You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

say that again

The sight of cranes and the Third Secret of Fatima: The week in quotes

“We have to keep our fiscal shape. Otherwise all the sacrifices people have made – and they have made a lot of sacrifices – will be for naught.”

IT WAS A week when results of the local and European elections reverberated around the country.

Eamon Gilmore stepped down as leader of the Labour party, and we were promised a skyline of cranes once again.

All that, and more – it’s the week in quotes:

Irish Water Issues Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

We have to keep our fiscal shape. Otherwise all the sacrifices people have made – and they have made a lot of sacrifices – will be for naught.

Fine Gael Director of Elections Phil Hogan acknowledged that the Government needs to be more sensitive to people’s concerns in the wake of a disastrous mid-term poll result.

File photo: calls for Eamonn Gilmore to resign Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Where we have had successes, we must build on them. Where we have fallen short, we must do better. Where new problems are arising, we must find solutions for them. We must, and we will, continue to put the country and the needs of the Irish people first. And in doing so, we must hear, heed and act on the clear message we received last Friday.

The comments of Tánaiste and the soon-to-be-former Leader of the Labour Party Eamon Gilmore, who announced his resignation earlier this week. However…

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Yes, I will.

Less than a week beforehand, he told TheJournal.ie that he expected to be his party’s leader going into the 2016 General Election.

Noirin O Sullivan at Justice Committees Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

We had a general chat and I told her to lift up the phone and ring Maurice McCabe. I said: ‘Forget about the rank structure, go direct. You’re the interim garda commissioner.’ I said: ‘Lift up the phone and call Maurice McCabe.’

What garda whisteblower John Wilson’s brief message was to the Interim Garda Commissioner Noirín Sullivan when they met outside Leinster House.

Dublins skylines James Horan / Photocall Ireland James Horan / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

We have a lot of work to do but this work will become increasingly visible – whether in the sight of cranes returning to Dublin’s Docklands or in renewed activity involving our assets throughout Ireland.

Nama’s Chairman Frank Daly has high hopes for the future of the construction sector.

Rolf Harris court case Dominic Lipinski / PA Wire Dominic Lipinski / PA Wire / PA Wire

I’m a very touchy-feely sort of person.

Rolf Harris’ description of himself during his sexual assault trial.

Belgium Europe Financial Crisis AP Photo / Yves Logghe AP Photo / Yves Logghe / Yves Logghe

It’s like the Third Secret of Fatima, people will be disappointed when they see it.

Minister for Finance Michael Noonan said that the now infamous letter to Brian Lenihan from the former president of the ECB could be released in the banking inquiry – but it probably won’t be very interesting.

Vivid Sydney 2011 Pavel Sigarteu Pavel Sigarteu

The use of offensive language and belittling national stereotypes has no place in our modern discourse. It has no place in a sophisticated, multicultural society such as Australia.

Ireland’s ambassador to Australia lambasted a newspaper for referring to an Irishman as a “Drunk Paddy”.

Political reactions to Callinans resignation Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

I don’t know how to break this to you. You are not regarded as competent. Have you got that message Taoiseach?

Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald wasn’t that keen on Taoiseach Enda Kenny this week.

The final tweet of acclaimed American writer Maya Angelou, who passed away this week aged 86

Read previous weeks in quotes >