You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

President Michael D Higgins appointed the new government and presented ministers with their seals of office this evening in Dublin. © RollingNews.ie

President appoints new Government and delivers seals of office to new senior ministers

The majority of the Dáil voted to approve the new cabinet this evening.

LAST UPDATE | 23 Jan

A NEW GOVERNMENT has officially been appointed by President Michael D Higgins after the election of Taoiseach Micheál Martin. 

The Dáil elected the Fianna Fáil leader as Taoiseach this afternoon, by 95 votes to 76.

Shortly after, he appointed a new cabinet of ministers – who appeared before the Dáil this evening to seek approval from the rest of TDs. Members of opposition welcomed them into their new roles, but criticised the new government over inaction in certain areas.

President Higgins delivered the seals of office to the new senior ministers in the cabinet at Áras An Uachtaráin in Dublin this evening.

With updates by Muiris Ó Cearbhaill, Lauren Boland, Órla Ryan, Eoghan Dalton and Jane Matthews and Christina Finn of our Leinster House team.

The Journal / YouTube

Good morning and welcome to day two of the government’s attempt to elect a Taoiseach.

It’s Órla Ryan here. The Journal will keep you up to date with all the latest developments.

ICYMI, my colleague Jane Matthews has written this great recap of yesterday’s chaotic scenes in the Dáil.

In a bid to prevent a repeat of yesterday’s prolonged suspension of the Dáil, the Ceann Comhairle has told political parties she will no longer recognise the Regional Independents as a technical group.

Verona Murphy told the Oireachtas Business Committee she had reviewed the standing orders of the Dáil and came to the decision early this morning.

It comes as party leaders are meeting this morning as they seek to find a resolution to the standoff between government and opposition parties in the Dáil.

The row erupted following a plan to allow Independent TDs who participated in government formation negotiations, but who have not been given junior ministerial positions, to continue to sit as a technical group in the Dáil and be allowed some of the speaking time that is allocated to the opposition.

A statement issued by Simon Harris and Micheál Martin maintained that the formation of groups in the Dáil “is a matter for the Ceann Comhairle” and not for party leaders.

They insisted that the election of Martin as Taoiseach “must happen today” rather than be delayed again.

“Issues regarding Dáil reform and groupings can and should be discussed by a Dáil reform committee. This can meet as early as today but proportionality must also prevail,” Harris and Martin said.

“The most important duty the Dáil has is to elect a Taoiseach and government and both party leaders agree this must happen today.”

Multiple sources on the opposition side told The Journal last night they would be happy to allow proceedings to resume if they got a “clear commitment” from the government that they will support the amending of standing orders.

They want the orders amended to clarify that TDs involved in government formation cannot be in opposition.

However, Murphy’s intervention this morning may be enough to solve the issue – for now, at least. 

The Taoiseach and Tánaiste last night asked the leaders of the opposition to attend a meeting in Government Buildings at 8.30am. This meeting is ongoing.

The Dáil’s start time has been pushed back to 10.30am, rather than 9am, to facilitate this meeting.  

We’ve another update from our Political Editor Christina Finn at Leinster House:

Labour whip Duncan Smith said: “It’s positive to see the Ceann Comhairle recognising only two technical groups, both in opposition, for the purposes of toda’’s meeting.

“This is the solution that I and others proposed both in our submission and at numerous meetings yesterday.”

If you need a quick recap of what happened yesterday, have a listen to the latest episode of The Candidate podcast.

river (30) Sinn Féin's Pearse Doherty and Mary Lou McDonald pictured in the Dáil chamber yesterday Houses of the Oireachtas Houses of the Oireachtas

As we await for leaders of the various parties and independent groups to emerge from a meeting at Government Buildings, here’s a roundup of the standout photos from yesterday’s unprecedented scenes in the Dáil.

In some analysis of yesterday’s chaotic scenes, our Political Editor Christina Finn writes:

“Four suspensions of the Dáil, raucous scenes in the chamber, accusations of ‘stunt politics on speed’ and at the end of the day, we have no new Taoiseach and no new Cabinet.

While the country was getting word that a red weather warning is on the way, there was no such alert for the storm that was about the hit Leinster House…

“But should this all have been foreseen?”

As Dáil Éireann attempts to avoid another storm today, the entire country is preparaing itself for the arrival of Storm Éowyn.

