TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Timeline: The 24 hours that secured the promissory note deal

It was dramatic, chaotic, uncertain and very confusing as Ireland struck a deal to tear up the promissory notes and repay Anglo’s debts over a longer period. Here’s how it unfolded…

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

AS RECENTLY AS last week there were doubts about Ireland’s ability to secure a deal on the promissory notes that would avoid payment of €3.06 billion due at the end of March.

But on Wednesday evening things changed dramatically and within 24 hours Irish Bank Resolution, formerly Anglo Irish Bank and Irish Nationwide, had been liquidated and the promissory note arrangement was no more.

It was replaced with a series of bonds whose repayment will be stretched out over a longer period with lower interest rates. It has been hailed as a significant change in Ireland’s debt situation and at the same time criticised as kicking the can down the road.

But how did we get there? Here’s a timeline of a dramatic, eventful and significant 24 hours in Irish economic history:

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

4.30pm: Reuters news agency reports that the Irish government plans to liquidate IBRC as part of a deal it is seeking with the European Central Bank to reduce the onerous promissory note payments. Citing a source familiar with discussions Reuters says Central Bank governor Patrick Honohan plans to put a revised plan to his fellow central bank governors at a meeting of the ECB general council in Frankfurt.

4.45pm: Bloomberg also reports the news as speculation mounts that a government announcement is imminent though the Department of Finance declines to comment. Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore subsequently told RTÉ on Friday morning that he was satisfied the leak to Reuters and Bloomberg did not emanate from Dublin.

4.52pm: RTÉ’s David Murphy reports that the government plans to liquidate the former Anglo Irish Bank (IBRC) “as part of steps to replace the promissory note” and says the Central Bank will take over the IBRC balance sheet but the deal hinges on the ECB.

5pm: Reports emerge that Finance Minister Michael Noonan is to address the Dáil on the issue this evening and that TDs and senators have been told to expect late sittings.

5.24pm: Labour TD Kevin Humphreys says that TDs have not been told that the Dáil is sitting late “lots of rumours, no substance yet” he says on Twitter but at 5.42pm Fine Gael senator Fidelma Healy-Eames says there is a “long nite (sic) ahead”.

6.30pm: With a view to being needed to sign emergency legislation President Michael D Higgins departs Rome Fiumicino airport, where he had been on an official visit to Italy, bound for Dublin.

6.30pm: Detail begins to emerge of the potential IBRC liquidation with Kieran Wallace of KPMG appointed to liquidate the bank. IBRC Chairman Alan Dukes confirms that he and the board have been stood down. It later emerges that he first learned that the bank was being liquidated via a journalist.

06/02/2013. Promissory note deal. Gardai on duty o

Gardaí on-duty outside the former headquarters of Anglo Irish Bank on St Stephens Green as the liquidators are appointed. Pic: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

8pm: It emerges that the Cabinet’s Economic Management Council of the Taoiseach, the Tánaiste and Ministers Noonan and Brendan Howlin met to discuss the latest developments. Noonan later confirms that once the news of the IBRC liquidation had leaked the decision was taken to press ahead with the liquidation process with a view to getting a deal with the ECB, the plan was codenamed ‘Project Red’ by the Department of Finance.

Around this time, Bloomberg reports that the ECB wants more time to consider the Irish proposal on promissory notes and that no decision will be taken tonight. Ministers are notified of an emergency Cabinet meeting to take place tonight.

8.30pm-9pm: An hour into a debate on a private members motion on the promissory note in the Dáil chamber and with a Cabinet meeting getting under way in government buildings, the Government chief whip Paul Kehoe confirms to TheJournal.ie that the Dáil will sit late, beginning at around “10 or 10.30pm”.

He goes on to tell the Dáil that the leaking of the liquidation proposal is “unfortunate” adding: “The Minister for Finance has taken action to secure the stability of IBRC in the face of these leaks.  He has appointed persons to assume the powers of the board in the interim period.”

9.58pm: The Cabinet continues to meet as TDs vent their anger on Twitter at the late notice of the emergency sitting and the fact that they haven’t yet seen any legislation to liquidate IBRC.

Meanwhile, Labour’s Aodhán Ó Riordáin comments on the Ireland game at the Aviva Stadium:

tds-tweets-6-february

Click here to see a larger image

10pm – 10.25pm: Opposition finance spokespersons begin to get a briefing from Michael Noonan on the detail of the proposal. There are still no copies of the bill that is supposed to be debated when the Dáil resumes at 10.30pm.

