You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's what happened today: Wednesday

Chaos in the Dáil, a Status Red storm approaching and the death of an Irish showband star.

NEED TO CATCH up? The Journal brings you a round-up of today’s news.

IRELAND

irish Opposition parties showed rare unity today over the ongoing speaking rights row. Rolling News Rolling News

INTERNATIONAL

INTERNATIONAL Rescue vehicles are seen near a crime scene in Aschaffenburg, Germany Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

#GERMANY: A man and a two-year-old boy were killed in stabbing attack in Bavaria, Germany.

#USA: US government workers in diversity jobs will be put on leave as Trump has ordered several programmes to shut

#ATLANTIC: Several transatlantic commercial flights have reached speeds of well over 1,200 kilometres per hour due to a powerful jet stream this week

#UKRAINE: Donald Trump has told his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin to make a deal to end the grinding Ukraine war “now” or face tariff hikes and more sanctions

#UK: Prince Harry has settled his legal action against the publisher of The Sun over allegations of unlawful information-gathering shortly before the start of a weeks-long trial

PARTING SHOT

Irish singer and sax player Paddy Cole has died, aged 85.

The Co Monaghan native and ‘King of the Swingers‘ was a showband veteran, having joined the Capitol Showband in the 1960s. Cole also had a lengthy career in broadcasting, hosting a weekly music programme on Sunshine Radio

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 14 comments
14 Comments
    Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:45 AM

Doin’ it for themselves. Sounds about right for Irish politicians. They are not doing it for you and I. Self serving, over paid and motivated to maintain the status quo.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 11th 2018, 9:55 AM

@David Nolan: I’d give them a chance to prove your theory.

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Feb 11th 2018, 10:05 AM

@David Nolan: Top comment! Got a laugh from it!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Feb 11th 2018, 10:58 AM

@Peter McGlynn: look how the Kingsmill bread moron was treated, they should have kicked him out right away. Politicians? Always look after their own first. Such a shame.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:05 AM

@David Nolan:
    Mary Lou said ‘the war is long over. Wrong – there never was a war. There was a terrorist campaign in which YOUR LOT murdered IRISH children , women and men including Gardai and Prison Officers. Admittedly you were not a member then but you have repeatedly defended those, including Adams, who have blood on their hands. Until you condemn those killings your party will not grow here in the South. Euphemisms simply won’t do.

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:21 AM

@Donal Hanley: that’s funny, because British soldiers that did a tour of duty in Northern Ireland receive a medal, and on the back of that medal there is an inscription that says “for campaign service”, that sounds like a war medal to me.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:30 AM

@Andrew Giles:
    I just looked up campaign in the dictionary. Strangely ‘war’ is not mentioned.
    The campaign was protecting the citizens in NI & GB from terrorists. Like your new deputy leader your education seriously inadequate.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:31 AM

@Donal Hanley: “Mary Lou said ‘the war is long over. Wrong – there never was a war.”

Soldiers carryig out massacres, ethnic cleansing, murder gangs, bombings?

Sounds a lot like a war to me.

What year were you born Donal?

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:46 AM

@The Risen:

Now define a terrorist campaign genius.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:49 AM

@The Risen: Nope, sounds like a terrorist campaign to me, driven front and centre by the Provo’s.

Mute F. Wood
    Favourite F. Wood
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:15 PM

@Donal Hanley: care to name an irish child that the ira killed??

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:25 PM

@F. Wood:
    Look up Omagh bombing

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 11th 2018, 1:01 PM

@Donal Hanley: Look up who carried out the Omagh bombing.

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Feb 11th 2018, 2:10 PM

@Donal Hanley: Your ignorance is astounding.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Feb 11th 2018, 4:17 PM

@The Risen:

I don’t differentiate between your different designation. You’re all the same – same rotten origins.

