern Ireland

• U should be pressing this issue enda, if 1 of my friends had my jacket id b constantly at them til i got it back, y dont u be askin your friends for the rest of our land back? Because you are a brown nosing dope afraid to step on any1s toes bar the irish publics.

• god this man is insufferable, good man Edna, put your foot in it again, I can just see the loyalist jumping with joy with yet more ill judged comments. I thought we would be spared a few days of sanity while this clown was away wasting more tax payers money.

• enda says the two countries will unite, what 2 countries is he talking about. we are 1 country,

• Reunification will happen.

Think of the benefits in terms of new factories, new investment, more jobs and monetary stability.

• I’m sorry, I’m not one for trolling stories but this is what the entire world would love to see but ignoring others beliefs in how the country should be run is the whole point of the troubles. Your statement is kind of a “blinkers” attitude to the whole situation.

• And never mind NI, what about our natural resources that were given away?????

• Why would the people up north want to be brought in to this sorry state? Punishment perhaps?

• Far better off under UK rule, cost of living is better, school books for free, free dentists, college loans, sure they have to pay “rates” but they get something for it. Ireland is a sorry joke compared to NI. Furthermore, the UK kept it because of the docks. Lots of money there, not that it is put back in to the actual city. Either way, it is better off as it is currently, if only the Orange men would go away with their inane marching. What are you marching for ????

• Ireland can offer same if we tax the rich like any other country. This country offered mafia style tax breaks to the top 1% despite a worsening deficit. And if Enda was any good, we would have burned the Bondholders of Anglo Irish Bank by now.

• Mark totally with you there. Don’t think that is disputed. Fact remains it wont happen.

• “If Enda was any good”

Well he isn’t and the bond holders are with him all the way. As it stands, now, NI is better off under UK rule. The republic is a joke and do not think I say that without a sore heart !! I love my country, would love to see it united, but I am not so thick headed I cannot see the mess we are in and the fact that it is not going to get any better. It is cheaper up North to live. End of story.

• What’s your take on the obese former h

• @ Mark ( Tim Jackson) What is your take on the obese former hunger striker and the situation of the residents of Priory Hall as a result of his criminal negligence?

• TOORKEEL IS A UNIONIST – CHECK OUT HIS PREVIOUS POSTS AND AVATARS.

• @ Olive Yew

Can you explain why so many people in the six counties are now switching to Irish Power utility companies to avail of cheaper electricity? Why is there so little shoppers going up to the six counties now? Why has the British Pound collapsed since 2008?

Oh that’s right – UK deficit is now worse than Greece.

• Mark, I couldn’t care less if anyone on this site is a unionist or not. I do care that you seem to be a little fixated on this issue as its becoming boring and you actually make the people you are calling trolls seem very level head compared to yourself.

• toorkeel 13/10/12 #

Dodging away from the question Mark (Tim)? What’s your honest thoughts?

• @Mark I’m not particularly fond of southern unionists myself as they feel this country is inferior and incapable of doing anything on her own…but toorkeel has every right to be unionist. It’s his own decision.

• Under an English goverment ???

• Another politician talking gobble-d- gook.. (in other words through his ARSE.)….

• Lots of people giving me thumbs down. Cannot face the truth? It is a fact that it is cheaper to live there and that is why so many people go up North to do their shopping !!! Their children get free school books, the dentist is free, the place is far better to live in so far as cost of living period. And the Orange men are only marching to be obnoxious,. they do not care about NI or the people. The marches cause bad feeling and if they really DID care about peace they would give it up. Facts.

• You already made this comment once, no one wants to see it a second time with you complaining about red thumbs…

Stick to a thread if your going to bitch and moan.

• I am just gob smacked there are so many stupid people. It is not a bitch or a moan my darling, and was far more intelligent than what you have just said. NI is better off under UK rule. There I said it again ;)

• My comment which said ‘If Scotland vote for independence in 2014, I wouldn’t be surprised if the north had a turn around’ took into consideration current political shifts and trends in the UK.

You just stated a list of why the UK is better than Ireland, which is very easy to do, I on the other hand looked at upcoming events which may cause change in the likelihood of this happening.

I never brought emotion into the discussion either, I just stated facts.

I don’t like stooping to your level, but I’m quite certain my comment is more intelligent than your rant.

• Scotland and NI are two different things and are not at all related. There is peace in Scotland or did you not notice? I just pointed out why NI is better off staying under UK rule. And I am right. Take care hon !

• @ Olive

If the north is “better off” can you explain why people are struggling to make ends meat ?

• It’s amazing that people who think the republic is such a disaster want others to join it. Not the best sales technique.

• @pat the people of NI have no desire to join the ROI if scotland votes independence good for them it doesnt effect NI in the slightest. The thing is the people of NI are starting to find an identity of their own and would rather be known as a separate country to the ROI than rejoin them

• I read all the comments on here and there are a lot of you who need educating on the issue of ireland and the rest of the world.For a start ,the so called republic some people talk about always was and is controlled by the crown corporation in england,now that is a fact.The united ireland people talk about won,t be worth the paper its written on unless this island gets its true sovereign independence from the crown corporation.