Sinn Féin deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald goes on Vincent Browne on TV3 to give her thoughts on a “farcical situation”:

YouTube: sinnfeinireland

10.30pm: The Dáil resumes but is suspended until 11pm to allow more time for briefings and for legislation to be distributed among all TDs. Copies of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation 2013 Bill is placed in deputies’ pigeonholes.

Opposition finance spokespersons continue to receive a briefing as the rest of the Dáil members consider the content of the 58-page bill which only exists in paper form at this time.

A timetable of planned proceedings is tweeted by Independent TD Thomas Pringle.

10.59pm: Tweeting for the first time since May 2012, Independent TD for Wexford John Halligan lets the world know his thoughts on the bill:

madness

11pm: Dáil resumes and chaos ensues as TDs wrangle over what time to adjourn until with the Taoiseach prepared to go to 11.30pm but the opposition roundly rejecting the idea.

Enda Kenny says he is prepared to adjourn until 11.45pm until Micheál Martin shouts “just say midnight, Taoiseach”. Canvassing opinion, the Taoiseach agrees to adjourn until midnight, but still TDs argue:

11.16pm-midnight: Having eventually agreed to adjourn until midnight, Twitter – with #promnight trending – is abuzz with quick-fire analysis of the legislation with an electronic copy becoming available.

Gerry Adams describes the government’s approach as “a shambles”.

Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins tells TV3: “I think this is an incredibly chaotic way to run a country. My first thoughts are with the 800 employees of the former Anglo Irish Bank… who will be out of a job tomorrow.”

His fellow Technical Group member, independent Stephen Donnelly questions the constitutionality of sections of the legislation on TV3 before rushing back in to Leinster House to debate it.

07022013-promissory-notes-deal-independent-td-630x385

Stephen Donnelly speaking to Vincent Browne on TV3. Pic: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland.

Thursday, 7 February 2013

12.02am: Dáil resumes to debate the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Bill 2013. Michael Noonan tells the Dáil that the ECB is considering the government’s proposal and outlines the detail of the bill and the reasons for the late-night sitting:

As soon as the information relating to the proposal to liquidate IBRC was made public, there was an immediate risk to the bank.  Given this position, I as Minister for Finance, took immediate action to secure the stability of the Bank and the value of its assets, valued at €12 billion, on behalf of the State.

12.15am-1am: Finance spokespersons from the opposition parties raise various questions about the bill and the timing of its introduction.

Fianna Fáil’s Michael McGrath cautiously pledges his party’s support for the bill while Pearse Doherty accuses the vast majority of government TDs of not having read the legislation and says his party will not be supporting it.

07/02/2013. The Irish Bank Resolution Corporation

The Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Bill which made it legal to liquidate Anglo Irish Bank. Pic: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Shane Ross, independent, describes the whole process as a fiasco and neatly sums up the general view of those opposing the legislation:

We cannot vote for this if we don’t know the other part of the package. That is the problem with this bill. We are being asked in isolation to approve the liquidation of the bank, which we might approve of, when we don’t know the other part of the package tomorrow.

1am-1.55am: The Taoiseach, the Tánaiste, Micheál Martin and Gerry Adams, all address the Dáil outlining their varying positions while we also hear from independents Mick Wallace, Luke Ming Flanagan, Catherine Murphy and Thomas Pringle.

1.57am: Noonan stands up again to address the Dáil and tries to explain the reasons behind all the late-night chaos:

Did you ever hear of a liquidation that was announced one day, but not carried out for several days or weeks? If that isn’t done, creditors will line up to strip the company of everything they can lay their hands on.

2.05am: A vote is called.

2.18am: The Dáil votes by 113 votes to 36 to approve the second stage of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Bill.

2.20am- 2.44am: More debate on the legislation with questions about whether IBRC employees show up for work the next day (they do but are later told by the receiver that their contracts are being terminated).

TDs also want to know if the legislation and the proposed deal with the ECB will mean that the debt owed to IBRC and the Central Bank will now be owed to the ECB. Michael Noonan says: “It’s a bit late at night for conspiracy theories.”

2.44am: Another vote is held on the final (committee) stage and and the bill is passed by 113 votes to 35. Here is how each TD voted.

finalvote3

2.55am: With the Bill approved it heads down the corridor for debate in the Seanad and the Dáil is adjourned until 1pm.

3.06am-5.14am: Debate gets under way in the Seanad with a row and then a vote on the procedural arrangement which limits the debate to two hours. In that time Fianna Fáil senator Marc MacSharry likens the IBRC Bill to Hitler’s Enabling Act.

Michael Noonan says the Bill has been in preparation for months and that there had been “several scares” about the information leaking. He admits that he does not know if the proposal from the Irish government will meet with approval from the ECB: “I don’t know whether they’ll sign off on it.”

