TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Hezbollah urges week of protests against anti-Islam film

The news comes as 50 people are arrested in connection with the attack on the US consulate in Benghazi last week.

A Pakistani protester spray paints on the wall of the US consulate during a demonstration in Karachi, Pakistan, on Sunday
Image: Fareed Khan/AP/Press Association Images

HEZBOLLAH HAS CALLED for a week of protests in Lebanon against the anti-Islam video that has been the subject of much fury across the Muslim world.

Al Jazeera reports that Hezbollah’s leader Hassan Nasrallah made the call in a televised speech yesterday, and asked for the protests to be staggered, taking place in different cities each day.

He described the film as worse than Salman Rushdie’s Satanic Verses and said it is the “worst attack ever on Islam”.

Pakistan

Thousands of Pakistanis took to the streets today to condemn the anti-Islam film, burning US flags and chanting slogans, as police warned of more protest rallies across the country.

In the northwestern city of Peshawar, the capital of troubled Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, up to 3,000 university students, teachers and employees marched after boycotting classes, police said.

Gul Nawaz Khan, a senior police officer at the site, told AFP:

They were shouting slogans against Americans and were demanding a ban on the anti-Islam film. Later they dispersed peacefully.

Protesters from another anti-US rally blocked a main road in front of Peshawar university, Khan said.

Some 350 activists from Islami Jamiat-e-Talaba, a student wing of the hardline Sunni party Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), staged a separate demonstration, blocking a main road by setting fire to tyres and burning a US flag.

In the port city of Karachi, where eight people were injured on Sunday when protesters clashed with police outside the US consulate, police expanded a security cordon around the mission as religious parties announced more rallies.

The US Embassy in Islamabad said all of its American personnel are safe and accounted for, and thanked the Pakistani police for their efforts in protecting the US consulate in Karachi.

It also tweeted the following message:

Innocence of Muslims

The “Innocence of Muslims” film, thought to have been produced by a small group of Christian extremists in the United States, has sparked violent anti-American protests across the Islamic world.

Taliban fighters stormed a heavily fortified air base on Friday in southern Afghanistan, killing two US Marines in an assault the insurgents said was to avenge the video.

A total of 17 people have died in violence linked to the film, including four Americans killed in the Libyan city of Benghazi.

CBS News reports that 50 people were arrested in connection with the attack on Benghazi last week on its US consulate, in which four staff members were killed.

Hezbollah urges week of protests against anti-Islam film
1 / 5
  • Prophet film

A Pakistani protester stands beside a police vehicle set on fire by protesters near the US consulate during demonstration in Karachi, Pakistan on Sunday. Pic: AP Photo/Fareed Khan
  • Prophet film

Supporters of a Insaf Student Federation burn an effigy of U.S. President Barack Obama and a representation of a US flag demonstration in Karachi, Pakistan on Saturday, September 15, as part of widespread anger across the Muslim world about a film ridiculing Islam's Prophet Muhammad. Pic: AP Photo/Fareed Khan
  • Afghanistan US Prophet Film

Afghans burn the U.S. flag in Herat, west of Kabul, Afghanistan, Sunday, September 16, during a protest against an Internet video mocking the Prophet Muhammad that many fear could further aggravate Afghan-US relations. Pic: AP Photo/Hoshang Hashimi
  • Afghanistan

Afghans burn the US and Israeli flags during flags in Kabul, Afghanistan, Sunday, September 16, during a protest against an Internet video that mocks the Prophet Muhammad . Pic: AP Photo/Ahmad Jamshid
  • Prophet film

An Egyptian man crosses through a cordon of riot police standing by as they clear Tahrir Square in Cairo, Egypt, Saturday, September 15, after days of protests near the US embassy over a film insulting Prophet Muhammad. Pic: AP Photo/Khalil Hamra

Read: Muslims protest outside US embassy in London>

Read: Filmmaker questioned as protests continue over anti-Islamic movie>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• i’m always amazed at how the Islamic Street has a proverbial clown car of enraged protesters ready to erupt into violence at a moment’s notice, and how often it’s implied that we should take such anger seriously, as if it is based on reason, good faith and rational grievances. The willingness to riot, burn, loot, rape, kill and issue death threats over the slightest insult and imaginary grievance are terrifying, frankly.

• Remember Big Ian?

• ‘a clown car of enraged protesters’…spot on! It’s childish and churlish, and these guys give off the impression that they wait on the edge of their seats for the next farcical affront. Why such anger and fear?

