You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ibrahim Halawa: 'Finally the day where I can see the sky without bars'

The 21-year-old spent more than four years in jail.

Ibrahim Halawa free Ibrahim Halawa / Facebook Ibrahim Halawa / Facebook / Facebook

Updated at 9.15pm

Finally the day where I can see the sky without bars, smell fresh air, walk freely, and smile deeply from the bottom of my heart. But I miss one thing and it’s being home.

This is Irishman Ibrahim Halawa’s first public response to being released from a prison in Cairo last night after being detained more than four years ago.

In a Facebook post, he thanked the embassy and everyone who helped him in his bid for freedom.

“I wanna thank the team at the embassy who worked very hard. The ambassador Sean O’Regan, former ambassador Damien Cole, Shane Gleeson, Vincent Herlihy. Thank you to everyone who helped I love you all,” he said.

His release came just over one month after he was found not guilty by an Egyptian court.

Speaking to RTÉ News, Coveney said that Halawa was “in great form, he was tired but at the same time he was hugely excited”.

“No bitterness, just simply, I think, happy and relieved to wanted to get home and wanting to get on with his life,” Coveney said.

This is a great, great day for the Halawa family. I made it very clear to him that as far as we see him, he is as Irish as anybody else.

“He is an Irish citizen who had been in prison for four years when he shouldn’t have been and we want to get him home,” he said.

The 21-year-old had been arrested in 2013 during a protest in support of the Muslim Brotherhood’s Mohamed Morsi, who had been ousted from power in a military coup.

His case was delayed 28 times before his legal team finally had a chance to defend him in court in early August. He was acquitted of all charges on 18 September.

Halawa is expected to return home to Ireland on “Sunday or Monday”, according to Coveney.

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One’s Morning Ireland, Coveney said that there are still some formalities required before Halawa can travel home to Ireland.

“Ibrahim no longer has the passport that he had when he went to Cairo over four years ago now,” Coveney said.

“We’ve issued him with a new passport but that, of course, is a clean passport. When he goes to the airport he’s not going to have an immigration stamp on that passport, which will pose problems for him at customs and security at the airport,” he said.

In order to be able to fly home, Halawa needs to get his immigration stamp on his new passport. To get the stamp, he must turn up in person to the immigration ministry.

“The timing and the problem with that is that we are now in the Egyptian weekend, which is a Friday and Saturday,” Coveney said.

That immigration office isn’t open on a Friday and has very limited opening on a Saturday.
It’ll either be Sunday or Monday by the time he’s home.

Travelling home

Coveney said that Hawala’s release was “somewhat unexpected last night actually, as he was released at 11pm last night from the police station that he was originally detained in”.

He added that Halawa and his family have asked for privacy and do not wish to make a big deal about his homecoming.

The Irish ambassador in Egypt will travel with Halawa back to Ireland, according to Coveney.

“The quickest way to get him home is on commercial flights and I think that’s what the family want also,” he said.

Reaction

President Michael D Higgins, who is on a State visit to Australia, welcomed Halawa’s release.

In a statement, Higgins wished Halawa well.

The release of Ibrahim Halawa will come as a great relief to his family.

“It will be welcomed by all those who were concerned for him in his long ordeal of imprisonment.

I wish Ibrahim Halawa well on his journey home.

Colm O’Gorman, Executive Director of Amnesty International Ireland, said: “It is thanks to the determined work of his lawyers and campaigning of his family, friends and Amnesty activists that his horrific ordeal has finally come to an end.

“Ibrahim should never have had to endure this horrendous experience. He has lost four years of his young life and nothing can ever excuse that injustice. Thankfully, his nightmare is finally over and he can now begin to move on with his life.”

With reporting from Gráinne Ní Aodha

Read: ‘The nightmare is over’: Ibrahim Halawa has been released from prison in Egypt

More: Full coverage of Ibrahim Halawa’s case

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

203 Comments
    Mute Kenny Wolf
    Favourite Kenny Wolf
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:16 PM

I’ve booked Monday off just in case there’s a parade…

Mute Aldric Montague
    Favourite Aldric Montague
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:26 PM

@Kenny Wolf: status red warning: Hurricane Halawa incoming!!