5.16am: Second stage of the IBRC Bill 2013 passes the Seanad by 37 votes to 6.

5.17am – 6.05am: More debate on the Bill in the Seanad.

seanadvote-2

6.07am: The bill passes the final stage in the Seanad and is dispatched to Áras an Uachtaráin to be signed by the President. Heavy-eyed senators and journalists depart Leinster House after the longest of nights.

7.11am: A statement from Áras and Uachtaráin confirms that President Michael D Higgins has signed the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Bill 2013, which provides for the liquidation of the bank formerly known as Anglo Irish Bank, into law.

7.30am – 9am: Attention turns to what decision the ECB’s governing council will make as its meeting begins in Frankfurt.

Junior finance minister Brian Hayes tells Morning Ireland that the government made the right decision to liquidate Anglo and that he is “confident and optimistic” that the ECB will agree to the proposal.

Concerns are raised about the future of the over 1,000 people working at IBRC around 900 of whom work in Ireland. Larry Broderick, from Irish Bank Officials Association, complains about the lack of notice and information about the liquidation.

He describes the treatment of staff at the bank as “horrendous”.

7/2/2013 IBOA The Finance Union Meet IBRC Represen

The email circulated to all IBRC employees by the liquidator. Pic: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland.

9.07am: Bloomberg News reports that the governing council is unlikely to make a decision on the promissory notes arrangement today, citing sources as saying some members of the council want to discuss the plan with officials at their own central banks first.

11.04am: The Quinn Group issues a statement saying: “The liquidation of IBRC announced by the Irish Government last night has no impact whatever on the Quinn Manufacturing Group.”

12.19pm: Reuters reports that the ECB and Ireland has reached a deal. “A deal is done,” a source tells the news agency. The Department of Finance refuses to comment and says there is no indication as to whether Michael Noonan will be making a statement on the matter.

12.49pm: RTÉ reports that a deal has been concluded with the ECB that will require agreement from the Cabinet which is scheduled to meet at 2pm. The Irish Times quotes Irish sources as saying that a deal has not yet been reached.

1pm: The Dáil resumes with Education Minister Ruairí Quinn saying: “We have not received formal confirmation of precisely what is to be agreed and when we have that information, the Government will resume.

TDs voice concern in the chamber about the lack of debate and information on the issue. “This parliament is losing any sense of sovereignty it had,” Micheál Martin tells the Dáil, because of the “disconnected way the executive is behaving”.

1.45pm: Press conference gets under way in Frankfurt with ECB President Mario Draghi reading a statement confirming that eurozone interest rates remain unchanged at 0.75 per cent. There is no mention of Ireland in the statement.

draghi-2-390x285

1.51pm: Taking questions Draghi is asked about the Irish situation but says that no decision was taken at the governing council meeting, only that the council “unanimously took note of the Irish operation. I will refer you to the Irish government and the Central Bank for details”.

“It’s the Irish government and Irish Central Bank actions and we took note of these actions,” he tells the confused media. Immediately, doubts emerge as to whether there is any deal.

1.55pm: RTÉ cites official sources in saying that Draghi saying that the ECB “took note” of the deal was a means to say that a deal has been agreed.

2pm: Cabinet meets and Taoiseach expected to address the Dáil at 2.30pm.

2.10pm: Draghi continues to stonewall questions about a deal for Ireland in the face of persistent questions from journalists.

2.30pm: No sign of the Taoiseach in the Dáil chamber.

2.40pm: The Department of Finance issues a press notice inviting the media to attend a press conference and technical briefing on the “Revised Promissory Notes Arrangement” at 4pm at government buildings, indicating a deal of some sort is done.

2.52pm: Taoiseach Enda Kenny arrives in the Dáil and informs the house that “the annual promissory note payments are gone”.

His full speech outlines the details of the promissory note deal: “Under the agreement reached today with the European Central Bank, the Promissory Notes are being exchanged for long term Irish Government bonds with maturities of up to 40 years.”

YouTube: Fine Gael

Opposition reaction ranges from a “qualified welcome” out of Fianna Fáil to Sinn Féin’s view that the government has “turned a €28 billion promissory note, the cost of Anglo Irish bank, that toxic debt, into a €64 billion sovereign liability to this State”.

4.09pm: Planned press conference with Michael Noonan and Brendan Howlin is delayed menawhile Central Bank head Patrick Honohan declares himself “satisified with the arrangement”.

4.30pm: Noonan and Howlin press conference gets under way with the former declaring: “We are very pleased with the deal.”

michael-noonan-4

Noonan goes through some of the technical aspects of the deal which is followed with even more technical information from Department of Finance Secretary General John Moran later.