• I think the reason is largely that the majority of Islamic societies are failed societies that do not value the creation of infrastructure like education and science necessary for a modern society, which is tragic as that part of the world was the cradle of science and knowledge for centuries. Instead, they see the world through the medieval prisms of shame, pride and honour, while being incapable of performing any kind of rational self-critique. Everyone else is to blame for their problems except themselves.

• The protests should be about how bad the acting and production is in this movie. It makes RTE’s Wanderly Wagon from the 80′s look professional.

• Thoughts to our lads in South Leb who will probably have to deal with this crap!!

• I urge hezbollah to get a life

• load of Shi`ite this

• Anyone who criticises my football team (long may they succeed) should be beheaded. An insult to the team (lmts) is an insult to all the supporters and there should be laws to stop people criticising them (lmts).
    We supporters are going to throw stones and kick and scream and not eat our dinner and be very bold until we get our way if any country doesn’t introduce laws forbidding criticism of our team (lmtp)

• How about a week of anti islamofacism protests?

• Many people in the west (see Sharia law in the West) are trying to make it illegal to criticise Islam or Islamism. Briefly, criticising people’s genes is wrong. You can’t change your genes. You can’t help being born white, black, Arab, or whatever. But criticising people’s memes is ok – indeed it is what free speech is all about. You can change your memes. Being born an Arab Muslim doesn’t mean you can’t adopt western values, be tolerant of gays, Jews and atheists, even abandon Islam altogether. There is an extraordinary modern idea that we should “respect” other people’s beliefs. Often it is suggested that we should “respect” Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism or other religions, simply because they are old, or have lots of followers. This shows a basic lack of understanding of what a free society is. A free society is one in which you have the right to believe nonsense, and I have the right to call it nonsense. You don’t have to “respect” my stupid beliefs. And I don’t have to “respect” yours. But we both must agree to leave the other alone to believe what they want in peace. So many so-called “liberals” fail to understand this basic building block of a western liberal society. How the accusation of “Islamophobia” is used to silence atheists, unbelievers, and moderate Muslims.
    Source: http://markhumphrys.com/islamophobia.html

• I agree. Just because you respect someone’s right to have silly beliefs doesn’t mean you have to respect the actual beliefs. But if those beliefs that someone is entitled to hold are a danger to society (e.g. Nazism) where do you draw the line?

• I mean it all depends: Nazi’s, KKK, and other right-wing organizations do not pose any real-threat anymore, their movement is virtually dead. Most our native Europeans, not immigrants; and most European people will highly condemn such bigotry without a “but”. When they interrupt society which some do; then they should be thrown in jail. But we can’t force/change extremists/fundamentalists from hating or believing in what they want; that’s their right but we can condemn them and make it unacceptable, etc. Many Radical-Muslims in Europe are not EU citizens so ones that participate in extremism should be deported; since they are not entitled to interrupt/harm the country that opened its doors to them. Radical-Muslims who are EU citizens or born in the EU; that is not easy because they are entitled as citizens and you can’t deport them. It really is the European Union’s fault for not making distinctions in the past between radical and moderate Muslims; and just letting everybody in which is why there are problems now. There is really no easy answer because confronting Radical-Islam in Europe isn’t easy. You don’t want to make the whole group feel like they are the problem; that makes the problem worse and leads to further extremism. But the actual moderate-Muslim community needs to be more pro-active in condemning radical-Muslims/Islamists; they haven’t exactly helped. But politicians like Geert Wilders go really overboard to the point of hatred. I know many people in Ireland and the rest of Europe want to ban the Burka; I don’t think they have any right to do that on grounds of human rights.

• Maybe Hezbollah should protest the aid that they get from the west every year.

• Oh sweet Jaysus Jason. Only the one agenda I see.

Next!

• Its all about power, its all its ever about.

• Oh god I really am sick of reading about all the s**t and violence in the Arab world. Whatever is what I say to this article.

• The one good thing about this is that maybe the world will take note that radical Christian (and indeed any religon) extremeists intent on inciting violence really do exist…

• It makes me sad that on one side of our planet one of the most advanced robots made yet was sent to another planet due to science. On the other side of the planet some angry guys wave their shoes in the air and then try to kill people because of their denial of science.

• When you put it that way Barry, you have to laugh. That is some culture gap that wont be closed for a few generations yet – if ever!

But then again – a photo of a shoe print on the Moon……….nahhhh!

• The most ironic thing of all Paul is that while Europe was in the semi-stagnant Medieval period, the Islamic Golden Age period was in progress and they were the most advanced culture for science, education and philosophy!

• M O Sé 17/09/12 #

Yes, I remember all the people killed by piss christ for instance ..oh wait…

We have to be on guard for all those Ned Flander types out there !!