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:01 PM

@Kenny Wolf:

As long as he and his family pay for his way home like they did pay his way to go there that is fine (not the parade) perhaps a balloon and a sandwich as he comes out of customs at the airport.

I did not see anybody throwing him on to the stage or strapping a microphone to his mouth.

When in Rome do as the Romans comes to mind.

One must be accountable for their actions and that is where it stops. Perhaps daddy should have spoken to him first and told him not to get involved in other nations issues.

If the government jet goes out to get him there will be quite a few p1s$ed off people starting with those that were refused the government jet to send them on to the UK for life saving operations.

The nation owes him nothing.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Hank
    Favourite Hank
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:11 PM

@Kenny Wolf: they should wait until the bank holiday to allow us all to join in the celebrations.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:31 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: daddy knew full well what he was doing. .he got his blessing !

Mute Cultural Marxist
    Favourite Cultural Marxist
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:39 PM

@Aldric Montague: 8 comments already! Time for you to get a new hobby mate, or even better, a job!

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:51 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: Once its not a ham sandwich

Oct 20th 2017, 4:58 PM

@Sean Buckley:

If I was on a 4 year hunger strike and of a faith that did not allow it, I just might give into temptation.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:59 PM

@Clever Jake:
    I have news for you Jake – the MB are far closer to the pointy white hat brigade than the vast majority of the Journal readership….

Mute June Rose-Sommer
    Favourite June Rose-Sommer
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:05 PM

@Kenny Wolf: I had to laugh at that one Kenny Wolf!!!! :-)

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:14 PM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh:
    You and your dreadful racist friends make me ashamed to be Irish. There is something very seriously wrong with you. I am delighted to hear about Ibrahim’s release.

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:26 PM

@Kenny Wolf: I thought at home in EGYPT, was he not born there?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:27 PM

@Ryan Dub:
    What did Daithi say that was racist??

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:38 PM

@George Vladisavljevic:
    It would be nice if the government sent the jet, just to piss you and your racist friends off.
    (If you read the article very carefully, the government isn’t planning to send the jet.)

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:39 PM

@Aldric Montague: What a stupid comment.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:22 PM

@Clever Jake:
    So what do you think of the MB?

Far right? Check
    Supremacists? Check
    Promote violence against those of a different persuasion? Check
    Intolerant of gays? Check
    Intolerant of jews? Check
    Intolerant of women’s rights? Check
    Heck, intolerant of human rights full stop? Check

I could go on, but you get the picture at this stage. It’s ironic that the far left and liberals appear to be their greatest supporters here in Ireland.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:53 PM

And doubly ironic that if Halawa was a white supremacist supporter who went to speak from the stage at a KKK rally the same people on the far left and liberals would probably be on here castigating him. Amazing how virtue signalling scrambles the brain.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:13 PM

@Hank: Why not declare a bank holiday in celebration.

Mute Bill Domican
    Favourite Bill Domican
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:54 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: The sisters are sponsored by Gillette

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:05 PM

@Clever Jake: my support is for the persecuted Coptic Christian population who are suffering so much in Egypt and the LGBT cummunity and for women’s rights and all the other minority populations who are been forgotten ……North Belfast nationalist

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:25 PM

@Clever Jake:
    I will call supremacist extremism wherever I see it. That includes white supremacist groups like the KKK and Islamic supremacist groups like the MB.
    As far as I can see they’re both abhorrent toxic ideologies, and I have zero time for anyone who supports either of them.
    The double-standards from the far left/liberals that I was referring to is breathtaking.

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:52 PM

@Bill Domican: lol

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:17 AM

@Avina Laaf: great responses, well done.

Mute Alaa Adly
    Favourite Alaa Adly
    Oct 21st 2017, 2:08 AM

@Kenny Wolf:
    please don’t

Mute Aldric Montague
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:16 PM

He looks quite portly for someone who has been on a long term hunger strike.

Mute Aldric Montague
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:20 PM

They’ve swapped the pictures out the cheeky so and so’s!!

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:22 PM

@Aldric Montague: that pic is from five years ago, does that look like Ireland in the background?