A number of Status Red wind and rain warnings will be in place overnight and into tomorrow. Here’s everything you need to know.

download (4) Met.ie Met.ie

There are some rumblings emerging from Leinster House – apparently the meeting between party leaders this morning has been constructive so far.

The intervention by Verona Murphy – who this morning told parties she will not recognise the Regional Independents as a technical group – is seen as a significant step in the right direction in terms of breaking the impasse.

Writing for The Journal, political commentator Johnny Fallon said yesterday’s “Dail circus was entirely predictable”.

“Oh, what a circus! Oh, what a show! If it was entertainment we wanted then the Dáil chamber was providing it yesterday,” Fallon writes.

“Not the high quality intellectually driven entertainment but the more slapstick predictable comedy that acts as a good gap filler or background to your evening.”

Here’s another update from our political reporter Jane Matthews, who is in situ at Leinster House: 

🚨White smoke🚨 Meeting described as “constructive” by government source. Understand the government chief whip will be giving an assurance in Dáil at 10.30 that they accept need to amend the standing orders. Agreement to also shorten sitting time today so people can get home ahead of storm.

— Jane Matthews (@janematthews1.bsky.social) January 23, 2025 at 10:00 AM

An opposition source says they are hopeful that what has been agreed so far will break the log jam.

“I understand the government are currently trashing out the wording and then will meet again with opposition in the next 20 minutes with a view to reaching an agreement for 10.30am,” our reporter Jane Matthews tells us.

The Dáil start time has been pushed back until 11am – at the earliest – having previously been delayed from 9am until 10.30am.

The meeting between party leaders and independents is ongoing. As well as the speaking rights row, they are also discussing whether or not to shorten today’s sitting time so people can get home before Storm Éowyn hits.

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One’s Today with Claire Byrne, Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty dsecribed the situation as “a farce”.

Speaking about Regional Independents, Doherty said: “We don’t mind whether they’re recognised as a group or not. The point is that they need to be recognised in government. They are government TDs.

“Michael Lowry negotiated the Programme for Government, including text that was in it, is committed to supporting this government through thick and thin, through good days and bad days, as he brazenly said himself, along with his three other colleagues.

“And now government and Michael Lowry are trying to present to the opposition that they are indeed opposition TDs that are going to eat into opposition speaking time, that there’s going to be this farce where Michael Lowry will be standing up, supposedly holding the government to account, questioning ministers that were part of his group, that he negotiated.

“It’s just a farce.”

'A stroke too far'

Doherty said Verona Murphy’s intervention this morning  – when the Ceann Comhairle said she will not recognise the Regional Independents as a technical group today – is a welcome but “temporary” solution.

“What we need now is clarity in relation to this. And let me be clear about this here, this should never have come to the floor of the Dáil yesterday.

“We’ve been raising this issue for over a week. We’ve signalled it with government. We’ve signaled it with the Ceann Comhairle.

“This is a stroke too far that the government have tried to pull and the opposition, united are not standing for it.”

Michael Lowry statement-1_90720793 Michael Lowry speaking to the media ouside Leinster House yesterday Alan Rowlette / © RollingNews.ie Alan Rowlette / © RollingNews.ie / © RollingNews.ie

Speaking to reporters outside Leinster House yesterday afternoon, Independent TD Michael Lowry Lowry said: “What has happened today is absolutely shameful. It’s disgraceful.”

The Tipperary North TD accused Sinn Féin in particular of deciding to “disrupt the proceedings”, adding that he hoped “common sense will prevail”.

The Dáil is now not expected to resume until at least 11.30am. 

Thanks for staying with us so far this morning, I’ll now hand you over to my colleague Lauren Boland. 

Lauren here. How are we all feeling this morning? Enjoying the political storm? Enjoying the actual storm? No? Well, they’re brewing anyway.

If/when the vote for a Taoiseach goes ahead, here’s how the process works.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin, with his own party as well as Fine Gael and the Regional Independents behind him, would have enough support to win the vote in the Dáil.

After the Dáil voting process is complete, Martin would travel from Leinster House to Áras an Uachtaráin to be formally appointed Taoiseach by President Michael D. Higgins (who you’d have to spare a thought for after having to wait around all day yesterday to find out if he was welcoming a new Taoiseach that day or not).

Martin would then return to Government Buildings and summon new Cabinet members to his office to inform them of their portfolios.