Mute difference
    Favourite difference
    Feb 11th 2018, 5:33 PM

@Donal Hanley: A “Protestant State for British Protestants in Ireland ” as define by the leader of that State in the 1970s! Thats is the ultimate terrorism rotten to the core ‘Evil Empire’.

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:18 PM

@Donal Hanley: my deputy leader, hahaha you know absolutely nothing about me, the reason I know what it says on the back of that medal, is that my father was given one

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:18 AM

Before any party members comment on social media regarding this event, per yesterday’s executive order, it is mandatory that you observe party policy of clearing it with HQ first.
    Thank you.

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:19 AM

@alphanautica: ha!

Mute Fran Kembo
    Favourite Fran Kembo
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:38 AM

@alphanautica:
    You will find that would be every party’s policy to go through press office

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:59 AM

@Fran Kembo: whoosh

Mute Henry Matthews
    Favourite Henry Matthews
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:25 AM

@alphanautica: only 9 hours before you posted this bs you stated you were bored with sf stories yet here you are….did your shift start at 7?..is .frape room double time for Sunday?..

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:58 AM

@alphanautica: He hasn’t gone away you know.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 11th 2018, 9:02 AM

@Henry Matthews: Its a bit early for tears Henry :-)

Mute Henry Matthews
    Favourite Henry Matthews
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:31 AM

@Honeybadger197: hi alpha…

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:54 AM

It’s surprising to be elected when you are the only candidate!!

Mute Fran Kembo
    Favourite Fran Kembo
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:04 AM

@Rory:
    How do you find that surprising if she was and is the best candidate for leader why would you oppose her

Feb 11th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Fran Kembo: rubbish comment and you know it

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:41 AM

Interesting to watch this new Dawn and see Sinn Fein grow and grow while Fianna Fail fade away into Fine Gael where they rightfully belong.

Mute Adam Reid
    Favourite Adam Reid
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:01 AM

@Paul Mc: The deluded addressing the deluded.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:37 AM

@Paul Mc: a new dawn, where they can follow the route of the PD’s, Labour and thr Greens by going into govt with FF or FG, riding the gravy train for a few years, betraying their support bsse and get swallowed up, disappearing into relative oblivion

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 11th 2018, 10:13 AM

@Paul Mc: Grow and grow? Do tell.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:53 AM

@JimmyMc: That certainly won’t happen the the Sinn Fein membership would not allow it .

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:58 AM

@MK76: while I would love to see a viable alternative to fffg, I think SF will actually become less relevant when they are seen as just an equality party, rather than the edge that their demographic voted for (ie killers with a back story, parading as anti establishment). Let’s put this to the test in the next election in Louth when mlmd is the canvasser instead of Adams.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:01 AM

The growth of the party frightening the be jaysus outta Mehole and Leo ;)
    The attacks by the media and FG shills on here in overtime…
    Winds of change can’t be stopped..

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:34 AM

@Willy Malone: Mary Loo will be calling Mehole “Boss” in no time. Reduced to a big beautiful shinner mudflap!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:14 PM

@The Risen: Oh look, my little impersonator is back LOL!

By the way, I’m wearing blue jeans and a red short sleeve shirt if you want to go the whole hog.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:22 PM

@The Risen: same muppet as yesterday?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:28 PM

@We Love Katamari: Most definitely

Mute Sam Alexander
    Favourite Sam Alexander
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:34 AM

As she said make it fit for purpose. So people down the years criticising SF were correct.

Mute Niall Conneely
    Favourite Niall Conneely
    Feb 11th 2018, 10:55 AM

I met Mary Lou in Tuam, along with survivors of the home. Her empathy was palpible. She also has great commitment to social advancement. I wish her all the best and to the day when she will be Taoiseach of a united, socially-advanced and peaceful Ireland.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:04 PM

@Niall Conneely: nearly all politicians are impressive and empathetic when you meet them. Unfortunately, that is the front they all have. For a united Ireland, we need people like SF to be more open that they have not been in 40 years to the population of Northern Ireland. Similarly, for a peaceful island we need to stop electing people who have orchestrated the violence in the first place.