Moron

Mute Aldric Montague
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:23 PM

@Ben Coughlan: oh look they’ve revered course back to the picture of portly Ibrahim after his release. Well fed anyway.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:48 PM

@Ben Coughlan: naw, his cousin was in it and been cut out. It’s a day old.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:10 PM

@Aldric Montague: He apparently came across a dyslexic prison officer who brought him quorn instead of a book.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:20 PM

@Aldric Montague: Portly? I would say almost (ahem) porky.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:29 PM

Great to see our fellow jackeen coming home to the ‘oul sod.

Apparently it was a prisoner exchange deal, we released the Egyptian native Finbar O’ Shaughnessy and sent him back to his Home city of Cairo.

Mute June Rose-Sommer
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:10 PM

@Ken O’Neill: Brilliant!!! I just love Irish humour!!

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Oct 21st 2017, 6:15 PM

@Clever Jake: Ken has 800+ likes and you have 0.
    I think your in the minority. Tough crowd.

Mute Aldric Montague
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:19 PM

Are his sister still suing the state?

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:24 PM

@Aldric Montague: Indeed. They’re suing the state for not processing their husbands asylum claims quickly enough. You have to ask, how much money can this one family cost the taxpayer.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/ibrahim-halawas-sisters-sue-minister-for-justice-over-delay-in-husbands-visas-790743.html

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:46 PM

@JimmyMc:
    They were also threatening to sue the state for lack of action on his case, despite the fact that (according to RTE) 20,000 consular hours were invested in it.
    It would be interesting to know how much 20,000 consular hours cost the taxpayer.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:46 PM

@Aldric Montague: where are his Sisters Husband

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:58 PM

@pat seery: The Halawa sister’s husbands are Egyptian nationals currently residing in Turkey. They are suing because the state isn’t acting fast enough for their liking.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:41 PM

@Avina Laaf: Did they hire extra staff to cover these hours ? If not, then there was no extra cost.

Mute Simon O'Connor
    Favourite Simon O'Connor
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Tommy Roche: Did you attend school as a child?

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Oct 20th 2017, 11:15 PM

@Aldric Montague: I don’t care one way or the other but I’d imagine the ‘suing the state’ thing was a tactic to keep some bit of pressure on the case regarding their brother. If they keep it going from now on, it will say something else about them.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Oct 20th 2017, 11:49 PM

@Aldric Montague: are his sister’s still fugitives for skipping bail in Egypt

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 21st 2017, 4:01 AM

@Tommy Roche: how do you cover 20,000 hours in four years without dedicated resources?

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:08 PM

Thank God he did not get what he was protesting for…The Muslim Brotherhood in power in Egypt…Shria law in force…The end of their tourist industry..The sectarian persecution of Christians…Would be great if RTE would ask him to even comment on the Muslim Brotherhood….Do RTE believe he was just an innocent Irish tourist in Egypt.

Mute Remy
    Favourite Remy
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:13 PM

@Coles:

Tell that to the Coptic Christians of Egypt who are persecuted daily by the MB and it’s followers, you degenerate Dhimmi.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:00 PM

@John003: Don’t expect the virtue signalling crew at RTÉ to ask the real questions. Those is going to be some slobbering vomit fest.

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:30 PM

@John003: Thank God democracy fell!? You’re on a roll, John003.

Mute Danny G
    Favourite Danny G

He’ll be in Louis Walsh’s next boy band ” walk like an Egyptian!! ” he’s going to be huge!!

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:50 PM

@Danny G: That made me laugh

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:00 PM

@Danny G: Their going on tour support act to Sharia Twain & Quran Quran..lead singer Simon le BOM

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Danny G: Ibby Pop and the jihadis.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:51 PM

@Danny G: ‘Brotherhood of man’ Save all your kisses for me.

Mute Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Favourite Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:17 PM

@Sean Buckley: brilliant! Very funny! Well done

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:31 PM

How can people here care so much about one Irish man and so little for another?

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-government-refusing-help-cork-man-philippines-drugs-2996335-Oct2016/

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:38 PM

@Willie Kavanagh: I know, it can be somewhat confusing when his supporters on one hand constantly reminding everyone he’s Irish and on the other proceeding to call everyone a racist who doesn’t agree with them.

That’s the perpetually offended for you. They don’t need to know why it is they are angry, as long as they are angry about something and apart of the same angry herd.

