You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taylor Swift on stage at the Aviva Stadium on Friday. Alamy Stock Photo

Taylor Swift gives shoutout to Stevie Nicks in the crowd on final show of three-night Aviva run

She told the crowd the gigs were the first time the Aviva Stadium has been sold out for three-nights in a row.

MUSIC GREAT STEVIE Nicks and Oscar winning actress Julia Roberts were amongst those in the crowd for the final night of Taylor Swift’s three-night run in the Aviva Stadium in Dublin

Fleetwood Mac star Nicks, who is in town for her own show in the 3Arena, was given a shoutout by Swift during the latest leg of her record-breaking Eras tour. 

Swift paid tribute to Nicks at the start of her acoustic set close to the end of her performance. She described a friend of hers watching the show, going on to say mentors are the reasons why many can do what they do, but added they can be rare.

She said one “helped me through so much over the years”, adding: “I’m talking about Stevie Nicks” before playing her song Clara Bow in which Nicks is mentioned.

Swift told fans it was a thrill and an honour to inform them that they made Eras the first tour to ever sell out the Aviva Stadium three nights in a row.

The 34-year-old went on to say that far from being tired on the third night, nights one and two were “just warm-up shows for you”.

The weekend has seen Swiftmania well-and-truly take over the capital, but the hype seems to be justified as attendees spoke about the three-hour performance Swift puts on and the camaraderie amongst fans. 

On Friday, Taoiseach Simon Harris referenced his home county of Wicklow being mentioned by Swift in her song Sweet Nothings hit and that night Swift told the audience that Irish people are “unmatched storytellers”.

Last night, there was also a nod to Ireland during a rendition of her chart-topper We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, when her dancer Kameron N Saunders jumped in to quip “bleedin’ eejit”.

The dancer usually says something in the vernacular during the line where Swift would usually say “Like Ever” in the recorded edition of the hit.

On Friday, he jumped in with “póg mo thóin” and on Saturday he went with “the neck of ye”.

Swift later in the concert pondered which of her Eras was the “most Irish”, continuing saying she believes it is her album Folklore.

She recalled starting to write the song “two days into the pandemic”; when she created an imaginary world “living in a cabin in a really green and mossy landscape, very Irish”, adding the album is “all about story telling and you guys are gifted story tellers”.

She is next heading to Amsterdam’s Johan Cruyff Arena for her next three shows, running from Thursday to Saturday.

Swift will then plays dates in Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Poland and Austria before returning to the UK in August for five nights at Wembley Stadium in London.

- With reporting by Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute John Staunton
    Favourite John Staunton
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:01 PM

everyone approaches the comments section with apprehension waiting for that nob who can’t help themselves!

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:43 PM

They are patrolling for spoilers.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 15th 2015, 9:25 PM

Was just sitting down to watch the finale and decided I’d troll – posted on FB “Khalesi DIEDED?!”

Almost instant reaction. Now I’m not going to say what did happen – but it was entertaining. I think I’m going to start every episode of next season by making a wild statement; hours of fun.

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:21 PM

Low tech solution. Just don’t look at Twitter for 24 hours.

Mute Mick Bacon
    Favourite Mick Bacon
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:31 PM

The dragon eats the blond one .

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 15th 2015, 12:44 PM

I don’t think I’ve one friend stupid enough to post spoilers online, best filter ever.

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    Jun 15th 2015, 2:46 PM

Its not your friends you should be worried about its some randomer in a comments sections telling you **** **** dies that’s the prob!

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    Jun 15th 2015, 2:48 PM

Ah the journal has blocked **** **** name and foiled my evil plan.

Mute Derry Seery
    Favourite Derry Seery
    Jun 15th 2015, 3:35 PM

It’s also American websites because it aired last night. I opened my Facebook this morning and the first thing on my screen was an article about the finale!

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jun 15th 2015, 9:46 PM

I watched on a live stream last night, Eddard Stark is back, and he’s angry!

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:43 PM

R+L=J

Mute Anyway
    Favourite Anyway
    Jun 15th 2015, 12:50 PM

I think the article would have come in handy at the start of the season since the massacre of characters started well before episode 9 this time.