• M Ó Sé, may I suggest you check out Jesus Camp. There is such a thing as an extremist Christian, and they’re gearing their kids up for holy war as we speak.

• Interesting how the article never o ce referred to the people rioting over a stupid video or even Hezzbolah as extremists but deemed the maker of said video as Christian Extremists on the basis of a bloody video! Also was it not made by 1 man as opposed to a group?!

• Couldn’t agree more Marc, this is what happens when the majority of the world believes in a fairy of some sort!

• Ye are all missing the point. This is a staged event which sole purpose is to infuriate Muslims everywhere, and its working.
    There is no movie, there never was. Just a small clip.

In reality –
    The US Navy is leading its largest-ever war games in the Persian Gulf, with warships from 25 countries being deployed in the region. Tehran, in return, is preparing for its biggest air defense war game in the history of Islamic Republic next month.
    The countries that deployed the largest number of warships for the 12-day training mission are the US, Britain, France, Saudi Arabia and the UAE.

This coming nuclear attack on Iran in November will be interesting.

“By Way Of Deception, Thou Shalt Do War” – And most of us are falling for the pretext nonsense, just as they want us to.
    Wake up sheeple!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Forget to wear your tin foil hat today mate?

• Jason, stop now good lad.
      Go back to your foxnews update.

• Jason Culligan, I’m not sure why you think that the imminent attack on Iran is a ‘tin foil hat’ theory. It’s been well covered by news outlets from all corners of the planet. Even Haaretz which is one of the most widely circulated politically minded newspapers in Israel write almost daily about Bibi’s plans to attack Iran. They have interviewed former government officials, IDF officials, even Mossad heads, and they say that the attack is imminent. Haaretz is behind a paywall but if you open the links through twitter it bypasses the paywall and you can read the full articles.

There’s no big conspiracy here – it’s public knowledge. And in future if you disagree with someones comment maybe you should try to counter the point rather than launch a personal attack. You might think it’s funny but *yawn* the tin foil hat thing has been done to death.

• Anyone who uses the phrase “sheeple” invariably does so after spouting hysterical nonsense. And so it has to come pass again…

• Alright, if you insist that I address both of your points I will.

Military exercises as they are officially know have been in existence for centuries. The modern version being invented by the Prussian state in the 1700s. These exercises are a common part of all armed forces across the globe, and their sole purpose is to test the readiness of a force should combat arise, while also providing on-site training for forces which cannot be conducted in a military installation. These were especially common on both sides of the Iron Curtain during the Cold War. Jason’s assertion that there will be a nuclear strike in November thanks to these events in the Persian Gulf is so ridiculous as to warrant the tin foil hat response. There has been numerous exercised in the Persian Gulf yet none of these have resulted in nuclear strikes. So not only to guarantee that nuclear attacks, the key word there being attack which implies the US will just blatantly nuke a country with no provocation, but to also provide a specific date sounds to me like the preacher who provided 3 separate dates for Judgement Day which also seemed to be a lot of air and no substance.

Barry, where is your evidence that there will be a guaranteed attack on Iran? Last I checked, George W Bush was talked OUT of an attack on Iran due to the sophisticated network of modern Russian air defence equipment which would take an incredible toll on American air assets. Remember that the US military is centered around having air superiority, so throwing all of your experienced airmen away on attacking a small power is so strategically insane that to even suggest it is out of the question.

I would also say that the “wake up sheep” comment that was thrown out, which in itself is insulting and invites negative responses, has been done to death. So I find it fitting to respond in kind.

• No need to lecture on war games. Yes they are quite commonplace. However there is currently three carrier groups in the Persian Gulf. Not exactly normal for peacetime but as you say not a definite sign of an imminent attack either. But think back to a little less than 10 years ago and the same was being said about Iraq. yadda yadda yadda. We all know what happened then.

I do agree that it’s unlikely that the US are going to start this war with Iran. It will be their proxy, Israel, that starts it. You only need to look at the crap spewing from Bibi on an almost daily basis to see that he is itching to hit Iran. He won’t do it without the blessing of the US hence why he is constantly pushing for a “red line”. If the US keep holding off there is the real threat that Israel will go at it alone. They do not have the power to tackle Iran with conventional warfare so a strategic nuclear option will be on the table. If (should say when) Israel do hit Iran and Iran strike back, the US and many more countries are going to get pulled into this conflict.

An apt quote in this situation is from Confucius: “Study the past if you would define the future”. Think about that – what has happened in similar situations before and then what came to pass.

Add New Comment