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:09 PM

@Arnold Lane: I actually didn’t know about his case. That is a disgrace. When I first read it I thought it was a typo when it said .38 grams. That is about fivers worth of weed.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:56 PM

@Arnold Lane: my thoughts exactly.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:13 PM

20,000 consular hours as quoted by Coventry this morning over the last 4 years dealing with this guys self inflicted imprisonmemt .
    The highest hourly assistance for an individual in the history of the state .
    Calculate the eye watering cost of this to the tax payer
    The man has immediate family in Egypt who could assist him now that he is free ?
    The attention to this case and the efforts were absolute farce supported by blinkered individuals with pinched mentalities .

Mute Willie Kavanagh
    Favourite Willie Kavanagh
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:52 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: Quentin spot on.

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: Equates to bet

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:01 PM

@Gerard McConnell: Equates to between 5-6 ppl full time for a whole year.
    While we have homeless children, hundreds on trolleys, thousands waiting on Operations, living in agony.
    Yeah let’s spend a fortune instead trying to free a terrorist. Sickening.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:17 PM

Late Late Show next week so.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:21 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: Will he have gotten the questions, rehearsed the answers and had them approved by the brotherhood in that space of time

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:39 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: he wont have his book written by then will he

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:48 PM

@Mr Poopy Butthole: make the movie do the sean o rourke show newstalk few shows late late ray darsey o callaghan the angelus ect ect

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:01 PM

@john g mcgrath: The Angelus ,?? Eh??

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:50 PM

Praise Allah. Now the muslim brotherhood has its lieutenant back at last. Which country is he going to visit next “on holiday”? Won’t be a place without an armed struggle for Allah, I would wager.

Mute Éamonn Gavin
    Favourite Éamonn Gavin
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:22 PM

Now perhaps (but I am NOT keeping my fingers crossed) our Irish government might find a second or three to make ONE phone call to President Duterte of The Philippines, to seek justice for Éanna O’Cochlain, Cork born male Irish nurse, who has been held in the Philippines for the past four years (on bail awaiting his Supreme Court appeal) and facing the serving of his 14 year sentence. His crime? Not paying the ransom to be freed after 0.038grams of cannabis was planted on him at Laoag Airport as he was going to board his flight home. That Filipino scam is well known to all, including President Duterte (even our own Diplomats are warned by our Irish government to keep their luggage secure – but no warning to we “ordinary” citizens!). I have asked Taoisigh Varadkar and Kenny if they will make that one phone call, “yes” or “no”, for over a year now. Their answer? NONE. NO ANSWER to my repeated requests. Our Irish media is equally as bad – they barely mention Éanna. My own description of this breach of the Irish Constitutional guarantee of “equal treatment for all our citizens” is that it is “PANDERING RACISM”. TAOISEACH – PICK UP THE PHONE !!!

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:30 PM

@Éamonn Gavin: fully agree and with that lunatic of a leaders attitude to drugs that chap has had it if he gets no assistance

Mute Pat Price
    Favourite Pat Price
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:51 PM

@Éamonn Gavin: Best wishes. Unfortunately if its not a media friendly. or a very PC case then plastic Leo and his plastic mates will not want to know,

Mute Aislinn T
    Favourite Aislinn T
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:21 PM

where is Ibrahim Halawas
    Old irish passport
    With his immigration stamp ?
    the egyptians don’t have it or he would be able to leave today.
    did he actually destroy his passport ?

Oct 20th 2017, 2:00 PM

As long as he and his family pay for his way home like they did pay his way to go there that is fine.

I did not see anybody throwing him on to the stage or strapping a microphone to his mouth.

When in Rome do as the Romans comes to mind.

One must be accountable for their actions and that is where it stops. Perhaps daddy should have spoken to him first and told him not to get involved in other nations issues.

If the government jet goes out to get him there will be quite a few p1s$ed off people starting with those that were refused the government jet to send them on to the UK for life saving operations.

The nation owes him nothing.

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:53 PM

In one sense I’m glad he’s free, maybe now we might hear the end of him…after Turpentine,Darcy and Kenny have had their in depth interviews. As a released prisoner I presume the Gardai will want to interview him first, that is normal procedure. Now maybe we might hear about other Irish people detained abroad,and reasons why.

