Advertisement
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 10°C Sunday 29 November 2020

Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

Tuesday 24 March, 2020

University researchers in Belfast have been awarded a grant to find a Covid-19 treatment

The funding grant has been awarded as one of several projects that will receive part of a €21.5 million fund.

Friday 21 February, 2020

US attorney general to appeal decision to grant Jason Corbett killers a re-trial

The 39 year-old was murdered in his US home in August 2015.

Tuesday 4 February, 2020

Tipperary general election independent candidate to be laid to rest on Thursday

Marese Skehan was a member of the highly respected and well-known Skehan family.

Wednesday 22 January, 2020

Divers locate body in search for missing fisherman off Wexford coast

Two men were aboard the Alize when it sank off Hook Head on 4 January.

SPONSORED

Tuesday 21 January, 2020

Another lost World War II ÉIRE sign has been discovered at Wexford’s Hook Head

A local group discovered the image, after searching based on an old aerial photo.

Monday 20 January, 2020

Over 23,000 people apply for job on the Great Blasket Island

The successful applicants will be in charge of three guest cottages and the coffee shop on the island.

Monday 13 January, 2020

Luke Kelly statue defaced for a second time in the space of seven months

Independent councillor Christy Burke slammed the vandalism as “mindless”.

Friday 10 January, 2020

Concern for woman found near GPO by homeless volunteer last night

The woman, who was in a distressed state, told the volunteer she had been released from an acute hospital.

Monday 23 December, 2019

Four months after being brutally attacked, Paddy Hansard says he's 'thankful to be alive' this Christmas

Hansard, 73, suffered serious head injuries and broken bones in the attack near his home in Ballybough in Dublin.

SPONSORED

Sunday 8 December, 2019

Public outcry after two defibrillator units stolen in two separate incidents this weekend

The crimes happened in Wicklow and Louth.

Wednesday 27 November, 2019

Painting by renowned Irish artist Jack Butler Yeats sells for €1.7 million at auction

Reverie by Jack Butler Yeats had a guide price of up to €700,000.

Tuesday 19 November, 2019

RTÉ sells off Louis le Brocquy painting for €102,000

The national broadcaster is dealing with a serious financial crisis.

Thursday 7 November, 2019

'We can't solve this without the public's help': Family renew appeal for woman who went missing without a trace

Jo Jo Dullard went missing on the evening of 9 November while hitchhiking home from Dublin to Kilkenny.

Tuesday 8 October, 2019

Irish emigrant who died alone in London laid to rest in Tipperary

The funeral of Joseph Tuohy took place in Dublin in September.

SPONSORED

Thursday 3 October, 2019

Kite surfer rescued from lake this afternoon during yellow wind warning in Wexford

The Irish Coast Guard has responded to six incidents so far during the storm.

Thursday 12 September, 2019

Family of 73-year-old man left with permanent brain injury following shovel attack make public appeal

Paddy was attacked at a flat complex in Dublin in August and remains in hospital.

Tuesday 3 September, 2019

Call for mourners to attend Dublin funeral of elderly Irish man who died alone in UK

Joseph Tuohy passed away this summer after spending most of his life in the UK.

Thursday 29 August, 2019

Tributes paid following death of motor neurone disease campaigner Fr Tony Coote

Fr Coote’s Walk While You Can campaign raised hundreds of thousands of euro for research.

Friday 16 August, 2019

Son appeals for truckers to pay tribute to his father killed in Dublin Port accident

The trade union, Siptu has called for improved protection for dock workers.

Sunday 11 August, 2019

A cow that tumbled out to sea was rescued by a lifeboat crew in Kinsale Udder The Sea This post contains videos

A cow that tumbled out to sea was rescued by a lifeboat crew in Kinsale

It took three and a half hours to rescue the frightened friesen.

Saturday 10 August, 2019

Internet fraudsters caught out after mistakenly ringing garda station

The caller claimed to be from Eir, and the company has warned the public what to look out for with these scams.

Thursday 8 August, 2019

Pony suspected of being used as 'dog bait' fighting for life after rescue

A worker from My Lovely Horse Rescue said the pony was “starting to rot” when he was found.

Friday 26 July, 2019

Irish father-of-one dies in truck crash in Australia

Seamus Walsh had been living in Australia for several years with his young family.

Monday 1 July, 2019

Pilot who died in Kilkenny plane crash was flying over daughter’s 18th birthday party

Several party guests witnessed the tragedy unfold as the aircraft crashed nearby.

Saturday 29 June, 2019

Man killed in light aircraft crash in Kilkenny named locally

An Air Accident Investigations Unit has been sent to the scene.