The Finance Minister responds to criticism of the deal that he and his officials have just negotiated, telling the media.”If I offered Pearse [Doherty, from Sinn Féin] to give me a thousand pounds and [said] I’d pay it back to him in 40 years, what do you think he’d say?”

In a bid to explain the deal in simple terms he describes how he bought his house in Limerick in 1968 at a cost of IR£3,200 and when the mortgage ran out 25 years later, one month’s pay as a teacher would have paid for the whole house.

And with that, 24 hours of chaos, confusion, rowing, late nights and cryptic press conferences came to an end with a deal that means the promissory notes are no more.

Read: Gilmore: Change in promissory note terms is “very, very significant”

Poll: Did the government get a good deal on the promissory notes?

Column: Will the young pay for the sins of the old under the promissory note deal?

Read: 22 things we’ll still have, even if the ECB takes everything

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (94 Comments)

• Y.F. 09/02/13 #

I can understand the liquidation having to be done very quickly, but the legalities and clauses that were put into the Act in the dead of the night, did not have to be rushed. They were rushed for a reason. We were hoodwinked again.They made sure that, although any actions that IBRC are taking against someone, can still be taken, that any case taken against Anglo are dead. Now, we all know that there was a big action being taken against Anglo, by Quinn. The government didn’t want it to ever see the courtroom. Why? Because they knew Quinn has a great case and that there were heads about to roll. Clever play by our leaders. Very clever. What does Quinn know about Anglo/the government, that they don’t want to ever get out? Sneaky, cruel play by our government, but clever.

• Ireland is so lucky to have these modern day Robin Hood types in FG/Lab. fighting the good fight on our behalf?

• This debt is big Doogle………that one is Far away!

• School teachers can know expect wages of 300,000 euru a month in 2038. economics at Noonan’s best.

• They hung on to there wages though ‘ no flinch there ,on with the gravy train ,the peasants can foot the bill .the inflation thing is a red herring ,sure keeping inflation low was one of the EEC,s main objectives if my memory serves me right

• Off coarse the market,s are behind it ( they now have a enslaved workforce)

• My 12 year old daughter is already planning on leaving this doomed country as she sees all the small local shops closing and people leaving even her as a child can see no future here. Thank you all in The Dail for this great work!!!!!! Shower of wasters patting each other on the back knowing that the money you saved each year can be used to fill your pensions and secure your kids futures while all the time your eroding our kids futures.. Well done…

• Spot on Dennis. My kids are saying the same things. Enda thinks we should all be eternally grateful because instead of being €50 a week worse off after the next budget, his political skills has reduced this sum to €45.

• Granted, “deal” has been good news…..

But its largely irrelevant without knowing what the actual end result is going to be. We still face austerity for years to come, granted we may not be taking 3 spoons of bad medicine but 2 spoons instead. We’re still running an unacceptable budget defecit & we’ve no clarity as to the exact extend of the savings on a yearly basis and what this will mean.

i.e. if we’re saving €1 billion per year will the budgetary corrections be dropped by €1 billion or will government still push ahead at same pace? Domestic economy is in a heap, domestic economy creates jobs, disposable income creates domestic economy and disposable income is gone for so many people now……

Regarding deal…. when we hear the word “deal” in a retail context it usually equates to 10/20% off….. we didn’t even get .1% off a debt the people of Ireland shouldn’t have to deal with.

Do I welcome the deal, absolutely….would I call it a deal. If you are in mortgage difficulties and they change the terms of your mortgage (interest only for a period, extend the term) its call a restructuring, when the government do the exact same thing? its called a “deal”?

Time will tell (and budgets) what the true impact of this is…. it was time that told us what the bank guarantee scheme actually meant and it’ll be the same for this. Please God it marks a turning point and we start going the right direction again!

• Lets see if I can sum up this deal vs the previous prom note setup.
    Over the next ten years this deal will cost 20 billion less because we are now paying interest only.
    But over the thirty years that follow it will cost about 40 billion more because whereas under the prom note we would have paid off the capital with the bonds we continue to pay interest and eventually the capital as well. Couldn’t be arsed working out the exact figures but anyone who has ever had a mortgage or a loan can surely see we end up paying a lot more. Even with inflation eroding the cost in real terms.
    Maybe there is an argument for doing whatever it takes to get some breathing space over the medium term but I still think the deal stinks when you look at the long term.

• From here on in inflation is our best friend
    Inflation is also Germany’s biggest fear,
    History will tell how much of this debt inflates away, (except it will to some degree)
    This deal can look real bad, depending on how you view fixture inflation policy in the euro zone

• Noonan said he does not know if ECB will sign off on it, yet Mario Dragi said it had nothing ti do with them, that it was between our government and our central bank? So why did we need to wait for socalled approval? Do we expect other countries to believe any of this? It must have some wiff of ilegality..