Mute Craig Hughes
    Favourite Craig Hughes
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:35 PM

For a guy that was supposed to be on hunger strike / not given food !!! Looks like he was tucking into the old protein

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:52 PM

Has there ever been such expense and effort., diplomatic political etc on behalf of an` Irish citizen imprisoned abroad`. taoiseach, govt ministers, parliamentary delegations etc?
    All this for the MB, no awkward questions, no media probing, nothing, extraordinary.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: Not accusing anyone but have come to suspect that there is Qatari financial ‘investment’ involved somewhere. The official hysteria about the case is inexplicable otherwise.

Mute Éamonn Gavin
    Favourite Éamonn Gavin
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:24 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: Hi Patrick, The whole affair is a national scandal. Please have a look at my post on here about Corkman, Éanna O’Cochlain. The Irish government should be totally ashamed of themselves. They are the most pathetic crew with which I have ever had to deal. Their ONLY excuse for their behaviour is that they have NO idea about the real world. The Irish media doesn’t even have THAT as an excuse – they simply ignore Éanna also. It is what I call PANDERING RACISM.

Mute Eddie Kavanagh
    Favourite Eddie Kavanagh
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:29 PM

Why does the ambassador have to travel with him? Why give him a new passport if he burned the old one? Bet if I burn mine I won’t get a new one that fast and probably free.

Mute Kenneth Anthony Sweeney
    Favourite Kenneth Anthony Sweeney
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:48 PM

@Eddie Kavanagh: on record in Egypt that is Irish passport and mislaid by them! Where is your evidence that Ibrahim destroyed his passport! Were you in Cairo and actually witness him destroy the passport?

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:07 PM

can someone tell me why the comments section of the attack in a mosque in longford is not opened to comments 4 muslim men attacking ,

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 21st 2017, 9:30 AM

@Christy Pop: probably because of the racist abuse you and your type will leave on it. Is there any thing else you would like me to tell you lol

Mute tony kennedy
    Favourite tony kennedy
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:55 PM

Oh Leo Leo Leo only 2 more sleeps till you get a foto taken with Ibrahim. Isnt it exciting

Mute Keith Healy
    Favourite Keith Healy
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:21 PM

Wonder what the crowd will be like for the homecoming?

Mute Aldric Montague
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:25 PM

@Keith Healy: men to the front women shoved in the back. Leo better leave his rainbow flag at home also.

Mute Willie Kavanagh
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:55 PM

@Keith Healy: I’d say idiots.

Mute Kieran Cronin
    Favourite Kieran Cronin
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:36 PM

Halawa went 2 Egypt 2 support the Muslim Brotherhood. An organization that supports Jihad. .Now b 4 the infidels slag me off r willing 2 turn 2 Islam & accept Sharia then your all saved. Let you all think about that, for a moment. As 4 being racist I’m no more racist than any of u. A Muslim is a Muslim b 4 he recognizes any State & that State is Islam So don’t go saying he is Irish because he was born here cos that’s not true in his doctrine. The Muslim Brotherhood go under a banner of democracy when it sounds good. That said the man he went 2 support Mohamed Morsi declared himself the sole leader of Egypt. A Pharaoh nun the less. The Muslim Brotherhood was never a democratic political movement. It’s not even a close call. The United Nations human rights office called on Morsi 2 listen 2 the demands of his people estimated at 22,000,000 Egyptians 2 step down.
    If Halawa is ever released & chooses 2 return 2 Ireland 4 what ever reason he should be personally met by our government this i agree with. In the form of the anti terrorist squad 2 answer some serious questions b 4 his ass is thrown in jail here & b 4 being expelled 4 good Otherwise start brushing up on your Quran

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:56 PM

@Kieran Cronin: most people on this forum who do not agree with other all the efforts made to get him freed or questioning the story he has spun are not RACISTS but FACTISTS

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:00 PM

@Kieran Cronin: Jesus Christ man get a dictionary and an education… your post is an assault on the brain and the eyes.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:22 PM

@Kieran Cronin: that’s just way too long I couldn’t be arsed reading it lol

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:41 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: Looks like you accidentally typed a T instead of an F there buddy.

Mute Paddy Moretti
    Favourite Paddy Moretti
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:33 PM

What, pray tell, was the alternative option to “commercial flights”?

