You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

sponsored by avonmore

6 creature comforts we look forward to when getting off the plane

Ah sure you’d nearly even miss the rain, all the same.

SURE, WE ALL love the two weeks away in the summer.

Jetting off for a break is one of the best parts of the year. But do you know what’s another great part of holidays? Coming back to all the things you missed at home – your creature comforts.

1. Giving out

It’s the cardinal rule on holidays – no moaning.

But… But we LOVE moaning. It’s almost worth the one day of rain on the holiday so you can get a solid day’s moan done.

Image: Shutterstock

2. Being understood

Irish slang is absolutely impenetrable to a foreign ear. Forget speaking your cúpla focal when on holidays – just break out some uniquely Irish idioms and no one will be any the wiser.

3. The craic/banter

The Irish sense of humour is unrivalled around the world – it’s an unbeatable mix of self-deprecation coupled with slagging of anyone in earshot.

4. Proper chipper chips on the way home

On the way home from the bar or club on holidays, one essential part of the night is hauntingly missing. That’s right: curry cheese chips or taco fries. It’s just NOT a night out without them.

5. A decent cup of tea

Forget the Barrys or Lyons debate. Chance would be a fine thing. You can only get suspicious-looking teabags with finicky strings abroad. Honestly, sometimes they even ask you do you want it “cold or hot”. Excuse me? And research undertaken by Avonmore reveals that 39% of us miss a decent cup of tea when we’re off on our holliers.

Which leads us on to…

6. Irish milk

Can’t be beaten.

Image: Drink Master

The one thing we want more than anything when the plane lands in from our holidays is real Irish milk. And to celebrate this, Avonmore – Ireland’s most chosen brand – are giving away 20,000 litres of FREE milk to returning holiday makers in Dublin airport this summer.

So, keep an eye out for a text message when you land and pick up your free carton of Avonmore milk in Spar in the arrivals hall. That’s the first cup of tea when you get home sorted!