Then the Dáil would sit again to vote on approving the new Cabinet members. Those new ministers would then make their way to the State Reception Room in Áras an Uachtaráin, where President Higgins would present each minister with their Seal of Office.

Let’s see if that goes to plan this time around.

An interesting update here from our politics reporter Jane Matthews, who is on the ground in Leinster House: “Looks like things may not be going as well as first thought. The leaders have all resumed their meeting now but one source from the Opposition side has told us that there is now a bit of push back. We await further updates…”

Breaking: The Regional Independent Group has agreed to soften its position – on a temporary basis – to allow the day’s proceedings to go ahead.

In a new statement, the group says:  “Following intensive discussions last night and today with the Ceann Comhairle, Taoiseach and Tánaiste the Regional Group has decided that in the interest of not having a repetition of yesterday’s appalling and outrageous scenes in the Dáil, the Group will cooperate today’s Order of Business.”

It claims that “yesterday’s scenes were a shameful display of obstruction which denied the people a democratic right to have a Government”.

“The Regional Group have agreed to this temporary measure to facilitate the election of Taoiseach and Members of the Government,” it says.

“The future positioning of the group will be referred to the Dáil Reform Committee by way of Dáil motion tonight. The committee’s composition will reflect the proportional representation in this Dáil. The aim is to have a decision before the Dáil reconvenes on the 5th of February.”

The meeting of party leaders has ended and the bells are ringing in Leinster House. The Dáil should resume at 11.40 – it’s go time.

We understand that a resolution has been agreed and that the plan is for the nomination of a Taoiseach to go ahead.

Multiple sources have said that Michael Lowry was seen coming out of a meeting with Micheál Martin and Simon Harris before the pair had their second meeting with the leaders of the opposition. “He didn’t look happy,” one source said.

We’re back: The Dáil is sitting and Ceann Comhairle Verona Murphy is addressing TDs.

“It seems to me there is significant ambiguity in the wording of the standing order,” Murphy says.

“I will seek senior council advice on this matter before coming to an impartial final decision,” she says.

As reported, the Regional Independents will not be recognised as a technical group for today’s proceedings.

Verona Murphy 2 Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Fine Gael’s chief whip Hildegarde Naughton is speaking now.

She says the government will bring forward a motion today to establish a committee to review the standing orders related to speaking time. This should be resolved by 5 February, when the Dail is due to sit again.

None of the interruptions that we saw yesterday.

Hildegarde Naughton 2 Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Naughton says the government “recognises that there is ambiguity in standing orders which requires clarification in differentiating between members of opposition and government”.

Naughton outlines a plan for today for how long the nominations of a Taoiseach will last and the time allocated to each group. She also proposes that the Dáil shall adjourn after today until 5 February.

The Ceann Comhairle asks if the matter is agreed or not agreed. There are responses of ‘not agreed’ – but in the typical manner you’d see regularly in the Dáil, not the ructions of yesterday.

Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald raises an issue but it’s with the two-week gap planned between now and the next Dáil sitting on 5 February as opposed to any issues over speaking time. McDonald says she “welcomes that the government has now finally acknowledged that there has to be a differentiation between government and opposition and that no TD can be in government an opposition at the same time”.

Labour leader Ivana Bacik also speaks, saying likewise that the opposition objects to the two-week gap but that it “welcomes the acknowledgement by government that there is a need to ensure clarification and differentiation between members of the opposition and government”.

TDs are voting now on whether to approve the order of business.

The order of business has been approved and that means: it’s on. It’s time for the nominations of a Taoiseach to begin.

26-year-old Fianna Fáil TD Albert Dolan is nominating Micheál Martin for Taoiseach. Dolan – who only got a few words out yesterday before he was interrupted by the chaos in the Dáil – gets a chuckle and a few claps from the chamber today when he starts his speech with: “Ceann Comhairle, as I was saying…”

Albert Dolan Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Fellow Fianna Fáil TD Catherine Ardagh is making a second nomination for Martin now. She says he has “shown an unwavering belief in the value of working constructively, of respecting others, of seeking to solve problems and not to exploit them”.

Catherine Ardagh Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Sinn Féin TD Mairead Farrell is up now and is nominating her party’s leader, Mary Lou McDonald.