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:51 PM

Taxpayer funded ones

Mute Willie Kavanagh
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:54 PM

@Father Hody Commody: Are you meant to be Spodo Commodo? I’m Father dewy louie.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:05 PM

@Willie Kavanagh: No, I’ve a hearing problem. There’s a Spodo on here that I didn’t realise when I took my own confirmation name and I hope he doesn’t take umbrage with me.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:08 PM

Do you ever think that you have been had.

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:30 PM

@Deano; once, but it was just piles!

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:36 PM

Please lets not give him a hero’s welcome back .. he’s no hero . Why did he get all the attention over other Irish citizens geld abroad for over two years without as much as two consular visits ? What hold has this family got ?

Mute Neville Patterson
    Favourite Neville Patterson
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:10 PM

Tubridy will have paddy Egyptian on

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:22 PM

I see RTÉ 6.1 News had multiple orgasms reporting this. He made his own way out there. Let him make his own way back. No time or sympathy for him. Wait for the fawning & slobbering fests to follow……

Mute David Fitzgerald
    Favourite David Fitzgerald
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:46 PM

Who cares?

Mute YouHaveGotToBeJoking
    Favourite YouHaveGotToBeJoking
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:01 PM

Who’s this now? Never heard of him?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:09 AM

@YouHaveGotToBeJoking: You’d never learn anything about him if The Journal is your only source of news. This must be only the second time they’ve mentioned him in the entire time he’s been incarcerated ;)

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:45 PM

At last, justice finally being served for our Irish compatriot. Praise be to allah for making this happen!

Mute John O'Shea
    Favourite John O'Shea
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:49 PM

@Super Ted: we’re in Ireland here pal, it’s praise be to jaysus.

Mute Willie Kavanagh
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:51 PM

@Super Ted: Ali the crossbar.

Mute June Rose-Sommer
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:15 PM

@John O’Shea: Good one John O’Shea!!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:12 PM

@Super Ted: they’d better name a train station after this lad

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:52 PM

Probably get a part in the annual Gaiety panto as Aladdin.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:32 PM

@John O’donnell: more like Ali Baba and the forty terrorists.

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:42 PM

@John O’donnell: i heard the sisters are allso getting a part in a play, Cinderella wonder what part they will be playng

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:28 PM

Personally I think he should be arrested on his return to Ireland.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:52 PM

@Alan: lolololololololololololololol

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:12 PM

3 articles regarding this person within 12 hrs on this site. WOW Can you name anyone else who has gotten this much media coverage on the journal.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:56 PM

@bings: you do know it’s your choice to read or not to read

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 2:26 PM

@daveydawg: they must have a sex tape of enda or leo

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:14 PM

@Christy Pop: or maybe leo and enda, titles for the video tape please. maybe somthing like i am allways up before 8am or up mayo

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Christy Pop: or i am always up mayo before 8am

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:12 PM

@Christy Pop: in

Mute Aaron G
    Favourite Aaron G
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:28 PM

That’s nice.

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:09 PM

Who cares
    Just wait for his name to pop up in a few years related to terror

Mute Aidan O Reilly
    Favourite Aidan O Reilly
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:22 PM

Get the jet ready Leo ✈️✈️✈️

Mute Seaghán Corcoran
    Favourite Seaghán Corcoran
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:34 PM

Sunday or Monday? Is he delayed again?

Mute MyBrokenKnees
    Favourite MyBrokenKnees
    Oct 20th 2017, 4:23 PM

Expect them all to be on The Late Late next Friday then.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:12 PM

@MyBrokenKnees: With translators

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:18 PM

Can’t wait to go on the piss with him. Oh no we can’t Muslims don’t drink

Mute Willie Kavanagh
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:07 PM

@prop joe: You’d be surprised at the number of piss head Muslims worldwide. They are also partial to the outdoor pigs trotter.

Mute Kieran Cronin
    Favourite Kieran Cronin
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:38 PM
    Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:13 PM

Give it a rest. We dont care. Far more pressing problems at home.

Mute Acedeuce
    Favourite Acedeuce
    Oct 20th 2017, 1:39 PM

Ryan Tubridy licking his lips

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:10 AM

@Acedeuce: Does anyone watch Turdbody any more?

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:27 PM

i heard he might be getting a part in a cowboy film remake of a john wayne classic,apparently he has perfected john waynes walk.