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

Well we all know that FG don’t act within the law now don’t we….spending funds to sway a yes Vote on a supposedly unbiased website for the children’s referendum! Their crooks, far worse than the previous bunch.

• Our Children and their Children were sold out by FF/FG & Labour ! But it’s ok Noonan has German Bonds that’s why FG were never going to back the people of Ireland or burn the bond holders !!!!

• We all know that You can fool some of the people some of the time! The evil that is FG/Labour think that they can fool all of the people all of the time. They should all be tried for treason, because make no mistake, that is what this is. By using their power in such a way that has saddled a people with a debt that’s not theirs. We didn’t borrow that money, so how can it be our debt?

• Haha, treason? Seriously? It’s using language like that which makes your complaints sound ridiculous.
      Why don’t you use rational language and provide alternative suggestions…?

• Cliff. When a load of gangsters lie their way to power, and then saddle it’s entire people with a debt that was run up by a few other gangsters and their cronies, then in my book that’s treason. Plain and simple.

• I think you’ll find that the debt existed before this government came into existence.

What is your alternative plan?

• The debt existed, but it wasn’t ours. This treacherous crowd just changed all that though. My alternative is to downright refuse to pay it. The previous administration were in breach of the constitution when they issued the blanket bank guarantee. This new crowd couldn’t wait to draw up the necessary legislation, when it looked like the courts would find against them. As I say. It’s treason.

• You were born into national debt. Were you traumatised by it? ND never gets repaid, just rolled over. It’s a nonsense argument. This deal is about the here and now, something every body was screaming about just a few days ago – “PROMISORY NOTE, MARCH DEADLINE, 3.1bn “. It’s all gone. Now its “WILL SOMEONE THINK OF THE CHILDREN…”

• Refusing to pay was never an option, when is anyone going to realise that??

Are you trying to say that bankrupting the state is the best option?!

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

A government using its power to convert illegal promissory notes into sovereign debt in the dead of night while a case from a citizen in the the Supreme Court?!?!

TREASON IS RIGHT!

This matter cannot be brushed under the carpet. The blasé attitude from people on here shows nothing but the advocation of treachery.

• Ryan, your alternative – excluding its not our debt and writedown?

• @ O’Reilly, not even the staunchest proponents of the deal contend that it will be rolled over. That may work in the USA. The debt has to be repaid on the due dates. If the principal amount of the debt had been magicked away, it would have been a great deal.

The problem for Ireland is that our debt to GDP and debt to GNP are at an unsustainable level, the highest in Europe.

I am over 60 and I think that it is immoral that this yoke of debt has been placed on the next generations.

The promissory notes could have been defaulted upon. It would have been unpopular for a time with the ECB but the ECB would have had to manage that crisis. The original deal on the 29th September was vitiated by fraud. The Banks misrepresented the crisis as a temporary liquidity crisis. The Banks misrepresented Anglo Irish and Irish Nationwide as of systemic importance. The genesis of the promissory notes was a blatant fraud on the people of Ireland enabled by a the gullibility of the two Brian’s.

• Peter speaks complete sense. We’ve been conned yet again.

• We are all well aware of that fact !!! What were the election promises again ? Not one more cent to the unsecured bond holders ! Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore’s ‘Frankfurt’s way or Labour’s way’ !!! They were the same way ! Pillage , plunder , sell out your people all this once you have lied your way into Government !!! Traitors !!

• Defaulting would have ended the euro- that would have made austerity seem like a gentle stroll in the park in comparison.
      Yes, we should have been given a write down for saving it, but Germany looked after its own interests and we got screwed.
      Is it fair? No. Is it the best deal we could get- probably yes.

• Why would refusing to pay bankrupt the state Cliff? Are you saying the EU would kick us out for refusing to pay an illegal debt? That would mean we’d have no alternative but to default on all our sovereign debt. I really don’t think they’d resort to that particular action. As things stand, the EU needs us more than we need them.

• Europe wouldn’t have needed to kick is out. Even if the euro survived, which is doubtful, we’d be back to the punt trying to borrow from the people we had just burned.
      How do you think that’d work out?

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

Most excellent post Peter. Unsustainable debt ratio to GDP v GNP , and the plain fact that the notes could have been negotiated are two very important factors.

Now all we have is guaranteed sovereign debt out on the long finger.
      Paying interest only….on the never never…forever!