Farrell says McDonald has shown “real leadership” and has a “vision for Ireland, a vision not confined to this room but a vision that encompasses all of Ireland and all of its people”.

“We’re not just here for Mercs and perks, we’re here as a team that will deliver for people across Ireland and a team led by Mary Lou McDonald stands in absolutely stark contrast in what we’ve seen unfold here over the last number of days.”

She says that the government is “only back from holidays and has decided we should go back on midterm break”. That gets some heckles from the other side of the chamber, rejecting the idea they were on holiday.

Fellow Sinn Féin TD Pearse Doherty seconds the nomination for Mary Lou McDonald.

Doherty strongly criticises Michael Lowry, referencing the controversy in the 90s that led to Lowry’s resignation as a minister at that time, and criticises Micheál Martin for his support of Lowry.

Mairead Farrell Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Micheál Martin and Mary Lou McDonald are the two nominees. With Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Regional Independents behind him, Martin has the necessary number of votes to get over the line.

More speeches are following, including from Mary Lou McDonald herself and from outgoing Taoiseach Simon Harris, who is backing Micheál Martin for the job (for now – they’re planning to rotate the job during their term).

Ivana Bacik is speaking right now. She just referred to the Regional Independents as the “wobbly leg of the stool” in the partnership between them, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.

In her speech to the Dáil, Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald accused government members of “arrogance” and said Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael have “no excuses left” for why “in a country that is so wealthy, nothing seems to work”.

“The resources are there, yet your Programme for Government is simply a charter for more of the same, a blueprint for further crises,” she said.

She recognised that the nominations for her as Taoiseach will not be successful but said that Sinn Féin’s “day will come”.

“Today will not be our day, but our day will come. Our work, our ambition, for building a better, fair, equal and united Ireland has never been more important.”

Next, Simon Harris said his Fine Gael will support Martin’s nomination and expressed his “sincere congratulations”.

“It is fair to say I could sense you were nurturing a mild desire to be Taoiseach again and I sincerely want to congratulate you on the achievement and wish you well as we work together in partnership again,” Harris said.

We have some new info about the intended order of events for the rest of the day.

Subject to the pace that business moves at in Leinster House, Áras an Uachtaráin is preparing for the arrival of the new Taoiseach around 2.15pm, where President Michael D. Higgins will sign the Warrant of Appointment and hand the Seal of the Taoiseach and the Seal of Government to the Taoiseach.

Later in the day, the appointment of Government Ministers in the Áras is expected to take place around 7.30pm

Here’s comes Paul Gogarty, a TD whom many that don’t follow politics will nonetheless recognise from his well-known lambasting of Deputy Emmet Stagg with unparliamentary language.

Today, he’s quoting popular American lesbian-pop singer Chappell Roan. “What comes to mind is Chappell Roan, painting a picture of what it’ll be like in five years: ‘When you think about me, all of those years ago, you’re standing face to face with I told you so’,” Gogarty quotes.

“It doesn’t have to turn out that way, though. If we work constructively, we might have better options,” he says.

TDs are now voting on whether to elect Micheál Martin as Taoiseach.

It’s official: The Dáil has elected Micheál Martin as the country’s next Taoiseach.

MM elected Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Giving a speech to the Dáil after his election, Martin thanks his party members and other government colleagues for their support and their “upfront and honest work” in negotiating a programme for government.

“It is a sad development, in my view, that many parliaments in the world have become more angry and divisive,” Martin says.

“They have become forums dominated by the inflated rhetoric of demonstrations rather than a place where different group scan argue in good faith and respectfully disagree,” he says.

This is a job-title tag you don’t see listed too often: “Taoiseach-elect.” That’s there because even though Martin has been elected by the Dáil, he still has to visit President Michael D. Higgins in Áras an Uachtaráin to officially become the Taoiseach.

MM elect Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

One of the shadows hanging over this government is the recent inauguration of Donald Trump as the president of the United States and his pledges to implement economic policies that could be damaging to Ireland.

Addressing the Dáil, Martin says: “Our relationship of kinship with the United States is older that our state. It has endured because we have continued to renew bonds of respect and co-operation.

“We are not naive about the realities of change but equally, the Ireland-America relationship is one that benefits us both and will emerge strongly no matter what.”

With ten minutes allocated to him to speak to the Dáil, Martin is working through a list of policies on various national and international issues that he says he wants to tackle as the country’s leader.