Mute Barry C Mc Govern
    Favourite Barry C Mc Govern
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:59 PM

I’m delighted for him but as George Hook says is there no blame there?

Mute Termaz Fx
    Favourite Termaz Fx
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:03 PM

Woohoo, the weekly “Halawa wochenschau” is back by a popular demand!

Mute Tadhg O'shaughnessy
    Favourite Tadhg O'shaughnessy
    Oct 20th 2017, 3:59 PM

I thought they got rid of the brown envelopes.they must be yellow now

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:35 PM

what good do any of them bring to Ireand

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:55 PM

@Christy Pop: what good do you bring to Ireland other than probably sit on your ass and draw the dole

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:59 PM

@Casper: cant answer the ? not surprised

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:01 PM

@Christy Pop: lololololololololololol

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:23 PM

@Casper: its not a hard ? but its a hard ? to answer

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Christy Pop: lolololololololololololololololololololololoolololololololololololololololololololololol

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:12 AM

@Christy Pop: As usual with the self-righteous, virtue-signalling lefties, they don’t attack the message, but the messenger.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 21st 2017, 9:23 AM

@Tom Sullivan: lolololololololololololololololololololololololololollllololllolollololololololololololololo

Mute Carl Dineen
    Favourite Carl Dineen
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:22 PM

Hopefully this will be the last we hear about this yoke….

Mute Peter Fitzgerald
    Favourite Peter Fitzgerald
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:27 AM

“Ibrahim no longer has the passport that he had when he went over to Cairo over four years ago now”

Shouldn’t have torn it up then, should he Simon.

Mute Christine o'donnell
    Favourite Christine o'donnell
    Oct 20th 2017, 11:43 PM

What’s under that vest?

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Oct 21st 2017, 1:20 AM

He misses being home? HE IS HOME.

Mute Braonain Proinseas
    Favourite Braonain Proinseas

God is thear any end to this crap

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:59 PM

@Braonain Proinseas: well actually this is the end, he is now released and on way home you’ll be glad to know

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:20 PM

@Casper: it’s not the end yet .. interviews and more stupid articles on here about him to follow …

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 21st 2017, 9:25 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: well it’s your choice to read or not to read, it’s not like you are expected to participate in it , you do have a choice

Mute Appley M
    Favourite Appley M
    Oct 21st 2017, 1:47 AM

Does anybody have an educated guess as to how much all of this has cost the State please? I’m talking since he voluntarily boarded the plane?

Mute Turk Oneeighttwo
    Favourite Turk Oneeighttwo
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:00 PM

The sister Fatima wouldn’t get a kick in a stampede!

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:04 PM

@Turk Oneeighttwo: but if I was in a stampede with someone with a name like yours I’d make sure I’d kick you a few times lol

Oct 20th 2017, 6:08 PM

Irish gov is all over this like a sore rash, even though they did nothing to expedite the process.

Mute Declan Leonard
    Favourite Declan Leonard
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:06 PM

Are we throwing a party?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:11 AM

@Declan Leonard: Yes, and it will be beer and bacon fries all round.

Mute Chris Jordan
    Favourite Chris Jordan
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:04 PM

Justice at last! Welcome home Ibrahim!

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:05 PM

Great news to hear he is out and will be home with his family in the next few days, this whole injustice has probably had a terrible impact on him and his family, hopefully he will be able to move forward with his life now that he is coming home.

Mute Paddy Hayden
    Favourite Paddy Hayden
    Oct 21st 2017, 2:12 AM

It’s a pure disgrace this guy is classed as Irish , He has nothing to do with our values bar holding a carpet for a photo shoot

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:18 PM

@Sinead Hanley:
    Ibrahim is Irish. He was born in Ireland. He is of Egyptian ancestry. The government was right to object to the unlawful imprisonment and mistreatment of an Irish citizen by a military dictatorship.
    He was arrested, aged 17, while peacefully protesting the overthrow of the democratically elected president by a military coup, and the recent murders of hundred of peaceful protesters by the military. These same military are involved in widespread murders and torture in their prisons to this day.
    (It is a completely separate matter to Ava Twomey, which is a red herring. Certainly Leo, Simon Harris, etc, should be ashamed of themselves over that. Unfortunately, sociopaths have no shame.)

