Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 16 February, 2019

#future focus series

# future-focus-series - Sunday 10 February, 2019

Bye-bye bifocals, hello bionic eyes: the future of seeing and hearing

Plus how Amazon’s Alexa could be literally inside your ear.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 27 January, 2019

Goodbye Facebook, hello hologram phone calls? The future of staying in touch

The way we communicate is about to get a whole lot more virtual.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 13 January, 2019

'Did you see that billboard, or was it just me': The personalised future of advertising

Individual billboards and the $40 billion marketing potential of Alexa – the next stage in the advertising revolution.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 30 December, 2018

No to Tinder, yes to DNA matching: The future of romance

Dates are more accessible than ever thanks to apps. But it’s no easier to find a fulfilling relationship. How can tech help?

# future-focus-series - Sunday 16 December, 2018

Bye bye credit cards, hello paying by eyeball: The future of spending your money

Your eyes and fingerprints are about to become a crucial part of how you pay for things.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 18 November, 2018

# future-focus-series - Sunday 4 November, 2018

Sci-fi wrinkle killers and no more orange necklines: The future of doing your makeup

How the beauty industry is evolving – and what you can expect in the continuing quest to make ourselves more attractive.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 21 October, 2018

Pass me an extra limb, I'll just plug it in: The future of hacking your body

From antennae implants to genetic upgrades: can we use technology to improve our bodies?

# future-focus-series - Sunday 7 October, 2018

Goodbye modh coinníollach, hello Minecraft? The future of education

From robots in the classroom to school tours in VR.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 23 September, 2018

Robot babysitters and poop-predicting nappies: Here's the future of being a good parent

Sadly you’ll still have to do the actual nappy-changing yourself.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 9 September, 2018

Goodbye cat burglar, hello drone burglar: Here's what crime will look like in future

From data theft to using remote-controlled flying machines.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 12 August, 2018

# future-focus-series - Sunday 15 July, 2018

Goodbye gym guilt, hello exercise pills? The future of staying in shape

No more boring hours on the exercise bike? Eh, sign us up.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 1 July, 2018

Snore-killing earbuds and cuddling robots: the future of getting a good night's sleep

If you thought it was just a matter of going to bed early… you were wrong.

# future-focus-series - Tuesday 19 June, 2018

# future-focus-series - Sunday 3 June, 2018

Long-dead singers playing 'live' in concert: The future of the music you love

Holograms, mixed-reality shows and songs written by algorithms: here’s what’s coming to your headphones.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 20 May, 2018

Would you let your fridge do the Big Shop for you? The future of your personal data

Or would you sell your personal information to the highest bidder? (If you haven’t already.)

# future-focus-series - Sunday 6 May, 2018

Live to 120 years old and never forget your pills again: The future of not getting sick

From molecular implants to tissue regeneration, here’s how researchers are working on extending our lifespans.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 22 April, 2018

VR backpacks and real-life rainfall: Here's what the cinema of the future will look like

Plus the Dublin cinema already on board.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 8 April, 2018

Flying taxis and Ireland's own 'supersonic' train: The future of public transport

Hyperloop pods could cover the Dublin to Cork route in 15 minutes flat.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 25 March, 2018

Bye-bye pizza guy, no more spice bag shame: The future of getting a takeaway

Oh, and… hello flying robots.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 11 March, 2018

A nice insect casserole with 3D-printed dessert: The future of your weeknight dinner

The changes coming to the way we eat – and what we eat.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 25 February, 2018

No more queues, no more supermarket aisles: The future of the Big Shop

Supermarkets as we know them could become a thing of the past.

# future-focus-series - Sunday 11 February, 2018

'Student halls for grown-ups': How communal living spaces could change our idea of home

Node CEO Anil Khera says co-living is the antidote to Dublin’s ‘lazy’ developers.