He briefly mentions Gaza, saying: “We will profoundly welcome the ceasefire in Gaza with a sustained program of humanitarian and reconstruction aid. We will do this through co-operation with the World Food Programme and UNRWA.”

The Dáil has now been suspended for three hours to allow time for Martin to travel to the Áras.

Here’s Micheál Martin’s full speech to the Dáil:

The Journal / YouTube

Thanks for following our updates during the Dáil session – my colleague Órla Ryan is back to take you through Micheál Martin’s visit to Áras an Uachtaráin.

Good afternoon. It’s Órla Ryan here, taking back liveblogging duties for the next while.

Taoiseach-elect Micheál Martin has just arrvied at Áras an Uachtaráin to meet President Michael D Higgins and officially be appointed to the role.

It's official

irish-government-formation Micheál Martin received his Seal of Office from President Higgins this afternoon Maxwell Photography / PA Images Maxwell Photography / PA Images / PA Images

Martin’s family accompanied him to the Áras this afternoon. The last time he became leader of the government was during the Covid-19 pandemic, in 2020, so there was much less fanfare.

kiss Taoiseach Micheal Martin with his wife Mary outside Leinster House after he was elected Liam McBurney / PA Images Liam McBurney / PA Images / PA Images

Here is some more detail from Micheál Martin’s speech in the Dáil after he was elected Taoiseach:

“As I look at Ireland today, it is clear that there can be a degree of cynicism towards politics and too often we dismiss the motivation of others, especially those we disagree with.

“I reject this. I believe in the good faith of those who seek to serve their communities in elective office – and I believe that politics remains a force for good, a force for positive change. I hope that we can have a co-operative Oireachtas in the coming years, where we try to emphasise positive discussion.

“For my part I intend to remain open to constructive ideas from deputies from all parts of the House. When nominating members of the new government, I will address more specific policy points, but I think it is important to state the core principles on which I intend to lead the government.

“When reflecting on the legacy of republicanism from the 1916 generation of which he was a part, Sean Lemass always stressed the idea of responding to the needs of today and shaping the future.

“For him, true republicanism was not about following the past – it was about a willingness to move on and create new ways forward.”

irish-general-election Micheál Martin throws a few punches in the Glen Boxing Club in Cork city in 2011 (file photo) Julien Behal / PA Images Julien Behal / PA Images / PA Images

Micheál Martin’s father was Paddy Martin, a former soldier and Irish international boxer – which is a good reason to resurrect the above image from 2011, the year the younger Martin became leader of Fianna Fáil. 

Martin was born in Turners Cross in Cork city in 1960 to Paddy and Eileen. He first became involved in politics while at University College Cork, where he was a member of UCC’s Cumann of Ógra Fianna Fáil.

Martin first became a TD in 1989 in Cork South-Central, after then-Taoiseach Charlie Haughey called a snap election.

He has served in numerous ministerial posts over the years, including as Minister for Health and Children (2000 to 2004), Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment (2004 to 2008), and Minister for Foreign Affairs (2008 to 2011 and 2022 to 2025).

Of course, he also served as Taoiseach (2020 to 2022) and Tánaiste (2022 to 2025) in the outgoing government.

Whose side are you on in the Dáil row?

It’s not scientific but here are the results of our poll so far – with thousands of votes cast, readers are on the side of the opposition in the speaking rights row: 

poll The Journal The Journal

Here are more photos from Micheál Martin’s trip to the Áras, where he officially became Taoiseach again:

New Taoiseach-81_90720853 Micheál Martin and his wife Mary pictured arriving at the Áras Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie / © RollingNews.ie

New Taoiseach-85_90720857 President Michael D HIggins and Taoiseach Micheál Martin Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie / © RollingNews.ie

New Taoiseach-90_90720862 (1) President Michael D HIggins and Taoiseach Micheál Martin after the latter received his Seal of Office Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie / © RollingNews.ie

New Taoiseach-96_90720867 President Michael D HIggins and his wife Sabina Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie Evan Treacy / © RollingNews.ie / © RollingNews.ie

Here we go

Some movement from Leinster House, where my colleague Jane Matthews has this update: “Micheál Martin has started the ministerial appointment meetings – Jim O’Callaghan was spotted making his way across to Government Buildings.”

O’Callaghan is widely tipped to become the next Minister for Justice.