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:33 PM

@Ryan Dub: the only reason he is out ,is because of the irish goverment .

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:40 PM

@Christy Pop: The illegal military dictatorship in Egypt could find no evidence he had done anything wrong. He was acquitted in court.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Oct 20th 2017, 7:14 PM

@Ryan Dub: Took them a while though.

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:18 PM

@Ryan Dub: it was the irish goverment over 30,000 hours they spent on getting him released.

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney
    Oct 20th 2017, 9:56 PM

@Ryan Dub: who does he represent with his peaceful protest?. Specific answer please…..

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:45 PM

@Alan McCartney: Supporters of democracy I suppose.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:15 AM

@Ryan Dub: Ethnically, he is not Irish and never will be. That the government allowed his parents in and waved some magic wand to make them citizens is neither here nor there.

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney
    Oct 21st 2017, 11:22 AM

@Ron North: Was the current leader not democratically elected?. I’ll ask again what group was he a part of in this protest or was he protesting as an individual?. Interested to know his stance.

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Oct 20th 2017, 6:03 PM

Praise Allah.

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:51 PM

You may bet your arse he will be on the late late show next week

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:54 PM

@Sandra Clifford: I shall be looking forward to what this innocent young man has to say about his incarceration

Mute tony kennedy
    Favourite tony kennedy
    Oct 20th 2017, 5:08 PM

Busy time for the fake TShirt fotos of Ophelia, Brian, Ibrahim , I’d say he’s excited though

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:09 PM

I hope he comes out and says he’s grateful for the support back home lol

Mute Desmond Kennedy
    Favourite Desmond Kennedy
    Oct 20th 2017, 11:23 PM

Absolutely delighted at this great news. What will all the Islamaphobes do now that Ibrahim is coming home? They will have to find some other issue to get their claws into and no doubt they will. Welcome home Ibrahim. Hope you can find a path forward after these terrible years of imprisonment.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:14 AM

@Desmond Kennedy: What will The Journal and their coterie of virtue-signalling lefties do now that their cause célèbre is no longer newsworthy?

Mute femo
    Favourite femo
    Oct 20th 2017, 10:47 PM

How many Irish Zionist Christian or Jewish joining Israeli Army and Nobody hears about them ?
    I guess they are free enjoying the UE Freedom.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Oct 21st 2017, 12:40 AM

@femo: Is this garbled nonsense available in English?

Mute femo
    Favourite femo
    Oct 21st 2017, 1:10 AM

@Ron North: Did you join IDF or you are planing to.

Mute Sarah Bullimer
    Favourite Sarah Bullimer
    Oct 21st 2017, 9:02 PM

Keep him where he is and hopefully the authorities will arrange an unfortunate accident.

Mute Tom Padraig
    Favourite Tom Padraig
    Oct 21st 2017, 1:40 AM

I don’t know the kid. I don’t know the level of involvement he had in the protests or their organisation if any. They are young college educated teens, Muslims shouting out about what they see as wrong doing. I do know he was held like a prisoner in #gitmo and made an example of. Which was’nt right, really show how weak our government is. It will take a long time for this kid to get over this ordeal. Who cares who is father is or what medieval group hes involved with , this should not have happened the kid is not a terrorist. He should of been home a lot sooner.

Mute Decky
    Favourite Decky
    Oct 20th 2017, 8:21 PM

Ibrahim…….at long last!

Mute Paddy Hayden
    Favourite Paddy Hayden
    Oct 21st 2017, 2:10 AM

Now you can just go back to your blinkers .

Mute Paul McK
    Favourite Paul McK
    Oct 21st 2017, 10:11 AM

Holy sh!t, there is some stream of w@nkers on here. Delighted he is free and well done to those involved. Is it any wonder that young lads like Ibrahim get marginalised and radicalised, when on the news of his release you shower of pr!cks treat it as a joke. 4 fukn yrs in an Egyptian prison as a political prisoner post coup is a trail that many would not survive.

Welcome home Ibrahim

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Oct 20th 2017, 11:23 PM

I hope he gets laid after his long period of abstinence,

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 20th 2017, 11:58 PM

@Brian O Reilly: Who said he had a long period of abstinence.