• Enda come down to the real world you are full of crap who in their right mind would want to join us and the state of poverty we are in.

• Just another case of the government & their friends in the building & banking sectors shitting on the little guy!! Tomorrow will bring more of the same…..

• I couldn’t care less if Ireland is re-united or not. It means nothing to me and many others from south of the border. I’ve been to many countries and continents, never been to N.I. Don’t plan on a visit there anytime.

• What an edgit. I hope he is right but this is a huge issue. Could you imagine the controversy in the USA if the president of Mexico said that some day Mexico will be reunited with Texas. What an undiplomatic thing to say. This is gonna cause Argo in the 6 counties and put things back significantly. Stick to the script enda. 5 point plan.

• MrKnow 13/10/12 #

the guy is deluded in every way!

• Mjhint 13/10/12 #

Some of the posts on here are pretty niave. I think the ones calling for unification including our moronic leader never had to walk on the rubble around the falls road or the shankill or omagh or negotiate a british army checkpoint or an IRA hijacking at gunpoint. Just for the reckord we have a united Ireland. Its peaceful. It cooperates & promotes both sides of the community. A so called united Ireland may involve orangemen marching on the streets of major cities in the south & unionists being represented in the dail & possibly to appease these people commomwealth membership. My view is leave for at least another 50 years for the reasons I listed above in that we in the south are not ready for that as we proved in Dublin.

• What you quote for the reason not to have unity is at least 15 years old, there are no British army check points in the 6 counties, no IRA, which, least we forget, was made up of men and women from the entire island of Ireland, and no rubble around the falls or shankill, you moron, this is the past, indeed Dublin was like that in the not too distance past itself when the IRA were fighting for freedom, without the IRA hijacking at gunpoint, as you claim, there would not be a free 26 county partition state, for you to spout your nonsense in, least you forget, moron. As for your peaceful cooperative united Ireland, sounds a bit like Tir na nOg or never never land to me!! The 26 counties already has Orange men marching on its streets, and plenty of Unionists within its Dail, where have you been the land of nod?

• Mjhint 14/10/12 #

your one of the people that can never achieve a united Ireland with your attitude & I suggest you have never even seen the rubble let alone walked on it. Sing a few rebel songs & free Ireland & denigrate our flag & walk around with a tricolour tied around your waist. I have met your type of patriot in every Irish pub.

• Another reason to legalise Cannabis, we could all have what Enda is smoking!

• What do we need it for again?

• Holy Cow!

• Enda does NOT want a United Ireland.No one in the Dail does except Sinn Fein.

• i predict a united ireland will never happen. Throughout history the north of ireland has in some shape or form been distant from the rest of ireland. Besides from where i stand the majority of people in Northern ireland would prefer an independent country if NI was seperated from brits i believe a united ireland is impossible but maybe one day Northern ireland will be a country of independence and leave it at that

• The last time you would call ireland united or independent would have been in the times of brehon,then the vatican came in ,the first invaders,then the vikings,normans and last the english,then our own people sold us out,just like they are doing again.Check out your history folks,our government in dublin is a crown entity.The crown rules most countries under the eye of the vatican.

• Don’t get your hopes up Enda. I’d be very surprised.

• The counties under UK rule are better off where they are. The ease of life style is a million times better than here in the Republic. It would be a joke to reunite Ireland given the useless government and massive debt we are in. Bond holders need to be paid lads. Cannot afford anymore. Sad but true, the UK is far better for NI.

• Another Unionist… you are very amusing. I offered you two bananas and all you can do is repeat your rhythmic mantra. We can spot you a mile off…

• @Mark Dalt every comment you comment under your opinion is a joke. You dont live in NI and Edna has no bloody clue. Jane Plain is right ROI cant cope with the expenses of NI and NI has no desire to be part of the ROI on both sides. the recent census reports showed that 29% of people from NI would rather be an identity of their own and not part of the ROI. 48% describe themselves as british while 28% said the were Irish. there is more people who would rather be seperate from ROI than join it

• With me whack fol de doo fol the didery idle day.

• In terms of the unification debate I think the problem (apart from its emotive nature when scars on both sides have not had time to heal) appears to be that many people seem to believe that a United Ireland would be a simple case of taking away the border overnight and the ‘Dáil’ taking control. Not the way it will work when it happens (and it will happen eventually). There would have to be root and branch reorganisation of poltical and economic, indeed all elements of, governance on the island. Can’t see that their would be too many people north or south who would be averse to the idea of root and branch change, if not unification itself. Unification will happen through negotiation and agreement, through demonstration of mutual respect between all shades of opinion on the island. Namecalling, threats and counter threats are divisive and are unhelpful just as they are on this site. Of course there are partitionists north and south, naysayers if you will who would do well to consider that there are many examples of divided countries reunifying when few believed it possible. In recent history = Germany in 1989, the fall of communism and growth of democracy across eastern Europe in the intervening years – who could have predicted that? I well recall debates and opinions in relation to both of the above suggesting that hell would freeze over before any of that was likely to happen. Well it happened. The naysayers on this island said that there would never be a ceasefire, never be decommissioning, republican and right wing unionism would never agree on anything. Guess what all of the above has happened. Sure there is still some way to go. I have to believe that as Irish men and women whether nationalist/unionist, republican/loyalist or other we can eventually come to an agreement on how we can share this island as ‘one’ while still facilitating the Britishness felt by some and the Irishness felt by others. A close relationship with Britain in whatever form that might take, is obvious, expedient and necessary not least since we are such close neighbours with close ties – a good percentage of Britain is made up of Irish diaspora – most of us have family living and working in Britain. Ireland would not be on its own at this time there would be support from Britain of course, the EU, USA and likely other parts of the world which would help ease the burden of change. Unification will come and it will provide an opportunity for a new beginning. As a believer in unification, I for one would welcome a strong and vibrant Unionist block in a position to have real influence on the formation of a new state. The possibilities for all Green, Orange and other hues would be tremendous. Roll on the day!