• @ Cliff, no repudiating the Promissory Notes would not have crashed the Euro or impaired Ireland’s reputation. That is not how these situations work. The PNs did not have the status of sovereign debt and this would not have been treated as as sovereign debt default or even mistakenly perceived as such.

The reality is that an unenforceable overdraft was converted into a legally bulletproof long term mortgage up to 40 years guaranteed by he next two generations.

We have back ended short term liabilities.

Our children have been sold into Bondhood and so many people are unwilling or incapable of recognising what actually happened. It is such a horrendous thing to do that I can see why there are deniers.

• Promissory note payment could have been suspended. No even interest payments then.

• O'Reilly 09/02/13 #

Peter, you say default so casually. It would have been catastrophic.

• We’re running a deficit. If we stopped paying debts, who do we borrow money from?

• Its the peoples own fault believing someone like happy gillmore it was expected serious folks learn to see thru the fakeness in him.
      And don’t get me started about enda pinnochio look a like puppet boy.
      Ming for dictator is what i say!
      At least he is genuine unlike most in their

• CLIFF you are talking utter dribble where is your sense of pride in your country ,you are siding with criminals who are now running this country .

• So Dermot- you’re advocating hubris and bankruptcy?

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

What exactly are you advocating cliff?

• @ryan- are you ever going to substantiate any of your rubbish? “Enda a crook”. Evidence please?

• Slight problem with yer analysis dere Reilly-boy…… it *ALL* starts with the consumer having the money to spend in the first place in order to get that ball rolling. Have you been paying any attention whatsoever about the plight of a huge portion of our population is financially going through???

• The criminal acts against this state will soon be coming and let the chips fall where they may. The fact of the matter is that the Irish people have been cleaned out in a massive heist coordinated by the ECB and member of our government past and present..

• Troika of traitors of FG/LAB/FF have all contributed to this mess and expect the public to be happy with their treacherous fiscal crimes. The curtailing of Irish citizens David Halls right to take a case on the original Prom IOU was a disgrace to protect the golden circle of buddy’s who elected the judges in the first place.Debt mountain will implode across Europe and the admittance by the French Government minister that France was broke will come back into view very soon.Sooner out if the EU and real control if our finances can’t come soon enough.Iceland and Norway plus Switzerland are flying compared to the misery we are living through in this god forsaken kip of a country.Time a new party like Direct Democracy Ireland and other anti EU Irish Nationalist parties came to the fire to replace the troika traitors of FG/LAB/FF whom admitted during the various media providers to all be Pro Europe Anti Nationalist euro lackeys.

• Thankfully the Government kept their head when all around were losing theirs and blaming it on them (the Government).
    The opposition were a shambles and panicked when they realised they were flat footed! Who’s welfare do they really have at heart?

• Who’s welfare do the government really have at heart?
      They just agreed to pay out a massive amount of money that was only an ‘IOU’ to begin with. And its due in about 30 years, think about it- 10,000 pound 30 years ago would of been equal to about a 100,0000 nowadays. So who do you think got the ‘DEAL’!

• Michael, I’ll assume yer either a FG (Continuity FF) man or a Labour stooge.

Please explain how someone else (private banks) ran up a huge ‘credit card’ bill, then forced us to pick up the tab, but at the last moment, we were told,,,,to make it easier on us(what a disgusting joke, as it was *NEVER* ours), that instead of being hit so hard, that we’d be allowed ( Yes allowed!!!! ) to take out a long term, mulit-generational mortgage on it instead……………………………………….AND SOME PEOPLE are trying to sell this OUTRAGE as a good deal??????????

IF FG and LABOUR were in opposition at the moment,,,,can you imagine the stink they would raise on the “deal”????

• Take out one of them 0′s, meant te be 100k

• joseph, your assumptions are incorrect, I’m neither. Your assessment of the article is also flawed.
      Wonder what element of the inept opposition you support??
      Get you thinking cap on and be objective about this deal and you will realise it serves this country and later generations well

• Well said Joseph I’m sick to death of this pat on the back gov who seem to think they are great, as I saw someone said on the journal the other day

“Rearranging deck chairs on the titanic”

Well done lads pints in the dail bar on enda or as I like to call him mr bean!!

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

I agree Joseph, if I hear the utter bile

‘a good deal for Ireland’

Once more, I’m likely to flip! The sheer audacity of government ego stoking is quite frankly sickening. It was and never will be a good ‘deal’. History will tell a different story. All the while the mollycoddleing/back slapping and self praise this government and its stooges gives itself continues while Europe laugh at us right in the face. I despise FG for their shameful actions. Sick, I’m going to be sick. :&

• How did Iceland solve its problem can we do the same?

