Advertisement
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 8°C Wednesday 2 December 2020

Tuesday 17 November, 2020

Woman (49) who beat step-daughter with fire poker and force-fed her chilli powder jailed for two years

Part-time cleaner Bridget Kenneally was given the sentence today.

Thursday 12 November, 2020

Ian Bailey appears in court on charges related to possession of cannabis and drug-driving

The 63-year-old faces four charges following his arrest last year.

Tuesday 3 November, 2020

Brothers jailed after they forced pensioner to pay thousands for chainsaws and tools

The judge described men’s actions as a “phenomenally serious offence”.

Friday 30 October, 2020

Suspended sentence for woman who cut down spruce trees in Coillte forest and replaced them with native trees

Jones said that she was just trying to protect the environment.

Wednesday 28 October, 2020

Woman in Cork jailed for life after stabbing ex-husband 28 times

The family of the deceased man said they are “scarred for life” by the circumstances of his death.

Tuesday 27 October, 2020

Married couple donned wigs and disguises as part of €400,000 fraud from banks, court hears

Former solicitors Keith Flynn and Lyndsey Clarke have pleaded guilty to conspiracy to commit fraud.

Friday 23 October, 2020

Teenager airlifted to Cork University Hospital following collision between car and school bus

The teen is understood to have been an occupant of the hatchback car.

Friday 2 October, 2020

Man appears in court over €3.7 million cash seizure

Darren Hoey has been remanded in custody.

Thursday 1 October, 2020

Eleven students suspended from UCC for allegedly breaching public health guidelines

A number of complaints had been made.

Tuesday 22 September, 2020

Nun who broke planning laws to set up west Cork hermitage given until next summer to vacate premises

Two runs continue to live on the property.

Friday 18 September, 2020

Man (50s) dies after getting into difficulty swimming in Youghal

Gardaí are treating the death as a tragic accident.

Monday 7 September, 2020

Man charged with making malicious calls to family of Cameron Blair

The 20-year-old student was fatally stabbed in Cork in January.

Wednesday 2 September, 2020

'He was the most amazing person': Funeral of man (26) who died outside Kerry hotel takes place in Cork

IT Tralee graduate Darragh Sheehan was found unconscious in Killarney last Saturday.

Friday 21 August, 2020

Two men charged with murder of homeless man in Cork city

Timmy Hourihane died in October 2019.

Monday 17 August, 2020

Two men injured in alleged racist assault in Cork

Martin Hong told RTÉ News that the attack involved a group of three people.

Sunday 16 August, 2020

Gardaí investigate after child 'licked on the face' by elderly man in Cork

The man was not known to the child or their mother.

Wednesday 5 August, 2020

Former solicitors appear in court charged with conspiracy to commit fraud

Lyndsey Clarke and Keith Flynn have been remanded on bail until 2 September.

Monday 3 August, 2020

Man who drowned in the River Lee named locally as Bernard Geasley

The 38-year-old was fishing with friends near Ballincollig when he got into difficulty in the water.

Friday 17 July, 2020

Cork landlord given court order after tenants hold 'Covid house parties'

The landlord found himself subject to an order under environmental laws.

Monday 6 July, 2020

Man (21) charged over incident where shots were fired at gardaí in Cork over the weekend

Tommy Mannah appeared in court today charged with endangerment and firearms offences.

Sunday 28 June, 2020

Micheál Martin plans on hanging Eamon de Valera and Michael Collins portraits side-by-side in his office

Martin said it will act as a symbol of historic government coalition that was formed this week.

Friday 19 June, 2020

Man (54) jailed for 10 years after stabbing 47-year-old mother and her two children

The children raised the alarm and jumped to the assistance of their mother during the attack.

Monday 8 June, 2020

Teenager charged with robbery and assault after incident in Carrigaline is told to stay off social media

The teenager was charged with robbery and with assault causing harm of another teenager.

Thursday 7 May, 2020

Teenager who received life sentence for killing Cameron Blair has lodged an appeal

The 20-year-old student was fatally stabbed in Cork in January.

Sunday 19 April, 2020

Two men remanded in custody over string of burglaries in Cork

Anthony Horgan and Christopher Jones appeared before a special sitting of Cork District Court today.

Friday 17 April, 2020

'You're thinking - I might not get through this': Dublin garda tells of 14-day coronavirus hospital ordeal

Sgt Paul Cullen has since recovered from Covid-19 and said the staff in Beaumont Hospital were “amazing”.

Man (30s) appears in court after allegedly spitting on gardaí

The man appeared before a court in Mallow, Co Cork yesterday.

Friday 3 April, 2020

Farmer (64) dies after being attacked by bull

Emergency services were alerted after a neighbour found the man in an unresponsive state.

Wednesday 1 April, 2020

Man (48) appears in court charged in connection with stabbing of his son at Cork bus stop

Gino Frahill was found injured at a bus stop in Bandon shortly before 8am yesterday.

Sunday 29 March, 2020

Woman subjected to 'two-hour ordeal' after she woke to man over her bed with knife, court hears

James McKenzie has been charged with burglary and criminal damage.

Man (19) charged after allegedly spitting in garda's face and claiming he has coronavirus

Two members of An Garda Siochana have to go off duty for two weeks arising out of the incident.

Thursday 19 March, 2020

Port of Cork agrees to temporary suspension of cruise line operations amid Covid-19 crisis

Cruise liners that were due to berth between now and 20 April have been cancelled.

Wednesday 18 March, 2020

Gardaí investigating after shots fired through front door of Cork city house

Searches involving the armed support unit and the garda dog unit are continuing.

Thursday 12 March, 2020

Ian Bailey appears in court charged with drug driving

He was stopped by gardaí in Schull in West Cork in August 2019.

Thursday 5 March, 2020

Three young men appear in court charged in connection with Cameron Blair's murder

Cameron Blair was killed while attending a party in Cork city on 16 January.

Friday 28 February, 2020

Woman who cut down spruce trees in Coillte forest and replaced them with native trees is spared jail

The jury found the 61-year-old guilty of a second charge of dishonestly appropriating felled spruce wood.

Joshua Allen, 19-year-old son of TV chef Rachel Allen, jailed for 15 months

The eldest son of Rachel and Isaac Allen has pleaded guilty to possession of cannabis for sale or supply.

Wednesday 26 February, 2020

'The pain of losing you is unbelievable': Funeral held for Cork schoolgirl killed in crash

Two teenage boys also suffered serious injuries in the crash.

Tuesday 25 February, 2020

First case of rubella in Ireland in more than a decade confirmed at company in Cork

The HSE is advising that the best protection from rubella is the MMR vaccine.

Monday 24 February, 2020

Couple charged with murder of man at his Cork home

Paul Jones was was found dead in the living room of his home last September.

1 2 3 4