• I laugh at the guy trying to write in Irish. What a joke – only republicans speak it, and they have trouble speaking English properly. The journal should translate whatever rubbish it is so we can have a good laugh. Can’t imagine a united Ireland as only the few who speak Irish want it. I am sure the protestants up north don’t want to be ruled by our corrupt politicians.

• Why are you guys (and gals) getting so pissy about this business? Seems to me that north and south would both benefit from unification. Correct me if I’m wrong, but wasn’t the Protestant revolution taking the lions share of the blame for separation anyway?

• your wrong if the north joined the south then the irish econemy would sink. the unionists/ loyalists will not tolerate it and there will be just as much violence as before, the good friday agreement will effectively be void and would cause alot of trouble and pretty much only sinn fein, ira and hardcore nationalists that truely want a united ireland. From everything the only way forward for NI is to become independent

• Marty 13/10/12 #

Read your history folks there was never a united Ireland so ‘reuniting’ something that was never together is not the right terminology.

Putting together two countries with common goals and interests should be mutual and all of Ireland should decide.

Guess the overwhelming question would be, what’s the benefits?

• I suggest you read your history, again. Where on earth did you get the notion there was never a united Ireland? Is this the usual ludicrous 26 partition-ist revisionism. Had there been no unified Ireland prior to 1920, then the Government of Ireland Act 1920 would have been an unnecessary tool in which to divide the country into two separate territories. Your reference to two countries is again indicative of your partition-ist mind set, cultivated by the likes of Kenny who also refers to two separate countries. Let me explain to you that the state of Northern Ireland is not a Country its a territory of Ireland under British control, simple, on its own it could not even constitute a state, let alone a country. In terms of unity i think you will find that it will be the decision of the entire people of Ireland whether it should become a reality, strange thing that if its a two country island, don’t you think. In terms of benefits I too question that, forget the natural assumptions. As an Irish woman from the six counties, or that other country as you would say, I am not convinced that the 26 counties is at a stage of progressiveness that we are use to in the 6 counties, there would be so much change required in the 26 before I would agree to unity, first Kenny and crew would have to go, the crippling foreign investment incentives would have to change and an alternative economic model implemented which would generate sustainability on a longer term, there would be no reliance on the IMF like a third world country, a withdrawal from the last 3 EU treaties signed, especially the monetary and Lisbon, there would have to be a total separation of the church and state, and not just a piecemeal separation, a massive overhaul of the education system, with particular importance attached to ‘HISTORY’, entrenched, indoctrinated ignorance would be stamped out with or without the consent of the people, a sincere and meaningful attempt at tackling the growing discrimination in Ireland and a ban on the targeting and blaming of the ‘Northern Irish’ the ‘Irish Travellers’ or ‘Dubliners’ on all social ills or problems within the 26 county state, a serious attempt at tackling the growing racism in Ireland, which is targeted at all who do not hail from one of the glorious 26, a removal of Jedward with immediate effect, a ban on Bono’s re-entry to Ireland, or any part thereof, and a ban on all merchandise pertaining to the same, Geldof will be censored on all political issues, however, most other freedoms enjoyed, well he will be prohibited from making music also, we will either speak Gaelic or we wont, no half ass street signs, political titles or other pretentiousness nonsense will be permitted, this may prevent us from being the laughing stock of Europe, or it may not, considering the young from the 26 roam around England with an attitude that quite frankly stinks. Apart from that we are good to go!!!!

• sinead in a sense hes right throughout history ulster has had some seperation from the rest of ireland

• So ! What’s he gonna do about it ! Words are wind .!

• Breaking news

• Most protestent people in Northern Ireland refer to it as our country.

• Who ever gave me the 2 thumbs down,prove me wrong,i,ll debate this issue with anybody.

• This fool does realise there are such folk as loyalists and unionists right? Those eejits who voted him in should take the brunt of all his comments and or given 20 lashes each.

• snooch 14/10/12 #

it’s good to see you can always rely on the shinner-bots to spray their nonsense on any government related story.

I’m not a troll, not a fianna gaeler, I just loathe shi**bags who’d argue with they’re own shoe that it’s a sock

• Enda ……..story.

Add New Comment