Mute Evin Lee
    Favourite Evin Lee
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:21 PM

spoiler alert

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:44 PM

I like how the journal considers this a ‘business’ article as opposed to entertainment.

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    Jun 15th 2015, 2:11 PM

feck ye all. been on holidays for 3 weeks so have 3 episodes to watch. im drumk and spoiler free by not logging on to facebook. tomorrow will be the sweetest tv binge day ever.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 15th 2015, 9:29 PM

The dwarf eats a mushroom – bashes head on many gravity defying walls – profit.

Mute Barry Aston
    Favourite Barry Aston
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:18 PM

BBC News you shower of muppets!!!!

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Jun 15th 2015, 12:45 PM

hardly spoilers considering the show is based on books.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jun 15th 2015, 12:47 PM

Programme has passed the books. There’s stuff happening in the show that has yet to be put into a book. Got rid of my copies pointless having them now.

Mute Colm Odinson
    Favourite Colm Odinson
    Jun 15th 2015, 12:48 PM

Not everyone has read the books. Besides, it’s not a 100% faithful adaptation.

Mute Anyway
    Favourite Anyway
    Jun 15th 2015, 12:49 PM

Season 5 officially passed the books at this stage, when it comes to the main POV at least.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:38 PM

@Anyway, they haven’t, but they are really close. The only part that is actually past the end of the books is Tyrion’s story.

Mute Anthony Ryan
    Favourite Anthony Ryan
    Jun 15th 2015, 2:13 PM

They’re not the same story anymore. Where’s Aegon Targaryan, the Iron Islands, Aerys Oakheart?

They’ve taken the TV show down a different route and it’s a pretty safe bet that the TV and books will have different endings.

Mute Derry Seery
    Favourite Derry Seery
    Jun 15th 2015, 3:46 PM

I dont think so Antony. Benioff & Weiss know how A Song of Ice and Fire is supposed to end so that they can finish it should GRRM be unable to finish his books. They also only got the go ahead from GRRM to adapt the story because they proved to him to be hardcore fans and were correct on who Jon’s mother is.

No mattee how far they stray from the actual arcs, they always arrive back at the original plot points, usually to save time and intriducing new unnecessary characters.

Speaking of unnecessary characters, Aegon could be one of them. The jury’s out on wether he’s a legit Targaryen. Think Mya Stone, Edric Storm… written as illegitimate Baratheons. GRRM has a habit of throwing diversionary characters into the books. No one’s sure Aegon’s arc was actually going to go anywhere – but he may yet show up in Season 6, his arrival obviously will be different as Jorah took that!!!

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jun 15th 2015, 7:56 PM

My wish for characters to see more of/return in Season 6 would be Greatjon and the Blackfish.

Mute Derry Seery
    Favourite Derry Seery
    Jun 15th 2015, 7:56 PM

And the woman with a “heart of stone”!!

Mute Barry Sheehan
    Favourite Barry Sheehan
    Jun 15th 2015, 2:54 PM

Valar Morghulis!

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jun 15th 2015, 9:47 PM

Valar Dracarys!

Mute Barra Ó Longargáin
    Favourite Barra Ó Longargáin
    Jun 15th 2015, 9:33 PM

Overall it’s been a very disappointing season… Last nights episode included

Mute Dan Broderick
    Favourite Dan Broderick
    Jun 15th 2015, 10:35 PM

Last year was much better, this was the worst season by a long way

Mute Peter Walsh
    Favourite Peter Walsh
    Jun 15th 2015, 11:57 PM

Turn off interweb. Unplug fax. Disassemble telegraph. Shoot messenger ravens.

Mute Dan Broderick
    Favourite Dan Broderick
    Jun 15th 2015, 1:26 PM

Cersei commits suicide by jumping off the bridge during her naked walk of shame

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Jun 15th 2015, 6:09 PM

Watch it for the plot.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jun 16th 2015, 2:07 AM

They killed them all the good ones. Got to be kidding me. I’ll bet the witch brings him back.otherwise I am done with the show. Killing all good characters bad for ratings.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 15th 2015, 9:53 PM

Here’s how to avoid “spoilers”. Don’t bother watching that crap!

Mute martina
    Favourite martina
    Jun 15th 2015, 10:55 PM

You know nothing John Ward!