• Michael Noonan laughs with Pat Kenny about turning those illegal Anglo Promissory Notes into legal sovereign debt. Previous to the “deal”, there was no legal basis for this private debt to be paid by people living in Ireland. The true nature of this stitch up is now apparent.

• A politically partisan and inept assessment. It was an immoral deal and a bad deal but political supporters are dispatched to spread the “good word”. The deal is not a good deal.

• The Irish promissory note “deal” February 2013.
      Implemented in the dead of the night, just like a heinous crime carried out by ruthless criminals.
      Implemented so as to obscure and hide the heinous criminal acts of a criminal “bank” and its criminal operators.
      Implemented so as to assure private debts of a reckless, corrupt, criminal “bank” are turned into multi generational sovereign debt.

Deal??
      My you know what.

• KPMG were Irish Nationwide’s auditors whilst Michael Fingelton (Irish Nationwide) and Sean Fitzpatrick (Anglo) were doing (criminally questionable) dodgy deals.
      Now the government are handing over the decayed diseased remains of both Anglo and Irish Nationwide over to KPMG???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

• Y.F. 09/02/13 #

You wouldn’t read stuff as scary in a Stephen King novel.

• The Nation, including its children, have been sold into Bondhood by this Government.

• This has been one if the better weeks work done by the present Government and well done to all involved. It is important that they don’t rest on their laurels now but work even harder to make Ireland a proper successful economy now.

• Cost of borrowing down to 1.2% today, lowest since the 90′s. Clearly, markets getting behind the deal.
    Confidence returning…

• Hold the press everyone!!! New Headline! “”Markets getting behind the deal. Confidence returning…”"
      Read all about it! Markets have come, yet again, to save democracies!

…Good to know what the real driving force behind us is!

…How are the markets treating Spain and Italy at the moment?

…Is there a bond-bubble in the making?

Whatever else we do, please please do not piss the ‘markets’ off. Do whatever it takes,,yes including bailing out private banks,,, to keep them happy

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

Not for the people of Ireland! We’ve LOST ALL CONFIDENCE in the taoiseach. We know he does not act in the interests of irish citizens. Voter non confidence is at an all time low….akin if the 19890s, when FG were voted out last time.

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

*1980s…..when FG got the sack for taxing children’s shoes!

• Ryan, Joeseph,
      You both really do need to move on. That’s capitalism. Your alternative would see everybody equally poor. Your socialist utopia is a nonsense. Both of you clearly have no ambition and most likely haven’t made much of your lives. So instead, you’ll take a position that makes you feel better about your incompetence.
      Sad really.

• O’ Reilly…. capitalism??? Thanks for the joke of the day! What we have is Corporate socialism! Good God man, do you know anything???
      I would have welcomed REAL capitalism as it would have let the banks do whatever was going to happen…

But thanks for the laugh tho!

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

Sad pathetic response to a discussion that’s not going your way. When all else fails throw around a few insults, deflect away from the fact that you’re wrong.

It was not a deal.
      It was not a ‘good’ deal for Ireland.
      It sticks of criminal shenanigans.
      FG used their power to stop all Anglo court cases.
      Bilderberg Noonan signed illegal debt into our sovereignty.
      FG are down in the polls 6% yet again!

Now roll over oreily let the real citizens of this country discuss the criminality of the past few days actions.

• @ O’Reilly when I see what passes for logic in your assertions, I realise why you actually believe that this is a good deal.

If you think that is a good deal please outline to us what the rate of inflation or deflation will be up to 2038, how the principal payment due will be rolled over, what the real interest rates will be over just the next 10 years and how it makes sense to consolidate and harden such a massive amount of national debt when the capitalist and monetarist schools of economics say that when over indebted, debt must be paid down.

How many people think that in the current global recession, with downward pressures on wages, high cumulative taxes, reduced consumer demand and the persistent erosion of real values of wages for the working and middle classes, we are going to see rampant inflation gobble up this massive addition to our already massive debt?

Many commentators are predicting actual deflation. I read one impressive analysis and I found it plausible.

The truth is that living in the expectation of high inflation is a fool’s expectation.

Now O’Reilly, please explain explain how you think that this is actually a good deal.

• O'Reilly 09/02/13 #

Peter, everything has its base line, bottom out. After that its an upward trajectory. You point to downward pressure on wages for example. Yet many Irish business are actually paying increases this year & unions are queing up with claims in the labour court. Consumer confidence has stabilised and will most certainly rise on the back of this deal. House prices are stabilising too – and buyers are moving in. And with todays news on the cost if borrowing, is say things are starting to turn. As for inflation in 2038, like you I don’t have a crystal ball either….