It’s official, Jim O’Callaghan is indeed the new Minister for Justice. He is taking over the role from Helen MceEntee, who is set to become Minister for Education and Youth.

As expected, outgoing Public Expenditure Minister Paschal Donohoe is going back to his previous role as Finance Minister. He’s likely to swap jobs with the outgoing Minister for Finance, Jack Chambers.

Thanks for staying with us so far today.

As we await confirmation of more ministerial posts, I’m going to hand you back to my colleague Lauren Boland.

Lauren back with you now. We have some more updates on ministerial jobs for you.

Former housing minister Darragh O’Brien (Fianna Fáil) is moving over to transport.

Mary Butler (Fianna Fáil) will be the new government Chief Whip and have responsibility for mental health (she’s been covering the mental health portfolio already as a minister of state since 2020).

The next minister for housing will be James Browne (Fianna Fáil) and the next minister for enterprise will be Peter Burke (Fine Gael).

We understand Norma Foley (Fianna Fáil) is moving to children and disability, James Lawless (Fianna Fáil) is getting higher education, and Patrick O’Donovan (Fine Gael) is taking on arts, culture, communications, media and sport.

Jack Chambers (Fianna Fáil) is moving back to public expenditure and Dara Calleary (Fianna Fáil) is taking up social protection and rural & community development.

Jennifer Carroll MacNeill (Fine Gael) will be the next minister for health.

The next minister for agriculture will be Martin Heydon (Fine Gael). It doesn’t look like there’ll be any Cabinet seat for former agriculture minister Charlie McConalogue (Fianna Fáil).

Taoiseach Micheál Martin is officially announcing those Cabinet ministers now in the Dáil.

As well as the senior Cabinet ministers, Martin announced four ‘super junior’ ministers.

Mary Butler (Fianna Fáil), as we knew, will be the chief whip and junior minister for mental health. Hildegarde Naughton (Fine Gael) will be on disability, Sean Canney (independent) on transport, and Noel Grealish (independent) on food safety.

54282389797_5bb8d03317_o Houses of the Oireachtas Photos Houses of the Oireachtas Photos

Simon Harris, who is now Tánaiste and the minister for foreign affairs and trade, is speaking next.

He mentions plans to strengthen diplomatic ties with the US as a way to try to safeguard against economic shocks. 

Harris says that the Defence Forces, which he will be overseeing as the minister for defence, needs to undergo the “biggest transformation” it has ever seen.

Here’s a statistic for you: Only 22 women have been named to Cabinet positions since the foundation of the State, versus 213 men.

That’s from Women for Election, an organisation campaigning for better representation of women in politics.

In the new Cabinet appointed today, Micheál Martin gave only three of the 15 senior positions to women (a slight decrease from the outgoing Cabinet, which had four women).

Reaching to the Cabinet formation, Women for Election chair Aldagh McDonagh said: “The Taoiseach in forming the new government had the opportunity to bring a record number of women into Government, but in an affront to gender equality in politics, has chosen instead to reduce the number of women Ministers compared to the last Government.

“It is perplexing that the Taoiseach and Tánaiste would reject the opportunity in forming the Cabinet to ensure that women’s expertise and lived experience are equally represented at the heart of government decision-making,” McDonagh said.

“This decline in women’s representation is concerning. Women’s perspectives are critical to shaping policies that reflect the realities of our society and economy, and their exclusion diminishes the strength of this Cabinet.”

“We of course congratulate the three women who are joining the cabinet, one of whom is joining the Cabinet for the first time, and wish them well as they lead out Government policy in their respective areas.”

In the Dáil, Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald has just called out the gender imbalance in the Cabinet, saying that a representative democracy should “strive to reflect and mirror the communities that we represent”.

“As an Irish woman, leaving aside that I’m a parliamentarian, I find it depressing that again, we see the absence of us, and I want to put that on the record.”

We have now the exact list of ministerial titles:

Minister positions

Referencing the amount of junior minister positions this government plans to give out, Mary Lou McDonald says it’s like the Late Late Toy Show: “A junior ministry for everyone in the audience.”

She says: “Did anyone go to vote on the 29th of November thinking, ‘What Ireland really, really needs is a raft of new junior ministers’? I don’t thinks so”

Laying into the programme for government, McDonald says: “If this document is the product of Fine Gael’s supposed ‘new energy’, then I’m afraid the tank is running on empty and the lights have gone out.”

