You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda gets a touch-up during his US St Patrick's Day trip. Richard Drew/AP/Press Association Images
Daily Fix

The Daily Fix: Tuesday

All the biggest news stories from the day, as well as the bits and pieces you may have missed.

EVERY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of all the day’s main news, as well as the bits and pieces that you may have missed along the way.

• An Taoiseach Enda Kenny has returned to the White House as part of prolonged St Patrick’s Day celebrations, while US President Barack Obama has promised to visit Ireland again.
  • Irish Catholic bishops have welcomed the findings of the Apostolic Visitation – a panel sent to Ireland by the Vatican to deal with the fallout from clerical sex abuse cases. Cardinal Seán Brady told a press conference: “In expressing true sorrow and regret, we make our own heartfelt pleas for forgiveness from the victims, and from God, for these terrible crimes and sins.”
  • Gardaí are investigating the circumstances surrounding the death of a man whose body was found in Wexford town on Sunday. His remains lay undiscovered for weeks as it is understood the 62-year-old died at Christmas time. A reader has sent us a sad and poignant image of the Lower John Street house taken on 15 February with the Christmas tree lights still on.
  • A 13-year-old Hillary Clinton wrote to NASA asking what she needed to do to become an astronaut. The US Secretary of State revealed that snippet of personal information during the announcement that a fresh search for aviator Amelia Earhart, her plane and her navigator Fred Noonan will be launched.
  • The latest count has shown that 286,000 properties have been registered by their owners as liable for the household charge.
  • Dublin-born Aussie Rules legend is to receive a state funeral in his adopted home of Victoria, Australia. The 45-year-old died yesterday following a long and public battle against cancer.
  • All-Star hurler Tony Griffin has told TheScore.ie how Stynes inspired him…and thousands of others.
  • Is Michael Collins Great Britain’s second greatest foe?

A €14.5 million restoration project at Kensington Palace (the former residence of Diana) to be completed for this summer’s Diamond Jubilee and London 2012 Olympics features a wallpaper bearing multiple drawings of the late Princess.

• NAMA has defended its €13.3 million spend on property valuations, insisting it has given taxpayers value for money.
  • France has heightened its security alert to its highest level ‘scarlet’ as a manhunt for a serial killer continues. The motorbike shooter has claimed seven lives already, including three young children at a Jewish school yesterday.
  • TV3 is looking for more ‘true Tallafornians’.
  • Check out the shoes on Adam Clayton.
  • The Broadway version of Irish film Once has been well-received over in New York. See more from the rave reviews.
  • Oxford student Hugh Atkins gave himself a week-long break from study to compile a Mitt Romney-inspired-and-performed rap to the tune of “The Real Slim Shady”. And with lines including ‘Well, I made a lot of money matter of factually/I drive a couple of Cadillacs actually/I have emotion and passion. That’s a joke for the record’, we’re glad he did:

YouTube Credite: hmatkin

Hat Tip: John McGuirk