You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

lads will ye stop

The Tánaiste called Barry Cowen a baby and told him to "shut up" in the Dáil today

Ouch.

TÁNAISTE JOAN BURTON defended the government’s position on helping homeowners struggling with variable rate mortgages and anyone hit by rents creeping up over the past year during Leaders’ Questions today.

But she also used the opportunity to call an opposition TD a baby.

Fianna Fáil’s spokesperson on Environment and Local Government Barry Cowen accused the government of inaction on bringing rates for variable rate mortgages down, citing that they are 2% above the European Union average.

“Minister Noonan said that he wanted to wait and see if competition between banks would decrease the rates,” he said, “This wait-and-see approach is obviously not working, and I will contend that it will not work.”

It is even harder to stomach that when people read that the Exchequer is enjoying unprecedented profitability with various windfalls when families are struggling to pay this €4,000 on top of what their normal mortgage as it should be.

The Tánaiste’s response immediately made reference to the previous government, sparking a boisterous exchange.

Burton agreed it has been difficult for families, but noted that a lot of banks have offered customers deals to “improve the interest rates”.

Things got a lot more rowdy from there, with Burton telling Cowen: “There’s enough histrionics now from you at the moment to fill the Abbey Theatre any night.”

Eventually she just told him to shut up.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Barry was a little bit taken aback.

barry

And later, while the Tánaiste was arguing with Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald about spiralling rents, she called him a baby.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

“Get that man a little bit of music, he needs his afternoon nap,” Joan said.

It sounds like everyone needs a nap, to be honest.

Read: ‘Taoiseach, you will say anything to get elected, the truth does not matter’ >