As more opposition TDs speak to the Dáil, the government is being roundly criticised on several fronts. Micheál Martin appointing only three women to Cabinet is a sticking point, as is the government’s lack of commitment to a public model of childcare funding. 

Insufficient commitment to climate action is another concern, along with hospital waiting lists and the housing crisis.

The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) has welcomed the appointment of Jim O’Callaghan as the new justice minister and is urging him to meet with the association as soon as possible.

“We invite the Minister to meet with us at the earliest opportunity to hear directly from those working on the frontline. Understanding the views and challenges of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors is essential to shaping effective policing policies,” said General Secretary Ronan Clogher.

The AGSI is calling for immediate action to address the depletion of garda numbers and for investment into community policing.

“Ireland’s population continues to grow, yet garda numbers are declining. This creates significant challenges for public safety. We need a clear and urgent plan to recruit and retain members to build capacity in the service,” Clogher said.

“Policing must be rooted in communities, with a focus on visibility and engagement. Investment in this approach is critical to ensuring safe and thriving communities across Ireland. We look forward to working constructively with Minister O’Callaghan to ensure the needs of Garda members and the communities they serve are prioritised,” Clogher said.

Many members of the opposition welcomed and congratulated the new ministers on their appointments, but every TD issued strong criticisms against the new government and its programme.

A large number of TDs cited disapproval with the programme’s promises in housing, agriculture and environmental policy, suggesting that it was not up to standard and does not reflect what is needed.

Some suggested that the new document was written by AI, while others claimed it was drafted using the previous programme as a starting place (the document uses the word ‘continue’ 249 times).

TDs also cited today’s CSO housing completion figures, which showed the number of houses built last year fell by almost 7% and that the last government failed to reach their target of 40,000 homes.

A vote is now taking place in the Dáil to approve the appointment of the new cabinet and the newly minted ministers will then make their way to Áras an Uachtaráin to receive their seals of office – when they will officially become a minister.

In the meantime, government and opposition backbenchers have taken to the floor of the Dáil to shake hands with the new ministers and Taoiseach as they cast their ballots in the vote.

There’s still much more to come this evening, so stick with us for all the latest developments.

The Dáil clerk is now completing a roll call to ask each TD for their vote to approve the incoming Cabinet.

A frequent point of criticism in the Dáil to the incoming cabinet was that there is too few women appointed to senior ministries (three).

Political correspondent Jane Matthews has rounded up what was said in the chamber about the issue this evening.

“You’ve got the gender balance wrong. You’re very male,” Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald told the government in the Dáil after the announcements were made. 

Read the full piece here.

Good evening. Muiris Ó Cearbhaill here taking over reporting of the rest of today.

The Dáil has voted to approve the new cabinet at the fresh ministers will now visit Áras An Uachtaráin to receive their seals of office.

As previously reported by this live blog, members of the opposition called out the new cabinet over the lack of equal female representation around the table.

Social Democrats’ TD Jennifer Whitmore described the development as “disappointing” and labelled the new cabinet a “cosy boys’ club”. She reminded the public that the Dáil has the worst female representation rate in western Europe.

“Instead of working to address that, by promoting talented women from within their own ranks, the government parties have reverted to type – creating a cosy boys’ club.”

So – with all the change today, you might’ve forgotten about the madness of yesterday.

Speaking to RTÉ News’ Six:One programme this evening, Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald said that she hopes the government will not forget the events of yesterday and let it serve as a reminder that ‘cute hoor, old fashioned politics’ is dead and gone.

While she accepted that the arrangement put forward today was similar to what was proposed yesterday, McDonald said that the overall point was that the opposition did not want government to “railroad” them.

She told the programme that she believes yesterday’s events showed the “arrogance” of government parties and stakeholders. The Sinn Féin leader said an “enduring solution” was needed.

Speaking on her reaction to the new cabinet – as every job bar one has a new face – Sinn Féin’s McDonald said fresh mugs won’t reset a samey government.

She said that she got feelings of deja vu at the new cabinet.

“I see none of this energy. No new ideas,” she told RTÉ News’ Six:One programme. She said that a united opposition is planning to work together to bend government’s policy plans so that they can implement change.