Mute F. Wood
    Favourite F. Wood
    Feb 11th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: we dont elect people who orchestrated the violence. The ira in the north emerged as a result of loyalists ethnically cleansing belfast and nationalists being murdered on a daily basis with no help from the police. As for transparency and being open with citizens why wont fg support the sf initiative of a truth comission?

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:18 AM

A new dawn for Sinn Féin. It will be interesting to watch.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:43 AM

@john Appleseed: It will be equally as interesting to watch how the establishment react. For a long time there have been calls for Adams to step down if the party wanted to progress. There’s a lot of work to be done to shape the party into a viable alternative to the merry-go-round of FF/FG.
    The reaction of the media will also be interesting and most telling.

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:09 AM

@Dave Doyle: or if Sinn Fein change in any way

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:20 AM

@john Appleseed:
    Whatever about Mary Lou will somebody please tell me how the BLAND Bombshell is educationally qualified for her role?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 11th 2018, 9:03 AM

@john Appleseed: New dawn indeed — in fact new dawn is much like the old dawn. And what i mean by old dawn is exactly the same… if there was to be a new dawn then like every other party there would be a leadership contest – contesting leadership is a hallmark of democracy as it shows differing views within a party with the membership deciding on a certain direction…… only one direction SF is going and now they have a more palatable figurehead.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:09 AM

He hasn’t gone away you know!

Mute TheBluffmaster2
    Favourite TheBluffmaster2
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:37 AM

Mary Lou -Michelle-Arlene-Theresa May and Caroline Bradley-Its definitely Women Power now.

Mute Keith D'Arcy
    Favourite Keith D'Arcy
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:03 AM

@TheBluffmaster2: all useless.

Mute TheBluffmaster2
    Favourite TheBluffmaster2
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:14 AM

@Keith D’Arcy: I suppose it would be too much to ask that they would knock their heads together and sort the Northern question.

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Feb 11th 2018, 9:15 AM

@TheBluffmaster2: ya but I don’t hear any feminists congratulating them or claiming their achievements. Most feminists just like to revere the ones that shout the loudest about change, they seem to ignore the women that don’t have time to shout about feminism because they are living it

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:38 AM

A significant moment no doubt. Will the opposition now react with the change required? Namely the formal amalgamation of FF and FG into one party. The time is now to apply pressure to ensure this comes to pass. Mary Lou could help drive this forward. The biggest mistake Sinn Fein can make is prop up one of these Labour style and facilitate FFG controlling both government and opposition benches.

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Feb 11th 2018, 9:35 AM

Fair play to the Shinners this party rejuvenation has been at least a decade in the making. Imagine what the ruling juntas could have achieved if they had the vision and backbone to stick at anything.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:08 AM

I wonder where she learned the “Tiocfaidh ar la!

Mute Owen M
    Favourite Owen M
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:41 AM

We had an female minister for justice and Garda Commissioner.

How did gender equality work out there ?

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Feb 11th 2018, 8:26 AM

Ffs

Mute Daniel Patrick Carry
    Favourite Daniel Patrick Carry
    Feb 11th 2018, 10:47 AM

Will there be a Wolfe Tones cover version any time soon?

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Feb 11th 2018, 2:40 PM

Different faces but same ol SF hypocrisy.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 11th 2018, 5:44 PM

Did they fire off their kalashnikovs into the air and shout Mary Lou Akbar?

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Feb 11th 2018, 11:06 AM

Two songs come to mind, “Single Girls (Put A Sock In It)” by Beyonce and “Girls Just Want To Have Fun” by Cyndi Pauper.

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Feb 11th 2018, 7:44 PM

As a former Fianna Failer Mary Lou is the ideal choice to lead the shinners into coalition with the Blueshirts, where they can sell out their voters and pay for it later, ala so-called Labour-not a principled bone between them, and plenty of shadowy figures still pulling nasty nasty strings!