• @ O’Reilly, I see. Your entire hypothesis is based on a cyclical notion. You say that we are at the bottom of the cycle and in the words of the song, the only way is up. I disagree.

We cannot predict inflation but the description of the Bond deal as a great deal or a good deal depends on high inflation. We would need at least 4 per cent on average per annum to 2038. Based on what we know today, only a fool would predict long term and significant annual inflation.

You say that we will never repay the principal sums due in 2038 and afterwards. This is the notion of perpetual debt. Only very large and powerful economies ever succeed in that. Ireland does not have the muscle to do this. We are not the sole player in a large and powerful currency, such as the US dollar.

You say that house prices will stabilise. I disagree. The property taxes will have a major adverse impact, the get tough approach from the Covered Institutions will release a lot of repossessed property on to the market, wages and salaries, needed to fund mortgage repayments are declining and lending policies will remain restrictive because of the massive mortgage impairments on the books of the Covered Institutions.

Continuing emigration, producing significant net outflows, combined with increasing voluntary emigration from the brighter of the younger generation, recognising that Ireland’s debt level is unsustainable will worsen the demographic profile and reduce demand for housing.

• The country has been robbed blind by the ECB……IT IS NOT OUR DEBT !! Just lost 3000 in the bookies , can you pay my debt today for me O’Reilly ? It is for the good of the country !!!

• O'Reilly 09/02/13 #

Peter, inflation won’t negate the debt but it will mitigate against it. There will be inflation between now and 2038. The mind boggles that you suggest otherwise. As for my cyclical notion, hasn’t it always been that way. You see depression, I see recovery. I hope I’m right.

• O'Reilly 09/02/13 #

Jonathan, deal with the realities. Our elected gov made it our debt. A absolute disgrace, but now its our problem. This gov dealt with it the best way it could. You can scream not our debt till the cows come home. But it won’t get you anywhere.

• @o reilly The reality is that our country was sold out by corrupt politicians then and now…..so we have been literally robbed.. that is the reality. An investigation into this massive crime should be created and find out who are the traitors because a treasonous act has occurred against the State.

• At last, some good work done by our government. We can now get on with rebuilding our economy. Good job Enda.

• What “job” exactly did Enda do?
      ECB could see that it would not be possible for Ireland to make payment in march then june in a sustainable way,so saddled our fkids with debt instead.

• Ryan'O 09/02/13 #

At last some good work done by our government?!

If you call converting IOUs that we could have negotiated out of, into sovereign debt that your children will have the pleasure of paying good work, then I’d hate to think what you consider a bada days work.

Do you even work? With a statement like that its highly unlikely given your productivity ratings!

• Michael Noonan 1 Draghi 0

• O Reilly you can’t eat confidence

• O'Reilly 09/02/13 #

Actually, you can. It’s consumer confidence that leads to spending. Spending creates jobs. Jobs puts food on the table. When will people get this? Confidence is everything…

• Slight problem with yer analysis dere Reilly-boy…… it *ALL* starts with the consumer having the money to spend in the first place in order to get that ball rolling. Have you been paying any attention whatsoever about the plight of a huge portion of our population is financially going through???

• Spend fecking what you muppet ?? By the time the majority of us pay or bills WE HAVE FECK ALL LEFT !!!

• O'Reilly 09/02/13 #

Joesph, retailers had their best Christmas in 5 years. But don’t let the facts get in the way. It’s also a fact that those that can are saving significantly in fear of the future. Confidence unlocks that. Sinned stores, M&S, Brown Thomas all signed up to pay increases in the last month. That inspires confidence. And before you whine about having to pay property/water tax that is offset by the fact that grocery shopping has never been cheaper. This country is slowly but surely digging its way out of the hole its in.
      You continue to sit in yours…

• Reilly, look u clearly want to believe that the country is coming out of this hole….. i wonder how many 10s of thousands marched today throughout the county. Ya think they agree with yer optimism?

As for me ,,what was it you said,, oh yeah as i continue to sit in my hole…and another gem about property tax etc
      please Reilly, Im not sure if you’ve got yer head up Endas hole or just ur own, but please man, take it out and see that people are truly suffering and in large numbers. You disrespect them all by dismissing their protestations are merely “whinging”

I’m all for optimism, but it needs to be based on reality.

Glad to hear that “Sinned stores, M&S, Brown Thomas all signed up to pay increases in the last month” Good for them all.

But did you hear about the study done last month? Ya know the one about how many people have €60 or less after bills etc left to spend each month? Do you know how many people ae in that group???

• We’ve gone from being bent over a barrel by Europe to playing a ling game of just the tip with Europe.

Add New Comment