McDonald too remarked on the gender and regional balance of the new cabinet, suggesting that women and those in the west and northwest of the country will not be impressed by the minister’s table.

“We [women] like to see women in office and in responsible jobs,” she said.

Sinn Féin’s health spokesperson David Cullinane has called on the new health minister, Jennifer Carroll MacNeill, to “quickly” begin progressing key election promises her party made at the end of last year.

He said that this involves the roll out of free hormone replacement therapy, expansion of hospital beds and free healthcare and improving children’s healthcare in Ireland.

Cullinane also reminded the new minister of the outstanding issues in the complex brief, such as recruitment and retention, as well as the opening of the New Children’s Hospital.

Carroll MacNeill is the eighth minister to oversee the controversial new hospital.

The Waterford TD has called on the new minister to reform the political agenda in health.

The 15 incoming government ministers have arrived at Áras an Uachtaráin in the last few minutes.

They are joined by Taoiseach Micheál Martin.

Following the ceremony, in which President Michael D Higgins will deliver their seals of office to them in the State Reception Room, the new cabinet will hold a short cabinet meeting.

Between now and 5 February the new ministers will be briefed by their respective department secretary generals and senior civil servants.

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy is among the members the international political community who have congratulated Micheál Martin on becoming Taoiseach today.

Zelenskyy acknowledged Ireland’s “solidarity, unwavering support, and financial and humanitarian aid” to Ukraine and the assistance the government has provided refugees from the war-torn country.

Many of Martin’s European colleagues have also had to re-congratulate him – as, somewhat embarrassingly, leaders from around the EU wished him well in his new role in seemingly pre-scheduled tweets and online statements.

European Parliament President Roberta Metsola congratulated Martin as Gaeilge and said she was looking forward to collaborate with the Irish government on the common issues that member states are facing and tasks that need to be completed.

President Michael D Higgins has officially approved the new government and has provided senior ministers in the new cabinet with their seals of office.

A traditional first meeting of the new cabinet will now take place in the State Dining Room.

We are starting to get the first images in from inside the State Reception Room where the President appointed the new government and presented the seals of office to the new members of cabinet.

Below, Minister for Transport and Environment Darragh O’Brien stands beside Minister for Education Helen McEntee, Minister for Public Expenditure, Reform and the National Development Plan Jack Chambers, Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe and Tánasite and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade Simon Harris.

New Ministers-1_90720880 New members of cabinet await to be presented their seals of office from the President. © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

New Tánaiste, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade and Minister for Defence Simon Harris receives his seal of office from President Michael D Higgins.

New Ministers-2_90720881 Simon Harris of Fine Gael is officially appointed Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade. © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

‘Meet you halfway,’ says the famously tall Fianna Fáil TD Jim O’Callaghan who is appointed Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Migration by the, famously short, President Michael D Higgins.

New Ministers-3_90720882 Jim O'Callaghan is appointed Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Immigration by the President. © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

And there you have it folks, the famous family photo.

New Ministers-7_90720887 Portrait image of the new cabinet of ministers with President Michael D Higgins, commonly referred to as the 'family photo' © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

Ministers held a brief cabinet meeting, as is tradition, in the State Dining Room where the original cabinet table now sits this evening.

As previously reported by this live blog, ministers will now be briefed by their respective department secretary generals and senior civil servants on the main issues facing the country over the next two weeks.

The Dáil will return on 5 February following those high-level meetings.

Between now and then, work will continue in the background and decisions and arrangements will be made by the new cabinet to tee up the next five years of this government.

New Ministers-6_90720886 Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe and Tánaiste Simon Harris share a laugh as the new cabinet gathers for a portrait picture at Áras An Uachtaráin. © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

Ministers will likely want to travel home and celebrate with families and local supporters this evening.

Sin a bhfuil

New Taoiseach-61_90720851 Newly elected Taoiseach Micheál Martin leaving Leinster House this afternoon. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

That’s all from us this evening.

Thank you for sticking with us for a tumultuous, historic, dramatic and exciting two days.

There is plenty of time for you to catch up on the latest developments on The Journal over the next few weeks, as the Cabinet prepares to return to the Dáil and official business gets underway.

Be assured that our talented political staff and news team will bring you all the coverage you need from Leinster House and further afield between now and then.

With that, it’s time for me to sign off.

Goodnight and stay safe during Storm Éowyn tomorrow.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

186 Comments